DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 11 of claim 15 appears to contain a typo using the word “selecte” instead of “select”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-25, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Selvanesan et al. (U.S. Publication US 2023/0081131 A1).
With respect to claims 1 and 29, Selvanesan et al. discloses an apparatus for wireless communications by a first user equipment (UE), comprising: a transmitter; at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory comprising code executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to perform a method for wireless communications (See the abstract, paragraph 341, paragraphs 481-482, and Figure 7 and 13 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to a user equipment, i.e. UE-A, performing a method for wireless communications and comprising an RF communications interface, which is a transmitter, a processor, and a memory coupled to the processor storing computer instructions executed by the processor). Selvanesan et al. also discloses detecting at least one condition is met for triggering transmission of an inter-UE coordination (IUC) message (See paragraphs 120-129 and paragraphs 243-246 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to a UE detecting a trigger, i.e. a periodic interval, a request by a further UE, or an implicit event, for transmitting one or more Assistance Information Message, AIM, which is an inter-UE coordination message). Selvanesan et al. further discloses causing the transmitter to transmit the IUC message, wherein the IUC message includes an indication of a second UE that is an intended recipient of the IUC message and an indication of resources for the second UE to consider for its own resource selection (See paragraphs 120-129, paragraph 131, paragraphs 204-215, and paragraph 279 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the UE sending the AIM to the further UE, wherein the AIM includes identification of group members, including the further UE, that are intended recipients of the AIMs, and also indicating resources to be used by the further UE).
With respect to claim 2, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the indicated resources comprise a set of slots (See paragraphs 172-190 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the AIM indicating resources that may include time slots).
With respect to claim 3, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the indicated resources are in a subset of a set of slots that contain a first set of transmission resources reserved by the first UE in a sidelink control information 1 (SCI1) transmission (See paragraphs 172-190 and paragraphs 432-433 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the indicated resources of the AIM including a subset of time slots reserved by the UE in a SCI1 transmission).
With respect to claim 4, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the one or more conditions comprise at least one of: the first UE transmitting a first transport block (TB) in a semi-persistently scheduled (SPS) flow; and the first UE reserving a second set of transmission resources not included in the resources (See paragraph 135 and paragraphs 261-273 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to detecting the need of the further UE for one or more resources within a resource pool to be used by the further UE for semi-persistent transmissions, and for reference to transmitting the AIM in response to detecting a change in a resource pool configuration, i.e. a change in the reserved resources).
With respect to claim 5, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the indicated resources comprise a starting subchannel, a number of subchannels, and a periodicity (See paragraphs 172-190 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the indicated resources comprising a portion of a BWP, which is a subchannel, with the AIM indicating a starting resource, a number of resources for a resource set, and periodic offsets for subsequent occurrences of the resources).
With respect to claim 6, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the code is further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: cause the transmitter to transmit an indication of a set of non-preferred resources that includes the indicated resources (See paragraphs 140-142 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to indicating resources that are unavailable for usage by the further UE, wherein the unavailable resources are non-preferred resources).
With respect to claim 8, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the indication of the at least one second UE comprises an identifier (ID) of the first UE and location information of the first UE (See paragraphs 199-215 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the AIM including group related information comprising an identification of group members, which includes the UE, and also comprising geographical information, e.g. GPS coordinates, of the UE).
With respect to claim 9, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the indication of the at least one second UE comprises a list of identifiers (IDs) of UEs from which the first UE intends to receive a sidelink transmission (See paragraphs 204-215 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the AIM including a list of group members identifying further UEs, which the UE intends to communicate with).
With respect to claim 10, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the indication of the at least one second UE comprises a list of identifiers (IDs) of UEs from which the first UE intends to receive a sidelink transmission and location information of the first UE (See paragraphs 199-215 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the AIM including a list of group members identifying further UEs, which the UE intends to communicate with, and also including geographical information, e.g. GPS coordinates, of the UE).
With respect to claim 11, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the location information comprises at least one of: a zone identifier (ID) of the first UE; latitude and longitude of the first UE; and coordinates obtained from a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) (See paragraphs 199-215 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the geographic information comprising, e.g. GPS coordinates, and a zone ID of the UE).
With respect to claim 12, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the indication of the resources further indicates a periodicity for the indicated resources (See paragraphs 172-190 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the AIM indicating periodic offsets for subsequent occurrences of the resources).
With respect to claim 14, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the IUC message further indicates that the indicated resources comprise at least one of: preferred transmission resources for the first UE; non-preferred transmission resources which the first UE will not use for reception that are reserved by a third UE, wherein the third UE has a reference signal received power (RSRP), as measured by the first UE, greater than or equal to a first threshold; non-preferred transmission resources that the first UE intends to use for reception of a sidelink transmission from the third UE, wherein the third UE has an RSRP, as measured by the first UE, less than a second threshold; non-preferred transmission resources that the first UE intends to use for reception of a sidelink transmission from the third UE, wherein the third UE has an RSRP, as measured by the first UE, less than the first threshold and greater than or equal to the second threshold; non-preferred transmission resources which the first UE will not use for reception that are reserved by the third UE, wherein the third UE has an RSRP, as measured by the first UE, less than the first threshold and greater than or equal to the second threshold; and non-preferred transmission resources that are reserved by the third UE, wherein the third UE has an RSRP, as measured by the first UE, less than the first threshold and greater than or equal to the second threshold (See paragraphs 140-142 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the AIM indicating a set of resources that are available, which are preferred transmission resources, and a set of resources that are unavailable, which are non-preferred transmission resources; it is noted that claim 14 includes a list of many claimed alternatives, and that in order to properly anticipate the limitations of this claim, only one claimed alternative needs to be shown to be taught by the prior art).
With respect to claims 15 and 30, Selvanesan et al. discloses an apparatus for wireless communications by a first user equipment (UE), comprising :a receiver; at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory comprising code executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to perform a method for wireless communications (See the abstract, paragraph 341, paragraphs 481-482, and Figure 7 and 13 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to a user equipment, i.e. UE-B, performing a method for wireless communications and comprising an RF communications interface, which is a receiver, a processor, and a memory coupled to the processor storing computer instructions executed by the processor). Selvanesan et al. also discloses receiving, via the receiver and from a second UE, an inter-UE coordination (IUC) message indicating resources for an intended recipient to consider for its own resource selection (See paragraphs 120-129 and paragraphs 285-293 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the UE receiving from another UE, i.e. UE-A, one or more Assistance Information Messages, AIMs, which are inter-UE coordination messages, indicating resources allocation related assistance information for a recipient of the AIM to use for its own resource selection). Selvanesan et al. further discloses determining whether the first UE is the intended recipient of the IUC message (See paragraphs 204-215 and paragraph 279 to the UE determining whether it is an intended recipient of the AIM based on group ID and an identification of group members in the AIM including the UE). Selvanesan et al. also discloses selecting, based on the indicated resources, a first set of transmission resources for the first UE to transmit a sidelink transmission (See paragraph 306 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to select resources for a transmission using the AIM).
With respect to claim 16, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the indicated resources comprise a set of slots (See paragraphs 172-190 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the AIM indicating resources that may include time slots).
With respect to claim 17, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the indicated resources are in a subset of a set of slots that contain a second set of transmission resources reserved by the second UE in a sidelink control information 1 (SCI1) transmission (See paragraphs 172-190 and paragraphs 432-433 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the indicated resources of the AIM including a subset of time slots reserved by the UE in a SCI1 transmission).
With respect to claim 18, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the code is further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to determining the first UE is the intended recipient based on a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the second UE, as measured by the first UE, being greater than a threshold (See paragraphs 381-388 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the UE determining whether it is to use the resources indicated by the AIM according to a RSRP threshold based priority and a priority of a received transmission on a given resource).
With respect to claim 19, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the indicated resources comprise a starting subchannel, a number of subchannels, and a periodicity (See paragraphs 172-190 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the indicated resources comprising a portion of a BWP, which is a subchannel, with the AIM indicating a starting resource, a number of resources for a resource set, and periodic offsets for subsequent occurrences of the resources).
With respect to claim 20, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the IUC message further indicates a set of non-preferred resources that includes the indicated resources (See paragraphs 140-142 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to indicating resources that are unavailable for usage by the further UE, wherein the unavailable resources are non-preferred resources).
With respect to claim 21, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the IUC message further indicates an identifier (ID) of the second UE and location information of the second UE (See paragraphs 199-215 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the AIM including group related information comprising an identification of group members, which includes the UE transmitting the AIM, and also comprising geographical information, e.g. GPS coordinates, of the UE transmitting the AIM). Selvanesan et al. also discloses wherein the code is further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to determine the first UE is an intended recipient based on the first UE determining, based on at least the ID, that the second UE intends to transmit to the first UE (See paragraphs 204-215 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to determining that the UE is an intended recipient of the AIM based on inclusion of the UE identification as a group member of the identified group).
With respect to claim 22, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the code is further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to determine that the first UE intends to transmit to the second UE further based on the location information (See paragraphs 195-215 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to determining that the UE intends to transmit to the further UE based on location information comprising a list of zone IDs and a distance between member UEs).
With respect to claim 23, Selvanesan et al. discloses the IUC message further indicates a list of identifiers (IDs) of UEs from which the second UE intends to receive a sidelink transmission (See paragraphs 204-215 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the AIM including a list of group members that are intended to communicate with each other via a sidelink). Selvanesan et al. also discloses the code is further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to determine the first UE is the intended recipient based on an ID of the first UE being included in the list of IDs (See paragraphs 204-215 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to determining that the UE is an intended recipient of the AIM based on inclusion of the UE identification as a group member of the identified group).
With respect to claim 24, Selvanesan et al. discloses the IUC message further indicates a list of identifiers (IDs) of UEs from which the second UE intends to receive a sidelink transmission and location information of the second UE (See paragraphs 204-215 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the AIM including a list of group members that are intended to communicate with each other via a sidelink). Selvanesan et al. also discloses and the code is further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to determine the first UE is an intended recipient based on an ID of the first UE being included in the list of IDs, the location information, and feedback distance of communications by the first UE (See paragraphs 199-215 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to determining that the UE is an intended recipient of the AIM based on inclusion of the UE identification as a group member of the identified group, zone ID information, and distance related information between member UEs).
With respect to claim 25, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the indication of the resources further indicates a periodicity for the indicated resources, and wherein the code is further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to select the first set of transmission resources further based on the periodicity (See paragraphs 172-190 and paragraph 306 for reference to the AIM indicating periodic offsets for subsequent occurrences of the resources, wherein the resources are selected based on the AIM).
With respect to claim 27, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein the code is further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to select the first set of transmission resources by avoiding slots containing the indicated resources, when the first UE determines the first UE is the intended recipient of the message (See paragraphs 140-142 for reference to the AIM indicating resources that are unavailable for usage by the UEs, i.e. UE-B, such that UE-B avoids using the indicated resources).
With respect to claim 28, Selvanesan et al. discloses wherein selecting the first set of transmission resources comprises avoiding overlap with the indicated resources, when the first UE determines the first UE is not the intended recipient of the message (See paragraphs 140-142 and paragraphs 168-171 of Selvanesan et al. for reference to the AIM indicating resources blocks for which collisions are expected, such that the resources blocks where collisions are expected may be avoided).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selvanesan et al. in view of Zhou et al. (U.S. Patent US 12,108,365 B2).
With respect to claim 7, Selvanesan et al. does not specifically disclose the indicated resources comprise the first N resources of a transport block (TB), wherein N is a configurable parameter of the first UE, and wherein N > 0. However, Zhou et al., in the field of communications, discloses indicating preferred resources for sidelink communication between UEs wherein the resources include resources indicates as a first number of resources of the TB based on an offset n (See column 27 lines 10-35 of Zhou et al.). Indicating preferred resources of a transport block has the advantage of allowing transport block resource selected for transmission to be optimized for communications between UEs. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Zhou et al., to combine indicating preferred resources of a transport block, in the manner taught by Zhou et al., within the system and method of Selvanesan et al., with the motivation being to allow transport block resource selected for transmission to be optimized for communications between UEs.
Claims 13 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selvanesan et al. in view of Hosseini et al. (U.S. Publication US 2022/0095171 A1).
With respect to claim 13, Selvanesan et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the indication of the resources further indicates a number of periods for the periodicity of the indicated resources.
With respect to claim 26, Selvanesan et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the indication of the resources further indicates a number of periods for the periodicity of the indicated resources, and wherein the code is further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to select the first set of transmission resources further based on the number and time elapsed since receiving the number.
With further respect to claims 13 and 26, Hosseini et al., in the field of communications, discloses a system and method of inter-UE coordination wherein resources may be defined based on a number of symbol periods and a UE may select resources based on an elapsed time since receiving a resources selection trigger (See paragraph 46, paragraphs 64-66, and paragraphs 121-122 of Hosseini et al.). Defining a number of periods for resources and selecting resources based on an elapsed time has the advantage of ensuring that only valid resources are selected for use by the UEs. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, when presented with the work of Hosseini et al., to combine defining a number of periods for resources and selecting resources based on an elapsed time, as taught by Hosseini et al., within the system and method of Selvanesan et al., with the motivation being to ensure that only valid resources are selected for use by the UEs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hong (U.S. Publication US 2024/0205944 A1) and Jeong et al. (U.S. Publication US 2022/0167345 A1) each teach further relevant systems and methods of resource allocation for sidelink communication.
/JASON E MATTIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461