DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 11, 12, 14, 16, 17, 20-22, 24-25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Contitech WO 2020/141084.
Regarding claim 1, Contitech discloses a system for monitoring at least one physical characteristic of an endless track, the system comprising: a sensor 300 removably received within the endless track, the sensor being adapted for wireless communication with a receiver (see paragraphs [0036] and [0048]); and at least one probe (see paragraph [0045]) received within the endless track, the at least one probe being adapted for operative communication with the sensor, the at least one probe detecting the at least one physical characteristic of the endless track and conveying the at least one physical characteristic to the sensor. See FIG. 2 and 3 and paragraphs [0021]-[0035], [0046], and [0048].
Regarding claim 2, Contitech discloses wherein the operative communication between the at least one probe and the sensor is achieved while the at least one probe is spaced from the sensor. See FIG. 2 and 3 and paragraphs [0021]-[0028].
Regarding claim 3, Contitech discloses wherein the operative communication between the at least one probe and the sensor is achieved by radiation. See paragraph [0046].
Regarding claim 4, Contitech discloses wherein the radiation includes infrared radiation. See paragraph [0024].
Regarding claim 6, Contitech discloses further comprising a housing received within a cavity defined in the endless track, the housing comprising: a receptacle structured to receive the sensor and to connect to the at least one probe; and a lid connectable to the receptacle. See paragraphs [0029] and [0034].
Regarding claim 11, Contitech discloses wherein the lid is suitable for being received within a portion of a lug of the endless track. See FIG. 3 and paragraphs [0026]-[0030].
Regarding claim 12, Contitech discloses wherein the lid is suitable for being received within a portion of a drive lug of the endless track that is opposite to a ground engaging surface of the endless track. See FIG. 3 and paragraphs [0026]-[0030].
Regarding claim 14, Contitech discloses wherein the sensor includes an electronic circuit board supporting and electrically connecting: a power source (see paragraph [0048]); a processing unit powered by the power source (see paragraphs [0030]-[0035]); at least one temperature sensor powered by the power source and operatively connected to the processing unit; and a wireless communication device powered by the power source and operatively connected to the processing unit, the wireless communication device being wirelessly connectable to the receiver. See FIG. 2 and 3 and paragraphs [0021]-[0035], [0046], and [0048].
Regarding claim 16, Contitech discloses wherein the at least one temperature sensor further includes a third temperature sensor, the second temperature sensor being disposed on a first side of the electronic circuit board, and the third temperature sensor being disposed on a second side of the electronic circuit board, the second side being opposite the first side. See FIG. 2 and 3 and paragraphs [0021]-[0035], [0046], and [0048].
Regarding claim 17, Contitech discloses wherein the second temperature sensor faces in a first direction, and the third temperature sensor faces in a second direction. See FIG. 2 and 3 and paragraphs [0021]-[0035], [0046], and [0048].
Regarding claim 20, Contitech discloses wherein the electronic circuit board is connected to the lid of the housing so as to be insertable in the housing upon connection of the lid to the receptacle. See paragraphs [0018], [0026], and [0038].
Regarding claim 21, Contitech discloses wherein the at least one temperature sensor is an infrared sensor. See paragraph [0024].
Regarding claim 22, Contitech discloses wherein the wireless communication device comprises an antenna system located in a central portion of the electronic circuit board. See paragraphs [0018], [0026], and [0030].
Regarding claim 24, Contitech discloses wherein the at least one probe is a temperature probe. See paragraphs [0018], [0026], and [0030].
Regarding claim 25, Contitech discloses wherein the at least one probe is configured to dissipate heat within the carcass of the endless track. See paragraph [0046].
Regarding claim 27, Contitech discloses wherein the at least one probe includes a connector for connecting the probe to the housing. See paragraphs [0029]-[0034].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Contitech.
Regarding claim 5, Contitech fails to explicitly disclose wherein, when in operative communication, a spacing between the at least one probe and the sensor is comprised between 0.5 and 1.5 mm. However, Contitech discloses a spacing and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be able to optimize the amount of the spacing for the particular setup.
Regarding claim 15, Contitech fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one temperature sensor includes first and second temperature sensors, the first temperature sensor being configured to measure a temperature of the electronic circuit board, and the second temperature sensor being configured to measure a temperature of the at least one probe. However, Contitech discloses the action of measuring in those locations and several sensors, but doesn’t particularly explain it exactly as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to use two sensors instead of one for this operation. See paragraphs [0018], [0026], and [0038].
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Contitech, as applied above, in view of Kremmer et al US 2021/0237570.
Regarding claim 7, Contitech fails to explicitly disclose, but Kremmer et al discloses further comprising a gasket disposed between the receptacle and the lid, the gasket being resiliently compressed between the receptacle and the lid when the lid is connected to the receptacle. See FIG. 3-5 and paragraphs [0035]-[0045].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the gasket as disclosed by Kremmer et al in the system of Contitech as is done typically, conventionally, and routinely in between two parts.
Regarding claim 13, Contitech fails to explicitly disclose, but Kremmer et al discloses wherein the lid has a top wall, and when the sensor is received in the receptacle and the lid is connected to the housing, the top wall is adapted to be coplanar with a top wall of the drive lug. See FIG. 3-5 and paragraphs [0035]-[0045].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Todd et al US 2018/0265145 discloses a smart track system having embedded sensors and method of using the same. See FIG. 8, 9, 18, and 22-26 and paragraphs [0077]-[0081], [0097]-[0101], [0113], [0131]-[0135], and [0171].
/JOSEPH J DALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747