DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 02/22/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Amend the following claims to correct minor grammatical errors:
4. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 3, further comprising matching, by the computing system, the text to one of the wire lines in the schematic diagram based, at least in part, on the classification that indicates the text is in alignment with the one or more wire lines and a proximity of the text to the wire lines, wherein the interactive technical file includes [[a]] correlations of the wire line to the text.
6. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, further comprising identifying, by the computing system, a drafting style associated with a manufacturer of the schematic diagram, wherein [[the]] matching the text to the enclosures in the schematic diagram is based, at least in part, on the classifications of the text.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "schematic diagram" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A previous recitation for “schematic diagram” cannot be found in claim 1; however, a “schematic design” is recited in line 2.
The Examiner suggests amending the claim in the following way: “parsing, by a computing system, a schematic diagram…”. Claims 2-7 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) because each claim depends on claim 1.
Independent claims 8 and 14 and their corresponding dependent claims 9-13 and 15-20 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for similar reasons.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karnia (US 2020/0125689 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 14, Karnia discloses a method comprising:
[claim 8: A system comprising: a memory device configured to store machine-readable instructions; and a computing system including one or more processing devices, in response to executing the machine-readable instructions, configured to: (figure 2)]
[claim 14: An apparatus including a memory device storing instructions configured to cause one or more processing devices to perform operations comprising: (figure 2)]
parsing, by a computing system, a schematic design illustrating a circuit design for an electronic system to identify text and enclosures representing circuit devices of the electronic system; (paragraphs 21, 24 and 29; figure 8, 806 and 826: An object may include a representation of a wire, line, data bus, pin connecting a wire to another object, microchip, switch, hardware, etc. Character recognition can include parsing raster vector files, or other files, interpreting grouped geometry into meaningful symbols, recognizing the symbols, and generating structures that map the groupings of symbols to known alpha-numeric characters or other objects. The object recognition engine may parse the SVG image data in the schematics input files and identify objects that are represented in the electronics schematic.)
classifying, by the computing system, the text based on a proximity of the text to the enclosures in the schematic diagram; (paragraph 44: Processor determines that there is an association between text data and line or other objects because the string data is disposed parallel to and proximate to the object geometry.)
matching, by the computing system, the text to the enclosures in the schematic diagram based, at least in part, on the classifications of the text, which correlates the circuit devices represented by the enclosures to the text matched to the enclosures; (paragraph 45: The processor may form an association (a positive match) between the circuit block object 806, the line object 810 connected to the circuit block object 806, and the alpha-numeric string data 828 that reads RESISTOR 750 OHM TO ECM. The positive match may provide an adequate (that is, within a predetermined range of acceptable probability) indicia of association of the objects, where the indicia of association of the objects is indicative that the objects 806, 826, 828, and 810 are part of the same circuit line group.)
generating, by the computing system, an interactive technical file that includes the correlations of the circuit devices to the text matched to the enclosures. (paragraphs 34, 49, 60 and 62: The user electronic device may be any device configured to receive input from an operator such as, for example, the user, and generate an interactive SVG file that provides a user-selectable circuit line group. Figure 3 discloses steps for generating an electronics schematic with single wire tracing. At step 312, the processor may group objects into a circuit line group. A circuit line group may include metadata identifying each of the objects that the processor associates with one another. At step 316, the processor may generate the schematics output file. The schematics output file receives a user selection. The user electronic device presents the first circuit line group on the display of the user electronic device. The first circuit line group may be presented on the display of the user electronic device in a different color than the color of the second circuit line group.)
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 15, Karnia discloses the claimed invention wherein identifying, by the computing system, one of the circuit devices includes a connector having one or more pins; (paragraph 34: pin objects) and correlating, by the computing system, the text matched to the enclosure representing the circuit device to at least one of the pins based on a relative alignment of the pins with the text in the schematic diagram. (paragraph 71: Karnia determines relationships using coordinates using objects sharing the same Y coordinate and proximity thresholds)
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 16, Karnia discloses the claimed invention wherein the text is classified as included within one of the enclosures, outside of the enclosures, or in alignment with one or more wire lines in the schematic diagram. (paragraph 25: associate a objects to other objects based on text labels of the respective objects, based on distance relationships of the geometry of the objects, based on line weights in the SVG file; paragraphs 44-46: circuit block object has text within its boundaries and determine that there is an association between text data and line or other objects because the string data is disposed parallel to and proximate to the object geometry)
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 17, Karnia discloses the claimed invention wherein matching, by the computing system, the text to one of the wire lines in the schematic diagram based, at least in part, on the classification that indicates the text is in alignment with the one or more wire lines and a proximity of the text to the wire lines, (paragraph 25: associate a objects to other objects based on text labels of the respective objects, based on distance relationships of the geometry of the objects, based on line weights in the SVG file; paragraphs 44-46: circuit block object has text within its boundaries and determine that there is an association between text data and line or other objects because the string data is disposed parallel to and proximate to the object geometry) wherein the interactive technical file includes a correlations of the wire line to the text. (paragraphs 34, 44-46: user-selectable circuit line group)
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 18, Karnia discloses the claimed invention wherein identifying, by the computing system, components and their connectivity from a connectivity description of the electronic system associated with the schematic diagram, wherein matching the text to the enclosures in the schematic diagram is based, at least in part, on the classifications of the text and the components and their connectivity from the connectivity description. (paragraph 25: Associate objects to other objects based on text labels of the respective objects, based on distance relationships of the geometry of the objects, based on line weights in the SVG file, and in other ways.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karnia in view of Gootee (US 2014/0229426 A1).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 19, Karnia discloses the claimed invention except for wherein identifying, by the computing system, a drafting style associated with a manufacturer of the schematic diagram, wherein the matching the text to the enclosures in the schematic diagram based, at least in part, on the classifications of the text.
In related art, Gootee discloses identifying, by the computing system, a drafting style associated with a manufacturer of the schematic diagram, wherein the matching the text to the enclosures in the schematic diagram based, at least in part, on the classifications of the text. (paragraphs 120-123: When the user selects at least one file to upload to the system, the user may specify whether the selected files to be uploaded are compliant with any standard format, naming of each sheet, and the like. If the user is unsure of whether the files selected for uploading are compliant with a specific standard, the electronic blueprint system 100 enables the user to specify the region on each page at which the sheet name resides (e.g., lower-right, lower-left, upper-right, upper-left, or varies) and even input an example sheet name format by inputting an example sheet name.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Gootee into the teachings of Karnia for efficient management and viewing of electronic data and document.
Claims 7 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karnia in view of Hunt (US 2003/0098862 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Karnia discloses the claimed invention wherein the schematic diagram is in a computer graphics metafile (CGM) format and the interactive technical file is a scalable vector graphics (SVG) format.
In related art, Hunt discloses the schematic diagram is in a computer graphics metafile (CGM) format and the interactive technical file is a scalable vector graphics (SVG) format. (paragraphs 14-16 and 39-46)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of XXX into the teachings of Karnia to effectively allow any type of drawing, whether raster or vector, to be transformed into an intelligent scalable vector graphics objects.
Conclusion
/BOBBAK SAFAIPOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665