DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to communications: Amendment, filed on 12/16/2025.
This action is made FINAL.
2. Claims 17-34 are pending in the case. Claims 17, 22, 27 and 30 are independent claims. Claims 17, 19, 20, 22-23, 25, 27 and 30-31 have been amended. Claims 33-34 are newly added. Claims 1-16 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 16, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (claims, 1, 22, 27 and 30) Harviainen fails to disclose identifying a second peripheral device to be grouped with the first peripheral device for use of the application; transmitting, to the second peripheral device, grouping information for grouping the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device; establishing a wireless connection with the second peripheral device and grouping the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device; wherein the application provides different augmented reality (AR) media of same media content respectively to the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device.
In response, Harviainen discloses in an example embodiment, a group of users (e.g., students in school class) may be using VR glasses (e.g. peripheral devices) that are linked in a VR experience based on proximity (Section: Fig. 12, Para 22). Identifying a user’s VR glasses within proximity corresponds to identifying peripheral devices to be grouped. Therefore, Harviainen discloses identifying a second peripheral device to be grouped with the first peripheral device for use of the application.
Harviainen discloses sharing the VR experience with a proximal user in the physical space by communicating information between users of the linked VR sessions (Section: Fig. 12, Para 25). Therefore, Harviainen discloses transmitting, to the second peripheral device, grouping information for grouping the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device.
Harviainen discloses a WTRU (wireless transmit and receive units) includes a UE (user equipment), such as a phone (Fig. 1A“102a-d”). A processor 118 of the WTRU may connect to peripheral devices (AR/VR device) (Fig. 1) that include a virtual reality and/or augmented reality device (Fig. 1B “102, 138”). Harviainen discloses devices within physical proximity are paired using Bluetooth technology (Fig. 1B; Section: Fig. 12, Para 22). Therefore, Harviainen discloses establishing a wireless connection with the second peripheral device and grouping the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device.
Harviainen discloses sharing play of recorded video content, where user’s use posture to adjust synchronization level of the VR experience (Specific Implementation Examples, Para 3-4). Harviainen discloses a main sharer may share a subset of AR objects (Fig. 5); and in low immersion or weak link mode, each user sees different content of the same experience (Fig. 5). Therefore, Harviainen discloses wherein the application provides different augmented reality (AR) media of same media content respectively to the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device.
Applicant argues claims 18-21, 23-26, 28-19 an 31-34, are patentable over Harviainen for at least the reasons that respective base claims 17, 22, 27 and 30 are patentable, as well as for the additional features recited therein.
In response, claims 18-21, 23-26, 28-19 an 31-34, are not patentable over Harviainen for at least the reasons that respective base claims 17, 22, 27 and 30 are not patentable over Harviainen. Therefore, the rejection in view of Harviainen is maintained.
To the extent that the response to the applicant's arguments may have mentioned new portions of the prior art references which were not used in the prior office action, this does not constitute a new ground of rejection. It is clear that the prior art reference is of record and has been considered entirely by applicant. See In re Boyer, 363 F.2d 455, 458 n.2, 150 USPQ 441, 444, n.2 (CCPA 1966) and In re Bush, 296 F.2d 491, 496, 131 USPQ 263, 267 (CCPA 1961).
The mere fact that additional portions of the same reference may have been mentioned or relied upon does not constitute new ground of rejection. In re Meinhardt, 392, F.2d 273, 280, 157 USPQ 270, 275 (CCPA 1968).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-32 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tatu Harviainen et al., CN 112384880 A.
Independent claim 17, Harviainen discloses a method by a first user equipment (UE) grouping a plurality of peripheral devices in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: executing an application, wherein the first UE is wirelessly connected with a first peripheral device (i.e. WTRU, e.g. phone – Fig. 1A “102a-d” - is coupled to peripheral device(s) that include a virtual reality and/or augmented reality device – Fig. 1B “102, 138”);
identifying a second peripheral device to be grouped with the first peripheral device for use of the application (i.e. For some embodiments, a group of users (e.g., students in school class) may be using VR glasses. In the classroom, there may be a linked viewer (e.g., a teacher), which uses the system in PPD mode and walking to the front of the class. The physical proximity of the main viewer and the linked viewer can be used for pairing of the HMD device, so that the user with the closest distance from the linked viewer is selected as the main viewer in the link of the VR experience – Section: Fig. 12, Para 22);
transmitting, to the second peripheral device, grouping information for grouping the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device (i.e. Some of the benefits of the system described herein according to some embodiments may include: it is easy to share the VR experience with the user in the physical space; the link of the VR experience in the HMD; and communicating information between users of the linked VR sessions – Section: Fig. 12, Para 25);
establishing a wireless connection with the second peripheral device and grouping the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device (i.e. The physical proximity of the main viewer and the linked viewer can be used for pairing of the HMD device, so that the user with the closest distance from the linked viewer is selected as the main viewer in the link of the VR experience – Section: Fig. 12, Para 22); and
displaying information about the grouping of the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device on the application (i.e. share an immersive experience amongst user devices proximal to one another – Fig. 2, 3; For an HMD user moving 602 to another user, the link viewer may walk to the main viewer. In some embodiments, the primary viewer may be notified 624 about the proximity of the linked viewers with medium 614 and short 616.- Section: Fig. 6A/B, Para 2),
wherein the application provides different augmented reality (AR) media of same media content respectively to the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device (i.e. shared play of recorded video content; user’s use posture to adjust synchronization level of the VR experience - Specific Implementation Examples, Para 3-4; the main sharer may share a subset of AR objects – Fig. 5; in low immersion or weak link mode, each user sees different content of the same experience – Fig. 5).
Claim 18, Harviainen discloses the method of claim 17, wherein identifying the second peripheral device to be grouped with the first peripheral device includes: measuring a distance and a direction to the second peripheral device (i.e. In some embodiments, processing 1400 may include determining the distance between 1404 local VR device and remote VR device.- Fig. 14; In some embodiments, the orientation of one AR/VR device relative to the other AR/VR device orientation can be used for initiating device link VR relation. The… orientation sensors built in the device can be used to determine the orientation of one device with respect to another device, along with the position information of the device.…. The orientation may be used with a distance. For example, can be based on detecting the first device towards the second device and determining the first device close to the second device (e.g., the distance between the first device and the second device is lower than a certain threshold distance) to provide or initiate a sharing request.– Section: Fig. 17, Para 2); and recognizing that the second peripheral device is positioned within a preset distance and angle range (i.e. For example, can be based on detecting the first device towards the second device and determining the first device close to the second device (e.g., the distance between the first device and the second device is lower than a certain threshold distance) to provide or initiate a sharing request. – Section: Fig. 17, Para 2).
Claim 19, Harviainen discloses the method of claim 17, wherein a connection between the second peripheral device and a second UE is released by establishing the wireless connection between the second peripheral device and the first UE (i.e. For the HMD user to move away 604 from another user, the link viewer may leave from the main viewer. – Section: Fig. 6A/B, Para 3; any number of WTRU (wireless transmit and receive units) may be used and include a UE (user equipment) – Fig. 1A; a processor 118 of the WTRU may connect to a peripheral device (AR/VR device) – Fig. 1).
Claim 20, Harviainen discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising: displaying the grouping information for grouping with the first peripheral device (i.e. For an HMD user moving 602 to another user, the link viewer may walk to the main viewer. In some embodiments, the primary viewer may be notified 624 about the proximity of the linked viewers with medium 614 and short 616. The distance between the main viewer and the link viewer may be displayed 634 for the main viewer. The gesture 602 may be performed at short 616 and medium 614 distances between the link viewer and the main viewer. – Section: Fig. 6A/B, Para 2).
Claim 21, Harviainen discloses the method of claim 20, wherein the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device comprise at least one of augmented reality (AR) device, or virtual reality (VR) device, extended reality (XR) devices, and mixed reality (MR) devices (i.e. peripheral device(s) include a virtual reality and/or augmented reality device – Fig. 1B “102, 138”).
Independent claim 22, the claim is similar in scope to claim 17. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 17 applies herein. Additionally, Harviainen discloses a system comprising: a transceiver, memory comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions; and at least one processor coupled to the transceiver and the memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the(i.e. WTRU including a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a removable memory 132 - Fig. 1B; An example apparatus according to some embodiments may include: a processor; and a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, wherein the instructions when executed by the processor are operable to perform the example method – Contents of the Invention).
Claims 23-26, the corresponding rationale as applied in the rejection of claims 18-21 apply herein.
Independent claim 27, Harviainen discloses a method by a second peripheral device for grouping with a first user equipment (UE) in a plurality of peripheral devices in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from the first UE, grouping information for grouping a first peripheral device and the second peripheral device based on an application executed on the first UE wirelessly connected with the first peripheral device, wherein the second peripheral device is wirelessly connected with a second UE (i.e. devices are wirelessly connected – Fig. 1, 2, 3; For an HMD user moving 602 to another user, the link viewer may walk to the main viewer. In some embodiments, the primary viewer may be notified 624 about the proximity of the linked viewers with medium 614 and short 616. The distance between the main viewer and the link viewer may be displayed 634 for the main viewer. The gesture 602 may be performed at short 616 and medium 614 distances between the link viewer and the main viewer. – Section: Fig. 6A/B, Para 2);
wirelessly connecting to the first UE based on the grouping information (i.e. For the handshake gesture 658, the link viewer and the main viewer may perform a handshake to set the link of the VR experience to a fully linked mode. The full link mode (AR object link mode or lock link mode) used by 682 may be selected based on content displayed in the HMD device of the main viewer. Gesture 658 may be performed at a short distance 664 between the link viewer and the main viewer.
For some embodiments, a gesture of the user may be detected, and a viewing configuration or viewing information of the VR display environment may be adjusted based on the detected gesture. – Section: Fig. 6A/B, Para 10-11) and releasing a connection with the second UE (i.e. For the HMD user to move away 604 from another user, the link viewer may leave from the main viewer. – Section: Fig. 6A/B, Para 3);
displaying information about the grouping of the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device on a display of the second peripheral device (i.e. Some example embodiments may enable linking HMD users to control the linking of VR experiences using gestures. In some embodiments, the linking user may control the output of content in the host device. For example, a parent may stop a horror program being played in a child's HMD device. In some embodiments, the primary user may be notified of the linked user that is moving to the primary user in the room. Some example embodiments enable opening a communication channel (e.g., a voice channel) between a linked user and a primary user. – Section: Fig. 9, Para 2); and
displaying the application executed on the first UE. (i.e. share an immersive experience amongst user devices proximal to one another – Fig. 2, 3),
wherein the application provides different augmented reality (AR) media of same media content respectively to the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device (i.e. shared play of recorded video content; user’s use posture to adjust synchronization level of the VR experience - Specific Implementation Examples, Para 3-4; the main sharer may share a subset of AR objects – Fig. 5; in low immersion or weak link mode, each user sees different content of the same experience – Fig. 5).
Claim 28, Harviainen discloses the method of claim 27, wherein receiving the grouping information for grouping the first peripheral device and the second peripheral device from the first UE includes:
receiving the grouping information in case that the second peripheral device is positioned within a preset distance and angle range with the first UE (i.e. For an HMD user moving 602 to another user, the link viewer may walk to the main viewer. In some embodiments, the primary viewer may be notified 624 about the proximity of the linked viewers with medium 614 and short 616. The distance between the main viewer and the link viewer may be displayed 634 for the main viewer. The gesture 602 may be performed at short 616 and medium 614 distances between the link viewer and the main viewer. – Section: Fig. 6A/B, Para 2).
Claim 29, the corresponding rationale as applied in the rejection of claims 18-21 apply herein.
Independent claim 30, the claim is similar in scope to claim 17. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 17 applies herein.
Claims 31-32, the corresponding rationale as applied in the rejection of claims 28-29 apply herein.
Claim 34, Harviainen discloses the method of claim 17, wherein identifying the second peripheral device to be grouped with the first peripheral device includes:
identifying the second peripheral device using bluetooth low energy (BLE) (i.e. Bluetooth technology can be used for proximity sensing and is based on signal strength – Fig. 4); and
starting communication with the second peripheral device using ultra-wide band (UWB) based on determining that the second peripheral device is within a predetermined area (i.e. The communication system 100 may enable a plurality of wireless users to access such content by sharing system resources including wireless bandwidth; base station and WTRU, e.g. UE, implement WiFi, e.g. UWB – Fig. 1A).
Claim 33 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHANTE E HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615