Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/07/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burne et al (US 3,415,316).
As to claim 1, Burne et al. disclose an air-cooled heat exchanger comprising:
A hollow shell (figure 18)
Tube inlet (150) for receiving a medium
Tube outlet (163)
Tube arrangements (154)
Conductive air permeable material (152) in tight engagement with the tube arrangements
Air inlet (159)
Air outlet (161)
The shell is cylindrical.
As to claim 2, the permeable material is metal (col. 3, line 3).
As to claim 6, the permeable material is porous solid material (col. 7, line 5).
As to claim 9, it is inherent that a blower is at the inlet to provide air.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 7, 8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burne et al. (US 3,415,316).
As to claims 3-5 and 7-8, Burne et al. fail to teach that the permeable material is spherical or irregular with a width or heigh to 3mm, wherein it is copper or brass. In addition, Burne et al. fail to teach the diameter of the shell is at least 150mm.
Although, Burne et al. fail to teach the specific material, Burne et al. discloses a permeable material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose a specific material through routine experimentation to discover the effectiveness range of the heat exchange between two mediums. Furthermore, the size of the shell would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art depending on the design expediency.
As to claims 10-12, Burne et al. fail to teach multiple air inlets and outlets with multiple blowers. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include multiple inlets and outlets with corresponding blowers, since it is merely a duplication of parts to accommodate the required size of the shell.
Inquiry
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763