DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I directed to claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 28 August 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the current in the photovoltaic cell unit flows in the first direction perpendicular to the second direction after converging” where it’s unclear what particular convergence is being referenced by the recitation “after converging”. Additionally, “the first direction” was not previously defined. For these reasons claim 1 is rendered indefinite.
Claim 1 recites “two upward and downward photovoltaic conductive strips” where it’s unclear in this recitation if both conductive strips are “upward and downward“ or if one is “upward” and the other “downward”. Furthermore, it’s unclear what limitation upward and downward are meant to impart to the conductive strips in this context. Furthermore, it’s unclear how the conductive strips are “photovoltaic” when they are later claimed as metal conductors and do not appear to have any photovoltaic properties or function. For these reasons claim 1 is also rendered indefinite.
Claim 1 recites “the two ends of the photovoltaic cell unit” but it’s not clear which ends of the photovoltaic cell unit are being referenced as no shape of the photovoltaic cell unit(s) is claimed and the photovoltaic cell unit(s) do not inherently only have two ends. For this reason claim 1 is rendered indefinite.
Claim 1 recites “the photovoltaic generating groups are interconnected with each other and leads out current through the photovoltaic conductive strip” but claim 1 recites multiple photovoltaic conductive strips and it’s not clear which photovoltaic conductive strip is being referenced in this recitation. For this reason claim 1 is rendered indefinite.
Claim 1 recites “the two photovoltaic conductive strips of the photovoltaic generating group have discontinuous points, which are used to change the series-parallel connection between the photovoltaic cell units within the photovoltaic generating group, where n1≥1, n2≥1”. This recitation references “the two photovoltaic conductive strips of the photovoltaic generating group” where previously claim 1 referenced n1 photovoltaic generating groups where n1≥1 allowing for multiple photovoltaic generating groups. It’s unclear if this recitation means to reference a particular photovoltaic generating group and if so, which one. Additionally, it’s unclear how the recitation “discontinuous points, which are used to change the series-parallel connection between the photovoltaic cell units within the photovoltaic generating group, where n1≥1, n2≥1” means to limit claim 1 in an instance where n1=1 and n2=1 and thus only has one photovoltaic cell unit within one photovoltaic generating group when this recitation seems to require the existence of multiple photovoltaic cell units.
For the reasons set forth above, the scope of claim 1 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 2-13 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 1.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the photovoltaic cell unit is a photovoltaic cell string” where it’s not clear which photovoltaic cell unit is being referenced as claim 1 defines n2 photovoltaic cell units.
Additionally it’s not clear what structure the further limitations of claim 2 are trying to claim. Claim 2 recites “photovoltaic cells welded in series through an interconnecting main gate line, the interconnecting main gate line on one surface of the photovoltaic cells at both ends of the photovoltaic cell string backwards facing a corresponding photovoltaic conductive strip stretches to the outside of the photovoltaic cell string, the interconnecting main gate line on the other surface of the photovoltaic cells at both ends of the photovoltaic cell string frontwards facing a corresponding photovoltaic conductive strip is positioned inside the photovoltaic cell string, one end of the photovoltaic cell string with the connecting portion of the corresponding photovoltaic conductive strip is positioned at the interconnecting main gate line stretching from this end, the other end of the photovoltaic cell string with the connecting portion of the corresponding photovoltaic conductive strip is positioned on the surface of the extreme photovoltaic cell of this end”.
It’s not clear what “the interconnecting main gate line on one surface of the photovoltaic cells at both ends of the photovoltaic cell string backwards facing a corresponding photovoltaic conductive strip stretches to the outside of the photovoltaic cell string” means as it’s not clear what backwards facing in this context means, or if the corresponding photovoltaic conductive strip is a new conductive strip or one of the ones defined in claim 1.
It's not clear what “the interconnecting main gate line on the other surface of the photovoltaic cells at both ends of the photovoltaic cell string frontwards facing a corresponding photovoltaic conductive strip is positioned inside the photovoltaic cell string” means as it’s not clear what frontwards facing in this context means or what “interconnecting main gate line on the other surface of the photovoltaic cells” is referencing as an additional interconnecting main gate line and other surface where not previously defined. It’s not clear if the corresponding photovoltaic conductive strip is a new conductive strip or one of the ones defined in claim 1.
Finally it’s unclear how the claimed arrangement results in a series connection as this recitation appears to claim one gate line interconnecting the same surfaces of the photovoltaic cells in the string and another gate line interconnecting the same surfaces of the photovoltaic cells in the string on an opposite side and each gate line leads to an opposite polarity conductor strip which would instead appear to connect the photovoltaic cells in the string in parallel. The scope of claim 2 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite for these reasons.
Claim 2 also recites “the photovoltaic cell unit is a photovoltaic cell string, which is formed by the photovoltaic cells welded in series through imbricating or imbricate welding, one end of the photovoltaic cell string is connected with the photovoltaic conductive strip through the electrode of the exposal surface of the extreme photovoltaic cell of this end, the other end of the photovoltaic cell string is connected with the photovoltaic conductive strip through the electrode of the shadow surface of the extreme photovoltaic cell of this end”. In this recitation it’s unclear in “wherein the photovoltaic cell unit is a photovoltaic cell string” which photovoltaic cell unit is being referenced as claim 1 defines n2 photovoltaic cell units.
The recitations “imbricating or imbricate welding” are interpreted as referring to overlapping or shingled connections.
It’s unclear which photovoltaic conductive strip is being referenced by the references to “the photovoltaic conductive strip” and it’s unclear what electrode or what exposal surface the recitation “the electrode of the exposal surface of the extreme photovoltaic cell of this end” means to reference as these limitations were never previously defined. It’s also unclear what electrode of what “shadow face” the recitation “the electrode of the shadow surface of the extreme photovoltaic cell of this end” means to reference as these limitations were never previously defined.
The scope of claim 2 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite for these reasons.
Claim 3 is also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 2.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the photovoltaic cell in the photovoltaic cell string is made up of small photovoltaic cells divided into by a photovoltaic cell” which is unclear. It’s not clear which photovoltaic cell of the photovoltaic cell string is being referenced and it’s not clear what “made up of small photovoltaic cells divided into by a photovoltaic cell” means. The scope of claim 3 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 4 recites “the photovoltaic generating group” where multiple photovoltaic generating groups exist (n1>1) making it unclear which photovoltaic generating group is being referenced in claim 4.
Claim 5 recites “the photovoltaic generating group” where previously claim 1 referenced n1 photovoltaic generating groups where n1≥1 allowing for multiple photovoltaic generating groups thus making it unclear which photovoltaic generating group is being referenced in claim 5.
Claim 5 recites “the photovoltaic conductive strip” but it’s not clear which of the multiple photovoltaic conductive strips is being referenced by this recitation. Thus the scope of claim 5 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite for these reasons.
Claims 6-7 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 5.
Claim 6 recites “the outside of the photovoltaic conductive strip on one side of the photovoltaic generating group” where it’s unclear which side of the photovoltaic conductive strip is specifically the outside in this context as the strip can have multiple surfaces meaning “the outside”, and further it’s unclear which “photovoltaic conductive strip” is being referenced as there are multiple photovoltaic conductive strips.
Additionally t’s unclear how the third photovoltaic conductive strip is “photovoltaic” when it appears to be a metal conductor and does not appear to have any photovoltaic properties or function.
Furthermore, it’s unclear how the “vertical photovoltaic conductive strip” is “photovoltaic” when is appears to be a metal conductor and does not appear to have any photovoltaic properties or function.
It’s unclear if the “photovoltaic conductive strip on the same side” is referencing the previously mentioned “photovoltaic conductive strip on one side of the photovoltaic generating group” or a different photovoltaic conductive strip and side.
Thus the scope of claim 6 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite for these reasons.
Claim 7 recites “the outside of the photovoltaic conductive strip on one side of the photovoltaic generating group” where it’s unclear which side of the photovoltaic conductive strip is specifically the outside in this context as the strip can have multiple surfaces meaning “the outside”, and further it’s unclear which “photovoltaic conductive strip” is being referenced as there are multiple photovoltaic conductive strips and further it’s unclear which photovoltaic generating group is being referenced as there are n2 photovoltaic generating groups previously defined.
Additionally t’s unclear how the third photovoltaic conductive strip is “photovoltaic” when it appears to be a metal conductor and does not appear to have any photovoltaic properties or function.
Furthermore, it’s unclear how the “vertical photovoltaic conductive strip” is “photovoltaic” when is appears to be a metal conductor and does not appear to have any photovoltaic properties or function.
It’s unclear if the “photovoltaic conductive strip on the same side” is referencing the previously mentioned “photovoltaic conductive strip on one side of the photovoltaic generating group” or a different photovoltaic conductive strip and side.
Thus the scope of claim 7 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite for these reasons.
Claim 8 recites “the photovoltaic conductive strip” and “the same side” where it’s unclear which “photovoltaic conductive strip” is being referenced and which side “the same side” is referencing. Furthermore it’s unclear what “a dodging hollow” means to structurally define in claim 8. A hollow is understood, but it’s unclear what constitutes “a dodging hollow” within the context of a solar module.
Thus the scope of claim 8 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite for these reasons.
Claim 9 recites “the photovoltaic cell unit and the photovoltaic conductive strip” where it’s unclear which “photovoltaic conductive strip” is being referenced as there are multiple photovoltaic conductive strips and further it’s unclear which photovoltaic cell unit is being referenced as there are n2 photovoltaic cell units previously defined.
Claim 9 recites “the lamination temperature of the photovoltaic module” but no process of manufacturing the photovoltaic cell module was previously recited and it’s unclear what lamination temperature is being referenced as there is not necessarily one lamination temperature in a photovoltaic cell module manufacturing process.
Thus the scope of claim 9 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite for these reasons.
Claim 10 recites “the photovoltaic conductive strip” where it’s unclear which “photovoltaic conductive strip” is being referenced as there are multiple photovoltaic conductive strips previously defined.
Thus the scope of claim 10 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite for this reason.
Claims 11-13 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 10.
Claim 11 recites “the lamination temperature of the photovoltaic module” but no process of manufacturing the photovoltaic cell module was previously recited and it’s unclear what lamination temperature is being referenced as there is not necessarily one lamination temperature in a photovoltaic cell module manufacturing process.
Claim 11 recites the range 5-100µm where it’s unclear what the units are for the ‘5’ endpoint in the range, or if this value is also in micrometers.
Thus the scope of claim 11 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite for these reasons.
Claim 13 recites “the photovoltaic cell unit” where it’s unclear which photovoltaic cell unit is being referenced as there are n2 photovoltaic cell units previously defined. Thus the scope of claim 13 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite for this reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Linderman et al (US 2012/0074576).
Regarding claim 1 Linderman discloses a photovoltaic cell module (Fig. 1A) comprising a front panel (108), a rear panel (110) and a photovoltaic cell layer (102) encapsulated (106, [0017]) between the front panel and the rear panel (Fig. 1A), wherein the photovoltaic cell layer includes n1 photovoltaic generating groups (Fig. 1B, n1=1, one group), each photovoltaic generating group includes n2 photovoltaic cell units arranged in a second direction (Fig. 1B see: array of semiconductor solar cells 102 extending in one direction), the current in the photovoltaic cell unit flows in the first direction perpendicular to the second direction after converging (Fig. 1B see: current from semiconductor solar cells 102 flow perpendicular to the second direction to be collected by metal interconnects 104), each photovoltaic generating group is interconnected with each other and leads out current through two upward and downward photovoltaic conductive strips ([0017], Fig. 1B see: semiconductor solar cells 102 interconnected by metal interconnects 104), the two photovoltaic conductive strips are arranged in parallel and stretch in the second direction (Fig. 1B), the photovoltaic cell units within each photovoltaic generating group are positioned between the two photovoltaic conductive strips (Fig. 1B), and the two ends of the photovoltaic cell unit are respectively connected with the two photovoltaic conductive strips ([0021], Figs. 1B and 2 see: semiconductor solar cells 102 interconnected by metal interconnects 104 at bond pads 212),
the photovoltaic generating groups are interconnected with each other and leads out current through the photovoltaic conductive strip (Fig. 1B see: current is collected within interconnected by metal interconnects 104 allowing for extraction at two ends),
the two photovoltaic conductive strips of the photovoltaic generating group have discontinuous points, which are used to change the series-parallel connection between the photovoltaic cell units within the photovoltaic generating group ([0017], Fig. 1B see: metal interconnects 104 have discontinuous points bridged by bypass diode 112 allowing for current to flow in series through the cell or to bypass the cell and flow in parallel through the bypass diode), where n1≥1, n2≥1 (n=1, n2≥1).
Furthermore, the recitation “which are used to change the series-parallel connection between the photovoltaic cell units within the photovoltaic generating group” is directed to an intended use of the claimed apparatus. A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
As recited above, the photovoltaic cell module of Linderman is fully capable of the claimed function.
Regarding claim 5 Linderman discloses the photovoltaic cell module according to claim 1, wherein the module further includes a bypass diode, which is connected to the photovoltaic generating group through the photovoltaic conductive strip ([0017], Fig. 1B see: bypass diode 112 connected to solar cells 102 through interconnects 104).
Regarding claim 8 Linderman discloses the photovoltaic cell module according to claim 1, wherein the photovoltaic cell layer (102) is encapsulated between the front panel (108) and the rear panel (110) through an encapsulation adhesive layer (106, [0017], Fig. 1A), and the photovoltaic conductive strip is compounded on the encapsulation adhesive layer on the same side; or the photovoltaic conductive strip is compounded on the front panel or the rear panel on the same side, the encapsulation adhesive layer has a dodging hollow, and the photovoltaic cell unit and the photovoltaic conductive strip are connected with each other through the dodging hollow ([0017], Fig. 1A see: interconnects 104 and solar cells 102 are connected to each other in a cavity within the encapsulating polymer layer 106).
Claims 1, 4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawakami (JP H0319379A, reference made to English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1 Kawakami discloses a photovoltaic cell module comprising a front panel (Abstract, Fig. 1(b) see: surface protective layer 105), a rear panel (Abstract, Fig. 1(b) see: polyester film 100 of a plate-like flexible insulating substrate) and a photovoltaic cell layer encapsulated between the front panel and the rear panel (Abstract, Fig. 1(b) see: photoelectric conversion elements formed between layers 100 and 105), wherein the photovoltaic cell layer includes n1 photovoltaic generating groups (Fig. 1(a) see: either one or two groups arranged in the y-axis direction (first direction)), each photovoltaic generating group includes n2 photovoltaic cell units arranged in a second direction (Fig. 1(a) see: photoelectric conversion elements (photoelectric conversion regions) 99 arranged in the x-axis direction (second direction)), the current in the photovoltaic cell unit flows in the first direction perpendicular to the second direction after converging (Fig. 1(a) see: current from photoelectric conversion elements flows in the y-axis directed to be collected at first electrodes 101 and second electrodes 104), each photovoltaic generating group is interconnected with each other and leads out current through two upward and downward photovoltaic conductive strips (Abstract, Page 7 of translation, Figs. 1(a), 3-6 see: photoelectric conversion elements are interconnected through the patterned first electrodes 101 and second electrodes 104), the two photovoltaic conductive strips are arranged in parallel and stretch in the second direction (Abstract, Page 7 of translation, Figs. 1(a), 3-6 see: patterned first electrodes 101 and second electrodes 104 extend in the x-axis direction), the photovoltaic cell units within each photovoltaic generating group are positioned between the two photovoltaic conductive strips (Figs. 1(a), 3-6), and the two ends of the photovoltaic cell unit are respectively connected with the two photovoltaic conductive strips (Abstract, Page 7 of translation, Figs. 1(a), 3-6 see: ends of photoelectric conversion elements are extend in the y-axis direction to connect to the patterned first electrodes 101 and second electrodes 104),
the photovoltaic generating groups are interconnected with each other and leads out current through the photovoltaic conductive strip (Abstract, Page 7 of translation, Figs. 1(a), 3-6 see: patterned second electrodes 104 provide lead out connections for the interconnected cell group)
the two photovoltaic conductive strips of the photovoltaic generating group have discontinuous points (Abstract, Page 7 of translation, Figs. 1(a), 3-6 see: patterned first electrodes 101 formed with discontinuous points interconnected through second electrodes 104 or alternatively, second electrodes 104 have discontinuous points) where n1≥1, n2≥1 (Figs. 1(a) see: n1≥1, n2≥1).
Furthermore, the recitation “which are used to change the series-parallel connection between the photovoltaic cell units within the photovoltaic generating group” is directed to an intended use of the claimed apparatus. A recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
As recited on Page 7 of the translation or Kawakami and illustrated in Figs. 1(a), 3-6 the patterned first electrodes 101 formed with discontinuous points interconnected through second electrodes 104 or alternatively, second electrodes 104 have discontinuous points fully capable of being connected where these discontinuities allow for changes in the series-parallel connection of the solar cells and thus the photovoltaic cell module of Kawakami is fully capable of the claimed function.
Regarding claim 4 Kawakami discloses the photovoltaic cell module according to claim 1, wherein when n1≥2 (Figs. See: n1=2), the photovoltaic generating groups inside the photovoltaic cell layer are arranged in the first direction (Figs. 1(a) see: two groups arranged in the y-axis direction), and each photovoltaic cell unit in the photovoltaic generating group is aligned in a row with the photovoltaic cell units at the corresponding position inside other photovoltaic generating groups in the first direction (Fig. 1(a) see: photoelectric conversion elements of one group extending in the x-axis direction are aligned in the same row with the corresponding photoelectric conversion element of the adjacent group in the y-axis direction).
Regarding claim 10 Kawakami discloses the photovoltaic cell module according to claim 1, wherein the photovoltaic cell module is a flexible module, the front panel and the rear panel are made from flexible material (Abstract, see: polyester film 100 of a plate-like flexible insulating substrate and surface protective layer 105 of an adhesive applied Teflon film both flexible materials and thus the module is considered flexible), and the photovoltaic conductive strip is a metal foil conductive strip or a conductive paste tape or a flexible flat cable (see: first electrode pattern 101 is a metal foil conductive strip (Page 4 of translation) and second electrode 104 is an Ag conductive resin paste (Page 6 of translation)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami (JP H0319379A, reference made to English machine translation) as applied to claims 1, 4 and 10 above, and further in view of Nishiura et al (US 4,609,770) and in further view of MORAD et al (US 2017/0077343).
Regarding claim 2 Kawakami discloses the photovoltaic cell module according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 2 with respect to the photovoltaic cell unit being a photovoltaic cell string as claimed.
Nishiura discloses a photovoltaic cell unit is a photovoltaic cell string, which is formed by the photovoltaic cells welded in series through imbricating or imbricate welding (Nishiura, C4/L16-62, Figs. 6, 8, and 5(A) see: solar cell arrays overlapped in Figs. 6 and 8 interconnected in series with conductive adhesive/solder 34). Nishiura teaches this arrangement allows photovoltaic cell units of a desired size to be cut and assembled to produce a desired voltage and current (Nishiura, C6/L3-31).
MORAD further teaches imbricated photovoltaic cells in a string connected such that one end of the photovoltaic cell string is connected with the photovoltaic conductive strip through the electrode of the exposal surface of the extreme photovoltaic cell of this end, the other end of the photovoltaic cell string is connected with the photovoltaic conductive strip through the electrode of the shadow surface of the extreme photovoltaic cell of this end (MORAD, [0135], [0278], Fig. 6 see: super cell 100 (a string of smaller cell segments) is connected at a front side at one end to flexible interconnect 400 and connected at a back surface at another end to another flexible interconnect 400).
MORAD, Nishiura and Kawakami are combinable as they are all concerned with the field of photovoltaic cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the module of Kawakami in view of Nishiura such that the photovoltaic cell unit of Kawakami is a photovoltaic cell string, which is formed by the photovoltaic cells welded in series through imbricating or imbricate welding as in Nishiura (Nishiura, C4/L16-62, Figs. 6, 8, and 5(A) see: solar cell arrays overlapped in Figs. 6 and 8 interconnected in series with conductive adhesive/solder 34) as Nishiura teaches this arrangement allows photovoltaic cell units of a desired size to be cut and assembled to produce a desired voltage and current (Nishiura, C6/L3-31) and to further provide the imbricated photovoltaic cells in a string connected such that one end of the photovoltaic cell string is connected with the photovoltaic conductive strip through the electrode of the exposal surface of the extreme photovoltaic cell of this end, the other end of the photovoltaic cell string is connected with the photovoltaic conductive strip through the electrode of the shadow surface of the extreme photovoltaic cell of this end as in MORAD (MORAD, [0135], [0278], Fig. 6 see: super cell 100 (a string of smaller cell segments) is connected at a front side at one end to flexible interconnect 400 and connected at a back surface at another end to another flexible interconnect 400) for the express purpose of collecting the output current of said photovoltaic cell string.
Regarding claim 3 modified Kawakami discloses the photovoltaic cell module according to claim 2, and Nishiura further teaches wherein the photovoltaic cell in the photovoltaic cell string is made up of small photovoltaic cells divided into by a photovoltaic cell (Nishiura, C4/L16-62, Figs. 6, 8, and 5(A) see: solar cell arrays overlapped in Figs. 6 and 8 are cut from the same substrate along perforated line 41 or 42 as in Fig. 5(A)).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami (JP H0319379A, reference made to English machine translation) as applied to claims 1, 4 and 10 above, and further in view of LÖCKENHOFF (EP 2736081A1, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 5 Kawakami discloses the photovoltaic cell module according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the module further includes a bypass diode, which is connected to the photovoltaic generating group through the photovoltaic conductive strip.
LÖCKENHOFF discloses a photovoltaic cell module comprising a bypass diode, which is connected to a photovoltaic generating group through a photovoltaic conductive strip (Fig. 1 see: bypass diode 70 connected to a row of solar cells 40 through an interconnect rail 50).
LÖCKENHOFF and Kawakami are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of photovoltaic cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the module of Kawakami in view of LÖCKENHOFF such that the module further includes a bypass diode as in LÖCKENHOFF, which is connected to the photovoltaic generating group of Kawakami through the photovoltaic conductive strip of Kawakami as in LÖCKENHOFF (Fig. 1 see: bypass diode 70 connected to a row of solar cells 40 through an interconnect rail 50) for the express purpose of providing bypass in the event of defective or shaded solar cells in Kawakami.
Regarding claim 6 modified Kawakami discloses the photovoltaic cell module according to claim 5, and wherein when n1=1 (Kawakami, Figs. 1(a) or 3-5 see: the photoelectric conversion elements of regions 99 can be considered part of one group), and LÖCKENHOFF further teaches the outside of the photovoltaic conductive strip on one side of the photovoltaic generating group is further provided with a third photovoltaic conductive strip stretching in the second direction (LÖCKENHOFF, Fig. 1 see: additional interconnect rail 50 extending parallel with the interconnect rail 50 solar cells 40 are connected on), and the bypass diode and a vertical photovoltaic conductive strip stretching in the first direction are connected between the third photovoltaic conductive strip and the photovoltaic conductive strip on the same side (LÖCKENHOFF, Fig. 1 see: additional interconnect rail 50 connected to the interconnect rail 50 solar cells 40 are connected with through the bypass diode 70 and electrical contacts extending from bypass diode 70 to the additional interconnect rail 50), the bypass diode and the vertical photovoltaic conductive strip are aligned with the adjacent photovoltaic cell units in the first direction (LÖCKENHOFF, Fig. 1 see: bypass diode 70 and electrical contacts extending therefrom aligned in the same row as the solar cells 40), the third photovoltaic conductive strip enables the bypass diode to connect to the photovoltaic generating group through its own discontinuous point and the vertical photovoltaic conductive strip stretching in the first direction (LÖCKENHOFF, Fig. 1 see: bypass diode 70 and electrical contacts extending therefrom allow connection to solar cells 40 across the space (discontinuous point) between the interconnect rails 50). Regarding the claim 6 recitation “the two ends of the photovoltaic conductive strip on the same side as the third photovoltaic conductive strip are positive and negative lead-out ends” Kawakami teaches where the photovoltaic conductive strip on either side of the photovoltaic generating group can provide positive and negative lead-out ends (Abstract, Page 7 of translation, Figs. 1(a), 3-6 see: patterned second electrodes 104 provide lead out connections for the interconnected cell group on either side).
Kawakami further teaches the photovoltaic cell module is a flexible module, the front panel and the rear panel are made from flexible material (Abstract, see: polyester film 100 of a plate-like flexible insulating substrate and surface protective layer 105 of an adhesive applied Teflon film both flexible materials and thus the module is considered flexible), and the photovoltaic conductive strip stretching in the second direction is a metal foil conductive strip or a conductive paste tape or a flexible flat cable; or all the photovoltaic conductive strips are a metal foil conductive strip or a conductive paste tape or a flexible flat cable (see: first electrode pattern 101 is a metal foil conductive strip (Page 4 of translation) and second electrode 104 is an Ag conductive resin paste (Page 6 of translation)).
Regarding claim 7 modified Kawakami discloses the photovoltaic cell module according to claim 5, and LÖCKENHOFF further teaches wherein the outside of the photovoltaic conductive strip on one side of the photovoltaic generating group is further provided with a third photovoltaic conductive strip stretching in the second direction (LÖCKENHOFF, Fig. 1 see: additional interconnect rail 50 extending parallel with the interconnect rail 50 solar cells 40 are connected on), and the bypass diode and a vertical photovoltaic conductive strip stretching in the first direction are connected between the third photovoltaic conductive strip and the photovoltaic conductive strip on the same side (LÖCKENHOFF, Fig. 1 see: additional interconnect rail 50 connected to the interconnect rail 50 solar cells 40 are connected with through the bypass diode 70 and electrical contacts extending from bypass diode 70 to the additional interconnect rail 50), the third photovoltaic conductive strip enables the bypass diode to connect to the photovoltaic generating group through its own discontinuous point and the vertical photovoltaic conductive strip stretching in the first direction (LÖCKENHOFF, Fig. 1 see: bypass diode 70 and electrical contacts extending therefrom allow connection to solar cells 40 across the space (discontinuous point) between the interconnect rails 50).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami (JP H0319379A, reference made to English machine translation) as applied to claims 1, 4 and 10 above, and further in view of Linderman et al (US 2012/0074576).
Regarding claim 8 Kawakami discloses the photovoltaic cell module according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the photovoltaic cell layer is encapsulated between the front panel and the rear panel through an encapsulation adhesive layer, and the photovoltaic conductive strip is compounded on the encapsulation adhesive layer on the same side; or the photovoltaic conductive strip is compounded on the front panel or the rear panel on the same side, the encapsulation adhesive layer has a dodging hollow, and the photovoltaic cell unit and the photovoltaic conductive strip are connected with each other through the dodging hollow.
Linderman discloses a photovoltaic cell module wherein the photovoltaic cell layer (102) is encapsulated between the front panel (108) and the rear panel (110) through an encapsulation adhesive layer (106, [0017], Fig. 1A), and the photovoltaic conductive strip is compounded on the encapsulation adhesive layer on the same side; or the photovoltaic conductive strip is compounded on the front panel or the rear panel on the same side, the encapsulation adhesive layer has a dodging hollow, and the photovoltaic cell unit and the photovoltaic conductive strip are connected with each other through the dodging hollow ([0017], Fig. 1A see: interconnects 104 and solar cells 102 are connected to each other in a cavity within the encapsulating polymer layer 106).
Linderman and Kawakami are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of photovoltaic cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the module of Kawakami in view of Linderman such that the photovoltaic cell layer of Kawakami is encapsulated between the front panel and the rear panel of Kawakami through an encapsulation adhesive layer as in Linderman ([0017], Fig. 1A see: solar cells 102 in encapsulant 106 between panels 108 and 110) where the encapsulation adhesive layer has a dodging hollow, and the photovoltaic cell unit and the photovoltaic conductive strip are connected with each other through the dodging hollow as in Linderman ([0017], Fig. 1A see: interconnects 104 and solar cells 102 are connected to each other in a cavity within the encapsulating polymer layer 106) for the express purpose of providing a protective encapsulating arrangement for the solar cells in the module of Kawakami.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami (JP H0319379A, reference made to English machine translation) as applied to claims 1, 4 and 10 above, and further in view of Jang et al (2012/0097210).
Regarding claim 9 Kawakami discloses the photovoltaic cell module according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the photovoltaic cell unit and the photovoltaic conductive strip form a mechanical and electrical connection through low-temperature welding material and low-temperature curing conductive paste, the welding temperature of the low-temperature welding material matches the lamination temperature of the photovoltaic module, and the curing temperature of the low-temperature curing conductive paste matches the lamination temperature of the photovoltaic module.
Jang teaches where photovoltaic cell units and photovoltaic conductive strip form a mechanical and electrical connection through low-temperature welding material and low-temperature curing conductive paste (Jang, [0047], [0103] Figs. 1-2 see: current collectors 161, 162 of solar cells 1 connected to conductive pattern part 51 through conductive adhesive part 54) where the welding temperature of the low-temperature welding material matches the lamination temperature of the photovoltaic module, and the curing temperature of the low-temperature curing conductive paste matches the lamination temperature of the photovoltaic module ([0103], [0117]-[0118] see: conductive adhesive part 54 flows at the module lamination temperature during lamination). Jang teaches this reducing the manufacturing time of the solar cell module as welding is performed during lamination and not in a separate step (paras [0117]-[0118]).
Jang and Kawakami are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of photovoltaic cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the module of Kawakami in view of Jang such that the photovoltaic cell units and photovoltaic conductive strip of Kawakami form a mechanical and electrical connection through low-temperature welding material and low-temperature curing conductive paste as in Jang (Jang, [0047], [0103] Figs. 1-2 see: current collectors 161, 162 of solar cells 1 connected to conductive pattern part 51 through conductive adhesive part 54) where the welding temperature of the low-temperature welding material matches the lamination temperature of the photovoltaic module, and the curing temperature of the low-temperature curing conductive paste matches the lamination temperature of the photovoltaic module as in Jang ([0103], [0117]-[0118] see: conductive adhesive part 54 flows at the module lamination temperature during lamination) as Jang teaches this reducing the manufacturing time of the solar cell module as welding is performed during lamination and not in a separate step (paras [0117]-[0118]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami (JP H0319379A, reference made to English machine translation) as applied to claims 1, 4 and 10 above, and further in view of Jang et al (2012/0097210) and in further view of Yagiura et al (US 2007/0175509).
Regarding claim 11 Kawakami discloses the photovoltaic cell module according to claim 10, wherein the metal foil conductive strip is a copper foil strip or aluminum foil strip (Kawakami, see: first electrode pattern 101 is a metal foil conductive strip (Page 4 of translation) such as Cu or Al) but does not explicitly disclose where of which the surface is covered with a 5˜100 μm thick low-temperature welding material layer, and the flexible flat cable is an FFC cable, FPC cable or PTF cable of which the surface is covered with a low-temperature welding material layer, the welding temperature of the low-temperature welding material layer matches the lamination temperature of the photovoltaic module.
Jang teaches where photovoltaic cell units and photovoltaic conductive strip form a mechanical and electrical connection through low-temperature welding material on the photovoltaic conductive strip (Jang, [0047], [0103] Figs. 1-2 see: current collectors 161, 162 of solar cells 1 connected to conductive pattern part 51 through conductive adhesive part 54) where the welding temperature of the low-temperature welding material matches the lamination temperature of the photovoltaic module ([0103], [0117]-[0118] see: conductive adhesive part 54 flows at the module lamination temperature during lamination). Jang teaches this reducing the manufacturing time of the solar cell module as welding is performed during lamination and not in a separate step (paras [0117]-[0118]).
Jang and Kawakami are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of photovoltaic cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the module of Kawakami in view of Jang such that the photovoltaic cell units and photovoltaic conductive strip of Kawakami form a mechanical and electrical connection through low-temperature welding material as in Jang (Jang, [0047], [0103] Figs. 1-2 see: current collectors 161, 162 of solar cells 1 connected to conductive pattern part 51 through conductive adhesive part 54) where the welding temperature of the low-temperature welding material matches the lamination temperature of the photovoltaic module as in Jang ([0103], [0117]-[0118] see: conductive adhesive part 54 flows at the module lamination temperature during lamination) as Jang teaches this reducing the manufacturing time of the solar cell module as welding is performed during lamination and not in a separate step (paras [0117]-[0118]).
Modified Kawakami does not explicitly disclose said low-temperature welding material layer with a thickness of 5˜100 μm.
Yagiura teaches welding material layers applied to solar cell interconnects are typically 40 micron thick (Yagiura, [0055] Fig. 2A see: interconnector 200 is a copper plate with a solder layer of about 40 microns thick).
Yagiura and modified Kawakami are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of photovoltaic cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the module of Kawakami in view of Yagiura such that the low-temperature welding material layer in modified Kawakami has a thickness of 5˜100 μm as in Yagiura ([0055] Fig. 2A see: interconnector 200 is a copper plate with a solder layer of about 40 microns thick) as such a modification would have amounted to the selection of a known thickness for a welding material layer in the known environment of a solar cell module interconnection for its intended use to accomplish an entirely expected result of providing a conductive adhesive interconnection.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami (JP H0319379A, reference made to English machine translation) as applied to claims 1, 4 and 10 above, and further in view of Luo et al (CN 102945873A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 12 Kawakami discloses the photovoltaic cell module according to claim 10, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the module is divided into a plurality of rigid minimum folding units arranged in the second direction, each photovoltaic cell unit of each photovoltaic generating group is located in one minimum folding unit, and there is a folding gap between the minimum folding units.
Luo discloses a photovoltaic cell module divided into a plurality of rigid minimum folding units arranged in a second direction, each photovoltaic cell unit of each photovoltaic generating group is located in one minimum folding unit, and there is a folding gap between the minimum folding units (Luo, Abstract, [0009], [0024], Figs. 1 and 4 see: module divided into foldable portions defined by one solar cell chip 1 each with reinforcing layers to provide rigidity and protection with folding gaps defined at points 3). Luo discloses this arrangement allows the solar cell module to be folded while providing reinforcement to prevent breakage (Luo, Abstract, [0009]).
Luo and Kawakami are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of photovoltaic cell modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the module of Kawakami in view of Luo such that the module of Kawakami is divided into a plurality of rigid minimum folding units arranged in the second direction, each photovoltaic cell unit of each photovoltaic generating group is located in one minimum folding unit, and there is a folding gap between the minimum folding units as in Luo (Luo, Abstract, [0009], [0024], Figs. 1 and 4 see: module divided into foldable portions defined by one solar cell chip 1 each with reinforcing layers to provide rigidity and protection with folding gaps defined at points 3) as Luo discloses this arrangement allows the solar cell module to be folded while providing reinforcement to prevent breakage (Luo, Abstract, [0009]).
Regarding claim 13 modified Kawakami discloses the photovoltaic cell module according to claim 12, and Luo teaches wherein the minimum folding unit is formed by ways of covering a rigid protective plate on one side of the exposal surface of the photovoltaic cell unit, and the rigid protective plate and the photovoltaic cell unit are combined together through the encapsulation adhesive layer between them, or the minimum folding unit is formed by ways of covering a protective layer of glue-drop material on one side of the exposal surface of the photovoltaic cell unit (Luo, [0024], [0026], [0044] Figs. 1 and 4 see: solar cell chip 1 has a chip protection layer 9 adhered to its surface with adhesive 5).
Conclusion
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726