Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending and under examination in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 02/23/2024. The Examiner has considered the references cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form 1449.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nimi et al. (WO 2018/012557) in view of Duggal et al. (US 2013/0189204) and Lahorkar et al. (WO 2014/191143)
Nimi et al. teach a composition comprising at least one oil-soluble UV filter (i.e., sunscreen) and water-soluble UV filers (see abstract) wherein the oil-soluble UV filter is from 0.001-30%, preferably 0.1-15 % and the water soluble UV filter is preferably from 0.1-15% (see pg 3, lines 6-22) non-ionic surfactant from 0.1-5% (see pg 1, lines 20+ as incorporated, see also pg ) polymer (see pg 2, lines 18+) and fatty acid. Wherein the oil-soluble UV filter is ethylhexyl salicylate (see pg 2, lines 40+, as required by instant claim 2) and the water soluble UV filter is benzophenone-4 (as required by instant claim 4, see pg 2, lines 40+), and a dibenzoylmethane (as required by instant claim 11, see pg 4, lines 45+), wherein the dibenzoylmethane is a butyl methoxy dibenzoylmethane (see pg 2, lines 40+, as required by instant claim 3), the surfactant a non-ionic from 0.1-5% (see pg 15, lines 45+, as required by instant claim 1) propylene glycol as the humectant from 2-40% falls within the required range(see pg 16, lines 9+, as required by instant claims 1 and 7) palmitic acid in its ester form (see pg 11, lines 38+, as required by instant claim 8) and the water-soluble sunscreen is sodium phenyl dibenzimidazole tetrasulfonate (see pg 8, lines 20+ as required by instant claim 12) and comprises a skin brightening agent ferulic acid (see pg 8, lines 25+, as required by instant claim 15) and fatty acids (see pg. 12, lines 15+, as required by instant claim 1) for the skin (see pg 17, lines 30+, as required by instant claim 10) for sun protection (see pg 17, lines 10+, as required by instant claim 9).
However, Nimi fails to teach the specific non-ionic surfactant. Nonetheless does teach including a non-ionic surfactant such as PEG- 10 dimethicone which is a derived from dimethicone and ethoxylation wherein the HLB is in the range of 9-20 (as required by instant claims 1 and 5), It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the dimeticone for a non-ionic surfactant with a HLB from 9-20 with a reasonable expectation of success because the substitution provides high SPF value as taught by Duggal et al. as taught below.
Duggal teaches a photo-protective sunscreen composition comprising UVA and UVB (as required by instant claims 2 and 11) for the skin surface for the skin, non-ionic surfactant (see 0006) wherein the non-ionic surfactant is a fatty alcohol ethoxylate (see claim 1) with a HLB of greater than 12 at a concentration of 0.1-5% (see claim 1, as required by instant claims ).
Lahorkar teaches a protective personal care composition comprising UV-A and UV-B comprising a fatty acid mixture of stearic and palmitic acid (see Table 3, as required by instant claim 14).
It would have been motivated to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the cited prior art to result in the instant claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success at the time the claimed invention was filed.
One would have been motivated to combine these references and make the modification because they are drawn to same technical fields (constituted with same ingredients and share common utilities, and pertinent to the problem which applicant concerns about. MPEP 2141.01(a)
The “hypothetical ‘person having ordinary skill in the art' to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988). The examiner must ascertain what would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, and not to the inventor, a judge, a layman, those skilled in remote arts, or to geniuses in the art at hand. Environmental Designs, Ltd. v. Union Oil Co., 713 F.2d 693, 218 USPQ 865 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1043 (1984).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 - 15 are provisionally rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 20 of U.S. Patent Application No. 19/118865. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The reasons are as follows:
· The claims of the instant recites a photoprotective composition comprising 0.1-10 wt% oil soluble sunscreen, 0.2-5 wt% water-soluble sunscreen 0.1-5 wt% non-ionic surfactant etc and the copending is directed to a method of providing high SPF to a topical surface of a body comprising the steps of:(a) washing the surface with a foam wash-off composition comprising;(i) 0.1 to 10 wt% of a water-soluble UVA sunscreen;(ii) 0.1 to 10 wt% of a water-soluble UVB sunscreen;(iii) 3 to 80 wt%, of a mild surfactant selected from one or more of an anionic, zwitterionic and non-ionic surfactant; and(iv) a cosmetically acceptable carrier; (b) rinsing the surface with water; followed by (c) applying on the surface a leave-on composition comprising a sunscreen and a cosmetically acceptable vehicle. The current composition claims would have been used in the method claims of the copending application.
· Both sets of claims recite the same or overlapping agents and concentrations. The compositions recited in the claims are obvious variation of each other.
When the specification of the instant application is used as a dictionary, it teaches the composition can be used with rinsing or without rinsing. Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to decide what formulation will need to be left on based on the end product.
In view of the foregoing, the copending application claims and the current application claims are obvious variations.
Claims 1 - 15 are provisionally rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18560954. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The reasons are as follows:
The claims of the instant recites a photoprotective composition comprising 0.1-10 wt% oil soluble sunscreen, 0.2-5 wt% water-soluble sunscreen 0.1-5 wt% non-ionic surfactant etc and the copending is to a method of providing high SPF to a topical surface of a body comprising; the steps of (a) washing the surface with a wash-off composition comprising;(i) 0.1 to 10 wt% of a water-soluble UVA sunscreen; (ii) 0.1 to 10 wt% of a water-soluble UVB sunscreen; (iii) 3 to 80 wt%, preferably 6 to 80 wt% of a surfactant; and (iv) a cosmetically acceptable carrier etc.
The current composition claims would have been used in the method claims of the copending application Both sets of claims recite the same or overlapping agents and concentrations. The compositions recited in the claims are obvious variation of each other.
When the specification of the instant application is used as a dictionary, it teaches the composition can be used with rinsing or without rinsing. Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to decide what formulation will need to be left on based on the end product.
In view of the foregoing, the copending application claims and the current application claims are obvious variations.
Claims 1 - 15 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11883516. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The reasons are as follows:
The patented claims recite personal cleansing composition for enhanced deposition of sunscreens on a topical surface of the body comprising: (a) 0.1 to 10 wt % of a water soluble UVA sunscreen; (b) 0.1 to 10 wt % of a water soluble UVB sunscreen; (c) 3 to 80 wt % surfactant; and (d) a cosmetically acceptable carrier, wherein the water soluble UVA sunscreen is selected from di sodium phenyl dibenzimidazole tetra sulfonate, terephthalylidene dicamphor sulfonic acid and mixtures thereof, and wherein the water soluble UVB sunscreen is selected from phenyl benzimidazole sulphonic acid, benzylidene camphor sulfonic acid, benzophenone-4 and mixtures thereof, and wherein the solubility in water of said UVA sunscreen and said UVB sunscreen is higher than 10 g/L at 25° C. and the instant claims recite recites a photoprotective composition comprising 0.1-10 wt% oil soluble sunscreen, 0.2-5 wt% water-soluble sunscreen 0.1-5 wt% non-ionic surfactant etc.
The current composition claims would have been used in the method claims of the copending application Both sets of claims recite the same or overlapping agents and concentrations. The compositions recited in the claims are obvious variation of each other.
When the specification of the instant application is used as a dictionary, it teaches the composition can be used with rinsing or without rinsing. Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to decide what formulation will need to be left on based on the end product.
In view of the foregoing, the copending application claims and the current application claims are obvious variations.
Prior art: Lahorkar et al. (WO 2022/253896) is the closest prior art as identified by USPTO artificial intelligence; Lahorkar is the WIPO document corresponding to the instant application and is not considered prior art.
No claims are allowed.
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 12/30/25