DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Acknowledgement is made of the response filed on April 23, 2026. In that response, claims 3, 4, 6-9, and 11 were amended and claims 1, 2, 5, and 10 were cancelled. Claims 3, 4, 6-9, and 11 are treated on the merits in this action. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: a line break should precede the last “wherein” clause for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: some limitations which are identical to that in claim 3 is repeated (components d and g), but others are not (the three “wherein” clauses). To avoid confusion and for consistency, either all the limitations or only the narrowing amendments should be recited. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra (US 20160120224) in view of Watanabe (US 20210112855) and Bertrand (Bertrand, P., et al., Physical and chemical assessment of 1,3 Propanediol as a potential substitute of propylene glycol in refill liquid for electronic cigarettes. Sci Rep 8, 10702 (2018)).
Mishra teaches a hydrogel composition for e-vaping cartridge, comprising a flavorant at about 0.2-15% by weight, a vapor former at about 20-90% by weight, water at about 5-40 % by weight, e.g., about 10%, a biopolymer, and nicotine (title; abstract; paras.0007-08, 0014-15, 0059, 0070-73). Flavorants include those in instant claim 8 such as menthol and fruit flavors (paras.0020, 0058, 0072), some of which are antioxidants, e.g., menthol and cinnamon. The hydrogel may be ethanol free (para.0021). Biopolymers include polysaccharides such as agar, pectin, and sodium alginate which are thickeners and protect a mucosal surface (para.0073). Biopolymers comprise about 0.01-2 % by weight (para.0073), and flavorant, i.e., antioxidants, comprise about 0.2-15% by weight, e.g., about 1% (para.0072). Their sum therefore ranges between 0.21-17% by weight of the hydrogel, which range includes that in claim 4 and overlaps that in claim 3.
The “vapor former includes a diol and glycerin, the hydrogel including the diol and glycerin in range of ratios between about 1:4 and 4:1, the diol being one of propylene glycol, 1,3-propanediol, and combinations thereof” (para.0017(emphasis added)). The vapor former comprises about 20-90% by weight of the hydrogel (para.0012). The ratio of diol or 1,3-propanediol to glycerol in the present claims range from 6.5 – 0.5 (65/10 – 20/40). The range of ratio that Mishra teaches is about 1:4 and 4:1 (para.0017), i.e., about 0.25 to 4. Thus the ranges substantially overlap. For result-effective variables, in the case where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05 (citations omitted). Furthermore, optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation does not support patentability absent comparative evidence of criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (citations omitted).
Regarding “does not contain propylene glycol” in claim 3, first it is noted that Mishra teaches “diol being one of propylene glycol, 1,3-propanediol, and combinations thereof”, and nowhere requires propylene glycol. The “one of” indicates the two diols are alternatives, not requirements. Furthermore Bertrand teaches that 1,3-propanediol produces “less thermal decomposition by-products”, “seems to have better flavoring properties than glycerol and propylene glycol”, and “seems to induce quite similar aerodynamic properties compared to propylene glycol” (abstract; see title, Tables 1-3, Figs.5, 6, and accompanying text). Therefore the skilled person would have been motivated to use 1,3-propanediol only as the vapor former.
Mishra does not specifically teach an example formulation comprising one of the protective substance in claim 3, or refer to glycerin as “glycerol”. However glycerin and glycerol are the same chemical compound and differ by the level of purity and contextual usage. Cosmetic arts tend to use the term glycerin, whereas chemical arts use the term glycerol. Therefore the skilled person would understand glycerin and glycerol are interchangeable unless expressly stated otherwise.
Watanabe is drawn to aroma cartridge for “heating-type smoking appliance” (title; abstract; para.0001). The cartridge preferably comprises polysaccharide-based gels (paras.0068, 0268), including polysaccharides such as guar gum and agar (para.0068), which Mishra also teaches as thickening agent (para.0073). The gels also comprise flavorings, β-cyclodextrins “for causing temporary residence of the flavoring agent, microcrystalline cellulose having moldability and ease of release from a die or the like, sorbic acid, potassium sorbate, benzoic acid, sodium benzoate, or another food antimicrobial preservative for storage stability” (para.0269; see para.0262).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Mishra and Watanabe and include β-cyclodextrins or microcrystalline cellulose in Mishra’s hydrogel compositions as recited in the instant claim(s). The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because both Mishra and Watanabe are drawn to hydrogel compositions for liquid-type electronic cigarettes, and Watanabe teaches using β-cyclodextrins and or microcrystalline cellulose. The skilled person would have been motivated to do so to ensure “temporary residence of the flavoring agent” or provide “moldabilty and ease of release from a die” during manufacture.
Also, substituting equivalents known for the same purpose, where the equivalency has been recognized in the prior art, presents strong evidence of obviousness; an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. MPEP §2144.06 (II) (citations omitted). Watanabe teaches carboxymethyl cellulose along with biopolymers such as gums and agar (para.0068). Mishra teaches these as thickening agent (para.0073). Therefore substituting carboxymethyl cellulose in Mishra’s hydrogel would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding the concentrations of the components (a) through (g), Mishra teaches ranges overlapping those in the instant claims. For result-effective variables, in the case where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05 (citations omitted). Furthermore, optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation does not support patentability absent comparative evidence of criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (citations omitted).
Response to Arguments
Although new rejections are made above Applicant’s arguments are addressed now to the extent they have not been rendered moot and are relevant to the above rejections.
Applicant's arguments filed April 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the sum of components (e) through (g) at 0.2-0.7% w/w is “a technical window not disclosed in or derivable from any cited prior art, …protective substances and antioxidants are most soluble, aerosol-stable, and bioavailable without altering aerosol physical properties”. (Remarks, 6 second para., April 23, 2026.)
In response it is noted that the argument does not refer to any data tending to support the claim that the range of 0.2-0.7% w/w attains all of the alleged advantages. “Attorney argument is not evidence unless it is an admission, in which case, an examiner may use the admission in making a rejection.” MPEP §2145 (I). Here it does not appear that any of the disclosure or the record, including the Declaration filed April 23, 2026, concern Applicant’s “soluble, aerosol-stable, and bioavailable without altering aerosol physical properties” assertion.
Applicant next argues that Mishra’s flavorants are not disclosed as polyphenolic antioxidants. (Remarks, 6, April 23, 2026.)
In response it is noted that a “chemical composition and its properties are inseparable”. MPEP § 2112.01(II). Also “[s]omething which is old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property… [T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer…. Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable.” MPEP §2112(I)(citations omitted). Here Mishra might not refer to flavorants as antioxidants; however the skilled person would have known of antioxidant effects of flavorants such as menthol. The mere description of menthol as an antioxidant in a claim however does not render the claim patentable.
Applicant next argues that Watanabe is drawn to nicotine-free compositions. (Remarks, 6).
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Watanabe is drawn to aroma cartridges which are compatible with electronic cigarettes (title; abstract; parass.0002, 0018-19), and contains flavorants such as menthol which Mishra also teaches. Watanabe teaches that “β-cyclodextrin serves to cause temporary residence of the menthol,…” (para.0081) and using preservatives which the skilled person would recognize as beneficial.
Applicant next argues that Mishra teaches its composition to be used independently of the e-vaping device, and the compositions’ rheological properties are “fundamentally incompatible with open-atomizer systems”. (Remarks, 7-8).
In response it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., use independently of an e-vaping device, and the compositions’ rheological properties) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Here the compositions are recited “for aerial administration” which both Mishra and Watanabe are drawn to.
Applicant further relies on the Declaration filed April 23, 2026 “together with the observational study attached thereto as Exhibit A” to argues that the “T-MAX composition, an example of the claimed composition” achieves superior nicotine delivery, safety, and tolerability. (Remarks, 8-9).
The Declaration has been reviewed. First, the single, specific T-MAX formulation at paragraph 5, according to the summary results described in paragraph 6, provides nicotine intensity and speed of nicotine perception which are similar to the tested conventional cigarette. However there is no discussion of whether the “traditional e-liquids” comprised the listed components in identical concentrations as the T-MAX formulation (e.g., differing from T-MAX only in propylene glycol), and how the study was conducted. Exhibit A was not provided in any of the April 23, 2026 filings. However because the Declaration does not reference any formulation other than T-MAX, availability of Exhibit A has not been deemed necessary to reach a determination of non-patentability at this time (see following paragraph).
Secondly, the evidence of non-obviousness must be reasonably commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. MPEP § 2145 (citations omitted). As noted above the T-MAX formulation was a single formulation comprising specific concentrations of components (a) through (c), (e), and (f) in claim 3. T-MAX does not comprise components (d) and (g) in claim 3. Moreover claim 3 recites each of those components in ranges such as “10-50%” for water. The disclosure contains but two example formulations Ex.1 and Ex.2, differing from each other only in the presence versus absence of ethanol or component (d), and the component (e) used. Consequently there is no reasonable basis to extrapolate the data for the single T-MAX formulation, or Ex.1 and Ex.2 (parameters discussed in the Specification is different than for the T-MAX) to the comparatively expansive ranges for every one of the components (a) through (g) in the current claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 3, 4, 6-9, and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-20 of copending Application No. 18/548,533 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to a composition comprising water, 1,3-propanediol, glycerol, nicotine, a flavoring, and a cyclodextrin. The two claim sets recite overlapping concentration ranges for each component. The difference is that the present claims recite ethanol, however they encompass 0% ethanol. The instant claims also recite a protective substance including cyclodextrin, which the ’533 application recites in dependent claims. The present claims further recite antioxidants. However the ‘533 application claims menthol, which is an antioxidant, as a flavoring in claim 10.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicants requested reconsideration of the double patenting rejection(s) in light of the amendments and requested that the provisional rejection(s) be held in abeyance. (Remarks, 9).
The provisional double patenting rejection(s) is/are maintained for the reasons discussed herein. They will be maintained until Applicant submits properly executed terminal disclaimer or arguments that effectively overcome the rejection(s).
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H. SARAH PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614