DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the number of pillars decreases" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isokawa et al, "Liquid Chromatography Chip with Low-Dispersion and Low-Pressure-Drop Turn Structure Utilizing a Distribution-Controlled Pillar Array" Anal. Chem. 2016, 88, 6485−6491 in view of Jonsson et al, "Silane–dextran chemistry on lateral flow polymer chips for immunoassays", Lab Chip (2008) 8 (7): 1191–1197.
Regarding claim 1, Isokawa et al teach a microfluid device comprising: a separation channel having a tunnel shape (Fig. 4B); an obstacle having a columnar shape and provided in the separation channel (Fig. 1 and 4C: pillar array); and
Isokawa et al is silent to a ligand supported on a surface of the obstacle, the ligand being an optically active polymer.
Jonsson et al teach a microfluidic test chips with a micropillar array with dextran coating to allow for antibody immobilization for an immunoassay (Abstract). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is known. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the dextran coating to provide the above advantage of allowing for antibody immobilization for an immunoassay.
Regarding claim 2, Isokawa/Jonsson teach the optically active polymer is a polysaccharide or a derivative thereof. (Jonsson: Abstract: dextran. It is noted that dextran is an optically active polymer because of the asymmetric carbon chiral center, and is a polysaccharide made of D-glucose molecules).
Regarding claim 3, Isokawa/Jonsson teach wherein the separation channel has a turn structure, and the turn structure is a structure formed in a tapered shape such that a shape formed by an inner wall surface in a plan view expands toward an outer peripheral side (Fig. 1B, 4B: tapered turn formed by an inner wall expands toward the outer peripheral side).
Regarding claim 4, Isokawa/Jonsson teach wherein in the turn structure, a length of an outer periphery and a length of an inner periphery in a plan view are identical (Fig. 1b: inner and outer lengths are identical) .
Regarding claim 5, Isokawa/Jonsson teach the separation channel has a turn structure, and the turn structure has a gradient in which a density of the number of pillars decreases from an inner peripheral side to an outer peripheral side. (Fig. 1: narrower to wider inter-pillar distance creating a gradient of density)
Regarding claim 6, Isokawa/Jonsson teach further comprising a sample channel for introducing a sample. (Fig. 4: sample channels)
Regarding claim 7, Isokawa/Jonsson teach the separation channel and the sample channel are provided on a same substrate (p. 6487 col. 1 para 4: silicon chip).
Regarding claim 8, Isokawa/Jonsson teach a shape of the substrate is a chip shape (p. 6487 col. 1 para 4: silicon chip).
Regarding claim 9, Isokawa teach a method for producing a microfluid device, the method comprising: preparing a substrate (p. 6487 col. 1 para 4: silicon chip) including a separation channel having a tunnel shape and an obstacle having a columnar shape and provided in the separation channel (Fig. 4). Isokawa is silent to causing a solution containing a ligand to pass through the separation channel to allow a surface of the obstacle to support the ligand, the ligand being an optically active polymer.
Jonsson et al teach a microfluidic test chips with a micropillar array immersed in dextran solution to prepare a coating over the surface to allow for antibody immobilization for an immunoassay (Jonsson: Abstract; p. 1193 col. 1 para. 2: surfaces are immersed in dextran solution). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is known. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of causing a solution of dextran to coat the surface to provide the above advantage of allowing for antibody immobilization for an immunoassay.
Regarding claim 10, Isokawa/Jonsson teach a shape of the substrate is a chip shape (p. 6487 col. 1 para 4: silicon chip).
Regarding claim 11, Isokawa/Jonsson teach the substrate further includes a sample channel for introducing a sample (Fig. 4: sample channels).
Conclusion
/Dennis White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758