DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12, lines 3-4, “the first purpose connector” and “the second purpose connector” lack antecedent basis.
Claim 12, last line, “ , “ should be changed to -- . --
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Swade (5971799).
Swade discloses a wiring system, comprising a multipurpose wiring member including at least one multipurpose circuit (14) and a multipurpose connector (12) to which the multipurpose circuit is connected, the wiring system further exclusively including: a first purpose wiring member including a first purpose circuit (54) and a first purpose connector (52) to which the first purpose circuit is connected, the first purpose wiring member electrically connecting the first purpose circuit to a first electrical component (51); and a second purpose wiring member including a second purpose circuit (20) and a second purpose connector (32) to which the second purpose circuit is connected, the second purpose wiring member electrically connecting the second purpose circuit to a second electrical component (5) of a type different from the first electrical component, wherein the multipurpose circuit is a core wire of an electrical wire, the multipurpose connector includes a connector terminal connected to an end portion of the core wire, and when the first purpose connector (52) is connected to the multipurpose connector (12), the multipurpose circuit is connected to the first purpose circuit, and when the second purpose connector (32) is connected to the multipurpose connector(12, Fig. 2), the multipurpose circuit is connected to the second purpose circuit (re-claim 1).
Swade also discloses that the second purpose wiring member is connected to the second electrical component (5) exclusively mounted to the first electrical component (51, Fig. 3) in a vehicle (re-claim 2); when a plurality of exclusive equipment systems in which a first equipment specification including the first electrical component and a second equipment specification including the second electrical component are exclusively adopted are set, the multipurpose circuit includes circuits exclusively connected to the first electrical component and the second electrical component to correspond to at least two of the plurality of exclusive equipment systems, respectively (Fig. 3) (re-claim 3); and the first purpose circuit is a core wire of an electrical wire, the first purpose connector includes a connector terminal connected to an end portion of the core wire as the first purpose circuit, the second purpose circuit is a core wire of an electrical wire, and the second purpose connector includes a connector terminal connected to an end portion of the core wire as the second purpose circuit (re-claim 9).
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9-11, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizushita et al. (WO 2020/121463).
Mizushita et al. discloses a wiring system, comprising a multipurpose wiring member including at least one multipurpose circuit and a multipurpose connector (24) to which the multipurpose circuit is connected, the wiring system further exclusively including: a first purpose wiring member (40A) including a first purpose circuit and a first purpose connector (54) to which the first purpose circuit is connected, the first purpose wiring member electrically connecting the first purpose circuit to a first electrical component (E3); and a second purpose wiring member (40B) including a second purpose circuit and a second purpose connector (54) to which the second purpose circuit is connected, the second purpose wiring member electrically connecting the second purpose circuit to a second electrical component (E4 via 48) of a type different from the first electrical component, wherein the multipurpose circuit is a core wire of an electrical wire, the multipurpose connector includes a connector terminal connected to an end portion of the core wire (not shown), and when the first purpose connector (54 of 40A) is connected to the multipurpose connector (24), the multipurpose circuit is connected to the first purpose circuit (Fig. 4), and when the second purpose connector (54 of 40B) is connected to the multipurpose connector (24), the multipurpose circuit is connected to the second purpose circuit (Fig. 5) (re-claims 1, 10, and 11). Mizushita et al. also discloses that the multipurpose circuit includes a circuit transmitting a different type of electricity between a state where the first purpose connector is connected to the multipurpose connector and a state where the second purpose connector is connected to the multipurpose connector (re-claim 5); the multipurpose circuit includes a circuit transmitting a different type of electricity for any of a power source, a ground, and a signal between a state where the first purpose connector is connected to the multipurpose connector and a state where the second purpose connector is connected to the multipurpose connector (re-claims 6, 14, and 16); the first purpose circuit is a core wire of an electrical wire, the first purpose connector includes a connector terminal connected to an end portion of the core wire as the first purpose circuit, the second purpose circuit is a core wire of an electrical wire, and the second purpose connector includes a connector terminal connected to an end portion of the core wire as the second purpose circuit (not shown) (re-claim 9); the multipurpose wiring member further includes a main wire-side first purpose circuit and a main wire-side second purpose circuit, wherein when the first purpose connector is connected to the multipurpose connector, the first purpose circuit is connected to the multipurpose circuit or the main wire-side first purpose circuit and the main wire-side second purpose circuit is in an open state, and when the second purpose connector is connected to the multipurpose connector, the second purpose circuit is connected to the multipurpose circuit or the main wire-side second purpose circuit and the main wire-side first purpose circuit is in an open state (Fig. 7) (re-claim 10); the multipurpose wiring member includes a common circuit, wherein each of the first purpose wiring member and the second purpose wiring member includes a terminal side common circuit, and wherein when one of the first purpose connector and the second purpose connector is connected to the multipurpose connector, the common circuit is connected to the terminal side common circuit, and the terminal side common circuit is connected to an electrical component which is a connection destination different from a connection destination for the first purpose circuit and the second purpose circuit (Fig. 7) (re-claim 11).
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Carnevali et al. (2021/0344148).
Carnevali et al. discloses a multipurpose wiring member (Fig. 2A), comprising a multipurpose circuit (105) exclusively connected to a first electrical component (150) and a second electrical component (150) of a type different from the first electrical component ([0025], connectors 114a and 114b can be different types), and a multipurpose connector (104) to which the multipurpose circuit is connected, wherein the multipurpose circuit is a core wire of an electrical wire, and the multipurpose connector includes a connector terminal connected to an end portion of the core wire (re-claim 7). Carnevali et al. also discloses that the multipurpose circuit includes a circuit transmitting a different type of electricity for any of a power source, a ground, and a signal between a state where the first purpose connector is connected to the multipurpose connector and a state where the second purpose connector is connected to the multipurpose connector (re-claim 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swade.
Re-claim 4, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to choose a suitable ratio between the total number of the at least one of the multipurpose circuits and the total number of all of the plurality of circuits in the multipurpose wiring member of Swade to meet the specific use of the resulting system since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Re-claim 8, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to adopt an AT specification and an MT specification in the system of Swade to meet the specific use thereof since such specifications are known for being used in vehicle.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carnevali et al.
Carnevali et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed including when a plurality of exclusive equipment systems in which a first equipment specification including the first electrical component (150) and a second equipment specification including the second electrical component (150) are exclusively adopted are set, the multipurpose circuit includes circuits exclusively connected to the first electrical component and the second electrical component to correspond to at least two of the plurality of exclusive equipment systems, respectively. Carnevali et al. does not disclose the plurality of exclusive equipment systems including at least one system in a system in which an AT specification and an MT specification are exclusively adopted. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to adopt an AT specification and an MT specification in the system of Carnevali et al. to meet the specific use thereof since such specifications are known for being used in vehicle.
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizushita et al.
Mizushita et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed including when a plurality of exclusive equipment systems in which a first equipment specification including the first electrical component (E3) and a second equipment specification including the second electrical component (E4) are exclusively adopted are set, the multipurpose circuit includes circuits exclusively connected to the first electrical component and the second electrical component to correspond to at least two of the plurality of exclusive equipment systems, respectively. Mizushita et al. does not disclose the plurality of exclusive equipment systems including at least one system in a system in which an AT specification and an MT specification are exclusively adopted. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to adopt an AT specification and an MT specification in the system of Mizushita et al. to meet the specific use thereof since such specifications are known for being used in vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 7, 12, and 13 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Regarding the Swade reference, applicant argues that “the Examiner-designated first purpose wiring member (i.e., the straight extension wire harness 40) is used to supplement the wire harness 20 to provide additional audio connections (e.g., cellular phone, CD changer, etc.) to the power amplifier 8 and speakers 9. The straight extension wire harness 40, however, cannot be used without the wire harness 20. For at least these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits the wire harness 20 and the straight extension wire harness 40 are not reasonably construable as interchangeable harnesses in the manner of the present disclosure.”
Examiner would disagree. Examiner does not state that the wiring member 40 is used to supplement the wire harness 20. Claimed invention calls for “a multipurpose wiring member including multipurpose circuit…a multipurpose connector…a first purpose wiring member including a first purpose circuit…a first purpose connector…a second purpose wiring member including a second purpose circuit…a second purpose connector…when the first purpose connector is connected to the multipurpose connector, the multipurpose circuit is connected to the first purpose circuit, and when the second purpose connector is connected to the multipurpose connector, the multipurpose circuit is connected to the second purpose circuit.” Likewise, Swade discloses a multipurpose wiring member including multipurpose circuit (14)…a multipurpose connector (12)…a first purpose wiring member including a first purpose circuit (33)…a first purpose connector (32)…a second purpose wiring member including a second purpose circuit (54)…a second purpose connector (52)…when the first purpose connector (32) is connected to the multipurpose connector (12, Fig. 2), the multipurpose circuit (14) is connected to the first purpose circuit (33), and when the second purpose connector (52) is connected to the multipurpose connector (12), the multipurpose circuit (14) is connected to the second purpose circuit (54, Fig. 4).
Applicant argues that in Swade, the wire harness 20 is used regardless of whether the straight extension wire harness 40 is also used. Examiner would disagree because Swade discloses that the multipurpose circuit 14 is connected to first purpose circuit 33 without harness 40, see Fig. 2; and that the multipurpose circuit 14 is connected to second purpose circuit 54, connected to different electrical components via connectors 48-51 without harness 20, see Fig. 4.
Regarding the Mizushita reference, applicant argues that when the first wiring member 40A is selected, as illustrated in FIG. 4, the terminal connector 46 can be connected to the electrical component E3; and when the second wiring member 40B is selected, as illustrated in FIG. 5, the terminal connectors 46 and 48 can be connected to the electrical components E3 and E4. Thus, the first wire-like transmission member 22a in the first wire-like transmission member 22 is connected to the same electrical component E3 even when the first wiring member 40A is connected or the second wiring member 40B is connected. Examiner would disagree because when the second wiring member 40B is connected to the multipurpose wiring member 22 via connector 54, electrical component E4, different from E3, can also be connected to the multipurpose wiring member 22 (Fig. 5).
Applicant argues that Fig. 5 of Mizushita does not indicate that either E3 or E4 are optionally connected. Examiner would disagree. Mizushita, page 5 of the machine translation, discloses “some of the first linear transmission members 22a of the plurality of first linear transmission members 22 are used as transmission paths for the electric components E1, E2, E3. The other part 22b of the plurality of first linear transmission members 22 is used as a transmission path that connects the electric component E4.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841