DETAILED ACTION
The following action is in response to the election filed for application 18/685,506 on April 23, 2026.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species and group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on April 23, 2026.
Applicant argues that Groups I and II are the same species and should both be examined together, because they share the same inventive concept. It can be shown, however, that although they share some commonly claimed structures, those structures are not an inventive concept (see rejections below). Also, The method of manufacturing (Group II) lacks some of the features of Group I, and Group I is not required to be manufactured in the same manner as Group II. Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but are not persuasive.
Claim Interpretation
In applicant’s arguments with regard to the election/restriction, applicant stated that the claims are directed to a “unitary structure between the side wall and the roof.” Applicant has not claimed this. Applicant has only claimed that the side wall is “directly connected” to the roof. As long as a side wall is in contact with the roof, the two parts are considered “directly connected.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Faulkner (GB2159470A). With regard to claim 1, Faulkner teaches a trailable vehicle 2 comprising a body for defining an interior space of the trailable vehicle, the body having at least one side wall 16 extending between a roof 18 and base 3 of the trailable vehicle; wherein at least part of one side wall 16 is directly connected to the roof 18 and substantially formed of metallic sheet material (claim 1; abstract). With regard to claim 2, Faulkner teaches the vehicle, wherein the body has two or more side walls 16 which are connected to peripheral edges of the roof 18. With regard to claim 3, Faulkner teaches the vehicle, wherein at least one side wall 16 is directly connected to the base 3 (page 1, line 129). With regard to claim 4, Faulkner teaches the vehicle,
wherein adjoining peripheral edges of the side walls 16 and roof 18 are further connected to form a weather-resistant trailable vehicle body. With regard to claim 5, Faulkner teaches the vehicle,
wherein the body includes a reinforcing means 5/6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wylezinski (US 20130207415) has been cited to show as similar trailable vehicle comprising: a roof 30, sides 18, a base 22, all made of metallic sheet material (paragraph 42)) and directly connected to each other.
Littlefield (US 20230322147) has been cited to show as similar trailable vehicle comprising: a roof 112, sides 113/117, a base 140, all made of continuous sheet material 110/120/130/140 and directly connected to each other (paragraph 89).
FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION
Submission of your response by facsimile transmission is encouraged. The central facsimile number is (571) 273-8300. Recognizing the fact that reducing cycle time in the processing and examination of patent applications will effectively increase a patent's term, it is to your benefit to submit responses by facsimile transmission whenever permissible. Such submission will place the response directly in our examining group's hands and will eliminate Post Office processing and delivery time as well as the PTO's mail room processing and delivery time. For a complete list of correspondence not permitted by facsimile transmission, see MPEP 502.01. In general, most responses and/or amendments not requiring a fee, as well as those requiring a fee but charging such fee to a deposit account, can be submitted by facsimile transmission. Responses requiring a fee which applicant is paying by check should not be submitting by facsimile transmission separately from the check.
Responses submitted by facsimile transmission should include a Certificate of Transmission (MPEP 512). The following is an example of the format the certification might take:
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the Patent and Trademark Office (Fax No. (571) 273-8300) on ____________ (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate: _____________________________________
_____________________________________
(Signature)
If your response is submitted by facsimile transmission, you are hereby reminded that the original should be retained as evidence of authenticity (37 CFR 1.4 and MPEP 502.02). Please do not separately mail the original or another copy unless required by the Patent and Trademark Office. Submission of the original response or a follow-up copy of the response after your response has been transmitted by facsimile will only cause further unnecessary delays in the processing of your application; duplicate responses where fees are charged to a deposit account may result in those fees being charged twice.
/ROGER L PANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/ROGER L. PANG/
Examiner
Art Unit 3655B
May 13, 2026