Election/Restrictions
Applicants election of Group I claims 1-13 without traverse is acknowledged. Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Interpretation
Instant claim 1 is directed to a composition comprising carbon black filler and melt-processable polymer. These are the only two components required by instant claim 1. Claim 1 further discloses sample tape preparation disclosing processing conditions, percolation threshold and resistivity, however these are directed to an article which is a tape and not to the composition itself.
The claims disclose sample tape without any limits as to what the content the carbon black is. Instant specification Table 5 shows content of carbon black is 10 wt.%, 15 wt.% and 20 wt.%. Samples are extruded using aggressive conditions and gentle conditions, wherein extruder setting was disclosed in Table 4. The reference sample tape to which the inventive tape is compared does not disclose what the content of the CB black is, and the screw speed is only defined as at least 50% higher as the speed of extrusion of the inventive tape. Consequently, the comparison is not very clear, because at least 50% higher includes values twice as high as the inventive speeds. Additionally, there are two inventive speeds disclosed, consequently one of ordinary skill in the art would now really know what to compare the inventive tape to. Indicating of what the shear rate of the reference sample is as between 50% and 200% is a huge difference. One of ordinary skill in the art, however, would know that the shear rate of the screw of the extruder directly influences morphology of the CB and PP composites affecting the dispersion, phase structure and percolation threshold. See attached article by Liu as evidence.
Consequently, as long as the prior art teaches composition comprising amount of carbon black as per Table 5, the composition of the prior art will be considered as capable of being subject to the extrusion conditions. As such properties of the sample tape in instant claims 1-4 and 6 will be met inherently. It should be noted that while claims do limit the invention, they fail to meet the actual composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ayala (US 2005/0063893).
With respect to claims 1-4 and 6, Ayala discloses carbon black which is incorporated into melt-processable polymer (abstract). Carbon black of Ayala is a high structure carbon black and lower surface area [0012]. Regarding sample tape please see claim interpretation above.
With respect to claims 7 and 8, Tables 4 and 5 of Ayala disclose carbon black (CDX-975U and Acetylene black) having following properties respectively:
NSA of 71.9 m2/g and 73.1 m2/g
Oil absorption 177.9 ml/100g and 189.1 mL/100g
COAN 130.3 ml/100g for both
Table 13 discloses following properties for acetylene black:
OAN 179 ml/100g
COAN 115 mL/100g
NSA 67 m2/g
STSA 59 m2/g
It should be noted that carbon blacks are commercially sold as both powder and granule which does not affect the physical or chemical properties of the carbon black itself. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that. The difference lies in handling of the carbon black.
With respect to claims 9-12, Ayala discloses incorporating carbon black into polymers. The polymers polyethylene which is aa polyolefin and a thermoplastic [0116, 0208], butyl rubber which is thermosetting, acrylates (thermoplastic) [0054], polyurethane, epoxied and silicones.
Ayala further states that aggregation of the carbon black, achieve higher conductivity in aggregate from [0057].
With respect to claim 13, According to Table 6, carbon black is utilized with LDPE in an amount of 30%.
Claims 1-6, 6-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herd (WO 2019/094926).
With respect to claims 1-4 and 6, Herd discloses composition comprising melt-processable polymer and carbon black. Regarding sample tape please see claim interpretation above.
With respect to claims 7 and 8, carbon black of Herd teaches different ranges for the carbon black particles. For STSA in a range of 60-90 m2/g the COAN is in a range of 60-110 mL/g [00149], the divergence ratio is in a range of 202-2.6, which ratio reflect the particle size of primary particle (PSD) and aggregate (ASD). Wherein inventive divergence ratio can be up to 5.3 [00147]. NSA is in a range of 40-150 m2/g [0148]. Preferably NSA is 73-83 m2/g then STSA is 73-83 m2/g, OAN is 126-136 ml/100g and COAN is 96-106 ml/100g [0168]. These properties are connected with one another to provide a very specific carbon black and its ability to form aggregates. At these values HIASD is 2.9-3.9, HIPSD is 1.44-1.55 and divergence ratio of 1.19-2.91. Having said that, Herd does teach broader ranges that fully encompass instantly claimed properties. See also claims 20, 28, , 51, 52, and 60.
With respect to claims 9 and 10, carbon black of Herd is incorporated into a polymer that is thermoset and melt-processable. The polymer can be rubber such as butyl rubber or polyolefin which is made of ethylene propylene and diene [00125].
With respect to claim 13, carbon black is utilized in an amount of 10-50 wt.% (claim 49 of Herd).
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Probst (IS 2014/0339478).
With respect to claims 1-4 and 6, Probst teaches composition comprising carbon black and melt-processable polymer. Regarding sample tape limitations please see claim interpretation above.
With respect to claim 5, primary particle size is 10-150 nm with maximum peak between 50 and 60 nm (see distribution Figure 5).
Aggregated particle size is in a range of 35 to approximately 1100 nm (see particle size distribution Figure 6). The content of each is approximately 1:1 based on the location of maximum peak.
With respect to claims 7 and 8, while it is comparative information, the composition made by Probst still falls under the definition of printed publication and composition made public. Specifically, The composition include commercially available carbon blacks such as Ensaco 250G in a composite with LDPE (Figure 1). As per brochure attached Ensaco 250G has following properties:
Oil Absorption 190% which is the same as 190 ml/100g.
Specific Surface Area 65 m2/g
COAN 104 mL/100g.
While Probst and the attached brochure do not explicitly recite the STSA of the carbon black, following is a fact one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand. NSA measures total accessible area of carbon black including internal micropores, while STSA measures only externa, surface area available to polymer chains. NSA is determined by BET theory from multipoint nitrogen adsorption while STSA is calculated from the t-cure of the nitrogen adsorption area. As such STSA will be either equal to or lower than NSA. This would mean that the STSA of Ensaco 250G will be the same as NSA or slightly lower. This will be especially true since all other properties OAN, NSA and COAN are within claimed ranges.
With respect to claims 9-12, carbon blacks of Probst are high structure carbon blacks [0101], having electroconductive properties and resistivity [0014]. The CB is utilized in a composite with organic polymers. The polymers include both thermosetting and thermoplastic polymers [0026] such as polyolefins including polyethylene, polypropylene as well as polystyrene, polyamides, acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS) polymers, acetal based polymers, polyesters, polyurethanes, acrylic polymers and the like.
With respect to claim 13, carbon black of Probst is utilized in amount of 10-50 wt. % [0029, 0053].
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 October 22, 2026