DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication received June 24th, 2026. Claims 17-20 have been canceled. Claims 1-16 have been entered and are presented for examination.
Priority
Application 18/685,629 is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/111794 08/11/2022 and claims benefit of Chinese Application 202110970661.7 08/23/2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues “Claim 1 is amended to recite, in part, “wherein the operational status of the network node comprises network node partitioning for the reflective panel of the network node, and the signaling is used for indicating a number of sub-blocks of the network node and/or for indicating an operational mode and an energy saving status of each sub-block of the network node”. These features are not taught by Wang.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As the claim is currently written, only “the signaling is used for indicating a number of sub-blocks of the network node” is needed to meet the claimed limitation.
Ly et al. discloses the base station may transmit configuration information for one or more RISs to each of the multiple UEs. In some aspects, the configuration information may identify a specific RIS and a set of time and frequency resources associated with the specific RIS (paragraph 0058 [the set of time and frequency resources associated with the specific RIS are a number of sub-blocks associated with the network node]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2024/00063863) in view of Ly et al. (US 2024/0107423)
Regarding claims 1, 9, Wang et al. discloses a network node control (paragraph 0025, 0061, 0068[The base station 120 can configure an RIS of the APD 180 to direct how the RIS alters signal properties (e.g., direction, phase, amplitude, polarization) of a wireless signal. Alternatively or additionally, the base station 120 enables and/or disables an APD-PS mode at the APD 180 to control when the APD 180 performs power-saving operations; the base station 120 selects an APD-PS configuration that aligns APD-PS sleep-states and APD awake-states with one or more discontinuous reception (DRX) cycles of one or more UEs, synchronization signal block (SSB) trans]) method, applied to a network node provided with an intelligent reflecting surface (IRS) (see Figure 1 [RIS APD 180]), the method comprising: receiving signaling sent by a base station, wherein the signaling is used for indicating an operational status of the network node (see Figure 6 and paragraph 0086 [the base station 120 configures the APD-PS configuration to include transitions to full APD-PS sleep-states and/or partial APD-PS sleep-states. At times, the base station 120 may select an APD-PS configuration that only directs the APD 180 to monitor for a wakeup signal (without applying a surface configuration)]), and adjusting the operational status of the network node according to the signaling (paragraphs 0087, 0090, 0092 [the base station 120 transmits an APD-PS sleep signal to the APD 180 that directs the APD 180 to transition into an APD-PS sleep-state and/or to transition into an enabled APD-PS mode; based on the APD-PS configuration, the APD 180 transitions to an APD-PS sleep-state, such as a full APD-PS sleep-state or a partial APD-PS sleep-state]); or predefining an operational status of the network node between a base station and the network node.
Wang et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the operational status of the network node comprises network node partitioning for the reflective panel of the network node, and the signaling is used for indicating a number of sub-blocks of the network node and/or for indicating an operational mode and an energy saving status of each sub-block of the network node.
However, Ly et al. discloses wherein the operational status of the network node comprises network node partitioning for the reflective panel of the network node (see Figure 4 and paragraph 0058 [panels of RIS; the base station may subdivide a RIS into multiple subsets of elements and use different subsets of elements to communicate with different UEs]), and the signaling is used for indicating a number of sub-blocks of the network node (paragraphs 0058, 0067, 0069, 0075 [the RIS configuration message 420 may be an RRC message. In some such examples, the RRC message may indicate, to the UE 104-A, configuration information for one or more RISs 405 in the network; the configuration information may identify a specific RIS and a set of time and frequency resources associated with the specific RIS; The DCI message may allocate time resources, frequency resources, and RIS resources (e.g., a specific RIS 405 or one or more specific elements of a RIS 405) for a specific communication (e.g., receiving a downlink message, transmitting an uplink message, communicating a sidelink message, or any other communication)]) and/or for indicating an operational mode and an energy saving status of each sub-block of the network node.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize sending an RRC message to the RIS with allocated time and frequency to perform communications between the BS and the UE.
Regarding claims 2, 10, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 9.
However, Ly et al. further discloses the method comprising: the method comprising: receiving higher-layer Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling from the base station and determining a starting position of a block indicating an operational mode of a sub-block in downlink control information (DCI) (paragraphs 0067, 0069 [RRC/ DCI; time resources, frequency resource]); and receiving DCI of the base station, and determining the operational mode of the sub-block (paragraphs 0067, 0069 [RRC/ DCI; time resources, frequency resource]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize sending an RRC message to the RIS with allocated time and frequency to perform communications between the BS and the UE.
Regarding claims 3, 11, Wang et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 9, and further discloses wherein the operational status of the network node comprises energy saving of the network node (paragraph 0090 [ the APD 180 transitions to an APD-PS sleep-state, such as a full APD-PS sleep-state or a partial APD-PS sleep-state]), determined whether the network node is in an energy saving state, or an on/off status of an active unit and/or a transmitting unit and/or a power amplifier unit is determined (paragraphs 0085 0086 [the base station 120 detects a low-utilization trigger event. For instance, the base station 120 detects that a number of transmissions in the network falls below a first threshold value, identifies that the devices connected to the base station currently operate in a DRX mode, detects that a number of connected UEs falls below a second threshold, and/or determines, from historical records, that the wireless network statistically operates in a low-utilization mode during a current time-period; the base station 120 configures the APD-PS configuration to include transitions to full APD-PS sleep-states and/or partial APD-PS sleep-states]).
Wang et al. does not explicitly disclose signaling sent by the base station through higher-layer RRC is received.
However, Ly et al. discloses signaling sent by the base station through higher-layer RRC is received (paragraphs 0058, 0067, 0069, 0075 [the RIS configuration message 420 may be an RRC message. In some such examples, the RRC message may indicate, to the UE 104-A, configuration information for one or more RISs 405 in the network; the configuration information may identify a specific RIS and a set of time and frequency resources associated with the specific RIS; The DCI message may allocate time resources, frequency resources, and RIS resources (e.g., a specific RIS 405 or one or more specific elements of a RIS 405) for a specific communication (e.g., receiving a downlink message, transmitting an uplink message, communicating a sidelink message, or any other communication)]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize sending an RRC message to the RIS with allocated time and frequency to perform communications between the BS and the UE.
Regarding claims 4, 12, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 9.
However, Wang et al. further discloses wherein the operational status of the network node comprises energy saving of the network node (paragraph 0025, 0043 [enabling or disabling power save mode]); and the base station and the network node are predefined such that: in response to a beam or phase or operational mode of the network node being one or a subset of a predefined set of beams or phases or operational modes (paragraph 0043 [APD-PS states (e.g., a partial APD-PS sleep-state, a full APD-PS sleep-state, an APD-PS awake-state)]), it is determined that the network node is in a non-energy-saving state, or it is determined that an active unit and/or a transmitting unit and/or a power amplifier unit of the network node is in an on state (paragraph 0064 [adaptive-phase changing device power-saving operations, an APD may operate in an enabled APD-PS mode that causes the APD to consume less power by transitioning between APD-PS awake-states and APD-PS sleep-states during low-utilization periods without negatively impacting wireless-communication transmissions]); otherwise, it is determined that the network node is in an energy-saving state, or it is determined that the active unit and/or the transmitting unit and/or the power amplifier unit of the network node is in an off state (paragraph 0064 [adaptive-phase changing device power-saving operations, an APD may operate in an enabled APD-PS mode that causes the APD to consume less power by transitioning between APD-PS awake-states and APD-PS sleep-states during low-utilization periods without negatively impacting wireless-communication transmissions]).
Regarding claims 5, 13, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 9.
However, Wang et al. further discloses wherein the operational status of the network node comprises energy saving of the network node; and the base station and the network node are predefined such that: in response to a transmission performed by the network node being a downlink transmission, it is determined that the network node is in an energy saving state, or it is determined that an active unit and/or a transmitting unit and/or a power amplifier unit of the network node is in an off state (paragraphs 0024, 0064 [adaptive-phase changing device power-saving operations, an APD may operate in an enabled APD-PS mode that causes the APD to consume less power by transitioning between APD-PS awake-states and APD-PS sleep-states during low-utilization periods without negatively impacting wireless-communication transmissions; the signal ray 190 corresponds to rays of a wireless signal used to implement the wireless link 131, such as a downlink wireless signal (illustrated in FIG. 1) from the base station 121 to the UE 111 and/or an uplink wireless signal (not illustrated in FIG. 1) from the UE 111 to the base station 121. As part of communicating with the UE 111 through wireless link 131, the base station 121 beams a downlink wireless signal intended for the UE 111. A first ray of the downlink wireless signal (e.g., the signal ray 191) propagates toward the UE 111 in a line-of-sight (LoS) manner, where an obstruction 170 dynamically blocks and/or attenuates the LoS signal ray 191. A second ray of the downlink wireless signal (e.g., the signal ray 192) propagates toward the APD 180. The signal ray 192 strikes the surface of the APD 180 and transforms into signal ray 193 that propagates toward the UE 111.]); and in response to a transmission performed by the network node being an uplink transmission, it is determined that the network node is in a non-energy-saving state, or it is determined that the active unit and/or the transmitting unit and/or the power amplifier unit of the network node is in an on state (paragraphs 0024, 0064 [adaptive-phase changing device power-saving operations, an APD may operate in an enabled APD-PS mode that causes the APD to consume less power by transitioning between APD-PS awake-states and APD-PS sleep-states during low-utilization periods without negatively impacting wireless-communication transmissions; the signal ray 190 corresponds to rays of a wireless signal used to implement the wireless link 131, such as a downlink wireless signal (illustrated in FIG. 1) from the base station 121 to the UE 111 and/or an uplink wireless signal (not illustrated in FIG. 1) from the UE 111 to the base station 121. As part of communicating with the UE 111 through wireless link 131, the base station 121 beams a downlink wireless signal intended for the UE 111. A first ray of the downlink wireless signal (e.g., the signal ray 191) propagates toward the UE 111 in a line-of-sight (LoS) manner, where an obstruction 170 dynamically blocks and/or attenuates the LoS signal ray 191. A second ray of the downlink wireless signal (e.g., the signal ray 192) propagates toward the APD 180. The signal ray 192 strikes the surface of the APD 180 and transforms into signal ray 193 that propagates toward the UE 111.]); or in response to a transmission performed by the network node being a downlink transmission, it is determined that the network node is in a non-energy-saving state, or it is determined that an active unit and/or a transmitting unit and/or a power amplifier unit of the network node is in an on state (paragraphs 0024, 0064 [adaptive-phase changing device power-saving operations, an APD may operate in an enabled APD-PS mode that causes the APD to consume less power by transitioning between APD-PS awake-states and APD-PS sleep-states during low-utilization periods without negatively impacting wireless-communication transmissions; the signal ray 190 corresponds to rays of a wireless signal used to implement the wireless link 131, such as a downlink wireless signal (illustrated in FIG. 1) from the base station 121 to the UE 111 and/or an uplink wireless signal (not illustrated in FIG. 1) from the UE 111 to the base station 121. As part of communicating with the UE 111 through wireless link 131, the base station 121 beams a downlink wireless signal intended for the UE 111. A first ray of the downlink wireless signal (e.g., the signal ray 191) propagates toward the UE 111 in a line-of-sight (LoS) manner, where an obstruction 170 dynamically blocks and/or attenuates the LoS signal ray 191. A second ray of the downlink wireless signal (e.g., the signal ray 192) propagates toward the APD 180. The signal ray 192 strikes the surface of the APD 180 and transforms into signal ray 193 that propagates toward the UE 111.]); and in response to a transmission performed by the network node being an uplink transmission, it is determined that the network node is in an energy saving state, or it is determined that the active unit and/or the transmitting unit and/or the power amplifier unit of the network node is in an off state (paragraphs 0024, 0064 [adaptive-phase changing device power-saving operations, an APD may operate in an enabled APD-PS mode that causes the APD to consume less power by transitioning between APD-PS awake-states and APD-PS sleep-states during low-utilization periods without negatively impacting wireless-communication transmissions; the signal ray 190 corresponds to rays of a wireless signal used to implement the wireless link 131, such as a downlink wireless signal (illustrated in FIG. 1) from the base station 121 to the UE 111 and/or an uplink wireless signal (not illustrated in FIG. 1) from the UE 111 to the base station 121. As part of communicating with the UE 111 through wireless link 131, the base station 121 beams a downlink wireless signal intended for the UE 111. A first ray of the downlink wireless signal (e.g., the signal ray 191) propagates toward the UE 111 in a line-of-sight (LoS) manner, where an obstruction 170 dynamically blocks and/or attenuates the LoS signal ray 191. A second ray of the downlink wireless signal (e.g., the signal ray 192) propagates toward the APD 180. The signal ray 192 strikes the surface of the APD 180 and transforms into signal ray 193 that propagates toward the UE 111.]).
Regarding claims 6, 14, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 9.
However, Wang et al. further discloses wherein the operational status of the network node comprises energy saving of the network node (paragraph 0090 [ the APD 180 transitions to an APD-PS sleep-state, such as a full APD-PS sleep-state or a partial APD-PS sleep-state]); and the base station and the network node are predefined such that: in response to a user access or a data transmission performed by an activated user, it is determined that the network node is in a non-energy-saving state (paragraphs 0024, 0064 [adaptive-phase changing device power-saving operations, an APD may operate in an enabled APD-PS mode that causes the APD to consume less power by transitioning between APD-PS awake-states and APD-PS sleep-states during low-utilization periods without negatively impacting wireless-communication transmissions; the signal ray 190 corresponds to rays of a wireless signal used to implement the wireless link 131, such as a downlink wireless signal (illustrated in FIG. 1) from the base station 121 to the UE 111 and/or an uplink wireless signal (not illustrated in FIG. 1) from the UE 111 to the base station 121. As part of communicating with the UE 111 through wireless link 131, the base station 121 beams a downlink wireless signal intended for the UE 111. A first ray of the downlink wireless signal (e.g., the signal ray 191) propagates toward the UE 111 in a line-of-sight (LoS) manner, where an obstruction 170 dynamically blocks and/or attenuates the LoS signal ray 191. A second ray of the downlink wireless signal (e.g., the signal ray 192) propagates toward the APD 180. The signal ray 192 strikes the surface of the APD 180 and transforms into signal ray 193 that propagates toward the UE 111.]), or it is determined that an active unit and/or a transmitting unit and/or a power amplifier unit of the network node is in an on state; otherwise, it is determined that the network node is in an energy-saving state, or it is determined that the active unit and/or the transmitting unit and/or the power amplifier unit of the network node is in an off state (paragraphs 0024, 0064 [adaptive-phase changing device power-saving operations, an APD may operate in an enabled APD-PS mode that causes the APD to consume less power by transitioning between APD-PS awake-states and APD-PS sleep-states during low-utilization periods without negatively impacting wireless-communication transmissions; the signal ray 190 corresponds to rays of a wireless signal used to implement the wireless link 131, such as a downlink wireless signal (illustrated in FIG. 1) from the base station 121 to the UE 111 and/or an uplink wireless signal (not illustrated in FIG. 1) from the UE 111 to the base station 121. As part of communicating with the UE 111 through wireless link 131, the base station 121 beams a downlink wireless signal intended for the UE 111. A first ray of the downlink wireless signal (e.g., the signal ray 191) propagates toward the UE 111 in a line-of-sight (LoS) manner, where an obstruction 170 dynamically blocks and/or attenuates the LoS signal ray 191. A second ray of the downlink wireless signal (e.g., the signal ray 192) propagates toward the APD 180. The signal ray 192 strikes the surface of the APD 180 and transforms into signal ray 193 that propagates toward the UE 111.]).
Regarding claims 7, 15, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 9.
However, Wang et al. further discloses wherein the base station and the network node are predefined such that: in response to a user access or in response to presence of an activated user and a data transmission performed by the activated user (paragraph 0024 [rays of a wireless signal used to implement the wireless link 131, such as a downlink wireless signal (illustrated in FIG. 1) from the base station 121 to the UE 111 and/or an uplink wireless signal (not illustrated in FIG. 1) from the UE 111]), a beam or phase or operational mode of the network node is one or a subset of a predefined set of beams or phases or operational modes (see Figure 6, 660 [transition to awake state from sleep state]).
Regarding claims 8, 16, the references as combined above disclose all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 9.
However, Wang et al. further discloses wherein the base station and the network node are predefined such that in a slot group 1, a beam or phase or operational mode of the network node is one or a subset of a predefined set A of beams or phases or operational modes (paragraph 0027, 0068 [aligning the short APD-PS cycles to discontinuous reception (DRX) cycles, discontinuous transmission (DTX) cycles, physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission opportunities, and so forth]); and the base station and the network node are predefined such that in a slot group 2, the beam or phase or operational mode of the network node is one or a subset of a predefined set B of beams or phases or operational modes (paragraph 0071, 0086, 0106 [ APD-PS configuration based on any combination of SSB transmissions, one or more DRX cycles; APD-PS configuration based on the respective DRX cycles and/or surface configuration(s) associated with the UEs 111 and/or 112.]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465