DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/06/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended the independent claim to include “at least one control unit configured for controlling light emission of the first and second array areas, wherein the control unit is configured for driving the first and the second array areas to emit light at different times”. This amendment overcomes the primary reference Bonsignore. However, the secondary reference Braker (i.e. previously utilized for the rejections of the dependent claims) discloses the above amended limitation (See Braker, para. 0038-0039, 0046). The motivation for the combination of references comes from within the Braker reference itself (i.e. Braker para. 0011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonsignore (WO 2020169727) in view of Braker et al. (herein after will be referred to as Braker) (US 20180045503).
Regarding claim 1, Bonsignore discloses
a detector for determining a position of at least one object, the detector comprising [See Bonsignore [Pg. 58 lines 16-17] Detector for determining position of at least one object.]
at least one projector for illuminating at least one object with at least one illumination pattern comprising a plurality of illumination features, [See Bonsignore [Pg. 60 lines 1-8] Projector to project two, three, four, five or more illumination patterns each comprising a plurality of illumination features.] wherein the projector comprises at least one array of emitters, wherein each of the emitters is configured for generating at least one light beam, [See Bonsignore [Pg. 61 line 6] Projector comprises a plurality of tunable laser sources. Also, see Pg. 6 line 36, tunable laser source comprises one or more of a vertical cavity surface emitting laser array.] wherein the array of emitters comprises at least two independently driven array areas; [See Bonsignore [Pg. 61 line 6] Projector comprises a plurality of tunable laser sources. Also, see Pg. 6 line 36, tunable laser source comprises one or more of a vertical cavity surface emitting laser array.]
at least one camera having at least one sensor element having a matrix of optical sensors, the optical sensors each having a light-sensitive area, [See Bonsignore [Pg. 58 lines 15-20] Detector comprises at least one sensor element having a matrix of optical sensors.] wherein each optical sensor is designed to generate at least one sensor signal in response to an illumination of its respective light-sensitive area by a reflection light beam propagating from the object to the camera, [See Bonsignore [Pg. 64 lines 10-15] Each optical sensor is designed to generate a sensor signal in response to an illumination of its respective light sensitive area by a reflection light beam propogating from the object to the detector.]
wherein the camera is configured for imaging at least one first reflection image comprising a first plurality of reflection features generated by the object in response to illumination by the illumination features generated by a first array area, and [See Bonsignore [Pg. 64 lines 10-15] Sensor element for determining at least one reflection image, where the reflection image comprise points as reflection features.] wherein the camera is configured for imaging at least one second reflection image comprising a second plurality of reflection features generated by the object in response to illumination by the illumination features generated by a second array area, [See Bonsignore [Pg. 64 lines 10-15] Sensor element for determining at least one reflection image, where the reflection image comprise points as reflection features.] wherein each of the reflection features comprises at least one beam profile; and [See Bonsignore [Pg. 65 lines 10-20] Beam profile of the reflection light beam at the sensor position.]
at least one control unit configured for controlling light emission of the first and second array areas, [See Bonsignore [Pg. 61 lines 6-40] Projector comprises at least one control unit for controlling the laser source.]
at least one evaluation device configured for determining at least one longitudinal coordinate for each of the reflection features by analysis of its respective beam profile, wherein the longitudinal coordinate for each of the reflection features is a distance between the optical sensors and the object. [See Bonsignore [Pg. 64 line 26 to Pg. 69 line 43] Evaluation device for analyzing reflection features of the reflection image (Pg. 64 lines 26-28). The evaluation device is for determining at least one longitudinal coordinate of the reflection feature by evaluating a combined signal from the sensor signals, where the combined signal takes into account the beam profile (EQ on Pg. 65 and Pg. 65 lines 5-30).]
wherein the evaluation device is configured for determining the longitudinal coordinate for each of the reflection features by using a depth-from-photon-ratio technique. [See Bonsignore [Pg. 62 line 40 to Pg. 63 line 3] Triangulation based depth from photon ratio measurements.]
Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the control unit is configured for driving the first and the second array areas to emit light at different times; and
However, Braker does disclose
wherein the control unit is configured for driving the first and the second array areas to emit light at different times; and [See Braker [0046] Each channel of the multiple channel pattern projector comprises a separate radiation source. The radiation source includes LEDs (i.e. plural emitters). Also, see 0039, Pattern projector channels are elements of an integrated compact array structure such as a VCSEL array. Also, see 0038, Time-multiplex by a multiple-channel pattern projector to illuminate scene with rapid sequence of patterns and comprises multiple radiation sources. Also, see 0046, time multiplexing, different groups of spectrally-encoded patterns may be projected at different times by controlling radiation sources (i.e. the radiation sources will alternate when the radiation sources are interpreted as 2 since there are a plurality of radiation sources for time-multiplexing.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Bonsignore to add the teachings of Braker, in order to incorporate robust methods and algorithms for measuring locations of an object [See Braker [0011]].
Regarding claim 2, Bonsignore (modified by Braker) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the array is divided into a left array area and a right array area.
However, Braker does disclose
wherein the array is divided into a left array area and a right array area. [See Braker [0046] Each channel of the multiple channel pattern projector comprises a separate radiation source. The radiation source includes LEDs (i.e. plural emitters). Also, see 0039, Pattern projector channels are elements of an integrated compact array structure such as a VCSEL array. Also, see [Fig. 3] Illumination areas (101) split up and includes a left and right area.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Bonsignore (modified by Braker) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore discloses
wherein the analysis of the beam profile comprises determining at least one first area and at least one second area of the beam profile, [See Bonsignore [Pg. 65 lines 37-38] Determine/select the first area of the beam profile and the second area of the beam profile.]
wherein the evaluation device is configured for deriving a combined signal Q by one or more of dividing the first area and the second area, dividing multiples of the first area and the second area, dividing linear combinations of the first area and the second area, [See Bonsignore [Pg. 65 Equation Q]
wherein the evaluation device is configured for using at least one predetermined relationship between the combined signal Q and the longitudinal coordinate for determining the longitudinal coordinate. [See Bonsignore [Pg. 65 Equation Q and lines 8-15]
Regarding claim 5, Bonsignore (modified by Braker) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore discloses
wherein the evaluation device is configured for selecting at least one reflection feature of the reflection image and for assigning said reflection feature to the corresponding emitter, wherein the evaluation device is configured for determining at least one longitudinal coordinate z.sub.triang by using at least one triangulation method. [See Bonsignore [Pg. 74 lines 1-15] The evaluation device 144 may be configured to determine the pre-determined relationship by using triangulation methods.]
Regarding claim 6, Bonsignore (modified by Braker) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the projector comprises at least one shutter, wherein the shutter is configured for temporally blocking light from one of the array areas and allowing light from the other array area to pass, wherein the control unit is configured for controlling the shutter for switching between array areas.
However, Braker does disclose
wherein the projector comprises at least one shutter, wherein the shutter is configured for temporally blocking light from one of the array areas and allowing light from the other array area to pass, wherein the control unit is configured for controlling the shutter for switching between array areas. [See Braker [0046] Shuttering devices using the controller for a pattern projector. Also, see 0054, source shuttering device (317) is controlled by a controller.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Bonsignore (modified by Braker) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the control unit is configured for driving the array areas such that one of the array areas is temporally non-emitting while the other array area is emitting, wherein the control unit is configured for switching between the array areas.
However, Braker does disclose
wherein the control unit is configured for driving the array areas such that one of the array areas is temporally non-emitting while the other array area is emitting, wherein the control unit is configured for switching between the array areas. [See Braker [0046] Shuttering devices using the controller for a pattern projector. Also, see 0054, source shuttering device (317) is controlled by a controller.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Bonsignore (modified by Braker) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the switching between the array areas and the imaging of the camera is synchronized.
However, Braker does disclose
wherein the switching between the array areas and the imaging of the camera is synchronized. [See Braker [0054] A controller coordinates the timing of the source modulators, the timing of the source shuttering devices, and the timing of the image gating devices. Also, see 0040, imaging detector in synchrony with pattern projection timing.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Bonsignore (modified by Braker) disclose the detector of claim 6. Furthermore, Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the switching between the array areas is performed periodically.
However, Braker does disclose
wherein the switching between the array areas is performed periodically. [See Braker [0046] Shuttering devices using the controller for a pattern projector. Also, see 0054, source shuttering device (317) is controlled by a controller.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Bonsignore (modified by Braker) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore discloses
wherein each of the emitter comprises at least one element selected from the group consisting of at least one laser source, at least one semi-conductor laser, at least one double heterostructure laser, at least one external cavity laser, at least one separate confinement heterostructure laser, at least one quantum cascade laser, at least one distributed Bragg reflector laser, at least one polariton laser, at least one hybrid silicon laser, at least one extended cavity diode laser, at least one quantum dot laser, at least one volume Bragg grating laser, at least one Indium Arsenide laser, at least one Gallium Arsenide laser, at least one transistor laser, at least one diode pumped laser, at least one distributed feedback lasers, at least one quantum well laser, at least one interband cascade laser, at least one semiconductor ring laser, at least one vertical cavity surface-emitting laser, at least one non-laser light source, at least one LED, and at least one light bulb. [See Bonsignore [Pg. 60 line 40 to Pg. 61 line 1]
Regarding claim 11, Bonsignore (modified by Braker) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore discloses
wherein the optical sensor comprises at least one CCD sensor or at least one CMOS sensor. [See Bonsignore [Pg. 59 lines 11-13] CCD or CMOS detector.]
Regarding claim 12, Bonsignore (modified by Braker) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore discloses
wherein the detector comprises at least one transfer device configured for guiding the light beam onto the optical sensors and for forming the reflection image on the sensor element. [See Bonsignore [Fig. 1] (140).]
Regarding claim 13, Bonsignore (modified by Braker) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore discloses
a mobile device configured for determining a position of at least one object, wherein the mobile device comprises at least one detector according to claim 1, wherein the mobile device is one or more of a mobile communication device, a tablet computer, or a portable computer. [See Bonsignore [Pg. 46 lines 30-36] Mobile phones, PC’s, tablet PCs.]
Regarding claim 14, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, Bonsignore (modified by Braker) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore discloses
a method of using the detector according to claim 1, the method comprising using the detector for a purpose of use selected from the group consisting of: a position measurement in traffic technology; an entertainment application; a security application; a surveillance application; a safety application; a human-machine interface application; a logistics application; a tracking application; an outdoor application; a mobile application; a communication application; a photography application; a machine vision application; a robotics application; a quality control application; a manufacturing application; a gait monitoring application; a human body monitoring application; home care; smart living, and automotive application. [See Bonsignore [Pg. 77 lines 37-40] Human machine interface.]
Regarding claim 19, Bonsignore (modified by Braker) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the emitters are divided into subsections and/or parts of the array, wherein the array areas emit light at different time points.
However, Braker does disclose
wherein the emitters are divided into subsections and/or parts of the array, wherein the array areas emit light at different time points. [See Braker [0046] Each channel of the multiple channel pattern projector comprises a separate radiation source. The radiation source includes LEDs (i.e. plural emitters). Also, see 0038, Time-multiplex by a multiple-channel pattern projector to illuminate scene with rapid sequence of patterns and comprises multiple radiation sources. Also, see 0046, time multiplexing, different groups of spectrally-encoded patterns may be projected at different times by controlling radiation sources.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Bonsignore (modified by Braker) disclose the detector of claim 1. Furthermore, Bonsignore does not explicitly disclose
wherein the emitters are divided into subsections and/or parts of the array, wherein the array areas emit light at different time points in alternation.
However, Braker does disclose
wherein the emitters are divided into subsections and/or parts of the array, wherein the array areas emit light at different time points in alternation. [See Braker [0046] Each channel of the multiple channel pattern projector comprises a separate radiation source. The radiation source includes LEDs (i.e. plural emitters). Also, see 0039, Pattern projector channels are elements of an integrated compact array structure such as a VCSEL array. Also, see 0038, Time-multiplex by a multiple-channel pattern projector to illuminate scene with rapid sequence of patterns and comprises multiple radiation sources. Also, see 0046, time multiplexing, different groups of spectrally-encoded patterns may be projected at different times by controlling radiation sources (i.e. the radiation sources will alternate when the radiation sources are interpreted as 2 since there are a plurality of radiation sources for time-multiplexing.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486