DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed 11 December 2025 containing remarks and amendments to the claims.
Claims 1-8, 10, and 13-15 are pending. The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. The updated rejections follow.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Examiner notes that claim 1 now depends on claim 8, which does not follow consecutive numbering.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skraba (US 5,120,892) in view of Bellet (US 2006/0116543) and further in view of Niggemann (US 4,936,380).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 8, 10, and 13-15, Skraba teaches a method for feeding a hydrocarbon feedstock to a waste heat utilization (thermal energy recovery) vessel, to out put a preheated hydrocarbon feedstock, which is fed to a pyrolysis furnace, producing a heated effluent, which is passed to the waste heat utilization vessel in order to transfer heat to the hydrocarbon feed (see figure, column 3, lines 1-column 6, line 36).
Skraba does not explicitly disclose (1) electrically heating the pyrolysis furnace (2) the impingement plate.
Regarding (1), Bellet teaches a similar method for cracking hydrocarbons, using an electrically heated furnace [0037-0040].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the Bellet electric heating, as an alternate method to heat the furnace of Skraba. It is not seen where such a modification would result in any new or unexpected results.
Regarding (2), Niggemen teaches impingement plate type heat exchangers are well known in the art (see figures). Niggemen teaches that the impingement plate heat exchangers result in excellent heat transfer (column 4, lines 25-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated known heat exchange structures, such as the impingement plate design of Niggeman, for the benefit of achieving the desired preheating of feed and cooling of effluent and excellent heat transfer as disclosed by the prior art.
Regarding claim 2, Skraba teaches that additional fluids may be provided to the waste heat exchanger (see figure 2, column 6, lines 35-70).
Regarding claims 4-7, the previous combination teaches the limitations as discussed above. It is further expected that the same or similar cooling rates and pressure drops would be achieved, since the same thermal recovery configuration is utilized.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner considers Applicant’s argument to be:
The prior art does not disclose impingement plate or piccolo impingement heat exchangers. These embodiments result in unexpected results demonstrated by improved cooling rates, pressure drops, residence time, and cooling surface area.
Regarding Applicant’s argument, Examiner notes that Niggemann teaches impingement plate type heat exchangers (column 1, lines 10-30). Niggemann teaches that the impingement plate heat exchangers results in excellent heat transfer/effective heat transfer (column 4, lines 25-45). In this regard, the person having ordinary skill in the art would expect to achieve the same improvements in heat exchange as disclosed by the instant specification.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771