DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 12-14, 17-21, 23-25 and 27-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 15, 18, 23, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. (US 2011/0261714) in view of Rai et al. (US 11,324,022)
Regarding claim 1, Pan et al. disclose A method for wireless communications by a network entity (Paragraph 56, configurations transmitted from a base station), comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information configuring the UE for communications on noncontiguous carriers of a single cell (Paragraphs 39 and 66, perform uplink and downlink configurations for each of the component carriers aggregated in a cell; Paragraphs 47 and 68, It is determined whether contiguous or non-contiguous carrier aggregation applies in the cell…if non-contiguous carrier aggregation applies in the cell, then uplink and downlink configurations are performed separately for each of the component carriers; Paragraphs 51 and 69, transmit the uplink and downlink configuration of each component carrier and those of the other component carriers aggregated with the component carrier to an LTE-A UE accessing the corresponding component carrier); and
communicating with the UE on the noncontiguous carriers in accordance with the configuration information (Paragraph 24, perform proper transmission and reception of data according to the uplink and downlink configurations).
Pan et al. do not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Rai et al.: wherein the configuration configures at least one bandwidth part (BWP) with resource blocks (RBs) that span at least two noncontiguous carriers (Rai et al., Column 8 lines 7-26, the eNodeB 16 may have a particular extent of resource blocks available across a given frequency bandwidth, which the eNodeB can schedule to be transmitted to and from the UE 20 on a particular one or more carriers (contiguous or non-contiguous) used for serving the UE; Column 8 lines 28-49, an eNodeB in a system such as this may be configured to allocate resource blocks at various positions in a given bandwidth of a carrier or in a given range of carriers in a manner that may improve bearer service to UEs served by the eNodeB; Column 10 lines 33-58, the eNodeB may be configured to use resource blocks of the other component carrier or use resource blocks across both of the component carriers (i.e., distribute traffic of the different content type among the two carriers). As another example, when the eNodeB is configured to distribute traffic of a content type among two or more of the UE's component carriers, the eNodeB may be configured to (i) schedule a portion of a transmission of the content type of bearer traffic to be on the UE's primary component carrier and (ii) schedule other portions of the transmission to be on at least one of the UE's secondary component carriers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan et al. with the cited disclosure from Rai et al. in order to improve bearer service (Rai et al, Column 8 lines 28-49).
Regarding claim 7, Pan et al. disclose wherein the at least one BWP comprises at least one of a downlink BWP or an uplink BWP (Paragraph 58, uplink and downlink configuration…to provide a wider transmission bandwidth).
Regarding claim 15, Rai et al. disclose scheduling transmissions in multiple BWPs spanning different noncontiguous carriers with a single downlink control information (DCI) (Column 2 lines 53-60, With carrier aggregation, a base station may provide a DCI message to a UE on the primary carrier, but may use that DCI message to schedule downlink communication of bearer data to the UE on two or more carriers at time, such as on both the PDSCH of the UE's primary carrier and the PDSCH of one or more secondary carriers. Such carrier aggregation can significantly increase the base station's effective bandwidth; Column 8 lines 7-26, the eNodeB 16 may have a particular extent of resource blocks available across a given frequency bandwidth, which the eNodeB can schedule to be transmitted to and from the UE 20 on a particular one or more carriers (contiguous or non-contiguous) used for serving the UE…the eNodeB may responsively allocate one or more upcoming resource blocks on the PUSCH to carry that bearer traffic and transmit on the PDCCH to the UE a DCI message that directs the UE to transmit the bearer traffic in the allocated resource blocks, and the UE may then do so. Likewise, when the eNodeB has data to transmit to the UE, the eNodeB may allocate PDSCH resource blocks to carry that bearer traffic and may transmit on the PDCCH to the UE a DCI message that directs the UE to receive the bearer traffic in the allocated resource blocks).
Regarding claim 18, Pan et al. disclose A method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 56, configurations received by a UE), comprising:
Receiving, from a network entity, configuration information configuring the UE for communications on noncontiguous carriers of a single cell (Paragraphs 39 and 66, perform uplink and downlink configurations for each of the component carriers aggregated in a cell; Paragraphs 47 and 68, It is determined whether contiguous or non-contiguous carrier aggregation applies in the cell…if non-contiguous carrier aggregation applies in the cell, then uplink and downlink configurations are performed separately for each of the component carriers; Paragraphs 51 and 69, transmit the uplink and downlink configuration of each component carrier and those of the other component carriers aggregated with the component carrier to an LTE-A UE accessing the corresponding component carrier); and
communicating with the network entity on the noncontiguous carriers in accordance with the configuration information (Paragraph 24, perform proper transmission and reception of data according to the uplink and downlink configurations).
Pan et al. do not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Rai et al.: wherein the configuration configures at least one bandwidth part (BWP) with resource blocks (RBs) that span at least two noncontiguous carriers (Rai et al., Column 8 lines 7-26, the eNodeB 16 may have a particular extent of resource blocks available across a given frequency bandwidth, which the eNodeB can schedule to be transmitted to and from the UE 20 on a particular one or more carriers (contiguous or non-contiguous) used for serving the UE; Column 8 lines 28-49, an eNodeB in a system such as this may be configured to allocate resource blocks at various positions in a given bandwidth of a carrier or in a given range of carriers in a manner that may improve bearer service to UEs served by the eNodeB; Column 10 lines 33-58, the eNodeB may be configured to use resource blocks of the other component carrier or use resource blocks across both of the component carriers (i.e., distribute traffic of the different content type among the two carriers). As another example, when the eNodeB is configured to distribute traffic of a content type among two or more of the UE's component carriers, the eNodeB may be configured to (i) schedule a portion of a transmission of the content type of bearer traffic to be on the UE's primary component carrier and (ii) schedule other portions of the transmission to be on at least one of the UE's secondary component carriers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pan et al. with the cited disclosure from Rai et al. in order to improve bearer service (Rai et al, Column 8 lines 28-49).
Regarding claim 22, Pan et al. disclose receiving signaling configuring at least one bandwidth part (BWP) with resource blocks (RBs) that span at least two noncontiguous carriers (Paragraph 4, Non-contiguous LTE carriers across a plurality of frequency bands are aggregated for a wider transmission bandwidth of the LTE-A. FIG. 1 illustrates an example of non-contiguous multi-carrier aggregation, where LTE carriers non-contiguous across four frequency bands are aggregated for a transmission bandwidth of the system; Paragraph 58, The LTE A UE accessing each of LTE TDD carriers shall acquire the uplink and downlink configurations of the other carriers aggregated with the carrier to provide a wider transmission bandwidth; Paragraphs 69-70, broadcast message or upper layer signaling).
Regarding claim 23, Pan et al. disclose wherein the at least one BWP comprises at least one of a downlink BWP or an uplink BWP (Paragraph 58, uplink and downlink configuration…to provide a wider transmission bandwidth).
Regarding claim 29, the functional limitations are rejected for similar reasons set forth in rejecting claim 1 above. Pan et al. additionally disclose a network entity (Paragraph 56, base station) for wireless communications, comprising one or more memories (Memory is inherent in the base station for communicating with the UE) and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (Paragraphs 66-71, configuration module and transmission module correspond to processor; Processor and memory coupling is inherent in the base station for communicating with the UE) and configured to cause the network entity to perform the functional limitations.
Regarding claim 30, the functional limitations are rejected for similar reasons set forth in rejecting claim 18 above. Pan et al. additionally disclose a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 56, UE) for wireless communications, comprising one or more memories (Memory is inherent in the UE for communicating with the base station) and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (Processor and memory coupling is inherent in the UE for communicating with the base station) and configured to cause the UE to perform the functional limitations.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. in view of Rai et al. as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Xiao et al. (US 2021/0167928).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Pan et al. in view of Rai et al. disclose the claimed invention above as well as the configuration information configuring noncontiguous carriers of a single cell (See respective rejections of claims 1 and 18 above) but do not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Xiao et al.: wherein the configuration information indicates: two or more frequency reference points, each to define one of the noncontiguous carriers (Xiao et al., Paragraph 128, One cell may include one downlink carrier [frequency reference point] and one uplink carrier [frequency reference point]… To efficiently use fragmented spectrums, carrier aggregation supports aggregation of different component carriers. The different component carriers described herein may be component carriers with a same bandwidth or different bandwidths, or adjacent or non-adjacent component carriers in a same frequency band, or may be component carriers in different frequency bands. Based on this, carrier aggregation may be classified into intra-band contiguous carrier aggregation, intra-band non-contiguous carrier aggregation, and inter-band non-contiguous carrier aggregation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pan et al. and Rai et al. with the cited disclosure from Xiao et al. in order to efficiently use fragmented spectrums (Xiao et al., Paragraph 128).
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Xiao et al. disclose wherein: at least a first one of the frequency reference points defines a carrier for uplink transmission; and at least a second one of the frequency reference points defines a carrier for downlink transmission (Paragraph 128, One cell may include one downlink carrier [frequency reference point] and one uplink carrier [frequency reference point]).
Claim(s) 4, 5 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. in view of Rai et al. in view of Xiao et al. as applied to claims 2 and 19 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0084653).
Regarding claims 4, Pan et al. in view of Rai et al. in view of Xiao et al. disclose the claimed invention above but do not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Li et al.: wherein, for each of the noncontiguous carriers (Li et al., Paragraphs 260-261, noncontiguous), the configuration information indicates: a frequency offset to a corresponding frequency reference point and a carrier bandwidth (Li et al., Paragraph 276, configuring offsets of the start positions of the at least two downlink virtual carriers relative to the reference point; Paragraphs 277 and 279, configuring offset using start position relative to reference point and end position of carrier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pan et al., Rai et al. and Xiao et al. with the cited disclosure from Li et al. in order to improve throughput, scheduling and load balancing while reducing complexity and increasing peak rate of service (Li et al., Paragraph 270).
Regarding claim 5, Li et al. disclose wherein the carrier bandwidth indicated for each noncontiguous carrier is based on an associated reference subcarrier spacing (Paragraphs 270, 271, 275, subcarrier spacing).
Regarding claims 21, Pan et al. in view of Rai et al. in view of Xiao et al. disclose the claimed invention above but do not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Li et al.: wherein, for each of the noncontiguous carriers (Li et al., Paragraphs 260-261, noncontiguous), the configuration information indicates: a frequency offset to a corresponding frequency reference point and a carrier bandwidth (Li et al., Paragraph 276, configuring offsets of the start positions of the at least two downlink virtual carriers relative to the reference point; Paragraphs 277 and 279, configuring offset using start position relative to reference point and end position of carrier); or the carrier bandwidth indicated for each noncontiguous carrier is based on an associated reference subcarrier spacing (Li et al., Paragraphs 270, 271, 275, subcarrier spacing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pan et al., Rai et al. and Xiao et al. with the cited disclosure from Li et al. in order to improve throughput, scheduling and load balancing while reducing complexity and increasing peak rate of service (Li et al., Paragraph 270).
Claim(s) 8,-10, 12, 13, 24, 25 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. in view of Rai et al. as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Li et al.
Regarding claims 8 and 24, Pan et al. in view of Rai et al. disclose the claimed invention above but do not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Li et al.: wherein the at least one BWP is configured with one or more pairs of starting RBs and BWP bandwidths ("starting RB and BWP bandwidth pairs"), each starting RB and BWP bandwidth pair corresponding to a continuous RB segment in one of the noncontiguous carriers (Li et al., Paragraph 313, the first indication information may be used to indicate the start position and the end position of the first BWP, or the first indication information may be used to indicate the start position of the first BWP and the bandwidth value of the first BWP…resource blocks on the first downlink virtual carrier may be numbered from an index 0 in a frequency increasing direction. In this case, the fourth index may correspond to a number of a resource block corresponding to the start position of the first BWP in the first downlink virtual carrier. It should be understood that, the resource blocks in the first downlink virtual carrier may alternatively be numbered from an index 1. This is not limited in this embodiment of the application. It should be understood that bandwidth of the first BWP may include X1 subcarriers. For example, the bandwidth of the first BWP may be Y1 resource blocks and X1 subcarriers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify system of Pan et al. and Rai et al. with the cited disclosure from Li et al. in order to improve throughput, scheduling and load balancing while reducing complexity and increasing peak rate of service (Li et al., Paragraph 270).
Regarding claim 9, Li et al. disclose wherein each of the one or more starting RB and BWP bandwidth pairs is associated with a frequency reference point (Paragraphs 38 and 282, resource block reference point).
Regarding claims 10 and 25, Li et al. disclose wherein the one or more starting RB and BWP bandwidth pairs of the at least one BWP are associated with a frequency reference point shared by all noncontiguous carriers spanned by the RBs of the BWP (Paragraphs 42, 92, the configuration information includes indexes of common resource blocks corresponding to at least two downlink virtual carriers in the N downlink virtual carriers, and the common resource blocks corresponding to the at least two downlink virtual carriers have a same reference point).
Regarding claims 12 and 27, Li et al. disclose wherein a common reference subcarrier spacing is configured for all starting RB and bandwidth pairs of the BWP (Paragraph 8, the N downlink virtual carriers correspond to a same subcarrier spacing, and the M uplink virtual carriers correspond to a same subcarrier spacing; Paragraph 282, a reference point may be determined based on an offset Ost 0 between the reference point and a reference frequency position. After the reference point is determined, a common resource block may be determined based on a subcarrier spacing of a first downlink virtual carrier or the second downlink virtual carrier).
Regarding claim 13, Li et al. disclose consecutively numbering RBs in the BWP across two or more continuous RB segments in the noncontiguous carriers (Paragraph 236, one BWP is a frequency domain resource on which N non-overlapping consecutive resource blocks (resource block, RB) are located… one BWP is a frequency domain resource on which M non-overlapping consecutive resource block groups (resource block group, RBG) are located, and one RBG includes P consecutive RBs).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. in view of Rai et al. in view of Li et al. as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0296758, hereinafter referred to as Li II).
Regarding claim 14, Pan et al. in view of Rai et al. in view of Li et al. disclose the claimed invention above but do not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Li II: setting a frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) field of a downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling data in the BWP, based on the numbering of RBs (Li II, Paragraphs 89, 94, DCI including frequency domain resource allocation indication to indicate index of start RB and quantity of RB consecutive allocated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pan et al., Rai et al. and Li et al. with the cited disclosure from Li II in order to perform resource allocation (Li II, Paragraphs 88-89, 93-94).
Claim(s) 17 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al. in view of Rai et al. as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Marupaduga et al. (US 10,129,889).
Regarding claims 17 and 28, Pan et al. in view of Rai et al. disclose the claimed invention above as well as the UE receiving communication configuration information for noncontiguous carriers in a single cell from a network entity (See rejections of claims 1 and 18 above) but do not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Marupaduga et al.: receiving/transmitting capability information of the UE (Marupaduga et al., Column 10 lines 30-35 and lines 40-44, base station determines whether the UE supports non-contiguous carrier aggregation based on the UE informing the base station about the UE’s carrier aggregation capabilities and limitations); and transmitting/receiving the configuration to the UE only if the capability information indicates the UE supports communications on noncontiguous carriers (Marupaduga et al., Figures 5-7, base station informs UE of allocation based on determined UE carrier aggregation capabilities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pan et al. and Rai et al. with the cited disclosure from Marupaduga et al. in order to allow a base station to select and allocate a high quality and/or reliable carrier from multiple available carriers (Marupaduga et al., Column 2 lines 62-64).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 16 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claims 11 and 26, the prior art does not disclose or adequately suggest that all RBs in noncontiguous carrier between the lowest and highest frequencies subcarriers are allocated to a BWP and that one or more pairs of starting RB and bandwidth are configured for the lowest frequency containing the BWP; regarding claim 16, the prior art does not disclose or adequately suggest the multiple BWPs being non-overlapping in the frequency domain.
Conclusion
/OTIS L THOMPSON, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477
June 10, 2026