CTNF 18/685,638 CTNF 79300 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Koda et al (US 2009/0168825 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Koda et al discloses a light emitting device (Fig. 13), comprising: a first compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 22) having a first surface (Fig. 13, reference 22C lowermost surface) and a second surface (Fig. 13, reference 22A uppermost surface), the first surface (Fig. 13, reference 22C lowermost surface) and the second surface being opposed to each other; an active layer facing (Fig. 13, reference 23) the second surface of the first compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 22A); a second compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 21B) having a third surface (Fig. 13, reference 21B, lowermost surface) and a fourth surface (Fig. 13, reference 21B, uppermost surface), the second compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 3, reference 21) including one or a plurality of light collecting structures (Fig. 13, reference 21A) on the fourth surface (Fig. 13, reference 21B, uppermost surface), the third surface (Fig. 13, reference 21B, lowermost surface) facing the active layer (Fig. 13, reference 23), and the fourth surface being (Fig. 13, reference 21B, upper surface) opposed to the third surface (Fig. 13, reference 21B, lowermost surface) and serving as a light exit surface (Fig. 13, reference 21A); and a current narrowing structure (Fig. 13, reference 22B) provided in the first compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 22) or the second compound semiconductor layer. Regarding claim 2, Koda et al discloses wherein the current narrowing structure (Fig. 13, reference 22B) includes a current injection region and a current narrowing region, the current narrowing region being provided around the current injection region (paragraph 0021). Regarding claim 3, Koda et al discloses wherein the current narrowing structure (Fig. 13, reference 22B) is formed from the first compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 22) to the second compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 21) or from the second compound semiconductor layer to the first compound semiconductor layer. Regarding claim 4, Koda et al discloses wherein the current narrowing structure has a groove (Fig. 13, reference 22B), the groove being in the first surface of the first compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 22), in the fourth surface of the second compound semiconductor layer, or both. Regarding claim 5, Koda et al discloses wherein the current narrowing region in the current narrowing structure (Fig. 13, reference 22B includes an impurity region, the impurity region being provided in the first compound semiconductor layer or the second compound semiconductor layer (paragraph 0022). Regarding claim 6, Koda et al discloses wherein the current narrowing region in the current narrowing structure (Fig. 13, reference 22B) includes an oxide layer (Fig. 13, reference 22D), the oxide layer (Fig. 13, reference 22D) being provided in the first compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 22) or the second compound semiconductor layer. Regarding claim 7, Koda et al discloses comprising a plurality of light emitting regions in the active layer (Fig. 13, reference 23), wherein the one or the plurality of light collecting structures (Fig. 13, reference 21A) is provided in the fourth surface corresponding to each of the plurality of light emitting regions (Fig. 13, reference 23). Regarding claim 8, Koda et al discloses wherein the active layer is electrically or mechanically separated between each of the plurality of light emitting regions adjacent to each other (Fig. 13, reference 23). Regarding claim 9, Koda et al discloses wherein the one or mesa the plurality of light collecting structures includes a convex lens, a nanoantenna, or a Fresnel lens, the convex lens, the nanoantenna, or the Fresnel lens (Fig. 13, reference 21A) being formed in the fourth surface of the second compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 21B, upper surface). Regarding claim 10, Koda et al discloses further comprising: a first electrode (Fig. 13, reference 32) electrically coupled to the first compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 22); and a second electrode (Fig. 13, reference 31) electrically coupled to the second compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 21B), wherein the second electrode (Fig. 13, reference 31) is laminated (paragraph 0063) on the one or the plurality of light collecting structures (Fig. 13, reference 21A). Regarding claim 11, Koda et al discloses wherein a light reflection film (Fig. 13, reference 31) is laminated (paragraph 0063) on the fourth surface (Fig. 13, reference 21B, upper surface) around the one or the plurality of light collecting structures (Fig. 13, reference 21A). Regarding claim 12, Koda et al discloses further comprising: a first electrode (Fig. 13, reference 32) electrically coupled to the first compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 22); and a second electrode electrically (Fig. 13, reference 31) coupled to the second compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 21B), wherein the second electrode (Fig. 13, reference 31) is provided around the one or the plurality of light collecting structures (Fig. 13, reference 21A). Regarding claim 13, Koda et al discloses wherein the first compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 22) has a mesa (paragraphs 0025-0028 and 0085; Fig. 13, reference 125) shape as the current narrowing structure(Fig. 13, reference 22B). Regarding claim 14, Koda et al discloses wherein the first compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 22) includes a concave mirror structure (Fig. 13, reference 22C) on the first surface (Fig. 13, reference 22). Regarding claim 15, Koda et al discloses wherein the first compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 22), the active layer (Fig. 13, reference 23) , and the second compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 21B) have a lateral surface in which a mirror structure is continuously provided (Fig. 13, references 21A and 22C). Regarding claim 16, Koda et al discloses wherein the mirror structure includes a light reflection film, a Fresnel mirror, or a parabolic mirror (Fig. 13, references 21A and 22C). Regarding claim 17, Koda et al discloses wherein the active layer includes a plurality of layers, the plurality of layers emitting light having wavelength bands different from each other (paragraph 0036) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koda et al (US 2009/0168825 A1) in view of Behringer et al (US 2022/0223771 A1) . Regarding claim 18, Koda et al discloses a light emitting device (Fig. 13), comprising: a first compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 22) having a first surface (Fig. 13, reference 22C lowermost surface) and a second surface (Fig. 13, reference 22A uppermost surface), the first surface (Fig. 13, reference 22C lowermost surface) and the second surface being opposed to each other; an active layer facing (Fig. 13, reference 23) the second surface of the first compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 22A); a second compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 21B) having a third surface (Fig. 13, reference 21B, lowermost surface) and a fourth surface (Fig. 13, reference 21B, uppermost surface), the second compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 3, reference 21) including one or a plurality of light collecting structures (Fig. 13, reference 21A) on the fourth surface (Fig. 13, reference 21B, uppermost surface), the third surface (Fig. 13, reference 21B, lowermost surface) facing the active layer (Fig. 13, reference 23), and the fourth surface being (Fig. 13, reference 21B, upper surface) opposed to the third surface (Fig. 13, reference 21B, lowermost surface) and serving as a light exit surface (Fig. 13, reference 21A); and a current narrowing structure (Fig. 13, reference 22B) provided in the first compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 13, reference 22) or the second compound semiconductor layer. However, Koda et al does not disclose an image display apparatus, comprising a plurality of light emitting devices, the plurality of light emitting devices being provided for each of a plurality of pixels arranged in an array. Behringer et al discloses an image display apparatus (Figs. 2A and 2B, reference 30), comprising a plurality of light emitting devices (Fig. 2A, reference 10), the plurality of light emitting devices (Fig. 2A, reference 10)being provided for each of a plurality of pixels (Fig. 2B, reference 11) arranged in an array (paragraph 0134). It would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, for one having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Koda et al with the teachings of Behringer et al for the purpose of providing the light emitting device of Koda et al into the plurality of pixels of Behringer et al in order to produce very high density pixels in an optoelectronic component of the display. Regarding claim 19, Behringer et al discloses wherein the plurality of pixels has a pitch of 20 µ m or lower (paragraph 0143). Regarding claim 20, Behringer et al discloses wherein the plurality of light collecting structures has a pitch equal to or lower than the pitch of the plurality of pixels (paragraph 0149). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MONICA D HARRISON whose telephone number is (571)272-1959. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7-4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua Benitez can be reached at 571-270-1435. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MONICA D HARRISON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815 mdh June 10, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/685,638 Page 2 Art Unit: 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/685,638 Page 3 Art Unit: 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/685,638 Page 4 Art Unit: 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/685,638 Page 5 Art Unit: 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/685,638 Page 6 Art Unit: 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/685,638 Page 7 Art Unit: 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/685,638 Page 8 Art Unit: 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/685,638 Page 9 Art Unit: 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/685,638 Page 10 Art Unit: 2815