DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to a preliminary amendment filed on 9/25/2024. As directed by the preliminary amendment, claims 8-100 were canceled, claims 1 and 4-7 were amended, and no new claims were added. Thus, claims 1-7 are pending for this application.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5 lines 2-3, “201/min to 1501/min or 201/min to 801/min for adult patients, and l/min to 301/min” should be changed to --20 L/min to 150 L/min or 20 L/min to 80 L/min for adult patients, and 1 L/min to 30 L/min-- in order to correct the typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “at least one first member and/or second member” in line 5 is unclear whether the “at least one” is directed to (i.e. if a second member is chosen when “or” is used, is there at least one second member or does the at least one only correspond to the first member, i.e. more than one first members can be present but not more than one second members).
Furthermore, the phrase “forming at least one aperture” is unclear whether the first, second, or both members are able to form at least one aperture (i.e. if both a first and second member are chosen, do they each include at least one aperture, or does at least one aperture occur regardless of which and how many of which first and second members are chosen? And is the “at least one” tied to the “at least one” of the “at least one first member and/or second member”, i.e. is there a 1:1 ratio?).
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the ambient environment" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase “the at least one first member is arranged to deflect or move bi-directionally relatively the second member” in lines 1-2 is unclear as claim 1 recites “at least one first member and/or second member”, meaning the second member may not be required of the claim, therefore in a case where only a first member is present the claim is unclear because there is no second member.
The remaining claims are rejected due to dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kavermann (US 2017/0049982).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Kavermann discloses (Figs. 14-20) a tracheostomy guard for a patient interface, comprising:
a first portion (first end 1) arranged to connect to a patient interface (i.e. tracheal tube, paragraph [0142]) in fluid communication with the first portion, in use,
a second portion (comprising body 3 and portion 10) in fluid communication with the first portion, comprising at least one first member (portion 10) and/or second member (body 3) forming at least one aperture (apertures 155,156) in fluid communication with the ambient environment,
wherein the aperture has a size variable in response to a force applied to at least part of the second portion, in use (see Figs. 19-20 and paragraph [0167]-[0168]).
Regarding claim 2, Kavermann discloses wherein the at least one first member is arranged to deflect or move bi-directionally relatively the second member in response to the force applied (paragraphs [0167]-[0168]).
Regarding claim 3, Kavermann discloses wherein the size of the aperture relates to a cross-sectional dimension of the aperture (see Figs. 19-20 and paragraph [0167]-[0168]).
Claim(s) 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fuller (US 2019/0290876).
Regarding claim 1, Fuller discloses (Figs. 9-12B) tracheostomy guard for a patient interface, comprising:
a first portion (portion of casing 131 from left side to left side of seal, including the spring 132) arranged to connect to a patient interface (comprising outer and inner canula 101,110)) in fluid communication with the first portion, in use,
a second portion (portion of casing 131 including seal 133, air channel 134, and the chamber formed between seal 133 and valve, see Fig. 12A) in fluid communication with the first portion, comprising at least one first member (portion of casing between the seal and the valve) forming at least one aperture (aperture formed between valve and seal 133) in fluid communication with the ambient environment,
wherein the aperture has a size variable in response to a force applied to at least part of the second portion, in use (see Figs. 12a-12b and paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 4, Fuller disclose the force applied is associated with a gases flow rate of gases in the tracheostomy guard (see Figs. 12-12b and paragraph [0016]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuller (US 2019/0290876).
Regarding claim 5, Fuller discloses a gases flow rate associated with the force, but does not disclose the gases flow rate relates to a high flow rate of 20 1/min to 150 1/min or 20 1/min to 80 1/min for adult patients, and 1 l/min to 30 1/min for neonatal or paediatric patients. However, outside evidence of criticality, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to try to high flow rate of 20 1/min to 150 1/min or 20 1/min to 80 1/min for adult patients, and 1 l/min to 30 1/min for neonatal or paediatric patients for the purpose of providing optimal flow therapy to a user based on their age and body condition, since discovering the optimum value only involves routine skill in the art. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 1 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over an alternative embodiment of Kavermann (US 2017/0049982) in view of Wu (CN 108310487).
Regarding claim 1, Kavermann discloses (Fig. 1-12), as best understood, a tracheostomy guard for a patient interface, comprising:
a first portion (first end 1) arranged to connect to a patient interface (i.e. tracheal tube, paragraph [0142]) in fluid communication with the first portion, in use,
a second portion (comprising body 3 and portion 10) in fluid communication with the first portion, comprising at least one first member (portion 10) and/or second member (body 3) forming at least one aperture (aperture 15) in fluid communication with the ambient environment.
Kavermann does not disclose wherein the aperture has a size variable in response to a force applied to at least part of the second portion, in use.
However, Wu teaches (Figs. 1-3) a sputum removal system comprising an aperture (aperture of right side of t-shape connector 9 having valve 92) that has a size variable in reseponse to a force applied to at least part of the second portion in use (valve 92 opens when sputum compresses spring to let sputum fall into collection tank 10, page 2 paragraph 5 and page 4 paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aperture of Kavermann to have a size variable in response to a force applied to at least a part of the second portion in use, as taught by Wu, for the purpose of preventing backflow of sputum to a user which could otherwise cause injury to a user.
Regarding claim 6, modified Kavermann discloses wherein the variable size of the aperture is configured to allow for sputum release therethrough in response to the force applied, in use (page 4 paragraph 2 Wu).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kavermann discloses wherein the force applied to the second portion in use is due at least part to a weight of sputum present in the second portion (weight of sputum at least in part opens valve 92, page 2 paragraph 4 Wu).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pinel (US 2009/0025717) discloses a mucus trap having a valve.
Maitz (US 5,062,835) discloses a mucus trap having a valve structure.
/MATTHEW R MOON/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785