DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the brief descriptions do not match the drawings.
Figure 1 is labeled “pFSgt-CsVMV”, and the brief description describes the construct as comprising pFSgt-CsVMV (page 2, lines 12-14); however, the map in figure 1 depicts a promoter element labeled “MSgt-CsVMV” and no promoter element labeled “pFSgt-CsVMV”. Figure 7A & B depict maps labeled “Binary pFSgt-CsVMV”, and the brief descriptions describe the constructs as comprising pFSgt-CsVMV (page 3, lines 7-14). However, the promoter genetic elements on the maps in the figures are labeled “MSgt-CsVMV”. A sequence for a genetic element named MSgt-CsVMV is not provided in figure 9 or in the sequence listing file. The specification does not describe an MSgt promoter.
Either Figures 1 & 7A and B or their respective brief descriptions should be amended so that the description of the figures match the constructs in the drawings.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The brief descriptions of figure 5 (page 2, lines 28-33) and figure 8 (page 3, lines 16-22) reference elements of the figures shown in red. Because the drawings are only provided in black and white, reference to color elements should be avoided.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, 17-18 & 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 (line 3): “Figworts mosaic” should read --Figwort Mosaic--.
Claim 1 (line 7): “Casava” should read --Cassava--.
Claim 8 (line 2): “OR” should read --or--.
Claim 17 (line 3): abbreviations such as “TALEN” and “CRISPR” should be written out in full at their first use.
Claim 18 (lines 2-3): “Site Directed” should read --Site-Directed--.
Claim 20 (line 2): “plant” should read --plants-- or --a plant--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Indefiniteness
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the Figworts mosaic Virus (FMV, FiMV) ‘sub-genomic’ transcript promoter sequence portion of SEQ ID NO: 5”. One of ordinary skill in the art could reasonably interpret this as requiring a ‘sub-genomic’ transcript promoter sequence which is a portion of SEQ ID NO: 5. Alternatively, one of skill in the art could interpret this as meaning the ‘sub-genomic’ transcript promoter sequence portion requires a sequence with 80% identity to the entirety of SEQ ID NO: 5. Because claim 1 can have multiple distinct interpretations, claim 1 and dependent claims 2-20 are also indefinite.
Claim 1 recites the “Figworts mosaic Virus (FMV, FiMV)” (line 3). The text within the parentheses renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations within the parentheses are part of the claimed invention. As described in the instant specification, two unrelated viruses referred to as "FMV" are known in the art (page 6, lines 15-22). It is unclear if FMV and FiMV in the parentheses are redundant synonyms or additional limitations to the claim. Dependent claims 2-20 are also indefinite.
Claim 10 is indefinite in claiming both a product and a step in a method. Claim 10 (lines 2-3) recites “a nucleic acid sequence that is transcribed to yield a functional RNA”. This reads on a step wherein a nucleic acid sequence is transcribed. When a claim mixes statutory classes, it is unclear when direct infringement occurs. See MPEP 2173.05(p) II. Alternative wording such as “a nucleic acid sequence that when transcribed would yield a functional RNA” would avoid the indefiniteness in claim 10.
Claim 19 recites Eucalyptus subtypes (line 2). The instant specification describes that relevant tree subtypes for the invention include Eucalyptus and pine species and their hybrids and Pinus subtypes. The specification then provides as examples multiple Eucalyptus species, Pinus species, and species from various conifer genera (specification, page 7, line 11-page 8, line 8). It is unclear if a “subtype” encompasses any plant within the genus of Eucalyptus, or if subtype requires another level of distinction, such as a subgenera or species or subspecies.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the step” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Written Description
Claims 1-7 & 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-6 & 9-20 require a nucleic acid sequence comprising a nucleic acid portion having at least 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 5. Claims 2 & 4 further require that the nucleic acid portion has at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 5. Claims 5, 6 & 7 require that the nucleic acid sequence comprising the nucleic acid portion has at least 90%, 95% or 99% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 respectively.
Nucleic acid sequences having 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 5 encompass sequences comprising 42 nucleotide substitutions relative to the 211bp-long SEQ ID NO: 5. Nucleic acid sequences having 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 5 encompass sequences comprising 21 nucleotide substitutions.
SEQ ID NO: 1 comprises SEQ ID NO: 5. Nucleic acid sequences comprising 90% or 95% or 99% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 encompass sequences comprising 72 or 35 or 7 nucleotide substitutions relative to the 726 nucleotide-long SEQ ID NO: 1. This encompasses sequences where up to 42 nucleotide substitutions (in the case of 90% identity) or all 35 or 7 substitutions (in the case of 95% or 99% identity) are located within the nucleic acid portion of SEQ ID NO: 1 that comprises SEQ ID NO: 5. A nucleic acid portion comprising 35 or 7 substitutions relative to SEQ ID NO: 5 would have 83.4% or 96.7% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 5.
The instant specification describes multiple sequences comprising SEQ ID NO: 5, but the instant specification does not describe any sequences having only 80%, 90%, or 96% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 5. The instant specification describes that not all nucleotides are expected to exert a measurable functional effect and that sequences that are substantially similar will probably have the same functional attributes such as a similar expression pattern (page 8, lines 26-32). However, the instant specification does not describe required features or bases of the ‘sub-genomic’ transcript promoter sequence that are critical to the function of the promoter sequence.
The Figwort Mosaic Virus sub-genomic transcript promoter is known in the art. Ranjan et al (2011) Journal of Biotechnology. 152: 58-62 (available online 1/22/2011, hereafter Ranjan) describes the upstream activation sequence (UAS) of the FMV subgenome promoter (Sgt) to be located -270 to -60 and the TATA containing core-domain located -151 to +31 relative to the transcription start site (abstract). Ranjan also describes a chimeric promoter comprising 3x the UAS has 3x stronger activity in root tissue compared to the core subgenome promoter alone (abstract). Patro et al (2013) Journal of Biotechnology. 163(3): 311-317 (available 11/23/2012, hereafter Patro) describes the TATA core promoter of the FMV subgenome promoter to be -69 to +31 of the TSS and an enhancer domain to be between -170 and -70 (Patro page 312, right column, paragraph 2). Patro describes the core promoter region as having only have 2-5% of the promoter activity of full-length promoter (-369 to +31) (Patropage 316, right column, paragraph 3). Patro however describes that a 201 bp segment of the FMV subgenome transcript promoter (-170 to +31) has almost equivalent activity and nucleotides -170 to -70 are highly essential for FMV subgenomic promoter activity (page 316, right column, paragraph 3). Bhattacharyya et al (2002) Virus Research. 90: 47-62 (available online 9/26/2002, hereafter Bhattacharyya) describes the FMV Sgt promoter as having a TATAAA TATA-like element rather than a consensus eukaryotic TATA-box, and a transcriptional enhancer element similar to the as-1 motif (Bhattacharyya page 52, left column, paragraph 2-right column, paragraph 1). The promoter comprises an activator element ~50bp sequence from -120 to -70 from the TSS absolutely required for promoter function that reduces in function as distance from TSS is increased (Bhattacharyya page 56, left column, paragraph 1 & right column, paragraph 2).
Although much is known about the structural features of the FMV Sgt promoter, examples of sequences with nucleotide substitutions relative to SEQ ID NO: 5 are rare in the art. A sequence with a single mismatched nucleotide is taught by Maiti et al US 9322028 (patented 4/26/2016). See alignment below. Nucleic acid portions with multiple substitutions or substitutions over the full sequence are not known in the art.
US-14-270-031-3
Sequence 3, US/14270031
Patent No. 9322028
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: University of Kentucky Research Foundation
APPLICANT: Maiti, Indu Ph.D.
APPLICANT: Dey, Nrisingha Ph.D.
TITLE OF INVENTION: UNIQUE NUCLEIC ACID PROMOTER FORMED FROM TWO OR MORE PROMOTER
TITLE OF INVENTION: SEQUENCES
FILE REFERENCE: 13177N/1902US
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/14/270,031
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2014-05-05
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 61/819,017
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2013-05-03
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 19
SEQ ID NO 3
LENGTH: 593
TYPE: DNA
ORGANISM: Artificial Sequence
FEATURE:
OTHER INFORMATION: combined promoter clone FSgt and PFl
Query Match 98.8%; Score 208.4; Length 593;
Best Local Similarity 99.5%;
Matches 209; Conservative 0; Mismatches 1; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 2 TTACAGTAAGAACTGATAACAAAAATTTTACTTATTTCCTTAGAATTAATCTTAAAGGTG 61
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 TTACAGTAAGAACTGATAACAAAAATTTTACTTATTTCCTTAGAATTAATCTTAAAGGTG 60
Qy 62 ATAGTAAACAAGGACGATTAGTCCGTTGGCAAAATTGGTTCAGCAAGTATCAATTTGATG 121
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||
Db 61 ATAGTAAACAAGGACGATTAGTCCGTTGGCAAAATTGGTTCAGCAGGTATCAATTTGATG 120
Qy 122 TCGAACATCTTGAAGGTGTAAAAAACGTTTTAGCAGATTGCCTCACGAGAGATTTTAATG 181
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 TCGAACATCTTGAAGGTGTAAAAAACGTTTTAGCAGATTGCCTCACGAGAGATTTTAATG 180
Qy 182 CTTAAAAACGTAAGCGCTGACGTATGATTT 211
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 CTTAAAAACGTAAGCGCTGACGTATGATTT 210
Hence, Applicant has not, in fact, described nucleic acids having at least 80% sequence identity to the FMV “sub-genomic’ transcript promoter sequence portion of SEQ ID NO: 5 over the full scope of the claims, and the specification fails to provide an adequate written description of the claimed invention. Therefore, given the lack of written description in the specification with regard to the structural and functional characteristics of the claimed compositions, Applicant does not appear to have been in possession of the claimed genus at the time this application was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deb et al (2019) Journal of Biotechnology. 297: 9-18 (available online 3/14/2019, hereafter Deb, full published version provided) in view of Acharya et al (2014) Planta. 239:381-396 (available 11/1/2013, hereafter Acharya), NCBI Reference Sequence NC_003554.1 (available 8/13/2018), and Kumar et al US 2019/0100764 A1 (published 4/4/2019, hereafter Kumar).
Claims 1-16 & 20 are drawn to a nucleic acid sequence comprising a portion having 80% sequence identity to the FMV sub-genomic transcript promoter and a portion having 80% sequence identity to the CsVMV promoter, plant cells and plants comprising the nucleic acid sequence, and methods comprising introducing the nucleic acid sequence into a plant cell.
Deb teaches a promoter for protein overexpression comprising the Upstream Activation Sequence of Figwort Mosaic Virus (bases -249 to -54 relative to the Transcription Start Site (TSS)) at the 5’ end of the Cassava Vein Mosaic Virus (CsVMV) promoter fragment 8 (-215 to +166 relative to TSS) (abstract, figure 1). Deb describes this promoter as an inter-molecularly shuffled caulimoviral promoter (abstract).
Deb teaches that pararetroviral promoters have constitutive expression and cis-elements that regulate promoter performance under stresses, and that manipulation of pararetroviral promoters using recombinant DNA technologies can allow for synthetic promoters with varying strength, inducibility, and tissue specificity. Deb teaches a motivation for chimerization of natural pararetroviral promoters by hybridization to fine-tune transgene expression in plants for proper functionality and spatiotemporal expression as well as a means to escape homology-based gene silencing in gene stacking (page 9, right column, paragraph 2-page 10, left column, paragraph 1).
Deb teaches plant expression vectors comprising the recombinant promoter (page 10, right column, paragraphs 3-6) transformed into Nicotiana tabacum protoplasts and transiently expressed in whole plants of tobacco and petunia (page 11, left column, paragraphs 2-3). Deb also teaches transgenic tobacco plants and transgenic offspring (page 11, left column, paragraph 4-right column, paragraph 1) stably expressing transgenes as evidenced by GUS activity (figure 3). Segregation analysis was performed on seeds of transgenic plants, comprising germination on plants comprising Kanamycin (page 11, right column, paragraph 1).
Deb teaches that the constructs comprising a portion of the FMV UAS and a portion of the CsVMV promoter had stronger GUS activity than constructs comprising a CaMV35S promoter 24 hours post treatment with salicylic acid (figure 5, page 15, left column, paragraph 1). Deb teaches the hybrid promoter driving expression of the victoriocin Vin gene in tobacco led to decreased growth of Phoma exigua var. exigua on plant material (figure 7).
Deb does not teach a nucleic acid sequence having at least 80% identity to Cassava Vein Mosaic Virus, or a nucleic acid sequence comprising a second portion that comprises a FSgt promoter portion.
Acharya teaches chimeric hybrid promoters comprising domains of the FMV sub-genomic transcript promoter, the Mirabilis Mosaic Virus sub-genomic transcript promoter, and the Peanut Chlorotic Streak Caulimovirus full-length transcript promoter (abstract, page 382, right column, paragraph 2, figure 2).
Acharya teaches that the UAS of the FMV Sgt promoter is located -270 to -60 upstream of the TATA-box containing Core Promoter region (page 382, right column, paragraph 2). Acharya teaches recombinant promoter clones comprising vectors comprising FSgt-Pflt (a combination of 210bp of -270 to -60 of the FMV sub-genomic promoter and 305bp from -353 to -49 of the PCSV full genome promoter) (page 386, left column, paragraph 2). Acharya teaches a forward primer used for cloning the FSgt promoter portion (30: table 1).
The recombinant promoters were sub-cloned into expression vectors for protoplasts (page 386, left column, paragraph 3) and Arabidopsis protoplasts were transformed with the vectors (page 386, right column, paragraph 3-4). Spinach, petunia, and tomato plants were transiently infected with Agrobacterium carrying vectors comprising the recombinant promoters (page 387, left column, paragraph 1). Whole plants were transformed via Agrobacterium mediated transformation to carry each construct; seeds from transformants were germinated on MS plates with Kanamycin, and Kanamycin resistant T1 plants were used for further analysis (page 387, left column, paragraph 2).
Expression of GUS under the Fsgt-PFlt promoter was stronger than expression by CaMV35S or other tested promoters (page 388, right column, paragraph 4-page 389, left column, paragraph 1; figure 5). The FSgt-PFlt promoter also had enhanced activity under exogenous ABA treatment, suggesting the recombinant promoter can be used for developing genetically modified plant under abiotic stresses (page 395, left column, paragraph 2). Acharya defines GUS as β-Glucuronidase (page 381 Abbreviations table).
Acharya teaches that interactions between trans-protein factors with cis-elements found within distal and proximal parts of the promoter determine transcriptional destiny of transgenes in plant cells, impart tissue specificity, and determine strength of the promoter. Caulimovirus promoters are modular and consist of different domains, which enables the opportunity to design recombinant transcriptional machinery with altered clustering of cis elements by swapping segments of promoters (page 382, left column paragraph 1).
Acharya also teaches that point or frame-shift mutations in the promoters by site-directed mutagenesis can be used to develop ‘better’ promoters with enhanced strength, stress-inducibility, and tissue specificity, and is especially advantageous for gene-pyramiding (page 382, left column paragraph 1). Acharya teaches that activity of the recombinant promoter could be less in monocot plants compared to activity in dicots (page 395, left column, paragraph 3).
NCBI Reference Sequence NC_003554.1 teaches the Figwort Mosaic Virus genome, comprising a sequence starting from nucleotide 5063 with 100% identity to the portion of primer pair 30, Fp (table 1 of Acharya) that would hybridize for amplification (see alignment below).
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
41.0 bits(44)
9e-08
22/22(100%)
0/22(0%)
Plus/Plus
Query 16 TTTACAGTAAGAACTGATAACA 37
||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 5063 TTTACAGTAAGAACTGATAACA 5084
The 211 bp region from nucleotide 5063 to nucleotide 5273 of NC_003554.1 comprises a sequence with 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 5. See alignment below.
Score
Expect
Identities
Gaps
Strand
388 bits(210)
3e-113
210/210(100%)
0/210(0%)
Plus/Plus
Query 1 TTTACAGTAAGAACTGATAACAAAAATTTTACTTATTTCCTTAGAATTAATCTTAAAGGT 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 1 TTTACAGTAAGAACTGATAACAAAAATTTTACTTATTTCCTTAGAATTAATCTTAAAGGT 60
Query 61 GATAGTAAACAAGGACGATTAGTCCGTTGGCAAAATTGGTTCAGCAAGTATCAATTTGAT 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 61 GATAGTAAACAAGGACGATTAGTCCGTTGGCAAAATTGGTTCAGCAAGTATCAATTTGAT 120
Query 121 GTCGAACATCTTGAAGGTGTAAAAAACGTTTTAGCAGATTGCCTCACGAGAGATTTTAAT 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 121 GTCGAACATCTTGAAGGTGTAAAAAACGTTTTAGCAGATTGCCTCACGAGAGATTTTAAT 180
Query 181 GCTTAAAAACGTAAGCGCTGACGTATGATTT 211
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 181 GCTTAAAAACGTAAGCGCTGACGTATGATTT 211
Kumar teaches a gene expression cassette comprising a CsVMV promoter with the sequence of Kumar SEQ ID NO: 6 driving expression of a transgene (paragraph [0200]). Kumar SEQ ID NO: 6 comprises a nucleic acid sequence with 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 6. See alignment below. The binary plasmid comprising the gene expression cassette was transformed into Arabidopsis thaliana (paragraph [0202]). Kumar additionally teaches the transformation of Eucalyptus species, although Kumar teaches using a Glycine max egg cell promoter, 5’UTR 3’UTR and/or terminator for transformation of deciduous and evergreen timber species (paragraph [0214]).
BGE54571
ID BGE54571 standard; DNA; 1771 BP.
XX
AC BGE54571;
XX
DT 16-MAY-2019 (first entry)
XX
DE Recombinant CsVMV promoter-DSM-2::Atu ORF1 3' UTR DNA construct, SEQ 6.
XX
KW DSM-2 gene; ORF1 gene; crop improvement; ds; gene expression;
KW transgenic plant; vector.
XX
OS Viruses.
OS Agrobacterium tumefaciens.
OS Synthetic.
OS Unidentified.
XX
CC PN US2019100764-A1.
XX
CC PD 04-APR-2019.
XX
CC PF 24-SEP-2018; 2018US-00139112.
XX
PR 04-OCT-2017; 2017US-0567836P.
XX
CC PA (DOWC ) DOW AGROSCIENCES LLC.
XX
CC PI Kumar S, Bennett S, Bowling AJ, Walker A, Larsen CM, Pence H;
CC PI Weaver S, Hampton R;
XX
DR WPI; 2019-30175D/28.
XX
CC PT New nucleic acid vector useful for producing transgenic plant cell, or
CC PT expressing polynucleotide sequence of interest in plant cell, comprises
CC PT promoter operably linked to synthetic polylinker sequence, and non-
CC PT Glycine max egg cell.
XX
CC PS Example 2; SEQ ID NO 6; 35pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel nucleic acid vector, useful for
CC producing transgenic plant cells or expressing polynucleotide sequence of
CC interest in plant cells. The nucleic acid vector comprises a promoter
CC operably linked to (a) a synthetic polylinker sequence, (b) a non-Glycine
CC max egg cell heterologous coding sequence, or (c) a combination thereof,
CC wherein the promoter comprises a polynucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2
CC (see BGE54567). The invention also provides: the transgenic plant
CC comprising the polynucleotide sequence having promoter sequence; a method
CC for producing the transgenic plant cell by (a) transforming the plant
CC cell with a gene expression cassette comprising a Glycine max egg cell
CC promoter, (b) isolating the transformed plant cell comprising the gene
CC expression cassette, and (c) producing the transgenic plant cell
CC comprising the Glycine max egg cell promoter operably linked to at least
CC one polynucleotide sequence of interest; and a method for expressing the
CC polynucleotide sequence of interest in the plant cell. The present
CC sequence represents a recombinant CsVMV promoter-DSM-2::Atu ORF1 3' UTR
CC expression cassette DNA, which is used in preparing the nucleic acid
CC vector for producing the transgenic plant cells of the invention.
XX
SQ Sequence 1771 BP; 546 A; 343 C; 396 G; 486 T; 0 U; 0 Other;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 443; Length 1771;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 443; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 CCAGAAGGTAATTATCCAAGATGTAGCATCAAGAATCCAATGTTTACGGGAAAAACTATG 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 CCAGAAGGTAATTATCCAAGATGTAGCATCAAGAATCCAATGTTTACGGGAAAAACTATG 60
Qy 61 GAAGTATTATGTAAGCTCAGCAAGAAGCAGATCAATATGCGGCACATATGCAACCTATGT 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GAAGTATTATGTAAGCTCAGCAAGAAGCAGATCAATATGCGGCACATATGCAACCTATGT 120
Qy 121 TCAAAAATGAAGAATGTACAGATACAAGATCCTATACTGCCAGAATACGAAGAAGAATAC 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 TCAAAAATGAAGAATGTACAGATACAAGATCCTATACTGCCAGAATACGAAGAAGAATAC 180
Qy 181 GTAGAAATTGAAAAAGAAGAACCAGGCGAAGAAAAGAATCTTGAAGACGTAAGCACTGAC 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 GTAGAAATTGAAAAAGAAGAACCAGGCGAAGAAAAGAATCTTGAAGACGTAAGCACTGAC 240
Qy 241 GACAACAATGAAAAGAAGAAGATAAGGTCGGTGATTGTGAAAGAGACATAGAGGACACAT 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 GACAACAATGAAAAGAAGAAGATAAGGTCGGTGATTGTGAAAGAGACATAGAGGACACAT 300
Qy 301 GTAAGGTGGAAAATGTAAGGGCGGAAAGTAACCTTATCACAAAGGAATCTTATCCCCCAC 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 GTAAGGTGGAAAATGTAAGGGCGGAAAGTAACCTTATCACAAAGGAATCTTATCCCCCAC 360
Qy 361 TACTTATCCTTTTATATTTTTCCGTGTCATTTTTGCCCTTGAGTTTTCCTATATAAGGAA 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 TACTTATCCTTTTATATTTTTCCGTGTCATTTTTGCCCTTGAGTTTTCCTATATAAGGAA 420
Qy 421 CCAAGTTCGGCATTTGTGAAAAC 443
|||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 CCAAGTTCGGCATTTGTGAAAAC 443
Before the filing of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify the expression construct of Deb to use a CsVMV promoter portion identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 6. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to use a CsVMV promoter portion identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 6 because Kumar had taught this sequence to be an effective promoter for expression of a transgene in a plant transformation vector. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success, because both the CsVMV promoter portion taught by Deb and that taught by Kumar had been used for expression of a transgene in a plant.
Before the filing of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to substitute a promoter portion of the Sgt promoter of FMV lacking a TATA-box for a portion of the full-length transcript promoter of FMV. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the Sgt promoter of FMV lacking a TATA-box, as taught by Acharya, because Acharya teaches that the Sgt promoter of FMV had enhanced activity under exogenous ABA treatment and strong expression compared to other tested promoters. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success, because the Sgt promoter portion of FMV linked to another core promoter had higher expression that a CaMV35S promoter, and because Caulimovirus promoters are modular and consist of different domains, which enables the opportunity to design recombinant transcriptional machinery with altered clustering of cis elements by swapping segments of promoters.
It would have been obvious that the FMV Sgt promoter portion taught by Acharya would comprise a sequence with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 5, because although Acharya teaches the FSgt promoter portion to be 210bp long, a nucleotide sequence comprising -270 to -60 of the UAS would encompass 211bp. In light of the reference genome of FMV taught by NC_003554.1, such a region would have 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 5 and lack a TATA-box.
The instant specification defines “isolated DNA molecule” as at least partially separated from other molecules normally associated with it in its native state (page 12, line 32-page 13, line 1). The promoter sequences of Kumar, NC_003554.1, Deb, and Acharya, being removed from protein coding sequences of the virus, read on isolated DNA molecules. Thus, a nucleic acid sequence comprising a first nucleic acid portion of the Figwort mosaic virus sub-genomic transcript promoter having a sequence with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 5 and lacking a TATA-box sequence and a second portion comprising a CsVMV sequence with 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 6 would be obvious over Deb, Acharya, Kumar, and NC_003554.1 (instant claims 1-4).
Expression constructs for expressing a transgene such as GUS driven by the hybrid promoter read on a construct (instant claim 9) wherein the nucleic acid sequence is operably linked to a nucleic acid sequence encoding a protein (instant claim 10).
Transformation of plants using the constructs, as taught by Deb or Acharya, read on introducing the nucleic acid sequence into a plant cell (instant claim 16) and screening offspring of transformants with Kanamycin reads on a method comprising a step of selecting plants having a desired phenotype (instant claim 20). The transformed protoplasts and plants of tobacco, tomato, Arabidopsis, and petunia make obvious claims 11-14. A monocot comprising the nucleic acid sequence (instant claim 15) would also be obvious, because Acharya envisions transformation of monocots.
Finally, the resulting promoter comprising the FSgt of Acharya and the CsVMV promoter of Kumar would comprise a sequence having 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 (instant claims 5-7). The portion of the nucleic acid comprising just a FSgt of Acharya and a CsVMV promoter of Kumar would read on a nucleic acid sequence having the nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 (instant claim 8).
Claims 1-16 & 20 would have been obvious in view of Deb, Acharya, Kumar, and NC_003554.1.
Claim(s) 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deb, Acharya, Kumar, and NC_003554.1 as applied to claims 1-16 & 20 above, and further in view of Krieger et al US 2019/0211344 A1 (published 7/11/2019, hereafter Krieger).
Claims 17-18 are drawn to a method wherein the nucleic acid sequence of claim 1 is introduced into a plant cell genome by CRISPR Site Directed Integration.
The teachings of Deb, Acharya, Kumar, and NC_003554.1 are presented above. They do not teach introducing the nucleic acid of claim 1 into a plant cell by gene editing methods.
Krieger teaches a method of plant transformation comprising site-directed integration of template. Krieger teaches a motivation to use site-directed integration of transgenes, because random integration of transgenes, typical of Agrobacterium-mediated transformation, can have deleterious effects to the plant cell or on expression of the transgene due to position effects (paragraph [0004]). Krieger teaches an example wherein a pair of TALENs was used to target an expression cassette of CP4-EPSPS transgene to a distinct locus in the corn genome for integration (paragraphs [0195-0198]). Krieger teaches that Cas RNA-guided endonucleases are suitable for site-directed integration of transgenes (claim 40) and teaches that Cas nucleases, such as Cas9, are part of the adaptive immune system of bacteria and archaea comprising CRISPR loci to cleave double-stranded DNA at a conserved protospacer-adjacent motif (paragraphs [0138]). Thus, the method suggested by Krieger relying on Cas RNA-guided endonucleases would be plant transformation comprising site-directed integration of template DNA via Cas nucleases involved in CRISPR. Krieger suggests the method could be used on a eucalyptus cell (paragraph [0181]).
Before the effective filing date of the instant application, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use site-directed integration taught by Krieger, including CRISPR Site-Directed Integration, for the insertion of a transgene comprising the promoter made obvious by Deb, Acharya, Kumar, and NC_003554.1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use site-directed integration in order to avoid deleterious effects to expression or the host cell from random integration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success, because methods plant transformation via Agrobacterium, as taught by Krieger, Deb, and Acharya, was routine in the art prior to the filing of the instant application.
Claims 1-18 & 20 are obvious over Deb, Acharya, Kumar, NC_003554.1, and Krieger.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deb, Acharya, Kumar, and NC_003554.1 as applied to claims 1-16 & 20 above, and further in view of Avisar et al US 2018/0016596 A1 (published 1/18/2018, more than one year prior to the priority date of the instant application, hereafter Avisar).
Claim 19 is drawn to a method of expressing a transcribed element in a plant comprising introducing the nucleic acid sequence into a plant that is selected from Eucalyptus subtypes.
The teachings of Deb, Acharya, Kumar, and NC_003554.1 are presented above. They do not teach introducing a sequence comprising the nucleic acid of claim 1 into a Eucalyptus subtype.
Avisar teaches a construct comprising a subgenomic transcript promoter of Figwort mosaic virus upstream of a geraniol reductase gene transformed into Eucalyptus europhyla x Ecalyptus tereticornis hybrids (paragraph [0328-0336]). Avisar teaches that the subgenomic FMV promoter is a constitutive promoter appropriate for the invention (paragraph [0038-0039]). Avisar teaches a motivation to transform Eucalyptus with geraniol reductase in order to produce monoterpenes that are found in minimal or undetectable quantities in most Eucalyptus species; monoterpenes contribute to the aromatic profile of plants and plant a role in pollination, as natural pesticides, and in response to biotic and abiotic stress (paragraphs [0003-0007]).
Before the filing of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to transform a Eucalyptus hybrid, which reads on a Eucalyptus “subtype” with a construct comprising a promoter comprising a FMV subgenomic promoter portion. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to transform Eucalyptus to produce monoterpenes in order to act as natural pesticides or contribute to aromatic profiles. One of skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success, because the hybrid promoters of Deb and Acharya comprising FMV promoter portions had stronger expression than comparative promoters. Transformation of plants using different promoters within constructs was routine in the art prior to the filing of the instant application.
Thus, claims 1-16 & 19-20 are obvious over Deb, Acharya, Kumar, NC_003554.1 and Avisar.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/VICTORIA L DELEO/Examiner, Art Unit 1662
/Anne Kubelik/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663