DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02 May 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
Figures 1-5: Numbers, letters, and reference characters must be at least .32 cm (1/8 inch) in height. See 37 C.F.R. 1.84(p)(3).
Figure 1: Blank reference boxes “70”, “130”, ”140”, and “160” should also be labeled with their representative structure in order to more easily identify the structure quickly that is utilized in the invention without having to read through the specification.
For example, reference box (130) should also be labeled -- Camera --. See 37 C.F.R. 1.83(a) below.
1.83 Content of drawing.
(a) The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box). In addition, tables that are included in the specification and sequences that are included in sequence listings should not be duplicated in the drawings.
(b) When the invention consists of an improvement on an old machine the drawing must when possible exhibit, in one or more views, the improved portion itself, disconnected from the old structure, and also in another view, so much only of the old structure as will suffice to show the connection of the invention therewith.
(c) Where the drawings in a nonprovisional application do not comply with the requirements of paragraphs (a) and (b) of this section, the examiner shall require such additional illustration within a time period of not less than two months from the date of the sending of a notice thereof. Such corrections are subject to the requirements of § 1.81(d).
[31 FR 12923, Oct. 4, 1966; 43 FR 4015, Jan. 31, 1978; paras. (a) and (c) revised, 60 FR 20195, Apr. 25, 1995, effective June 8, 1995; para. (a) revised, 69 FR 56481, Sept. 21, 2004, effective Oct. 21, 2004; para. (a) revised, 78 FR 62368, Oct. 21, 2013, effective Dec. 18, 2013]
PLEASE NOTE THAT A REFERENCE NUMERAL IS NOT A LABEL.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Reference numeral “170” does not appear within the Figures as suggested by the disclosure in paragraph [0047], line 3.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract refers to purported merits of the application (lines 6-14). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0031], line 14: The term – its – should replace the term “it.”
Paragraph [0034], line 9: The term – operable – should replace the term “operably.”
Paragraph [0040], line 4: The term – an – should replace the term “and.”
Paragraph [0042], line 1: The term – openings – should replace the term “opening.”
Paragraph [0043], line 3: The term – opening(s) – should replace the term “opening.”
Paragraph [0043], line 4: The term – member(s) – should replace the term “member.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claim 1, claim line 1: The term – configured – should be inserted after the term “assembly” to positively recite the functionality/intended use of the assembly.
Re claim 12, claim line 1: The term – configured – should be inserted after the term “assembly” to positively recite the functionality/intended use of the assembly.
Re claim 16, claim line 1: The term – configured – should be inserted after the term “assembly” to positively recite the functionality/intended use of the assembly.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 10, claim lines 2-4: It is unclear why the mounting adhesive needs a coefficient of thermal expansion that is complementary to a coefficient of thermal expansion of the top case when the mounting adhesive is disposed between the base plate and the bottom plate, not the top case and any other structure. The mounting adhesive does not contact the top case of the enclosure. The top case connects to the bottom plate of the enclosure exclusive of the mounting adhesive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2012/0236507 (Koyama).
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Koyama disclose a sensor assembly
comprising:
a flex circuit (flexible wiring substrate (40) – Figures 3 and 9A/B);
an inertial measurement unit (101) coupled to the flex circuit (sensor unit (101) is coupled to the flexible wiring substrate (40) through external connection terminals (23) – paragraph [0095] and Figures 1A and 9A);
a base plate disposed adjacent to the inertial measurement unit on a side of the flex circuit that is opposite the inertial measurement unit (reinforcing layer (43) is located on a top side of the flexible wiring substrate (40) adjacent to the sensor unit (101); and the sensor unit (101) is attached to an IC chip (20) at a location adjacent to a bottom surface of the flexible wiring substrate (40), which is opposite from the location of the reinforcing layer (43) – Figures 1B and 9B); and
an enclosure disposed around the inertial measurement unit, the base plate, and a portion of the flex circuit (package (90) houses the sensor unit (101), the base/reinforcing plate/layer (43) and a portion of the flexible wiring substrate (40) – Figure 9B), wherein the enclosure comprises:
a top case (lid (93) forms a top case of the enclosure/package (90) – Figure 9B); and
a bottom plate coupled to the top case (package base (91) is coupled to the lid (93) – Figure 9B), wherein the bottom plate and the top case are positioned to define a sealed volume containing the inertial measurement unit, the base plate, and the portion of the flex circuit (package base (91) and lid (93) define a sealed volume (hollow portion (92)) containing the sensor unit (101), the base/reinforcing plate/layer (43) and a portion of the flexible wiring substrate (40) – Figure 9B and paragraphs [0198] and [0212]).
With respect to the limitations of claim 2, Koyama further disclose that the inertial measurement unit comprises an accelerometer, a gyroscope, or a magnetometer (sensor unit may include a gyro sensor or an acceleration sensor – paragraph [0284]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6-10, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0236507 (Koyama).
With respect to the limitations of claims 3 and 6-7, Koyama further discloses an opening located within the package (90) to permit electrical communication with the inertial measurement unit (internal terminals (95) contacting the flexible wiring substrate (40) are connected to external terminals (99) via internal wirings (paragraph [0204]), which appear to pass through openings located in the package base (91) – Figure 9B). Koyama fail to expressly disclose an opening located in the top case; however, openings in a top case versus a bottom plate are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as orientation of structure, top versus bottom, is not patentable, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide openings in a structure to allow wiring of structures to be connected to outside terminals. Moreover, specific locations of the opening within the top case, such as a side portion or top, are modifications that would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention as orientation of structure, side versus top, is not patentable.
With respect to the limitations of claim 8, Koyama fails to expressly disclose a sealing member disposed within the opening to seal the enclosure from an external environment and permit electrical communication with the inertial measurement unit; however, the Examiner argues that such a feature would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention because the package (90) is disclosed as sealed and the internal wires passing through openings in the base plate/package base (91) need to be sealed to maintain the package (90) as sealed.
With respect to the limitation of claim 9, utilizing silicone or adhesive as the means to seal the opening(s) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention as Koyama discloses using silicone or adhesive to seal the package (90).
With respect to the limitations of claim 10, Koyama further discloses mounting adhesive disposed between the base plate and the bottom plate (an adhesive (51, 52) is located between the reinforcing layer (43) and the package base (91) for attaching the reinforcing layer (43) to the package base (91) – Figure 1B and 9B). Koyama fails to expressly disclose that the mounting adhesive has a coefficient of thermal expansion that is complementary to a coefficient of thermal expansion of the top case and the bottom; however, the Examiner argues that utilizing an adhesive is complimentary to the materials being attached would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention as a means to ensure that the structures stay adhered to each other through environmental conditions.
With respect to the limitation of claim 16, Koyama discloses a sensor assembly comprising:
a flex circuit (flexible wiring substrate (40) – Figures 3 and 9A/B);
an inertial measurement unit (101) coupled to the flex circuit (sensor unit (101) is coupled to the flexible wiring substrate (40) through external connection terminals (23) – Figures 1A and 9A);
a connector is electrical communication with the inertial measurement unit and coupled to the flex circuit (external connection terminals (23) couple the sensor unit (101 to the flexible wiring substrate (40); and internal terminals (95) contacting the flexible wiring substrate (40) are connected to external terminals (99) via internal wirings (paragraphs [0095] and [0204] – Figures 1A and 9A);
an enclosure disposed around the inertial measurement unit and the flex circuit (package (90) houses the sensor unit (101) and the flexible wiring substrate (40) – Figure 9B), wherein the enclosure defines an opening, wherein the connector extends through the opening to permit electrical communication with the inertial measurement unit (internal terminals (95) contacting the flexible wiring substrate (40) are connected to external terminals (99) via internal wirings (paragraph [0204], which appear to pass through openings located in the package base (91) – Figure 9B); and
a sealing member disposed within the opening and around the connector to seal the enclosure from an external environment (package (90) is disclosed as sealed and the internal wires passing through openings in the base plate/package base (91) need to be sealed to maintain the package (90) as sealed).
With respect to the limitations of claims 18-19, Koyama further discloses an opening located within the package (90) to permit electrical communication with the inertial measurement unit (internal terminals (95) contacting the flexible wiring substrate (40) are connected to external terminals (99) via internal wirings (paragraph [0204]), which appear to pass through openings located in the package base (91) – Figure 9B). Koyama fail to expressly disclose an opening located in a side portion of a top case or an opening in an upper portion of a top case; however, openings in a side or upper portion of the top case versus a bottom plate are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as orientation of structure, top versus bottom, is not patentable, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide openings in a structure to allow wiring of structures to be connected to outside terminals. Moreover, specific locations of the opening within the top case, such as a side or upper portion, are modifications that would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention as orientation of structure is not patentable.
With respect to the limitation of claim 20, utilizing silicone or adhesive as the sealing member would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention as Koyama discloses using silicone or adhesive to seal the package (90).
Claims 4 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0236507 (Koyama) in view of US 11,003,884 (Buchan et al.).
With respect to the limitation of claim 4, Koyama discloses all of the limitations of the base claim but fail to disclose Koyama fail to disclose that the flex circuit extends through the opening in the top case.
Buchan et al. disclose a sensor device comprising an enclosure (3002) closed on three sides with a fourth side defining an opening, wherein a second portion of a flex circuit (211) extends through the opening to permit electrical communication with a measurement unit (202/204); and a sealing member (2904) is disposed within the opening and around the second portion of the flex circuit (211) to seal the enclosure (3002) from an external environment (col. 17 and Figure 30). Modifying Koyama to extend the flex circuit through a sealed opening would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention as a way of providing a simplified connection of the flex circuit to the outside environment.
With respect to the limitations of claim 12, Koyama discloses a sensor assembly comprising:
a flex circuit (flexible wiring substrate (40) – Figures 3 and 9A/B);
an inertial measurement unit (101) coupled to the flex circuit (sensor unit (101) is coupled to the flexible wiring substrate (40) through external connection terminals (23) – Figures 1A and 9A);
an enclosure disposed around the inertial measurement unit and a first portion of the flex circuit (package (90) houses the sensor unit (101) and a portion of the flexible wiring substrate (40) – Figure 9B), wherein the enclosure defines an opening (internal terminals (95) contacting the flexible wiring substrate (40) are connected to external terminals (99) via internal wirings (paragraph [0204]), which appear to pass through openings located in the package base (91) – Figure 9B). Koyama fail to disclose that a second portion of the flex circuit extends through the opening to permit electrical communication with the inertial measurement unit; and a sealing member disposed within the opening and around the second portion of the flex circuit to seal the enclosure from an external environment.
Buchan et al. disclose a sensor device comprising an enclosure (3002) closed on three sides with a fourth side defining an opening, wherein a second portion of a flex circuit (211) extends through the opening to permit electrical communication with a measurement unit (202/204); and a sealing member (2904) is disposed within the opening and around the second portion of the flex circuit (211) to seal the enclosure (3002) from an external environment (col. 17 and Figure 30). Modifying Koyama to extend the flex circuit through a sealed opening would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention as a way of providing a simplified connection of the flex circuit to the outside environment.
With respect to the limitation of claim 13, the combination further discloses that the inertial measurement unit is mounted to the flex circuit extending through the enclosure (Koyama shows that sensor unit (101) is mounted to the flex circuit (40) through external connection terminals (23); and Buchan et al. discloses that the flex circuit extends entirely through the enclosure).
With respect to the limitation of claim 14, the combination (Buchan et al.) further discloses that the sealing member comprising a sealing adhesive or silicone (an encapsulating mater (2904) is used to seal the opening).
With respect to the limitation of claim 15, the combination fails to disclose that the first portion of the flex circuit within the enclosure defines an S-curve portion; however, the Examiner argues that such a feature is a choice of design that is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention. Moreover, there does not appear to be any criticality to this feature that would provide some patentable benefit. Additionally, Koyama show that the flexible wiring substrate (40) has an S-shaped (Figure 9B).
Claims 5 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0236507 (Koyama) in view of US 2019/0353506 (Yoda).
With respect to the limitation of claim 5, Koyama discloses all of the limitations of the base claims including a connector coupled to the flex circuit and in electrical communication with the inertial measurement unit (external connection terminals (23) couple the sensor unit (101) to the flexible wiring substrate (40); and internal terminals (95) contacting the flexible wiring substrate (40) are connected to external terminals (99) via internal wirings (paragraphs [0095] and [0204] – Figures 1A and 9A). Koyama fail to expressly disclose that the connector extends through the opening in the top case.
Yoda disclose a sensor unit (100), comprising a circuit (4/5); an inertial measurement unit/sensor (3) coupled to the circuit (Figure 3); a connector (51a,52, 31,55a) in electrical communication with the inertial measurement unit/inertial sensor (3) and coupled to the circuit (4/5) (Figure 3); an enclosure/container (7) disposed around the inertial measurement unit/sensor (3) and the circuit(4/5) (Figure 4B), wherein the enclosure/container (7) defines an opening (33) (Figures 4B and 9A/B), wherein the connector extends through the opening to permit electrical communication with the inertial measurement unit/sensor (3) (Figure 4B). Modifying Koyama to provide a a connector extending though the opening would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention as a means to connect the sensor in a controlled space to the external environment.
With respect to the limitation of claim 16, Koyama disclose a sensor assembly comprising:
a flex circuit (flexible wiring substrate (40) – Figures 3 and 9A/B);
an inertial measurement unit (101) coupled to the flex circuit (sensor unit (101) is coupled to the flexible wiring substrate (40) through external connection terminals (23) – Figures 1A and 9A);
a connector is electrical communication with the inertial measurement unit and coupled to the flex circuit (external connection terminals (23) couple the sensor unit (101 to the flexible wiring substrate (40); and internal terminals (95) contacting the flexible wiring substrate (40) are connected to external terminals (99) via internal wirings (paragraphs [0095] and [0204] – Figures 1A and 9A);
an enclosure disposed around the inertial measurement unit and the flex circuit (package (90) houses the sensor unit (101) and the flexible wiring substrate (40) – Figure 9B), wherein the enclosure defines an opening, wherein the connector extends through the opening to permit electrical communication with the inertial measurement unit (internal terminals (95) contacting the flexible wiring substrate (40) are connected to external terminals (99) via internal wirings (paragraph [0204], which appear to pass through openings located in the package base (91) – Figure 9B). Koyama fail to expressly disclose that a sealing member disposed within the opening and around the connector to seal the enclosure from an external environment.
Yoda disclose a sensor unit (100), comprising a circuit (4/5); an inertial measurement unit/sensor (3) coupled to the circuit (Figure 3); a connector (51a,52, 31,55a) in electrical communication with the inertial measurement unit/inertial sensor (3) and coupled to the circuit (4/5) (Figure 3); an enclosure/container (7) disposed around the inertial measurement unit/sensor (3) and the circuit(4/5) (Figure 4B), wherein the enclosure/container (7) defines an opening (33) (Figures 4B and 9A/B), wherein the connector extends through the opening to permit electrical communication with the inertial measurement unit/sensor (3) (Figure 4B); and a sealing member (66a) disposed within the opening (33) and around the connector to seal the enclosure from an external environment (paragraph [0074] and Figure 9A). Modifying Koyama to provide a sealing member disposed within an opening and around a connector would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention as a means to seal the enclosure from an external environment.
With respect to the limitation of claim 17, the combination (Yoda) appears to disclose that the connector comprise a plurality of pins extending through the sealing member (connector (51a) contains a plurality of pins (54a) that pass through the sealing member (66a) – Figure 9A).
With respect to the limitations of claims 18-19, the combination (Koyama) further discloses an opening located within the package (90) to permit electrical communication with the inertial measurement unit (internal terminals (95) contacting the flexible wiring substrate (40) are connected to external terminals (99) via internal wirings (paragraph [0204]), which appear to pass through openings located in the package base (91) – Figure 9B). Koyama fail to expressly disclose an opening located in a side portion of a top case or an opening in an upper portion of a top case; however, openings in a side or upper portion of the top case versus a bottom plate are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as orientation of structure, top versus bottom, is not patentable, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide openings in a structure to allow wiring of structures to be connected to outside terminals. Moreover, specific locations of the opening within the top case, such as a side or upper portion, are modifications that would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention as orientation of structure is not patentable.
With respect to the limitation of claim 20, utilizing silicone or adhesive as the sealing member would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention as Koyama discloses using silicone or adhesive to seal the package (90).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0236507 (Koyama) in view of US 2012/0154920 (Harrison et al.).
With respect to the limitation of claim 11, Koyama discloses all of the limitation of the base claim, including that the sensor devices can be used in a head-mounted display (paragraph [0284]). Koyama fails to expressly disclose that the head-mountable device comprises a frame; and a display movably coupled to the frame.
Harrison et al. disclose a head-mounted display apparatus (1110) worn be a user, wherein the display assembly (1115) is movably coupled to a frame supporting the electronics package (1125) containing the sensors (Figure 20). Modifying Koyama with a frame and display would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention as a means of putting structure to the head-mountable device.
Conclusion
/DANIEL S LARKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855