DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Otsuka et al. (US 2020/0313123 A1) (cited in IDS dated 09/30/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Otsuka discloses an electrode assembly (battery element 12, fig. 1A, [0034-0058]) comprising:
a positive electrode (positive electrode pate 16, [0034] and fig. 1A) including a positive electrode tab (positive electrode terminal 15, fig. 2A and [0092]) protruding from one outer end of the positive electrode (16, see fig. 2A) and a positive electrode active material ([0038-0040]) applied to a positive electrode current collector (14, fig. 2A and [0092]);
a negative electrode (negative electrode plate 20, [0034] and fig. 1A) including a negative electrode tab (23) protruding from one outer end of the negative electrode (20), an extension portion (E, see fig. 1A/1B), and a negative electrode active material (e.g. graphite, [0092]) is applied to a negative electrode current collector (22, fig. 2A and [0092]); and
a separator (18, [0034] and fig. 1A) located between the positive electrode (16) and the negative electrode (20) and including a bent portion (see fig. 1A/1B),
wherein the extension portion is formed at an edge of the negative electrode (20) so as to extend from the negative electrode (20) by a predetermined length, and
wherein the bent portion is formed at an edge of the separator (18) (see fig. 1A/1B), the bent portion being bent by a predetermined angle so as to overlie a part of a side surface of the positive electrode (16) (see fig. 1A/1B).
Regarding claim 2, Otsuka further discloses that the extension portion (E) extends in a direction toward the positive electrode (18) (see fig. 1A or 1B).
Regarding claim 3, Otsuka further discloses that the extension portion (E) is formed at each one of opposite side edges of the negative electrode (20) (see fig. 1A that shows extension portion is formed on both sides).
Regarding claim 4, Otsuka further discloses that the extension portion (E) is formed at
each one of a front edge and a rear edge of the negative electrode (20) (see fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 5, Otsuka further discloses that the extension portion (E) is formed at
each one of opposite side edges, a front edge, and a rear edge of the negative electrode (20) (see fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 6, Otsuka further discloses that the extension portion (E) is formed at a part of the edge of the negative electrode (20) (see fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 7, Otsuka further discloses that the extension portion (E) includes a lower end having an uneven shape (see fig. 2A that shows negative electrode 20 has raised portion, which reads on uneven shape, adjacent to the negative electrode terminal 23).
Regarding claim 8, Otsuka further discloses that the extension portion (E) includes a lower end having a wavy shape (see fig. 2A that shows negative electrode 20 has wavy portion adjacent to the negative electrode terminal 23).
Regarding claim 9, Otsuka discloses a battery cell (battery assembly 12, fig. 1A) comprising the electrode assembly according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, Otsuka discloses a battery module (10) having the battery cell (12) according to claim 9 received therein (see fig. 1A and rejection of claim 9).
Regarding claim 11, Otsuka further discloses the positive electrode (16) includes upper and lower surfaces (top and bottom surfaces see fig. 1A), the side surface of the positive electrode (16) extending from the upper surface of the positive electrode (16) to the lower surface of the positive electrode (16) (see fig. 1A), the negative electrode (20) includes upper and lower surfaces (top and bottom surfaces) and a side surface extending from the upper surface of the negative electrode (20) to the lower surface of the negative electrode (20), and the upper surface of the positive electrode (16) faces towards the lower surface of the negative electrode (20).
Regarding claim 12, Otsuka further discloses the bent portion wraps around the side surface of the positive electrode (16) and the upper surface of the positive electrode (16) (see fig. 1A/1B).
Regarding claim 12, Otsuka further discloses the bent portion further wraps around another side surface of the positive electrode opposite the side surface of the positive electrode (see fig. 1A that shows the bent portion of the separator wraps both side surfaces of positive electrode 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsuka as applied above.
Regarding claim 7, Otsuka further discloses that the extension portion (E) includes a lower end having an uneven shape (see fig. 2A that shows negative electrode 20 has raised portion, which reads on uneven shape, adjacent to the negative electrode terminal 23).
Alternatively, the configuration of the claimed shape of the lower end was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape of the lower end was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). MPEP §2144.04 IVB.
Regarding claim 8, Otsuka further discloses that the extension portion (E) includes a lower end having a wavy shape (see fig. 2A that shows negative electrode 20 has wavy portion adjacent to the negative electrode terminal 23).
Alternatively, the configuration of the claimed shape of the lower end was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape of the lower end was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). MPEP §2144.04 IVB.
Conclusion
/GOLAM MOWLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721