DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: and “and” should precede the last component in the claim, i.e., “f) one or more antioxidants; and” for claims 1-4.
Claims 2-4 are objected to because of the following informalities: repeat recitation of identical limitations appearing in the claim from which each claim depends.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “further comprising” should distinguish from claim 1; and “selected from…or mixtures thereof” should recite “and mixtures thereof”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “cellulose derivatives” in limitation (e). The scope of “cellulose derivatives” is vague and indefinite. In chemistry a derivative is a compound that is produced from a similar, "parent" compound through a chemical reaction or process. Here the specification does not disclose any reaction or process. The specification also does not specify “cellulose derivatives” to any particular compounds (see rejection of claim 5 in the following paragraph), or which cellulose may be derivatized. Also the specification lists examples of component (e) that include monosaccharides, which are not celluloses. The range of reaction or process that could modify any cellulose is thus appears limitless. Consequently the skilled person would not be apprised regarding what qualifies as a “cellulose derivative”. None of the dependent claims resolves this issue and therefore are also rejected on this ground. Claim 6 also recites “derivatives” which raises the same issues due to lack of relevant disclosure.
For the purposes of examination now “cellulose derivatives” is construed as a pharmaceutically acceptable substance for contacting the oral and/or nasal mucosa and respiratory tract.
Claim 5 recites “other substances with a documented protective function of oral mucosa and respiratory tract” which render the claim vague. It is not clear what level of “documented protective function” is adequate. An anecdotal post in a social medium would be considered “documented” by some, whereas others would only consider publication in a peer-reviewed journal, of a double-blind and controlled clinical trial, rises to the same level.
Further regarding claims 5 and claim 6, the phrase "…including…" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the "…including…" are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 9 recites concentrations for water, 1,3-propanediol, and glycerol which are broader than those in claim 1 from which claim 9 depends. For example “<40% by weight” is broader than “10-50% or 20-50% by weight” in claim 1 because the former includes concentrations lower than 10%, e.g., 3%. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra (US 20160120224) in view of Watanabe (US 20210112855).
Mishra teaches a hydrogel composition for e-vaping cartridge, comprising a flavorant at about 0.2-15% by weight, a vapor former at about 20-90% by weight, water at about 5-40 % by weight, e.g., about 10%, a biopolymer, and nicotine (title; abstract; paras.0007-08, 0014-15, 0059, 0070-73). Flavorants include those in instant claim 8 (paras.0020, 0058, 0072), some of which are antioxidants, e.g., menthol and cinnamon. The hydrogel may be ethanol free (para.0021). Biopolymers include polysaccharides such as agar, pectin, and sodium alginate which are thickeners and protect a mucosal surface (para.0073). Biopolymers comprise about 0.01-2 % by weight (para.0073), and flavorant comprise about 0.2-15% by weight, e.g., about 1% (para.0072). Their sum therefore ranges between 0.21-17% by weight of the hydrogel, which range overlaps those in claims 1-4.
The “vapor former includes a diol and glycerin, the hydrogel including the diol and glycerin in range of ratios between about 1:4 and 4:1, the diol being one of propylene glycol, 1,3-propanediol, and combinations thereof” (para.0017(emphasis added)). The “one of” indicates the two diols are alternatives, not requirements. The vapor former comprises about 20-90% by weight of the hydrogel (para.0012). The ratio of diol or 1,3-propanediol to glycerol in the present claims range from 6.5 – 0.5 (65/10 – 20/40). The range of ratio that Mishra teaches is about 1:4 and 4:1 (para.0017), i.e., about 0.25 to 4. Thus the ranges substantially overlap.
Mishra does not specifically teach an example formulation of the hydrogel precisely as in claims 1-4 and 9 and comprising a preservative, or glycerol. However glycerin and glycerol are the same chemical compound and differ by the level of purity and contextual usage. Cosmetic arts tend to use the term glycerin, whereas chemical arts use the term glycerol. Therefore the skilled person would understand glycerin and glycerol are interchangeable unless expressly stated otherwise.
Watanabe is drawn to aroma cartridge for “heating-type smoking appliance” (title; abstract; para.0001). The cartridge preferably comprises polysaccharide-based gels (para.0268), flavorings, β-cyclodextrins “for causing temporary residence of the flavoring agent, microcrystalline cellulose having moldability and ease of release from a die or the like, sorbic acid, potassium sorbate, benzoic acid, sodium benzoate, or another food antimicrobial preservative for storage stability” (para.0269).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Mishra and Watanabe and include preservatives in Mishra’s hydrogel compositions as recited in the instant claim(s). The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because both Mishra and Watanabe are drawn to hydrogel compositions for liquid-type electronic cigarette, and Watanabe teaches including preservative for storage stability.
Regarding the concentrations of the components (a) through (g), Mishra teaches ranges overlapping those in the instant claims. For result-effective variables, in the case where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05 (citations omitted). Furthermore, optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation does not support patentability absent comparative evidence of criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (citations omitted).
Regarding claim 3, Mishra teaches “diol being one of propylene glycol, 1,3-propanediol, and combinations thereof”. Therefore the skilled person would understand that propylene glycol is not required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-20 of copending Application No. 18/548,533 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to a composition comprising water, a diol, glycerol, and a preservative. The two claim sets recite overlapping concentration ranges for each component. The difference is that the present claims recite ethanol, however they encompass 0% ethanol. The instant claims also recite a protective substance including cyclodextrin, which the ’533 application recites in dependent claims 4 and others. The present claims further recite antioxidants. However the ‘533 application claims menthol, which is an antioxidant, as a flavoring in claim 10.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/H. SARAH PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614