DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on 05/14/2026. Claims 17-19 are canceled.
Claims 16 and 20-31 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 20-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
i. Claim 16 recites the limitation "the mast clock" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is uncertain whether “the mast clock" refers to “a master clock" in line 10.
ii. Claim 16 recites “the mast clock fulfilling a desired Automotive Safety Integrity
Level (ASIL).” The phrase “a desired Automotive Safety Integrity Level (ASIL)” is indefinite because the claim does not specify what automotive safety integrity level is “desired”, who determines the desired level, or the objective criteria by which the master clock is determined to fulfill that level. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 24 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rayner (US 2007/0030810 A1), in view of HOFFLEIT et al. (US 2021/0258136 A1), Michael Potts (“Automotive Time Synchronization – Use Case”, IEEE Vancouver Plenary, March 2019).
As to claims 16 and 30-31, Rayner discloses the invention as claimed, including a method for monitoring a time synchronization distributed via a network switch to be used in a communication network (Fig. 1; ¶0035, “a network operator to find out if paths the customer has been allocated have been altered, in particular where the start and end points of the paths are located sufficiently far away for clocks at the start and end locations of the paths to be synchronized”), the method comprising:
receiving a first synchronized time (i.e., arrival time, transit time) at a first slave port (Fig. 1, 36a) of the network switch (Fig. 1, 18) (¶0012; ¶0015, “a receiving station which is connectable to a plurality of paths, each path having a transit time associated therewith for data transport along that path”; ¶0023, “The reading stage 52 is configured to compare the arrival time of a marker in one stream with the arrival time of the corresponding positioned marker in the other stream”; ¶0030, “the receiving stage 52 of the receiving station 18 is provided with a clock stage 64 for recording the time at which marked packets are received…if S1 is the "time" at which a previously null packet in the first stream is marked or stamped, A2 is the time at which that packet is received at the receiving station 18”; ¶0033, “the difference in arrival time can be used indirectly, in which case a first quantity (A1-S1) and a second quantity (A2-S2) are each evaluated”);
receiving a second synchronized time (i.e., arrival time, transit time) at a second slave port (Fig. 1, 36B) of the network switch (Fig. 1, 18) (¶0012; ¶0015, “a receiving station which is connectable to a plurality of paths, each path having a transit time associated therewith for data transport along that path”; ¶0023, “The reading stage 52 is configured to compare the arrival time of a marker in one stream with the arrival time of the corresponding positioned marker in the other stream”; ¶0030, “the receiving stage 52 of the receiving station 18 is provided with a clock stage 64 for recording the time at which marked packets are received…likewise S2 and A2 are the times at which a corresponding packet is stamped and received respectively in the second stream, then the processing stage calculates respective values for (S1-S2) and (A1-A2)”; ¶0033, “the difference in arrival time can be used indirectly, in which case a first quantity (A1-S1) and a second quantity (A2-S2) are each evaluated”);
comparing the first synchronized time to the second synchronized time (¶0015, “the network station having means for: monitoring the difference between the transit time of a first path and the transit time of a second path such that a change in the difference between the transit times of the two paths can be detected”; ¶0030, “A processing stage 66 is provided for determining the difference in the transit times between marked packets that have travelled along the first path and the transit time of packets that have travelled along the second path. Thus, if S1 is the "time" at which a previously null packet in the first stream is marked or stamped, A2 is the time at which that packet is received at the receiving station 18, and likewise S2 and A2 are the times at which a corresponding packet is stamped and received respectively in the second stream, then the processing stage calculates respective values for (S1-S2) and (A1-A2). The processing stage 66 then calculates the difference between the respective values for (S1-S2) and (A1-A2)”; ¶0033, “configured to determine the difference between the transit times of corresponding markers along the two paths by using the difference in arrival times A1, A2 of the markers. The difference in arrival time can be used directly, in which case the quantity (A1-A2) is evaluated”); and
outputting a control signal for a result of the comparing in which a difference between the first synchronized time and the second synchronized time exceeds a predefined threshold (¶0024, “If the difference in the transit times of corresponding markers exceeds a threshold value, the reading stage is configured to generate an alarm signal to alert the customer that a path may have changed”; ¶0025, “The threshold value beyond which an alarm is generated will preferably be chosen in dependence on the fluctuations (either expected or measured) in the difference in transit times of corresponding markers in the two paths”; ¶0032, “determine the difference D between the transit times along the two paths: i.e. to determine the value D=|(A1-A2)-(S1-S2)|=|(A1-S1)-(A2-S2)| for corresponding markers (vertical bars indicating the modulus of the quantity between the bars); to determine if D exceeds a threshold value; and, if D exceeds the threshold value for a predetermined number of consecutive pairs of corresponding markers, to generate an alarm signal”).
Rayner does not specifically disclose a communication network of an automated vehicle.
However, HOFFLEIT discloses monitoring a time synchronization distributed via a network switch to be used in a communication network of an automated vehicle (Fig. 2; Fig. 5; ¶0035, “a vehicle containing a time-sensitive network”; ¶0036, “a car server which includes a system-on-a-chip (SoC) and a plurality of switches providing Ethernet links, the SoC and switches having generalised Precision Time Protocol (gPTP) controllers and the switches connected to the SoC by peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) links”; ¶0053, “a vehicle 1 is shown which includes a time-sensitive network 2. The time-sensitive network 2 complies with IEEE 802.1AS which specifies a profile for using IEEE 1588-2008 for time synchronization”; ¶0059, “As the car network 2 is time-sensitive, all the Ethernet connections 7 should have the same notion of time. IEEE 802.1AS is employed which uses a transparent clock involving clock forwarding. IEEE 802.1AS provides a mechanism on an Ethernet link to synchronise clocks”; ¶0065, “a switch, includes a first, receiver-side link (labelled “A”) and a second, transmitter-side link (“B”) and a local gPTP unit which includes the gPTP timer. The first port A is also referred to as the “slave port” and the second port B is also referred to as the message port. The slave port A receives messages from a grandmaster GM (not shown), in particular Sync and Follow_Up. The Follow_Up message contains the transmission time (Tm) of a Sync message according to grandmaster's clock”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rayner to include monitoring a time synchronization distributed via a network switch to be used in a communication network of an automated vehicle, as taught by HOFFLEIT because it would improve the automated vehicle reliability and reduce the synchronization error by identifying the communication latency (HOFFLEIT; ¶0065-¶0069).
Rayner does not specifically disclose wherein the first synchronized time and the second synchronized time are received from a master clock of a time grandmaster of the communication network, the mast clock fulfilling a desired Automotive Safety Integrity Level (ASIL).
However, Potts discloses wherein the first synchronized time and the second synchronized time are received from a master clock of a time grandmaster of the communication network, the mast clock fulfilling a desired Automotive Safety Integrity Level (ASIL) (Page 5, Figure below;
Page 6, Automotive Considerations and Requirements: Safety/ISO 26262 (uses Automotive Safety Integrity Level (ASIL) compliance for Hazard Analysis & Risk Assessment) Keep data integrity high (e.g., account drifting) Allow E2E protection (e.g. security of time sync messages) Keep communication network “robust”/avoid unnecessary single points of failure Dual Plausible failure requirements Allow for network validation and verification”; Page 3, “AUTOMOTIVE TIME SYNCHRONIZATION– USE CASE Goals: Provide a common system level time base Provide a standards based time synchronization method for redundancy based on functional safety requirements where required Provide safety critical Electronic Control Units (ECUs) with the same real-time precision view of time (e.g. Ability to support high accuracy and precision/resolution levels Solution is easy to implement and cost effective”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rayner to include wherein the first synchronized time and the second synchronized time are received from a master clock of a time grandmaster of the communication network, the mast clock fulfilling a desired Automotive Safety Integrity Level (ASIL), as taught by Potts because it would ensure high-integrity, fault-tolerant time synchronization in vehicle networks (Potts; Pages 1-8).
As to claim 24, Rayner discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein the comparing is carried out by at least one of the network switch and an external control unit (¶0015, “the network station having means for: monitoring the difference between the transit time of a first path and the transit time of a second path such that a change in the difference between the transit times of the two paths can be detected”; ¶0024, “If the difference in the transit times of corresponding markers exceeds a threshold value, the reading stage is configured to generate an alarm signal to alert the customer that a path may have changed”; ¶0025, “The threshold value beyond which an alarm is generated will preferably be chosen in dependence on the fluctuations (either expected or measured) in the difference in transit times of corresponding markers in the two paths”; ¶0030, “A processing stage 66 is provided for determining the difference in the transit times between marked packets that have travelled along the first path and the transit time of packets that have travelled along the second path. Thus, if S1 is the "time" at which a previously null packet in the first stream is marked or stamped, A2 is the time at which that packet is received at the receiving station 18, and likewise S2 and A2 are the times at which a corresponding packet is stamped and received respectively in the second stream, then the processing stage calculates respective values for (S1-S2) and (A1-A2). The processing stage 66 then calculates the difference between the respective values for (S1-S2) and (A1-A2)”; ¶0032, “determine the difference D between the transit times along the two paths: i.e. to determine the value D=|(A1-A2)-(S1-S2)|=|(A1-S1)-(A2-S2)| for corresponding markers (vertical bars indicating the modulus of the quantity between the bars); to determine if D exceeds a threshold value; and, if D exceeds the threshold value for a predetermined number of consecutive pairs of corresponding markers, to generate an alarm signal”; ¶0033, “configured to determine the difference between the transit times of corresponding markers along the two paths by using the difference in arrival times A1, A2 of the markers. The difference in arrival time can be used directly, in which case the quantity (A1-A2) is evaluated”).
Claims 20-23 and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rayner (US 2007/0030810 A1), HOFFLEIT et al. (US 2021/0258136 A1), Potts (“Automotive Time Synchronization”, IEEE Vancouver Plenary, March 2019), further in view of Lim et al. (IEEE 802.1AS Time Synchronization in a switched Ethernet based in-Car Network, November 11, 2011, page 147-154).
As to claims 20-23, 25-26 and 28-29, Lim discloses wherein at least one of the first synchronized time and the second synchronized time is received from a time grandmaster of the communication network (Fig. 1; Page 148, Section: III. TIME SYNCHRONIZATION BASED ON IEEE 802.1AS, “where the root of the tree is mostly the grandmaster which distributes the synchronization information…Figure 1 shows an example result of a gPTP domain after the BMCA was performed, where all ports are assigned to a role. The synchronization tree is the spanning tree and the synchronization information is only transmitted from the master port to the slave port between two time-aware systems”); wherein at least one of the first synchronized time and the second synchronized time is sent from the network switch to time slave units of the communication network (Fig. 3; Pages 148-149, Section: B. Synchronization, “A time-aware system A sends a synchronization (Sync) messages by time-stamping the information at an egress port at time ts,A. Time-aware system B receives the message and timestamps it at an ingress port at time tr,B. After a Sync message is sent at a master port to time-aware system B, a Follow Up message is transmitted with the following information”); wherein sending the first synchronized time to the time slave units includes: sending a first synchronization message from the first slave port to a first one of the time slave units; sending a first follow-up message from the first slave port to the first one of the time slave units, the first follow-up message including a time of sending the first synchronization message (Fig. 3, Sync, Follow-Up; Pages 148-149, Section: B. Synchronization, “The synchronization information is distributed to the gPTP network by using two successive messages: Sync and Follow Up. These messages are sent periodically from each master ports which are received on the slave ports of the time-aware systems…A time-aware system A sends a synchronization (Sync) messages by time-stamping the information at an egress port at time ts,A. Time-aware system B receives the message and timestamps it at an ingress port at time tr,B. After a Sync message is sent at a master port to time-aware system B, a Follow Up message is transmitted with the following information”); receiving a first delay request from the first one of the time slave units via the first slave port in response to the first follow-up message (Fig. 2, Pdelay_Req; Pages 148-149, Section: B. Synchronization, “The residence time is the forwarding delay which is needed by a time-aware bridge to transmit a time synchronization to the next subsequent one (see Fig. 3). A propagation delay is the time taken by a transmitted message between two directly connected time-aware systems (see Fig. 3). This delay is measured in each port of every fullduplex point-to-point link by the peer delay mechanism which is based on a request-response approach (see Fig. 2)”); and sending a first delay reply including a time of receiving the first delay request from the first slave port to the first one of the time slave units (Fig. 2, Pdelay_Resp; Pages 148-149, Section: B. Synchronization, “This delay is measured in each port of every fullduplex point-to-point link by the peer delay mechanism which is based on a request-response approach (see Fig. 2). In a first step, the peer delay initiator starts the measurement by sending a Pdelay Req message while the responder replies with a Pdelay Resp message which contains the timestamp t2”); wherein the comparing is carried out by a software component of the network switch, and wherein the software component is checked by the external control unit during a start-up of the network switch, and a configuration of the network switch is checked by the external control unit during the start-up of the network switch (Page 150, Section: IV. PERFORMANCE ANALYSIS OF IEEE 802.1AS: A. Requirements and Assumptions, “For a performance analysis of the IEEE 802.1AS protocol in a switched Ethernet based in-car network, there are some requirements and assumptions which are listed as follows”; Section: IV. PERFORMANCE ANALYSIS OF IEEE 802.1AS: B. Metrics, “The following metrics are used to analyze the IEEE 802.1AS standard… It reflects the correct forwarding of a synchronization information and accumulated accuracy of a neighbor rate ratio. • Propagation delay—The propagation delay is measured to identify the influence of a network load to the peer delay mechanism and the convenience of an averaging filter”); wherein checking the at least one of the software component and the configuration is done in a safe context to ensure ASIL integrity (It is noted that onboard diagnostics (OBD) system supports functional safety by monitoring, detecting, and reporting faults in accordance with ASIL requirements; Abstract, “faster onboard diagnostics (OBD)”); wherein the receiving the synchronized first time includes: receiving a third synchronization message via the first slave port; receiving a third follow-up message via the first slave port, the third follow-up message including a time of sending the synchronization message (Fig. 3, Sync, Follow-Up; Pages 148-149, Section: B. Synchronization, “The synchronization information is distributed to the gPTP network by using two successive messages: Sync and Follow Up. These messages are sent periodically from each master ports which are received on the slave ports of the time-aware systems…A time-aware system A sends a synchronization (Sync) messages by time-stamping the information at an egress port at time ts,A. Time-aware system B receives the message and timestamps it at an ingress port at time tr,B. After a Sync message is sent at a master port to time-aware system B, a Follow Up message is transmitted with the following information”); sending a third delay request via the first slave port in response to the third follow-up message (Fig. 2, Pdelay_Req; Pages 148-149, Section: B. Synchronization, “The residence time is the forwarding delay which is needed by a time-aware bridge to transmit a time synchronization to the next subsequent one (see Fig. 3). A propagation delay is the time taken by a transmitted message between two directly connected time-aware systems (see Fig. 3). This delay is measured in each port of every fullduplex point-to-point link by the peer delay mechanism which is based on a request-response approach (see Fig. 2)”); and receiving a delay reply including a time of receiving the third delay request via the first slave port (Fig. 2, Pdelay_Resp; Pages 148-149, Section: B. Synchronization, “This delay is measured in each port of every fullduplex point-to-point link by the peer delay mechanism which is based on a request-response approach (see Fig. 2). In a first step, the peer delay initiator starts the measurement by sending a Pdelay Req message while the responder replies with a Pdelay Resp message which contains the timestamp t2”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Rayner to include limitations stated above, as taught by Lim because it would enhance the system by adding the time grandmaster of the communication network, thereby providing ultra-precise, synchronized time to other devices (Lim, Section: III. TIME SYNCHRONIZATION BASED ON IEEE 802.1AS; Section: IV. PERFORMANCE ANALYSIS OF IEEE 802.1AS).
As to claim 27, Rayner discloses the method according to claim 24, wherein the external control unit is connected to the network switch via a dedicated port of the network switch (¶0020-¶0021, “The receiving station has a switching element 40 for selectively connecting one of the two paths 12a, 12b to an output 42 of the receiving station 18, such that the signal stream from the connected path can be passed to the customer's intended recipient. The signal stream received from the other path is normally redundant when both paths are operational. However, if a fault is detected in the connected path by a detector circuit 44 coupled to the switching element 40, the detector circuit generates a fault signal which causes the switching element 40 to selectively connect the output 42 of the receiving station 18 to the other (previously redundant) path”).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16 and 20-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUNGWON CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454 August 6, 2026