DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/20/2024, 03/27/2024, and 08/11/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "a cobalt columnar body" in line 3. It is unclear whether this is the same cobalt columnar body as claimed in claim 10, from which claim 11 depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ATAYA (JP 201686620; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 1, ATAYA discloses a shaft (50) comprising:
a ferromagnetic shaft (20); and
a tubular magnet (11) covering an outer circumferential surface of the ferromagnetic shaft (20)
wherein a magnetization easy axis (F) of the tubular magnet (11) is oriented in a radial direction (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 2, ATAYA discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the ferromagnetic shaft (20) and the tubular magnet (11) are in direct contact (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 4, ATAYA discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein
an inner diameter of the tubular magnet and an axial length of the tubular magnet satisfy a formula below: 1< L/d1 (see Fig. 1)
Regarding Claim 8, ATAYA discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein each of both ends of the ferromagnetic shaft (20) includes an exposed portion configured to be uncovered with the tubular magnet (11) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 9, ATAYA discloses the rotor according to claim 1, wherein the tubular magnet (11) is magnetized in a radial direction, and an outer circumferential surface of the tubular magnet (11) includes four or more magnetic poles (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 12, ATAYA discloses a motor comprising: the shaft (50) according to claim 1; and a stator (disclosed ‘coils’ are a stator as broadly claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ATAYA in view of TANAI (US 4095129).
Regarding Claim 3, ATAYA discloses the rotor according to claim 1.
However, ATAYA does not disclose the tubular magnet has an inner diameter of 2 mm or less.
TANAI discloses a rotor 10 with a permanent magnet 20 with an inner diameter of less than 2mm (see col. 4, lines 11-19).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the rotor of ATAYA wherein the tubular magnet has an inner diameter of 2 mm or less, similar to TANAI.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to produce a motor that is small in size, low in cost, light-weight and capable of delivering a high output torque with minimum power consumption, with enhanced efficiency, ease of assembly and maintenance, and low cost of manufacture, as taught by TANAI (see col. 1, lines 10-43)
Regarding Claim 5, ATAYA discloses the rotor according to claim 1.
However, ATAYA does not disclose the tubular magnet has a thickness of 10 to 300 m.
TANAI discloses the tubular magnet 20 has a thickness of 10 to 300 m (see col. 4, lines 11-19).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the rotor of ATAYA wherein the tubular magnet has a thickness of 10 to 300 m, similar to TANAI.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to produce a motor that is small in size, low in cost, light-weight and capable of delivering a high output torque with minimum power consumption, with enhanced efficiency, ease of assembly and maintenance, and low cost of manufacture, as taught by TANAI (see col. 1, lines 10-43)
Regarding Claim 10, ATAYA discloses the rotor according to claim 1.
However, ATAYA does not disclose the ferromagnetic shaft includes a cobalt columnar body and the tubular magnet is a samarium cobalt magnet.
TANAI discloses a samarium cobalt magnet (see col. 4, lines 11-19).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the rotor of ATAYA wherein the ferromagnetic shaft includes a cobalt columnar body and the tubular magnet is a samarium cobalt magnet, similar to TANAI.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide small lightweight stepping motors as is well-known in the art, as taught by TANAI (see col. 1, lines 11-27) and as an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding Claim 11, ATAYA in view of TANAI teaches the rotor according to claim 10.
TANAI discloses the samarium cobalt magnet includes a SmCo5 magnet (see col. 1, lines 11-27).
However, neither ATAYA nor TANAI discloses a portion of the ferromagnetic shaft covered with the tubular magnet includes a Sm2Co17 layer and a cobalt columnar body in order from a side of the tubular magnet.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the rotor of ATAYA wherein the ferromagnetic shaft includes a Sm2Co17 layer and a cobalt columnar body in order from a side of the tubular magnet, similar to the teachings of TANAI.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide small lightweight stepping motors as is well-known in the art, as taught by TANAI (see col. 1, lines 11-27) and as an obvious matter of design choice.
Claims 6, 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ATAYA in view of HAYASHI (JP 2005050988; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 6, ATAYA discloses the rotor according to claim 1.
However, ATAYA does not disclose a thickness distribution (coefficient of variation) of the tubular magnet is 50 µm or less.
HAYASHI discloses a magnet motor with a thickness distribution (coefficient of variation) of the tubular magnet is 50 µm or less (see para [0033]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the rotor of ATAYA with a thickness distribution (coefficient of variation) of the tubular magnet is 50 µm or less, similar to HAYASHI.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide a thin magnet with few cracks and irregularities having a low surface resistivity and low contact resistance with the inner wall of the housing, while maintaining magnetic characteristics, as taught by HAYASHI (see paras [0011] and [0033]).
Regarding Claim 7, ATAYA discloses the rotor according to claim 1.
However, ATAYA does not disclose an outer circumferential surface of the tubular magnet (11) has a surface roughness Rz of 20 µm or less.
HAYASHI discloses a magnet motor an outer circumferential surface of the tubular magnet (11) has a surface roughness Rz of 20 µm or less (see para [0033]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the rotor of ATAYA with an outer circumferential surface of the tubular magnet (11) has a surface roughness Rz of 20 µm or less, similar to HAYASHI.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide a thin magnet with few cracks and irregularities having a low surface resistivity and low contact resistance with the inner wall of the housing, while maintaining magnetic characteristics, as taught by HAYASHI (see paras [0011] and [0033]).
Regarding Claim 13, ATAYA discloses the motor according to claim 12.
However, ATAYA does not disclose a cylindrical container configured to house the shaft and the stator, wherein the container has an outer diameter of 3 mm or less.
HAYASHI discloses a cylindrical container configured to house the shaft and the stator, wherein the container has an outer diameter of 3 mm or less (see para [0033]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the rotor of ATAYA with a cylindrical container configured to house the shaft and the stator, wherein the container has an outer diameter of 3 mm or less, similar to HAYASHI.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide a compact motor proportional to the thin film magnet as taught by HAYASHI (see paras [0011] and [0033])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20150179320 Furusawa and US 20160087494 Fischer both disclose permanent magnet rotors with radial easy axes of magnetization.
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834