DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
1. This office action is a response to Applicant's election filed on 07/07/2026 without traverse of Group I, species I-1C, claims 1-2, 6-8 & 10-12 for further examination. Claims 3-5, 9 & 13-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/20/2024 & 05/20/2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “cooling part” in claims 1-2; “a discharge unit” in claim 1; “a recycling unit that regenerates a liquid” in claim 3; “a concentration adjusting unit” in claims 4 and 7; “a substrate holding unit” in claim 5; “a recycling unit that regenerates a gas” in claim 6; “a cooling unit” in claim 10.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner' s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-2 & 6-8 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda et al. (JP 06-212381 A) hereinafter Ikeda (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Ikeda are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 1, Ikeda discloses a metal fume reduction apparatus for a snout (5) disposed between an outlet of a heat treatment furnace (9) and a molten metal plating tank (10) (abs; fig 1), comprising:
a main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component) ([0005]-[0008]; fig 1);
an introduction pipe part (13) and a return pipe part (14) each of which is configured to couple the snout (5) to the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component) so that an interior space of the snout (5) communicates with the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component) ([0005]-[0008]; fig 1); and
cooling part (6) configured to cool a cooling target site (3), of the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component), located between a first connection portion (see fig 1, opening) with the introduction pipe part (13) and a second connection portion (see fig 1, opening) with the return pipe part (14) in a longitudinal direction of the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component) ([0005]-[0008]; fig 1),
wherein the cooling target site (3) is located below the first connection portion (see fig 1, opening) of the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component) in a state where the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component) is coupled to the snout (5) via the introduction pipe part (13) and the return pipe part (14) ([0005]-[0008]; fig 1), and
wherein the metal fume reduction apparatus does not comprise a device for suctioning a gas from an inside of the snout (5) to a flow path formed by the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component), the introduction pipe part (13), and the return pipe part (14) ([0005]-[0008]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 2, Ikeda discloses a metal fume reduction apparatus (abs; fig 1), wherein the cooling part (6) is configured to cool an outer surface of the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component) by a cooling fluid ([0005]-[0008]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 6, Ikeda discloses a metal fume reduction apparatus (abs; fig 1), wherein the introduction pipe part (13), the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component), and the return pipe part (14) form a flow path for allowing a gas from the snout (5) to be distributed in this order, and wherein the metal fume reduction apparatus comprises a heater (11) configured to heat the gas in the flow path at a position downstream of the cooling target site (3) in the flow path ([0005]-[0008]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 7, Ikeda discloses a metal fume reduction apparatus (abs; fig 1), wherein the heater (11) is disposed in the return pipe part (14) ([0005]-[0008]; fig 1).
As regards to claim 8, Ikeda discloses a metal fume reduction apparatus (abs; fig 1), wherein the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component) includes a straight pipe portion (see fig 1, portion between 7-8) extending linearly, wherein the metal fume reduction apparatus comprises a first valve (8) disposed in, among both end portion (see fig 1, openings) of the straight pipe portion (see fig 1, portion between 7-8), a first end portion (see fig 1, side portion of opening) on a side of the first connection portion (see fig 1, opening) with the introduction pipe part (13) relative to the cooling target site (3), and wherein the first valve (8) includes an open/close valve with an opening of a size not less than an inner diameter of the straight pipe portion (see fig 1, portion between 7-8) ([0005]-[0008]; fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ishii et al. (US 6,093,452 A) hereinafter Ishii (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Ishii are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 10, Ikeda discloses a metal fume reduction apparatus (abs; fig 1), comprising a third valve (8) disposed in the introduction pipe part (13) and configured to switch a communication state between the interior space of the snout (5) and the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component), the return pipe part (14) between the interior space of the snout (5) and the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component) ([0005]-[0008]; fig 1), however Ikeda does not disclose a fourth valve disposed in the return pipe part (14) and configured to switch the communication state between the interior space of the snout (5) and the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component).
Ishii discloses a metal fume reduction apparatus (abs; fig 1), comprising a fourth valve disposed in a pipe part and configured to switch the communication state between the interior space and the main pipe part (col 8, ln 10-20; col 11, ln 46-50; col 12, ln 9-36; fig 6 & 10). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a fourth valve disposed in the return pipe part (14) and configured to switch the communication state between the interior space of the snout (5) and the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component)
in the apparatus of Ikeda, because Ishii teaches the use of a fourth valve disposed in a pipe part and configured to switch the communication state between the interior space and the main pipe part to regulate the necessary pressure by adjusting the opening of the valve and such that the gas pressure is increased to be greater than that of the outside of the facility (col 8, ln 10-20; col 11, ln 46-50; col 12, ln 9-36).
As regards to claim 11, Ikeda discloses a metal fume reduction apparatus (abs; fig 1), comprising a third valve (8) disposed in the introduction pipe part (13) and configured to switch a communication state between the interior space of the snout (5) and the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component), the return pipe part (14) between the interior space of the snout (5) and the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component) ([0005]-[0008]; fig 1), however Ikeda does not disclose an inert gas supply part configured to supply an inert gas to a position, of the introduction pipe part (13), between the third valve (8) and the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component) or a position, of the return pipe part (14), between the fourth valve and the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component).
Ishii discloses a metal fume reduction apparatus (abs; fig 1), comprising an inert gas supply part (128) configured to supply an inert gas to a position (see fig 6), of the introduction pipe part (126), between the third valve (130) and the main pipe part (see fig 6, overall main pipe component) (col 9, ln 43-51; col 11, ln 56-col 12, ln 8; col 12, ln 30-63; fig 6). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an inert gas supply part (128) configured to supply an inert gas to a position (see fig 6), of the introduction pipe part (126), between the third valve (130) and the main pipe part (see fig 6, overall main pipe component)
in the apparatus of Ikeda, because Ishii teaches the use of an inert gas supply part (128) configured to supply an inert gas to a position (see fig 6), of the introduction pipe part (126), between the third valve (130) and the main pipe part (see fig 6, overall main pipe component) to remove the ashes, and taking them out (col 9, ln 43-51; col 11, ln 56-col 12, ln 8; col 12, ln 30-63).
As regards to claim 12, Ikeda discloses a metal fume reduction apparatus (abs; fig 1), the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component), the introduction pipe part (13), the return pipe part (14) ([0005]-[0008]; fig 1), however Ikeda does not disclose wherein at least one of the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component), the introduction pipe part (13), or the return pipe part (14) includes a buffer portion for absorbing misalignment due to thermal deformation of the main pipe part (see fig 1, overall main pipe component), the introduction pipe part (13), or the return pipe part (14).
Ishii discloses a metal fume reduction apparatus (abs; fig 1), comprising a buffer portion (123) for absorbing misalignment due to thermal deformation (formed with a heat resistant glass fiber paper) of the main pipe part (see fig 6, overall main pipe component) (col 9, ln 43-col 12, ln 29; fig 6). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a buffer portion (123) for absorbing misalignment due to thermal deformation (formed with a heat resistant glass fiber paper) of the main pipe part (see fig 6, overall main pipe component) in the apparatus of Ikeda, because Ishii teaches the use of a buffer portion (123) for absorbing misalignment due to thermal deformation (formed with a heat resistant glass fiber paper) of the main pipe part (see fig 6, overall main pipe component) to prevent the vapor of the evaporated molten metal from dispersing over the buffer portion (123) to prevent oxides or adhered substances (ashes) from occurring (col 9, ln 43-col 10, ln 14).
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: all references cited on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited excluding the above relied upon references.
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717