DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: a typographical error of “in that” appears in line 4. Based on the other amendments, it appears that this phrase should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: stimulation unit, and detection unit in claim 1-2, 4, 7, and 14.
The disclosure appears to teach that the stimulation and detection units are a set of parameters and algorithms on an ICD for each of these units, therefore the stimulation unit and detection unit are interpreted as algorithms on an ICD, that are programmable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lovett et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0215240) hereinafter referred to as Lovett.
Regarding claim 1, Lovett teaches implantable cardioverter-defibrillator having a housing comprising
a processor (¶[0094] microprocessor based system including a control system),
a memory unit (¶¶[0094-0095] memory circuit),
a single electrode connection port (Fig. 1, female coupler 192),
a stimulation unit configured to provide an electrode being connected to the electrode connection port with an electric pulse to stimulate a human or animal heart (¶¶[0050-0051] pulse generator), and
a detection unit (¶[0116]) configured to receive an electric signal of the same heart (¶[0117]) from the same electrode (¶¶[0118-0119] reconfigured between monitoring and stimulation), wherein the electrode connection port is configured to receive a transvenously implantable electrode or a substernally implantable electrode (¶[0058], ¶[0128], Figs. 5-8),
wherein the memory unit comprises a computer-readable program that causes the processor to operate the stimulation unit and/or the detection unit in a first operational mode if a transvenously implantable electrode is connected to the electrode connection port and in a second operational mode if a substernally implantable electrode is connected to the electrode connection port (¶[0155-0159], Figs. 9-11).
Regarding claim 2, Lovett teaches implantable cardioverter-defibrillator according to claim 1.
Lovett further teaches wherein the first operational mode comprises a first set of parameters and algorithms for generating an electric pulse by the stimulation unit and for sensing an electric signal by the detection unit and the second operational mode comprises a second set of parameters and algorithms for generating an electric pulse by the stimulation unit and for sensing an electric signal by the detection unit (Figs. 4 and 12, ¶¶[0160-0162]), the second set differing from the first set (¶[0161]).
Regarding claim 3, Lovett teaches implantable cardioverter-defibrillator according to claim 2.
Lovett further teaches wherein the first set of parameters and algorithms and the second set of parameters and algorithms comprise a shock energy of the electric pulse to be generated by the stimulation unit (Figs. 4 and 12, shock therapy circuitry).
Regarding claim 6, Lovett teaches defibrillation arrangement comprising
an implantable cardioverter-defibrillator according to claim 1 (see rejection, above, of claim 1) and
an electrode connected to the electrode connection port of the implantable cardioverter-defibrillator (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Lovett teaches defibrillation arrangement according to claim 6.
Lovett further teaches wherein the memory unit comprises a computer-readable program that causes the processor to perform the following steps when executed on the processor:
a) measuring, with the detection unit and the electrode, at least one physiologic parameter of a patient to whom the defibrillation arrangement is implanted (¶[0211]);
b) determining, based on the at least one physiologic parameter, whether the connected electrode is transvenously implanted or substernally implanted (¶¶[0211-0212]); and
c) operating the implantable cardioverter-defibrillator in the first operational mode if the electrode is transvenously implanted and in the second operational mode if the electrode is substernally implanted (¶¶[0156-0159], ¶[0171]).
Regarding claim 8, Lovett teaches defibrillation arrangement according to claim 7.
Lovett further teaches wherein the at least one physiologic parameter is chosen from the group consisting of an impedance (¶[0173]) and an electrocardiogram (¶[0201]).
Regarding claim 9, Lovett teaches defibrillation arrangement according to claim 7.
Lovett further teaches wherein the at least one physiologic parameter is an electrocardiogram and in that the determining comprises an analysis of a temporal occurrence of signals detected in the electrocardiogram (¶[0201] cardiac cycle length in the time domain is a temporal length).
Regarding claim 10, Lovett teaches defibrillation arrangement according to claim 7.
Lovett further teaches wherein the at least one physiologic parameter is an electrocardiogram and in that the determining comprises a morphologic analysis of signals detected in the electrocardiogram (¶[0201] morphology of the ECG).
Regarding claim 11, Lovett teaches defibrillation arrangement according to claim 6.
Lovett further teaches wherein the computer-readable program causes the processor to read out an electronic identifier (Figs. 1-2, element 191 electrode detection circuit, ¶[0083]) of the electrode in order to determining whether the connected electrode is a transvenously implanted electrode or a substernally implanted electrode (¶[0083], ¶[0087], ¶[0119]).
Regarding claim 13, Lovett teaches defibrillation arrangement according to claim 6.
Lovett further teaches wherein the connection port comprises a plurality of connector poles, wherein a first connection configuration between the connector poles and electrode poles of the connected electrode in the first operational mode differs from a second connection configuration between the connector poles and the electrode poles in the second operational mode (¶[0101], Figs. 9-11).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is directed to a method comprising substantially the same subject matter as claim 7 and is rejected under substantially the same sections of Lovett.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lovett as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Min (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0324132) hereinafter referred to as Min.
Regarding claims 4-5, Lovett teaches Implantable cardioverter-defibrillator according to claim 1.
Lovett further teaches a first operational mode setting safety parameters preventing the stimulation unit from generating a number of shocks exceeding a maximum (¶[0205]).
Lovett does not teach wherein the first operational mode comprises a safety arrangement preventing the stimulation unit from generating an electric pulse having a voltage and/or an energy exceeding a predeterminable threshold, the threshold is chosen from 60 J and 1000 V.
Attention is drawn to the Min reference, which teaches a first operational mode comprises a safety arrangement preventing a stimulation unit from generating an electric pulse having a voltage and/or an energy exceeding a predeterminable threshold and the threshold is chosen from 60 J and 1000 V (¶¶[0033-0034] medium voltage shock, limited by threshold compared to high voltage shock).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the operational modes of Lovett to include a predetermined voltage and energy threshold, as taught by Min, because the different shock modes produce an effective defibrillation therapy at a significantly reduced energy level to enable a significant size reduction in the implantable medical devices (Min, ¶[0005]).
Regarding claim 12, Lovett teaches defibrillation arrangement according to claim 6.
Lovett is silent as to the voltage of the electric pulse.
Attention is drawn to the Min reference, which teaches a defibrillation arrangement configured to deliver an electric pulse having a voltage of at least 60 V between an electrode pole and a pole of an implantable cardioverter-defibrillator both in a first operational mode and in a second operational mode (¶¶[0033-0034], ¶[0047], medium and high voltage shocks both are over 60V).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the operational modes of Lovett to include defibrillation arrangement voltage of at least 60V, as taught by Min, because the different shock modes nevertheless produce an effective defibrillation therapy at a significantly reduced energy level to enable a significant size reduction in the implantable medical devices (Min, ¶[0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0281962 to Kroll teaches a multi-model electrotherapy apparatus.
/AMANDA L STEINBERG/Examiner, Art Unit 3792