DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 11, 14, 17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (9,350,091).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 14, Huang et al. disclose a contact element (200, Fig. 3) for a plug connector part (100, Fig. 1) for contacting a corresponding contact element (not shown) of a mating plug connector part (not shown), the contact element comprising:
a first end region (220, Fig. 4) configured to connect to a printed circuit board (not shown);
a second end region (211, Fig. 4) opposite from the first end region and having at least one contact lug (240, fig. 4); and
a transition region (210, Fig. 4) located between the first end region and the second end region,
wherein at least some portions of the transition region have a geometry for impedance adjustment,
wherein the geometry for impedance adjustment runs uniformly (Figs. 4 and 5) at least in regions in an extension direction of the transition region between the first end region and the second end region, and
wherein the second end region has a further contact lug (230, Fig. 4), the contact lug and the further contact lug extending together with the transition region in a first direction.
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 4 shows the geometry for impedance adjustment comprises a cross-sectional enlargement of the transition region.
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 4 shows the geometry for impedance adjustment comprises a cross-sectional reduction of the transition region.
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 4 shows the geometry for impedance adjustment is located on at least one side portion of the transition region.
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 4 shows the geometry for impedance adjustment is located on opposite side portions of the transition region.
Regarding claims 17 and 22, Huang et al., Fig. 1 shows the at least one contact element comprises a plurality of contact elements (200).
Claims 1 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harper, Jr. et al. (6,193,537).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Harper, Jr. et al. disclose a contact element (10a, Fig. 1) for a plug connector part (18a, Fig. 2A) for contacting a corresponding contact element (10b, Fir. 2A) of a mating plug connector part (18b, Fig. 2A), the contact element comprising:
a first end region (24, Fig. 1) configured to connect to a printed circuit board (not shown);
a second end region (a portion between 12 and 30ap, Fig. 1) opposite from the first end region and having at least one contact lug (16, fig. 1); and
a transition region (12, Fig. 1) located between the first end region and the second end region,
wherein at least some portions of the transition region have a geometry for impedance adjustment,
wherein the geometry for impedance adjustment runs uniformly (Fig. 2A) at least in regions in an extension direction of the transition region between the first end region and the second end region, and
wherein the second end region has a further contact lug (14, Fig. 1), the contact lug and the further contact lug (at 32) extending together with the transition region in a first direction.
Regarding claim 10, Fig. 2A shows the contact lug and the further contact lug (at 32) are offset relative to one another along a second direction extending transverse to the first direction, and also along a third direction extending transverse to the first direction and transverse to the second direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8, 12, 15-16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (9,350,091).
Regarding claim 4, Huang et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for a width-to-length ratio (B/L) of the transition region is in a range from 1:1.5 to 1:2.5. It would have been obvious to modify Huang et al. to have a width-to-length ratio (B/L) of the transition region is in a range from 1:1.5 to 1:2.5, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 for better connection.
Regarding claim 8, Huang et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for a width of the transition region having the geometry for impedance adjustment is in a range from 0.6 mm to 1 mm. It would have been obvious to modify Huang et al. to have a width of the transition region having the geometry for impedance adjustment is in a range from 0.6 mm to 1 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 for better connection.
Regarding claim 12, Huang et al., Fig. 1 shows the at least one contact element comprises at least two contact elements (200), an air gap being located between adjacent contact elements of the at least two contact elements.
Huang et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for a width ratio (A/B) of a width of the air gap to a width of the transition regions of the contact elements having the geometry for impedance adjustment is in a range from 1:0.9 to 1:1.1. It would have been obvious to modify Huang et al. to have for a width ratio (A/B) of a width of the air gap to a width of the transition regions of the contact elements having the geometry for impedance adjustment is in a range from 1:0.9 to 1:1.1, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 for better connection.
Regarding claim 15, Huang et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for wherein the width-to- length ratio (B/L) of the transition region is 1:2. It would have been obvious to modify Huang et al. to have wherein the width-to- length ratio (B/L) of the transition region is 1:2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 for better connection.
Regarding claim 16, Huang et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for the width of the transition region having the geometry for impedance adjustment 0.8 mm. It would have been obvious to modify Huang et al. to have the width of the transition region having the geometry for impedance adjustment 0.8 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 for better connection.
Regarding claim 21, Huang et al., Fig. 1 shows the at least two contact elements comprise a plurality of contact elements (200), and the claimed invention as described above except for the width ratio (A/B) is 1:1.
It would have been obvious to modify Huang et al. to have the width ratio (A/B) is 1:1, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 for better connection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-12 and 21-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANH TAM T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 08/02/26
thanh-tam.le@uspto.gov