DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 4-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 07/22/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7 and 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonsignore (WO 2020169727) in view of Oggier (US 20170142393).
Regarding claim 1, Bonsignore discloses
a detector for determining a position of at least one object, the detector comprising [See Bonsignore [Pg. 58 lines 16-17] Detector for determining position of at least one object.]
at least one projector for illuminating at least one object with at least one illumination pattern comprising a plurality of illumination features, [See Bonsignore [Pg. 60 lines 1-8] Projector to project two, three, four, five or more illumination patterns each comprising a plurality of illumination features.] wherein the projector comprises at least one array of emitters, wherein each of the emitters is configured for generating at least one light beam, [See Bonsignore [Pg. 61 line 6] Projector comprises a plurality of tunable laser sources. Also, see Pg. 6 line 36, tunable laser source comprises one or more of a vertical cavity surface emitting laser array.] wherein the array of emitters comprises at least two independently driven array areas, [See Bonsignore [Pg. 61 line 6] Projector comprises a plurality of tunable laser sources. Also, see Pg. 6 line 36, tunable laser source comprises one or more of a vertical cavity surface emitting laser array.]
at least one camera having at least one sensor element having a matrix of optical sensors, the optical sensors each having a light-sensitive area, [See Bonsignore [Pg. 58 lines 15-20] Detector comprises at least one sensor element having a matrix of optical sensors.] wherein each optical sensor is designed to generate at least one sensor signal in response to an illumination of its respective light-sensitive area by a reflection light beam propagating from the object to the camera, [See Bonsignore [Pg. 64 lines 10-15] Each optical sensor is designed to generate a sensor signal in response to an illumination of its respective light sensitive area by a reflection light beam propogating from the object to the detector.]
wherein the camera is configured for imaging at least one first reflection image comprising a first plurality of reflection features generated by the object in response to illumination by the illumination features generated by a first array area, and [See Bonsignore [Pg. 64 lines 10-15] Sensor element for determining at least one reflection image, where the reflection image comprise points as reflection features.] wherein the camera is configured for imaging at least one second reflection image comprising a second plurality of reflection features generated by the object in response to illumination by the illumination features generated by a second array area, [See Bonsignore [Pg. 64 lines 10-15] Sensor element for determining at least one reflection image, where the reflection image comprise points as reflection features.] wherein each of the reflection features comprises at least one beam profile; and [See Bonsignore [Pg. 65 lines 10-20] Beam profile of the reflection light beam at the sensor position.]
at least one control unit configured for controlling light emission of the first and second array areas, [See Bonsignore [Pg. 61 lines 6-40] Projector comprises at least one control unit for controlling the laser source.]
at least one evaluation device configured for determining at least one longitudinal coordinate for each of the reflection features by analysis of its respective beam profile, wherein the longitudinal coordinate for each of the reflection features is a distance between the optical sensors and the object. [See Bonsignore [Pg. 64 line 26 to Pg. 69 line 43] Evaluation device for analyzing reflection features of the reflection image (Pg. 64 lines 26-28). The evaluation device is for determining at least one longitudinal coordinate of the reflection feature by evaluating a combined signal from the sensor signals, where the combined signal takes into account the beam profile (EQ on Pg. 65 and Pg. 65 lines 5-30).]
wherein the evaluation device is configured for determining the longitudinal coordinate for each of the reflection features by using a depth-from-photon-ratio technique. [See Bonsignore [Pg. 62 line 40 to Pg. 63 line 3] Triangulation based depth from photon ratio measurements.]
Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the at least two independently driven array areas comprise a first array area and a second array area, the first array area and the second array are being non-overlapping subsections and/or parts of the array of emitters, each of the first array area and the second array area comprising a respective plurality of emitters of the array of emitters;
wherein the control unit is configured for driving the first and the second array areas to emit light at different times; and
However, Oggier does disclose
wherein the at least two independently driven array areas comprise a first array area and a second array area, the first array area and the second array are being non-overlapping subsections and/or parts of the array of emitters, each of the first array area and the second array area comprising a respective plurality of emitters of the array of emitters; [See Oggier [0044] Projector has a first group of light emitters and a second group of light emitters. Also, see 0045, the two groups of emitters are controlled by the controller. Also, see 0010, A single projector includes two groups of light emitters. Also, see 0012, the two groups of emitters are arranged on a single die. Also, see Fig. 1, groups (111a & 111b).]
wherein the control unit is configured for driving the first and the second array areas to emit light at different times; and [See Oggier [0047] Light output via the first group is imaged then light output via the second group is imaged. Also, see 0025, interleaved mode includes alternating.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Bonsignore to add the teachings of Braker, in order to provide the advantages associated with a single light projecting device split into different groups of emitters [See Oggier [0010]].
Regarding claim 2, Bonsignore (modified by Oggier) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the array is divided into a left array area and a right array area.
However, Oggier does disclose
wherein the array is divided into a left array area and a right array area. [See Oggier [Fig. 1] Groups (111a & 111b).]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Bonsignore (modified by Oggier) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore discloses
wherein the analysis of the beam profile comprises determining at least one first area and at least one second area of the beam profile, [See Bonsignore [Pg. 65 lines 37-38] Determine/select the first area of the beam profile and the second area of the beam profile.]
wherein the evaluation device is configured for deriving a combined signal Q by one or more of dividing the first area and the second area, dividing multiples of the first area and the second area, dividing linear combinations of the first area and the second area, [See Bonsignore [Pg. 65 Equation Q]
wherein the evaluation device is configured for using at least one predetermined relationship between the combined signal Q and the longitudinal coordinate for determining the longitudinal coordinate. [See Bonsignore [Pg. 65 Equation Q and lines 8-15]
Regarding claim 5, Bonsignore (modified by Oggier) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore discloses
wherein the evaluation device is configured for determining at least one longitudinal coordinate z.sub.triang by using at least one triangulation method. [See Bonsignore [Pg. 74 lines 1-15] The evaluation device 144 configured to determine the pre-determined relationship by using triangulation methods.]
Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the evaluation device is configured for determining which emitter of the array of emitters respectively emitted each illumination feature of the plurality of illumination features having a corresponding reflection feature of the plurality of reflection features, and
However, Oggier does disclose
wherein the evaluation device is configured for determining which emitter of the array of emitters respectively emitted each illumination feature of the plurality of illumination features having a corresponding reflection feature of the plurality of reflection features, and [See Oggier [0058] The emitted light when the first group of light emitters 20a is turned on is represented as open circles, while the emitted light when the second group of light emitters is turned on 20b is represented as black dots. Also, see 0066-0067 and Fig. 6.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Bonsignore (modified by Oggier) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the control unit is configured for driving the array areas such that one of the array areas is temporally non-emitting while the other array area is emitting, wherein the control unit is configured for switching between the array areas.
However, Oggier does disclose
wherein the control unit is configured for driving the array areas such that one of the array areas is temporally non-emitting while the other array area is emitting, wherein the control unit is configured for switching between the array areas. [See Oggier [0045] The two groups of emitters are controlled by the controller. Also, see 0047, Light output via the first group is imaged then light output via the second group is imaged. Also, see 0025, interleaved mode.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Bonsignore (modified by Oggier) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore discloses
wherein each of the emitter comprises at least one element selected from the group consisting of at least one laser source, at least one semi-conductor laser, at least one double heterostructure laser, at least one external cavity laser, at least one separate confinement heterostructure laser, at least one quantum cascade laser, at least one distributed Bragg reflector laser, at least one polariton laser, at least one hybrid silicon laser, at least one extended cavity diode laser, at least one quantum dot laser, at least one volume Bragg grating laser, at least one Indium Arsenide laser, at least one Gallium Arsenide laser, at least one transistor laser, at least one diode pumped laser, at least one distributed feedback lasers, at least one quantum well laser, at least one interband cascade laser, at least one semiconductor ring laser, at least one vertical cavity surface-emitting laser, at least one non-laser light source, at least one LED, and at least one light bulb. [See Bonsignore [Pg. 60 line 40 to Pg. 61 line 1]
Regarding claim 11, Bonsignore (modified by Oggier) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore discloses
wherein the optical sensor comprises at least one CCD sensor or at least one CMOS sensor. [See Bonsignore [Pg. 59 lines 11-13] CCD or CMOS detector.]
Regarding claim 12, Bonsignore (modified by Oggier) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore discloses
wherein the detector comprises at least one transfer device configured for guiding the light beam onto the optical sensors and for forming the reflection image on the sensor element. [See Bonsignore [Fig. 1] (140).]
Regarding claim 13, Bonsignore (modified by Oggier) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore discloses
a mobile device configured for determining a position of at least one object, wherein the mobile device comprises at least one detector according to claim 1, wherein the mobile device is one or more of a mobile communication device, a tablet computer, or a portable computer. [See Bonsignore [Pg. 46 lines 30-36] Mobile phones, PC’s, tablet PCs.]
Regarding claim 14, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, Bonsignore (modified by Oggier) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore discloses
a method of using the detector according to claim 1, the method comprising using the detector for a purpose of use selected from the group consisting of: a position measurement in traffic technology; an entertainment application; a security application; a surveillance application; a safety application; a human-machine interface application; a logistics application; a tracking application; an outdoor application; a mobile application; a communication application; a photography application; a machine vision application; a robotics application; a quality control application; a manufacturing application; a gait monitoring application; a human body monitoring application; home care; smart living, and automotive application. [See Bonsignore [Pg. 77 lines 37-40] Human machine interface.]
Regarding claim 19, Bonsignore (modified by Oggier) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the array areas emit light at different time points.
However, Oggier does disclose
wherein the array areas emit light at different time points. [See Oggier [0045] The two groups of emitters are controlled by the controller. Also, see 0047, Light output via the first group is imaged then light output via the second group is imaged. Also, see 0025, interleaved mode.]Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Bonsignore (modified by Oggier) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the array areas emit light at different time points in alternation.
However, Oggier does disclose
wherein the array areas emit light at different time points in alternation. [See Oggier [0045] The two groups of emitters are controlled by the controller. Also, see 0047, Light output via the first group is imaged then light output via the second group is imaged. Also, see 0025, interleaved mode.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, Bonsignore (modified by Oggier) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the array of emitters is a single array of emitters, and the first and second array area are each subsections and/or parts of the same single array of emitters.
However, Oggier does disclose
wherein the array of emitters is a single array of emitters, and the first and second array area are each subsections and/or parts of the same single array of emitters. [See Oggier [0010] A single projector includes two groups of light emitters. Also, see 0012, the two groups of emitters are arranged on a single die.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Claims 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonsignore (WO 2020169727) in view of Oggier (US 20170142393) and in further view of Braker et al. (herein after will be referred to as Braker) (US 20180045503).
Regarding claim 6, Bonsignore (modified by Oggier) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the projector comprises at least one shutter, wherein the shutter is configured for temporally blocking light from one of the array areas and allowing light from the other array area to pass, wherein the control unit is configured for controlling the shutter for switching between array areas.
However, Braker does disclose
wherein the projector comprises at least one shutter, wherein the shutter is configured for temporally blocking light from one of the array areas and allowing light from the other array area to pass, wherein the control unit is configured for controlling the shutter for switching between array areas. [See Braker [0046] Shuttering devices using the controller for a pattern projector. Also, see 0054, source shuttering device (317) is controlled by a controller.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Bonsignore (modified by Oggier) to add the teachings of Braker, in order to perform a simple substitution of a projector mask in Oggier with a shutter for performing analogous functions of blocking/masking light in specific areas or selective blocking.
Regarding claim 8, Bonsignore (modified by Oggier and Braker) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the switching between the array areas and the imaging of the camera is synchronized.
However, Oggier does disclose
wherein the switching between the array areas and the imaging of the camera is synchronized. [See Oggier [0045]].
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Bonsignore (modified by Oggier) disclose the detector of claim 6. Furthermore, Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the switching between the array areas is performed periodically.
However, Oggier does disclose
wherein the switching between the array areas is performed periodically. [See Oggier [0045] The two groups of emitters are controlled by the controller. Also, see 0047, Light output via the first group is imaged then light output via the second group is imaged. Also, see 0025, interleaved mode.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Conclusion
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486