Detailed Action
This action is in response to application filed on 02/20/2024 which claims benefit to PCT/CN2022/127774 filed on 10/26/2022 which claims foreign priority to Chines application 202111679753.6 filed on 12/31/2021.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 01/28/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawing figures 1, 4-5 includes text that is blurry and/or not legible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an acquisition module configured for acquiring… a first mitigation module configured for migrating… an second mitigation module configure for performing live migration… an acquisition submodule configured for acquiring” (claim 7-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 15-20 recite “one or more machine-readable media”. The specification of present application fails to provide a deliberate and limiting definition for “machine-readable media”. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, “machine-readable media” can fairly be construed signal per se.
Thus, the recited “machine-readable media” is not a "process", a "machine", a "manufacture", or "composition of matter", as defined in 35 U.S.C. 101.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 7-12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huilgol et al. (US 20220091872 A1, referred hereinafter as D1), and further in view of Arroyo et al. (US 20180293143 A1, referred hereinafter as D2) in view of Kuris et al. (US 20230137273 A1, referred hereinafter as D3).
As per claim 1, D1 discloses,
A method for… a virtualized device, comprising, (D1, abstract).
acquiring configuration information of a virtualized device and status data of a data queue from [a host], (D1, 0007, 0084, 0107-0110, figure 14A-15 and accompanying text discloses acquiring/transferring configuration information of a virtualized device/function and status data of a data queue from first host).
migrating the configuration information of the virtualized device and the status data of the data queue to a new virtualized device… , and performing a live migration on the virtual machine, such that the virtual machine communicates with the new virtualized device, (D1, 0038, 0107-0110, figure 14A-19 and accompanying text discloses acquiring/transferring configuration information of a virtualized device/function and status data of a data queue including VM and VF images from first host to second host and resuming execution of VF and VM which reads on migrating the configuration information of the virtualized device/VF and the status data of the data queue (e.g. image) to a new virtualized device/VF and initiating new VF based on the image… , and performing a live migration on the virtual machine, such that the virtual machine communicates with the new virtualized device (e.g. VM never sees connection to VF drop due to migration).).
D1 discloses virtual machine; however, D1 fails to expressly disclose –fault recovery of a virtualized device… [acquiring from data] a virtualized device synchronization module… upon detection of a fault, by a [hypervisor/vm], of the virtualized device in a physical device.
D2 (0028-0031, figure 3) discloses fault recovery of a virtualized device/function… acquiring from data a virtualized device synchronization module/memory location and/or active virtual function… upon detection of a fault, by a hypervisor/vm, of the virtualized device in a physical device/PCIe.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include teachings of D2 as noted above. This would have obvious with predictable results of detecting error/fault of a virtual function and performing failover of a virtual function thus reducing impact of failures as disclosed by D2.
As noted above, D1 discloses migrating VM/VF/configuration data which is inherently done by invoking a preset physical function driver; nevertheless, for sake of completeness, D3 (0018, 0024) explicitly discloses [migrating] by invoking a preset physical function driver.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include teachings of D3 as noted above. This would have obvious with predictable results of migrating data/function/environment vis executing a driver component as disclosed by D3 (abstract, 0018).
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 further incorporated, D1 discloses,
comprises: acquiring the configuration information of the virtualized device and the status data of the data queue, (D1, 0007, 0084, 0107-0110, figure 14A-15 and accompanying text discloses acquiring/transferring configuration information of a virtualized device/function and status data of a data queue from first host).
D1 discloses virtual machine; however, D1 fails to expressly disclose - by invoking the virtualized device synchronization module via a virtualized device migration module, upon detection of the fault, by the [hypervisor/virtual machine], of the virtualized device in the physical device.
D2 (0028-0031, figure 3) discloses fault recovery of a virtualized device/function including by invoking/retrieving data from the virtualized device synchronization module/memory/function via a virtualized device migration module/hypervisor, and upon detection of the fault, by the hypervisor/virtual machine, of the virtualized device in the physical device.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include teachings of D2 as noted above. This would have obvious with predictable results of detecting error/fault of a virtual function and performing failover of a virtual function thus reducing impact of failures as disclosed by D2.
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 further incorporated, D1 discloses,
further comprising: storing the configuration information of the virtualized device and the status data of the data queue, when the virtual machine establishes a connection with the virtualized device in the physical device, (D1, 0038, 0107-0110, figure 14A-19 and accompanying text discloses acquiring/transferring configuration information of a virtualized device/function and status data of a data queue including VM and VF images from first host to second host and resuming execution of VF and VM that communication with each other which requires storing the configuration information of the virtualized device and the status data of the data queue, when the virtual machine establishes a connection with the virtualized device in the physical device (e.g. PCIe)).
As pr claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 further incorporated, D1 discloses
comprises: storing the configuration information of the virtualized device… , when the virtual machine establishes the connection with the virtualized device in the physical device, (D1, 0038, 0107-0110, figure 14A-19 and accompanying text discloses acquiring/transferring configuration information of a virtualized device/function and status data of a data queue including VM and VF images from first host to second host and resuming execution of VF and VM that communication with each other which requires storing the configuration information of the virtualized device and the status data of the data queue, when the virtual machine establishes a connection with the virtualized device in the physical device (e.g. PCIe)).
D1 fails to expressly disclose – [strong] by the virtualized device synchronization module.
D2 (0028-0031, figure 3) discloses configuration data by the virtualized device synchronization module/memory/function.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include teachings of D2 as noted above. This would have obvious with predictable results of detecting error/fault of a virtual function and performing failover of a virtual function thus reducing impact of failures as disclosed by D2.
As per claims 7-12, 15-18:
Claims 7-12, and 15-18 are apparatus, device, and medium claims corresponding to method claims 1-4 and are of substantially same scope.
Accordingly, claims 7-12, and 15-18 are rejected under the same rational as set forth for claims 1-4.
Claims 5, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huilgol et al. (US 20220091872 A1, referred hereinafter as D1), and further in view of Arroyo et al. (US 20180293143 A1, referred hereinafter as D2) in view of Kuris et al. (US 20230137273 A1, referred hereinafter as D3) in view of Griffith et al. (US 20040049699 A1, referred hereinafter as D4).
As per claim 5, the rejection claim 1 further incorporated, D1 discloses,
further comprising:… [acquiring] the configuration information of the virtualized device and… storing the status data of the data queue…, [based on] one or more communications between the virtual machine and the virtualized device (D1, 0038, 0107-0110, figure 14A-19 and accompanying text discloses acquiring/transferring/storing configuration information of a virtualized device/function and status data of a data queue including VM and VF images from first host to second host and resuming execution of VF and VM that are in communication with each other which requires acquiring/storing the configuration information of the virtualized device and the status data of the data queue, when the virtual machine establishes a connection with the virtualized device in the physical device (e.g. PCIe)).
D1 fails expressly disclose –storing… by the virtualized device synchronization module…
D2 (0028-0031, figure 3) discloses storing… by the virtualized device synchronization module/memory.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include teachings of D2 as noted above. This would have obvious with predictable results of detecting error/fault of a virtual function and performing failover of a virtual function thus reducing impact of failures as disclosed by D2.
D1 discloses communications between the virtual machine and the virtualized device; however, D1 fails expressly disclose – synchronously updating/storing … during one or more communications between [first and second unit/device/function].
D4 (0008-0013) discloses monitoring and storing data related to communication including synchronously and/or in real-time updating/storing in database to keep databases synchronized while/during one or more communications between first and second units/devices/functions.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include teachings of D2 as noted above. This would have obvious with predictable results of detecting unauthorized communications/packets/data and taking remedial steps as disclosed by D4.
As per claims 13, and 19:
Claims 13 and 19 are device, and medium claims corresponding to method claim 5 and are of substantially same scope.
Accordingly, claims 13, and 19 are rejected under the same rational as set forth for claim 5.
Claims 6, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huilgol et al. (US 20220091872 A1, referred hereinafter as D1), and further in view of Arroyo et al. (US 20180293143 A1, referred hereinafter as D2) in view of Kuris et al. (US 20230137273 A1, referred hereinafter as D3) in view of Huang et al. (US 20190310908 A1, referred hereinafter as D5).
As per claim 6:
The rejection of claim 1 further incorporated.
D1 fails to expressly disclose - further comprising: configuring a preset error reporting function of the physical device to stop sending out an error report.
D5 (0008, 0019, fig 2) discloses configuring a preset error reporting function of the physical device to stop sending out an error report (e.g. disable error reporting).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as disclosed in D1, to include teachings of D5 as noted above. This would have obvious with predictable results of controlling error reporting function as disclosed by D5 (0005-0006).
As per claims 14, and 20:
Claims 14 and 20 are device, and medium claims corresponding to method claim 6 and are of substantially same scope.
Accordingly, claims 14, and 20 are rejected under the same rational as set forth for claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
LIVE MIGRATION OF PARAVIRTUAL REMOTE DIRECT MEMORY ACCESS (PVRDMA) VIRTUAL MACHINES VIA HARDWARE-ASSISTED QUEUE PAIR SUSPEND/RESUME AND QUERY/RECREATE OPERATIONS
DOCUMENT ID
US 20230281031 A1
DATE PUBLISHED
2023-09-07
Abstract
Techniques for live migrating a paravirtual remote direct memory access (PVRDMA) virtual machine (VM) from a source host system to a destination host system are provided. In one set of embodiments, during a switchover phase of the live migration process, a source hypervisor of the source host system can (1) invoke a first application programming interface (API) exposed by a source host channel adapter (HCA) of the source host system for suspending operation of a physical queue pair residing on the source HCA and created by the PVRDMA VM, and (2) invoke a second API exposed by the source HCA for querying a queue pair state of the physical queue pair, where the queue pair state includes an internal runtime state pertaining to one or more in-flight work request elements (WQEs). The source hypervisor can then transmit the queried queue pair state to the destination host system.
HOT-PLUGGING OF VIRTUAL FUNCTIONS IN A VIRTUALIZED ENVIRONMENT
DOCUMENT ID
US 20180052701 A1
DATE PUBLISHED
2018-02-22
Abstract
Implementations of the disclosure provide for hot-plugging of virtual functions in a virtualized environment. In one implementation, a computer system comprising a memory to store parameters of virtual functions and a processing device, operatively coupled to the memory is provided. A determination that a virtual machine has no available virtual functions associated with a specified network. A logical network device associated with the specified network is identified. A determination is made that a number of virtual functions associated with the logical network device is below a threshold number of virtual functions. In response, a new virtual function associated with the logical network device is created. Thereupon, a virtual device of the virtual machine is associated with the new virtual function.
VIRTUAL MACHINE MIGRATION TO SR-IOV CAPABLE HYPERVISORS
DOCUMENT ID
US 20160239328 A1
DATE PUBLISHED
2016-08-18
Abstract
A virtualization manager receives a request to migrate a virtual machine from a source hypervisor to a destination hypervisor supporting virtual function capability. Responsive to determining that an availability status indicates that a virtual function is available for use on the destination hypervisor by the virtual machine, the virtualization manager migrates the virtual machine from the source hypervisor to the destination hypervisor. Responsive to determining that the virtual machine has been migrated to the destination hypervisor successfully, the virtualization manager connects the identified virtual function to the virtual machine.
LIVE MIGRATION OF VIRTUALIZED SYSTEMS
DOCUMENT ID
US 20150088586 A1
DATE PUBLISHED
2015-03-26
Abstract
Methods, apparatus, software, and system architectures for supporting virtualized system migrations and scaling. Under aspects of a method, data is automatically collected and aggregated at multiple levels by a plurality of agents for each of multiple data centers. The data includes data relating to virtual machine utilization, data relating to electrical utilization costs, data relating to data center utilization, and data relating to triggers events. The data is processed to determine whether to migrate virtual servers from a first data center to a second data center. The software architecture includes a plurality of modules including a controller, data center profile, transition triggers, power cost profile, and virtual machine package module. The agents are implemented in an agent hierarchy and configured to collect data themselves and/or aggregate data from other agents and provide an API to facilitate access to collected data and agent services.
See form 892.
/MUSTAFA A AMIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194