DETAILED ACTION
1. The following Office Action is based on the preliminary amendment filed on 11 August 2025, having claims 7-12 (claims 1-6 were cancelled) and drawing figures 1-10.
Specification
3. The title of the invention is not descriptive. The current title “Terminal, Radio Communication Method, and Base Station” broadly describes most wireless systems. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao (EP 3 972 362 A1) in view of Fakoorian et al. (US 2023/0345465 A1).
For claims 7 and 10, Gao discloses a terminal (Fig 1, terminal 11) comprising: a receiver (Fig 4, transceiver 410) that receives a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration including a sub-slot length ([0094] terminal receives PUCCH configuration information comprising the quantity of symbols (i.e., symbol length) in a sub-slot); and
a processor (Fig 4, processor 400) that determines, based on the sub-slot length, a plurality of start symbols corresponding to a plurality of PUCCH transmissions, and controls to transmit the plurality of PUCCHs over a plurality of sub-slots ([0090] and [0098] based on a start symbol index and a sub-slot length of 3 symbols, a plurality of start symbols is determined for PUCCH transmissions).
For claims 7 and 10, Gao does not expressly recite that the PUCCH transmissions are PUCCH repetitions. Fakoorian, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches that the PUCCH transmission include intra-slot PUCCH repetitions [0126]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art that the PUCCH transmission in the plurality of sub-slots in the communication network of Gao may be PUCCH repetitions based on the teachings of Fakoorian at the time of the invention.
For claim 8, Gao discloses the PUCCH configuration further includes a start symbol index indicating a relative value to a first symbol of a slot ([0086] and [0090]), and the processor determines the plurality of start symbols based on a remainder obtained by dividing the start symbol index by the sub-slot length ([0098] and [0098] the network side device configures the PUCCH by dividing the smallest sub-slot from a slot to determine the start symbol relative to the sub-slot length).
For claim 9, Fakoorian discloses a transmitter that transmits capability information indicating support of transmitting the plurality of PUCCH repetitions over the plurality of sub-slots ([0126] the UE transmits its capability to the base station, wherein the capability includes intra-slot PUCCH repetitions transmission capability).
For claim 11, Gao discloses a base station (Fig 1, network side device 12) comprising: a transmitter (Fig 4, transceiver 410) that transmits a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration including a sub-slot length ([0094] terminal receives PUCCH configuration information comprising the quantity of symbols (i.e., symbol length) in a sub-slot); and
a processor (Fig 4, processor 400) that determines, based on the sub-slot length, a plurality of start symbols corresponding to a plurality of PUCCH transmissions, and controls to receive the plurality of PUCCHs over a plurality of sub-slots ([0090] and [0098] based on a start symbol index and a sub-slot length of 3 symbols, a plurality of start symbols is determined for PUCCH transmissions).
For claim 11, Gao does not expressly recite that the PUCCH transmissions are PUCCH repetitions. Fakoorian, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches that the PUCCH transmission include intra-slot PUCCH repetitions [0126]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art that the PUCCH transmission in the plurality of sub-slots in the communication network of Gao may be PUCCH repetitions based on the teachings of Fakoorian at the time of the invention.
For claim 12, Gao discloses a system comprising a terminal (Fig 1, terminal 11) and a base station (Fig 1, network side device 12), wherein the terminal comprises: a receiver (Fig 4, transceiver 410) that receives a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration including a sub-slot length ([0094] terminal receives PUCCH configuration information comprising the quantity of symbols (i.e., symbol length) in a sub-slot); and
a processor (Fig 4, processor 400) that determines, based on the sub-slot length, a plurality of start symbols corresponding to a plurality of PUCCH transmissions, and controls to transmit the plurality of PUCCHs over a plurality of sub-slots, and the base station comprises: a transmitter that transmits the PUCCH configuration ([0090] and [0098] based on a start symbol index and a sub-slot length of 3 symbols, a plurality of start symbols is determined for PUCCH transmissions).
For claim 12, Gao does not expressly recite that the PUCCH transmissions are PUCCH repetitions. Fakoorian, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches that the PUCCH transmission include intra-slot PUCCH repetitions [0126]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art that the PUCCH transmission in the plurality of sub-slots in the communication network of Gao may be PUCCH repetitions based on the teachings of Fakoorian at the time of the invention.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/ELISABETH BENOIT MAGLOIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471