DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 22 February 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "or the like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 20150198427, hereinafter referred to as “Huang”).
As to Claim 1: Huang teaches a biodegradeable BB pellet comprising polybutylene succinate and zinc powder (Abstract, [0010]).
As to Claim 2: Huang teaches the ball of claim 1 (supra). Huang further teaches an example where the organic material (i.e., the polybutylene succinate) is present in an amount of 32% (Table 1).
As to Claim 4: Huang teaches the ball of claim 1 (supra). Huang further teaches that the ball can comprise zinc powder (i.e., a metal powder) (Abstract, [0010]).
As to Claim 6: Huang teaches the ball of claim 1 (supra). Huang further teaches that the ball con comprise a compatibilizer such as polyethylene glycol, polypropylene glycol, or glycerol [0023].
As to Claim 8: Huang teaches the ball of claim 1 (supra). The instant claim is drawn to an intended use which is considered for structure and not the actual use. As Huang teaches the ball meeting all of the limitations cited in claim 1 it is considered to be capable for use as an airsoft ammunition.
As o Claim 9: Huang teaches the ball of claim 1 (supra). Huang further teaches that the ball can have a diameter of 5.95 mm [0030].
As to Claim 10: Huang teaches the ball of claim 1 (supra). The instant claim is drawn to an intended use which is considered for structure and not the actual use. As Huang teaches the ball meeting all of the limitations cited in claim 1 it is considered to be capable for use in bearing applications.
As to Claim 11: Huang teaches the ball of claim 1 (supra). The instant claim is drawn to an intended use which is considered for structure and not the actual use. As Huang teaches the ball meeting all of the limitations cited in claim 1 it is considered to be capable for use in valves.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 20150198427, hereinafter referred to as “Huang”) in view of Valeri et al. (US Patent #7,109,258, hereinafter referred to as “Valeri”).
As to Claim 5: Huang teaches the ball of claim 1 (see above).
Huang does not teach doping the polymer with a permanent electrostatic charge eliminating additive.
However, Valeri teaches that antistatic materials can be incorporated with a base polymer to prevent the polymer becoming charged with static electricity (Col. 1, Lines 5-15). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the charge eliminating additive of Valeri to the ball of Huang because these materials dissipate electric charge almost instantly (Col. 1, Lines 24-26).
As to Claim 7: Huang teaches the ball of claim 1 (see above).
Huang does not teach the ball is coated with a permanent electrostatic charge eliminating additive.
However, Valeri teaches that antistatic materials can be incorporated with a base polymer to prevent the polymer becoming charged with static electricity (Col. 1, Lines 5-15) and that such a material can be applied as a coating (Col. 2, Line 54-60). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the charge eliminating additive of Valeri to the ball of Huang because these materials dissipate electric charge almost instantly (Col. 1, Lines 24-26).
Conclusion
/Andrew J. Oyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767