DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 19 February 2026. In view of this communication and the amendment concurrently filed: claims 1-6 were previously pending; claims 2-4 were canceled by the amendment; and thus, claims 1 and 5-6 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, filed 19 February 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s first argument (pages 5-6 of the Remarks) alleges that the Iwami reference, discussed during the 5 February 2026 interview, does not disclose the newly amended features of claim 1. Since Iwami has not been applied in any grounds of rejection, this argument is moot.
The Applicant’s second argument (page 6 of the Remarks) alleges that the Komuro reference, discussed during the 5 February 2026 interview, does not disclose the amended limitation of claim 1 reciting “each magnetic body is located at positions corresponding to a d-axis”. However, in response to the Applicant's argument against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). While Komuro may not disclose this limitation, at least in the applied embodiment, the Makita reference does disclose the magnetic bodies [6] disposed along the d-axes (as indicated by the flux lines shown in figure 1). Thus, this argument is unpersuasive and new grounds of rejection have been made below citing Makita in view of Komuro.
The Applicant’s third argument (pages 6-7 of the Remarks) alleges that the Komuro reference, discussed during the 5 February 2026 interview, does not disclose the relative widths of the magnetic bodies and the polar anisotropic magnet outer surfaces. No explanation or evidence is provided in support of this allegation, and Komuro explicitly discloses the widths of the magnetic body outer surfaces being significantly smaller than the widths of the outer peripheral surfaces of the polar anisotropic magnet (see fig. 2; ¶ 0032; “soft magnetic material 3… with a circumferential width of ½ or less of the angle of one pole”). Thus, this argument is unpersuasive and new grounds of rejection have been made below citing Makita in view of Komuro.
The Applicant’s fourth argument (pages 7-8 of the Remarks) alleges that Makita does not disclose the amended limitations of claim 1. However, in response to the Applicant's argument against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As stated above, these limitations are disclosed by the newly applied Komuro reference. Thus, the claims are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Makita in view of Komuro.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makita et al. (JP 2014-039424 A), hereinafter referred to as “Makita”, in view of Komuro et al. (JP 2004-120892 A), hereinafter referred to as “Komuro”.
Regarding claim 1, Makita discloses an inner rotor [1] comprising:
a rotor body [11] that rotates about a rotation axis (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0015);
a polar anisotropic magnet [12] that has magnetic poles [5] arranged in a circumferential direction centered on the rotation axis (fig. 1; ¶ 0017-0021),
the polar anisotropic magnet [12] being located at an outer peripheral surface of the rotor body [11] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0021); and
magnetic bodies [6] located at positions corresponding to the magnetic poles [5] on an outer peripheral surface of the polar anisotropic magnet [12] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0019-0021),
wherein the outer peripheral surface of the polar anisotropic magnet [12] has recesses at positions corresponding to the magnetic poles [5] (fig. 1; ¶ 0019),
the magnetic bodies [6] are located in the recesses (fig. 1; ¶ 0019; “magnetic portions 6 fill the columnar space… between two circumferentially adjacent circumferential magnetized portions 5”),
a width of each of the recesses in the circumferential direction decreases from an opening of the recess toward an inner side in a radial direction centered on the rotation axis (fig. 1; the sides of each body/recess converge towards the axis of rotation),
a first recess [r1] that is one of the recesses adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction has a first side surface [s1] that is a side surface toward a second recess [r2], the second recess [r2] being the other one of the recesses adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction (fig. 1),
the second recess [r2] has a second side surface [s2] that is a side surface toward the first recess [r1] (fig. 1; each recess has one side adjacent to another recess),
the first side surface [s1] and the second side surface [s2] are parallel to each other (fig. 1; the facing side surfaces of adjacent recesses, i.e. the sides of each magnetic pole, are shown being aligned substantially parallel to one another; this alignment is at least impliedly disclosed, as it is contrasted with the embodiment of figure 3, ¶ 0031, where the sides of the magnetic poles are both shown and disclosed as tapering toward the radially outer side), and
each magnetic body [6] is located at positions corresponding to a d-axis (fig. 1; the positions of the bodies correspond to the radially-aligned flux lines).
Makita does not disclose a width of the outer surface of each magnetic body [6] is smaller than a width of a portion of the outer peripheral surface of the polar anisotropic magnet [12] between the recesses adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction.
Komuro discloses an inner rotor comprising a polar anisotropic magnet [1] having recesses in which magnet bodies [3] are located (fig. 2; ¶ 0021-0024), wherein a width of the outer surface of each magnetic body [3] is smaller than a width of a portion of the outer peripheral surface of the polar anisotropic magnet [1] between the recesses adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction (fig. 2; ¶ 0032; “soft magnetic material 3… with a circumferential width of ½ or less of the angle of one pole”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the magnetic bodies of Makita having smaller circumferential widths than the outer peripheral surfaces of the polar anisotropic magnet as taught by Komuro, in order to reduce the waveform distortion of the surface magnetic flux density, thereby preventing a reduction in the peak value of the surface magnetic flux density (¶ 0032 of Komuro).
Regarding claim 6, Makita, in view of Komuro, discloses a motor [3] comprising:
the inner rotor [1] according to claim 1, as stated above; and a stator [2] that drives the inner rotor [1] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0015).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makita and Komuro as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kusase (US 2003/0076000 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Kusase”.
Regarding claim 5, Makita, in view of Komuro, discloses the inner rotor [1] according to claim 2, as stated above. Makita does not disclose that the polar anisotropic magnet [12] includes stoppers each of which projects toward an inner side of a corresponding one of the recesses in the circumferential direction and restricts outward movement of a corresponding one of the magnetic bodies [6] in a radial direction centered on the rotation axis (fig. 1; Makita discloses each of the magnetic poles [5] having straight, parallel sides).
Kusase discloses an inner rotor [101] comprising an annular magnet [113] with magnetic poles [N,S] and magnetic bodies [105] located in recesses [104a] on the outer surface of the annular magnet [113] (fig. 9-10; ¶ 0047-0050),
wherein the annular magnet [113] includes stoppers [holding parts] each of which projects toward an inner side of a corresponding one of the recesses [104a] in the circumferential direction and restricts outward movement of a corresponding one of the magnetic bodies [105] in a radial direction centered on the rotation axis (fig. 10; ¶ 0050; “slots 104a are formed with holding parts at the sides along the radial direction” where the slots “are narrowest at the most outer periphery and get wider toward radially inside” in order to prevent the magnetic bodies from “being moved radially outward by centrifugal force”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the recesses of Makita having stoppers on either side thereof as taught by Kusase, in order to prevent the magnetic bodies from moving due to centrifugal forces, thereby improving performance of the electrical machine (¶ 0056 of Kusase).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Takahashi (US 2022/0006339 A1) discloses an inner rotor comprising a polar anisotropic magnet located at an outer surface of a soft magnetic core, and further mounted on a rotation shaft (fig. 84; ¶ 0676-0677).
Masuzawa et al. (US 2008/0218007 A1) discloses an inner rotor comprising a polar anisotropic magnet located at an outer surface of a rotor body located at an outer surface of a rotation shaft (fig. 17a).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
This action is a final rejection and closes the prosecution of this application. Applicant’s reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to this action is limited to an appeal to the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, an amendment complying with the requirements set forth below, or a request for continued examination (RCE) to reopen prosecution where permitted.
General information on the Patent Trial and Appeal Board is available at: www.uspto.gov/patents/patent-trial-and-appeal-board/about-ptab/new-ptab. The information at this page includes guidance on time limited options that may assist the applicant contemplating appealing an examiner’s rejection. It also includes information on pro bono (free) legal services and advice available for those who are under-resourced and considering an appeal at: https://www.uspto.gov/patents/patent-trial-and-appeal-board/patent-trial-and-appeal-board-pro-bono-program-independent. The page is best reviewed promptly after applicant has received a final rejection or the claims have been twice rejected because some of the noted assistance must be requested within one month from the date of the latest rejection. See MPEP § 1204 for more information on filing a notice of appeal.
If applicant should desire to appeal any rejection made by the examiner, a Notice of Appeal must be filed within the period for reply. The Notice of Appeal must be accompanied by the fee required by 37 CFR 41.20(b)(1). The current fee amount is available at: www.uspto.gov/Fees.
If applicant should desire to file an after-final amendment, entry of the proposed amendment cannot be made as a matter of right unless it merely cancels claims or complies with a formal requirement made in a previous Office action. Amendments touching the merits of the application which otherwise might not be proper may be admitted upon a showing of good and sufficient reasons why they are necessary and why they were not presented earlier.
A reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to a final rejection must include cancellation of or appeal from the rejection of, each rejected claim. The filing of an amendment after final rejection, whether or not it is entered, does not stop the running of the statutory period for reply to the final rejection unless the examiner holds all of the claims to be in condition for allowance.
If applicant should desire to continue prosecution in a utility or plant application filed on or after May 29, 2000 and have the finality of this Office action withdrawn, an RCE under 37 CFR 1.114 may be filed within the period for reply. See MPEP § 706.07(h) for more information on the requirements for filing an RCE.
The application will become abandoned unless a Notice of Appeal, an after final replay that places the application in condition for allowance, or an RCE has been filed properly within the period for reply, or any extension of this period obtained under either 37 CFR 1.136(a) or (b).
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834