DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miler t al. (US 2019/0157636 A1) (cited in IDS dated 12/16/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Miler discloses a battery pack (100) (figures 1A-1H and [0040-0070]) in which a plurality of battery cells (110) or a plurality of battery modules (104) are accommodated, comprising:
a pack housing including a side frame (114) in which a gas venting channel (118) is formed and having an inner wall provided with at least one venting inlet communicating with the gas venting channel (118);
a venting plate (180) including at least one plate cutout portion (182) surrounded by a cutting line with one open side and a plate body portion (184) surrounding the at least one plate cutout portion (182), covering the at least one venting inlet, and coupled to the inner wall of the side frame; and
a restriction member (190, 193, 196) covering the at least one plate cutout portion (182) and coupled to the venting plate (180) opposite to the at least one venting inlet,
wherein the at least one plate cutout portion (182) is movable into the at least one venting inlet using one side (186) thereof connected to the plate body portion (184) as a support axis, but movement in a direction opposite to the at least one venting inlet is blocked by the restriction member (190, 193, 196).
Regarding claim 2, Miller further discloses that the gas venting channel (118) is formed in the side frame (114) along a perimeter of the battery cell (110) or battery module (104) (figures 1A-1H and [0040-0070]).
Regarding claim 3, Miller further discloses that wherein the at least one venting inlet is a pair of venting inlets (823 and 834, figure 8) respectively formed in an inner wall of opposite sides of the side frame (see figure 8 and [0164-0165]), and wherein the venting plate and the restriction member are installed over each of the pair of venting inlets (823 and 834).
Regarding claim 4, Miller further discloses that the at least one venting inlet is configured to be formed in the inner wall of the side frame (114) facing a terminal portion of the battery cell (110) or a terminal portion of the battery module (104), and wherein the venting plate (180) and the restriction member (190, 193, 196) are installed over the at least one venting inlet (see figures 1A-1H and [0040-0070]).
Regarding claim 5, Miller further discloses that the at least one venting inlet is formed to have a predetermined length in a longitudinal direction of the side frame (114), and the at least one plate cutout portion (182) is sized to be inserted into the at least one venting inlet (see figures 1A-1H and [0040-0070]).
Regarding claim 6, Miller further discloses that the plate body portion (184) is coupled to the inner wall of the side frame (114) around the at least one venting inlet (figures 1A-1H and [0040-0070]).
Regarding claim 7, Miller further discloses that wherein the restriction member is a blocking bracket ([0053] and fig. 1D) including a venting hole (trap door or hole 182) and a blocking frame (184) configured to block movement of the at least one plate cutout portion.
Regarding claim 8, Miller further discloses that wherein a peripheral portion of the blocking bracket and the plate body portion are fastened together to the inner wall of the side frame (114) around the at least one venting inlet by a fastening member (“The coupling … include … fasteners”, [0075]).
Regarding claim 9, Miller further discloses a venting outlet communicating with the gas venting channel is formed in an outer wall of the side frame (see figure 8 that shows the outlet 825 or 836, [0165]).
Regarding claim 10, Miller further discloses that the venting outlet (825 or 836) is formed in a wall of the side frame disposed perpendicular to a wall of the side frame in which the venting inlet is formed (see figure 8 for configuration).
Regarding claim 14, Miller further discloses that the gas venting channel (118) is formed as a plurality of gas venting channels (118s) at predetermined intervals in a height direction of the side frame, wherein the at least one venting inlet is a plurality of venting inlets corresponding to the plurality of gas venting channels (118), and wherein the venting plate (180) and the restriction member (190, 193, 196) are installed over the plurality of venting inlets (figures 1A-1H and [0040-0070]).
Regarding claim 16, Miller discloses a power storage device (100) comprising the battery pack of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miler as applied to above.
Regarding claim 13, Miller further discloses that at least one plate cutout portion (182) comprises a plate cutout portion (182) formed in the plate body portion (184). Although Miller does not disclose a pair of plate cutout portions, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 15, Miller further discloses that at least one plate cutout portion (182) comprises a plate cutout portion (182) formed in the plate body portion (184). Although Miller does not disclose a plurality of plate cutout portions, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Thus, Miller as modified further discloses that wherein the at least one plate cutout portion (182) is a plurality of plate cutout portions formed at predetermined intervals in the height direction of the side frame to correspond to the plurality of gas venting channels (118), wherein the plurality of plate cutout portions (182) is positioned over the plurality of venting inlets (figure 8 shows plurality of inlets 823 and 834), wherein the plate body portion covers an entire periphery of the plurality of venting inlets and is coupled to the side frame (see fig. 8), and wherein the restriction member covers the plurality of plate cutout portions and is coupled to the venting plate (fig. 8).
Claims 11-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miler as applied to above, and further in view of Yasui et al. (US 2012/0263982 A1) (cited in IDS dated 12/16/2024).
Regarding claim 11, Miller does not disclose a venting cap covering the venting outlet and extending outward.
Yasui discloses a battery pack wherein a venting outlet (exit 44, figure 5, [0062]) is sealed by a venting cap (lid 52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used the venting cap as taught by Yasui in order to seal the venting outlet as needed, as shown Yasui.
Regarding claim 12, Miler as modified by Yasui a gas sealing member (lid 52) installed in the venting outlet or venting cap and deformed above a predetermined pressure or predetermined temperature to open the venting outlet to an outside (see fig. 5 and [0060] of Yasui).
Regarding claim 17, Miller does not disclose that a vehicle comprising the battery pack.
Yasui discloses a battery pack is used in a vehicle ([0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used the battery pack of Miler in a vehicle as taught by Yasui to supply power to the vehicle.
Conclusion
/GOLAM MOWLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721