DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 2/22/24 and 7/15/25 was/were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) has/have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species VIII (Figs 16-18) in the reply filed on 11/25/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim(s) 20-22 and 24-25 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/25/25.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “sensors” of claims 2 and 13; “the one or more raised features” of claims 2 and 9; “the one or more positioners including one or more projections and sticky materials at the leading edge and the one or more positioners including a plurality of teeth, bulges, humps, jags…at the leading edge” of claim 3; “the tensioners including one or more protuberances and one or more ingresses and the one or more tensioners including one or more textures and one or more sticky materials” as set forth in claim 5, “the one or more tensioners consisting of knobs, buttons prongs, pegs…and the one or more locks selected from a combination of pins, buttons, and levers” of claim 6;
“the kit including one or more hair tools” of claim 17;
“the brushes, combs, picks, applicators, and combinations” of claim 18.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Figures 1 and 3 is/are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84 (m) because the figures contain shading, which fails to aid in understanding the invention and/or reduces legibility. Shading may be used to indicate the surface or shape of spherical, cylindrical, and conical elements of an object; flat parts may also be lightly shaded, but such shading is preferred in the case of parts shown in perspective, not for cross sections. Spaced lines for shading are preferred. These lines must be thin, as few in number as practicable, and they must contrast with the rest of the drawings. As a substitute for shading, heavy lines on the shade side of objects can be used except where they superimpose on each other or obscure reference characters. Light should come from the upper left corner at an angle of 45°. Surface delineations should preferably be shown by proper shading. Solid black shading areas are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color.
Figure 14 is objected to for extraneous matter in the form of text, this should be replaced with reference characters. The headings “Open clip sectional view” and “closed clip sectional view” are also improper and should be removed.
Figures 14 and 18 is/are objected to because they contain cross-sectional views without indicating the plane upon which the sectional views are taken as required by 37 CFR 1.84 (h)(3). These figures are also objected to for lacking hatching as is required of sectional views.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 10 and 12: in “(b)” replace “The” with ---the---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-6, 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 2 and 13: each of these claims recites a series of “sensors”; however, while the disclosure broadly states in [0023] “The one or more sensing means comprises heat sensors, time sensors, or any combination thereof” and in [0185] “The sensing means may in turn communicate with one or more electronic devices”, no explanation is provided nor illustration of how this possible. Applicant does not specify any type of particular sensor, nor how a sensor would be attached to a “flap” that has no electric circuitry, cord, battery, power source, processor, etc. but the sensor is somehow still powered and the sensor somehow then communicating with some other electronic device while the entire flap is disclose to be a piece of plastic and have no power source. One of ordinary skill in the art would not know how to make this type of claimed sensing means in combination with the claimed flap. This is an enablement rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-13, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1: this claim recites “at least one flap component” in line 3 and then in the last lines recites “a further flap component”; this wording is confusing. For examination purposes, the claim will be treated as reciting “at least one first flap component” in line 3 and “a second flap component” in the last lines. Clarification or correction is requested.
Claim 2: replace “at least one flap component” with “at least one first flap component” at every occurrence. Clarification or correction is requested.
Claim 16: the word “optionally” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the limitations after this word are actually required by the claim. Clarification or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-13, and 15-18, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ercole (FR 1358440).
Claim 1: Ercole discloses a device that can be used to apply a composition to the hair if so desire, the device comprising: a first flap component (1); the first flap component comprises an arcuate leading edge (see Fig 3); the first flap allows engagement with a section of a user’s hair (see Figs 5-7) and facilitates the contact of the hair with a composition if a user was putting a composition on their hair to help curl it (a known process) and this first flap would protect the scalp of the user and surrounding hair from a composition placed in contact with a composition because the first flap forms a barrier (see Figs 4-7) between the scalp and the hair being curled (see Figs 5-7). The first flap engages with a second flap component (2).
Claim 2: Ercole further discloses the first flap component including a tensioner (3) that keeps the hair in tension against the first flap component (see Figs 4-7).
Claims 3 and 8-13: claim 2 only requires one of the features and Ercole teaches the tensioner so the rest of these claimed features are options not required and therefore Ercole teaches these limitations.
Claims 5-6: Ercole discloses the tensioner being a protuberance, or a peg (see Fig 3).
Claim 15: the device can comprise plastic [0002].
Claim 16: the device comes with instructions (Figs 5-7).
Claims 17-18: the device can come with multiple curlers ([0002] discusses removing “curlers” plural so it discloses multiple curlers) and these curlers are curl “applicators”.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-13, and 16-18, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cahill (US 1708467).
Claim 1: Cahill discloses a device for applying curls to a user’s hair, which can include a composition if a user so desires, the device comprising: a first flap component (1) with an arcuate leading edge (see Fig 1), the first flap engages with a section of hair of a user (se Figs 5-8); the first flap contacts the hair (see Figs 5-8) and would contact a composition applied thereto while preventing the composition from contacting the scalp by sitting against the scalp; the first flap engages or folds with a second flap component (2, see Figs 1-2).
Claim 2: the first flap component (1) includes a tensioner (16 & 17) for keeping the hair tensioned against the first flap (see Figs 1-3).
Claims 3 and 8-13: claim 2 only requires one of the features and Cahill teaches the tensioner so the rest of these claimed features are options not required and therefore Cahill teaches these limitations.
Claims 5-6: the tensioners include one or more protuberances or fingers (16 & 17).
Claim 16: the device can include instructions (see Figs 5-8).
Claims 17-18: the kit can include a hair tool in the form of a hairpin that can be used as a hair pick (13, Figs 5 & 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JENNIFER GILL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772