Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed 4/24/2026 contains a proceedings of a symposium that is 184 pages long. Meaningful consideration of this document is precluded by time constraints. Applicant is requested to point out sections of particular relevance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 21-24, 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jussila et al (US 2021/10395041).
Claims 16, 23, 24, 32: Jussila et al disclose a mobile [0009] device for monitoring an elevator system in a multi-level building, the elevator system including an elevator car movable, under control of an elevator controller of the elevator system, between floors of the building in an elevator shaft of the elevator system, the mobile device comprising: a screen adapted to display graphical information representing the elevator system (onsite mobile device); and wherein the mobile device communicates continuously with the elevator system to receive position data of the elevator car, the mobile device responding to the position data to continuously display on the screen a current position of the elevator car in the elevator shaft with respect to a position of at least one of the floors of the building (claim 6). Claim 24 is the corresponding method.
Claims 21, 30: Jussila et al disclose the connection with at least one of a local network and a public network (claim 9).
Claims 22, 31: Jussila et al teach communicating with the elevator controller to switch the elevator system between a normal operation mode and an inspection mode, and wherein when in the inspection mode of the elevator system movement of the elevator car is controlled manually by the mobile device (this would be necessitated by the manual rescue drive disclosed in the Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jussila et al (US 2021/10395041).
Claims 19, 27: Jussila et al teach the mobile device according to Claim 16 but appear silent to at least one of a start position and a target position of a booked travel of the elevator car being displayed on the screen. However, Jussila et al do disclose a video camera in the elevator car. It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant application to expect the field of view of the camera to include the elevator panel, so that the rescue technician could view the status of the inputs given to the car by the stranded passengers. This would then include the target position of booked travel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 18, 20, 25, 26, 28, 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877