DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 objected to because of the following informalities: fastening points are previously described in independent claim 12, but there is no antecedent basis for welding points. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reimer et al. (PGPub 2019/0296315).
Considering Claim 12, Reimer discloses a battery arrangement (battery module 100 [0032, Figure 3]) comprising:
a plurality of energy storage cells (plurality of electrical storage units 110 in the form of battery cells [0032, Figure 3]),
the energy storage cells having connection poles (cells each have connection pole 111 [0032, Figure 3]), to which cell connectors are fastened, for interconnecting the energy storage cells, whereby fastening points are formed (cell connectors 14 are attached around connection poles [0032, Figure 3] and are secured via welding [0032]), and
the energy storage cells being connected to a contacting system, which is formed by a printed circuit board having a covering layer on both sides (cells connected by connecting device 10 [0032, Figure 3] via connecting element 12 [0032, Figure 3] which may be printed conductor track [0005, Figure 1] with a voltage measurement [0015, 0030] and a connected printed circuit board [0006, Figure 1], insulating layers 11 provided on both sides [0032, Figure 3]),
the printed circuit board being arranged between the connection poles and the cell connectors in such as way that the fastening points, by way of which the cell connectors are indirectly connected to the connection poles by way of the printed circuit board (connecting element 12 arranged between the two layers 14 of the cell connector 14 [0032, Figure 3]), are protected from external influences by the covering layers (insulation layers provide complete insulation to connecting elements 12 and insulation to cell connectors in certain portions to the outside [0031, 0005, 0009] for protection against external environmental influences [0005, 0009]).
Considering Claim 13, Reimer discloses that the covering layers are formed from a plastic which as an insulating layer (insulating layers 11 [0032, Figure 3], formed from plastic [0005, 0008]).
Considering Claim 14, Reimer discloses that the printed circuit board is a flexible circuit board (whole connecting device is of flexible form [0005, 0010]).
Considering Claim 15, Reimer discloses that the connection poles have first contact areas, which indirectly contact second contact areas of the cell connectors by way of the printed circuit board (111 contact areas with cell connectors 14 [Figure 3], indirect contact through connecting element 12 [Figure 3]).
Considering Claim 16, Reimer discloses that in the region of the contact areas, or at least in the region of the fastening points/welding points, the covering layers have been removed or are not present (insulation layer 11 not present at contact area between pole 111 and cell connector 14 [Figure 3]).
Considering Claim 17, Reimer discloses that the contact areas contact the covering layers, at least in some regions (contact areas contact insulation layer 11 [Figure 3]).
Considering Claim 18, Reimer discloses that the covering layers at least adjoin the contact areas (insulation layers 11 adjoin contact areas with connection poles [0032, Figure 3]).
Considering Claim 19, Reimer discloses that the cell connectors are fastened to the connection poles via fusion or pressure welding (thermally joined or laminated and welded [0009]).
Considering Claim 21, Reimer discloses a method for producing a battery arrangement (method for producing a connecting device [0001, 0019, claim 15] for a battery module [0032, Figure 3]), comprising the steps of:
Arranging a plurality of energy storage cells for forming a battery arrangement (plurality of electrical storage units 110 in the form of battery cells are arranged [0032, Figure 3]);
arranging on the battery arrangement a printed circuit board which is designed to form the contacting system of the battery arrangement (connecting elements arranged [claim 15], cells connected by connecting device 10 [0032, Figure 3] via connecting element 12 [0032, Figure 3] which may be printed conductor track [0005, Figure 1] with a voltage measurement [0015, 0030] and a connected printed circuit board [0006, Figure 1]), conductor tracks of the printed circuit board contacting corresponding connection poles of the energy storage cells (printed conductor track [0005, Figure 1], electrically connected to connectors 14 that contact poles 111 [0032, Figure 3]), and the printed circuit board having covering layers on both sides (insulating layers 11 provided on both sides [0032, Figure 3]);
interconnecting the energy storage cells by the fastening of cell connectors to the connection poles (connecting elements arranged [claim 15], cell connectors 14 are attached around connection poles [0032, Figure 3] and are secured via welding process [0032]), the cell connectors being indirectly fastened to the connection poles by way of the printed circuit board (111 contact areas with cell connectors 14 [Figure 3], indirect contact through connecting element 12 [Figure 3]), whereby the fastening points are protected from external influences by way of the covering layers (insulation layers provide complete insulation to connecting elements 12 and insulation to cell connectors in certain portions to the outside [0031, 0005, 0009] for protection against external environmental influences [0005, 0009]).
Considering Claim 22, Reimer discloses a motor vehicle (motor vehicle [Abstract, 0030]), comprising at least one battery arrangement of claim 12 (see claim 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reimer et al. (PGPub 2019/0296315).
Considering Claim 20, Reimer discloses that the connection poles and the cell connectors are formed from an aluminum material (cell connector is aluminum [0032], because aluminum is easy and inexpensive to weld regarding the connection poles to the connectors [0032], picking aluminum for the connection poles for such predicted results and conductivity as demonstrated for the cell connector would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE/Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1725