Detailed Action
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-10 are rejected.
This Action is Non-Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/22/2024 and 10/22/2024, the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stegemann et al.(US Patent Application Pub. No: 20200412573 A1) in view of ONISHI (US Patent Application Pub. No: 20180123646 A1).
As per claim 1,Stegemann teaches a communication network which performs communication using a voltage difference between wires constituting a communication bus [Paragraph 0040, Communication control unit 11 serves to control a communication of respective user stations 10, 20, 30 via bus 40 with another user station of user stations 10, 20, 30 connected to bus 40.], the communication network comprising:
the wires [Fig.1, Bus wires 41, 42.];
a first transceiver [Fig.1, a transceiver device 12 ], connected to the wires [Paragraphs 0040;0042, ….first and second bus wires 41, 42 in transceiver device 12 are also connected to a receiving stage 120, which is also referred to as a receiver.], and including a first resistor across which a portion of a first power supply voltage is distributed [Paragraphs 0049; 0055, …As shown in FIG. 3, bus 40 is terminated with resistor 48 between the two bus wires 41, 42. A voltage V_CAN_Supply for transceiver devices 12, 13 is fed from a terminal 60.]; and
a second transceiver [Fig.1,a transceiver device 13 ], connected to the wires [Paragraphs 0040;0042, ….first and second bus wires 41, 42 in transceiver device 12 are also connected to a receiving stage 120, which is also referred to as a receiver.], and including a second resistor across which a portion of a second power supply voltage is distributed [Paragraphs 0041;0055, Bus wires 41, 42 are terminated at their end with a terminal resistor 48, as indicated only very schematically in FIG. 2. The voltage supply, in particular, the CAN supply, takes place at transceiver device 12 for the first and second bus wires 41, 42 via at least one terminal 123.].
Stegemann does not explicitly wherein the first resistor has a different value from the second resistor.
ONISHI discloses wherein the first resistor has a different value from the second resistor [Paragraphs 0110-0111,…The variable resistor RB is provided between the node N1 and the ground GND (low voltage side power supply, in a broad sense). The resistance value of the variable resistor RB is set by the controller 24.].
It would have been obvious one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling, date of the claimed invention, to include ONISHI’s power transmitting device into Stegemann’s transceiver device for the benefit of control device for use in a power transmitting device of a contactless power transmission system and an electronic apparatus for household appliances, mobile terminals and electric cars, for controlling contactless power transmission i.e. wireless power transmission, using electromagnetic induction (ONISHI, [0002] ) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As per claim 2, Stegemann and ONISHI teach all the limitations of claim 1 above, Stegemann and ONISHI teach, a communication network, wherein the first transceiver includes: a first processing part which generates a voltage difference between the wires to represent a bit on the communication bus [Stegemann, Paragraphs 0041-0042, Bus wires 41, 42 are terminated at their end with a terminal resistor 48, as indicated only very schematically in FIG. 2. The voltage supply, in particular, the CAN supply, takes place at transceiver device 12 for the first and second bus wires 41, 42 via at least one terminal 123. The connection of transceiver device 12 to ground or to CAN_GND is implemented via a terminal 124.]; and
the first resistor, and wherein the first resistor is located between a power supply terminal to which the first power supply voltage is applied and the first processing part, or on a lower side of the first processing part [ONISHI, Paragraph 0019, …, the control device may include a first communication unit that receives communication data from a first power receiving device by detecting a current that flows to the first power transmission driver from a power supply, and a second communication unit that receives communication data from a second power receiving device by detecting a current that flows to the second power transmission driver from the power supply.].
As per claim 3, Stegemann and ONISHI teach all the limitations of claim 1 above, Stegemann and ONISHI teach, a communication network, wherein the second transceiver includes: a second processing part which generates a voltage difference between the wires to represent a bit on the communication bus [Stegemann, Paragraphs 0041-0042, Bus wires 41, 42 are terminated at their end with a terminal resistor 48, as indicated only very schematically in FIG. 2. The voltage supply, in particular, the CAN supply, takes place at transceiver device 12 for the first and second bus wires 41, 42 via at least one terminal 123. The connection of transceiver device 12 to ground or to CAN_GND is implemented via a terminal 124.]; and
the second resistor, and wherein the second resistor is located between a power supply terminal to which the second power supply voltage is applied and the second processing part, or on a lower side of the second processing part [ONISHI, Paragraph 0019, …, the control device may include a first communication unit that receives communication data from a first power receiving device by detecting a current that flows to the first power transmission driver from a power supply, and a second communication unit that receives communication data from a second power receiving device by detecting a current that flows to the second power transmission driver from the power supply.].
As per claims 4-6, claims 4-6 are rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above claims 1-3 above, wherein claims 4-6 are the method claims for the process of claims 1-3.
As per claim 7, claim 7 is rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above claims 1-3 above, wherein claim 7 is the device claim for the process of claims 1-3.
As per claims 8-10, claims 8-10 are rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above claims 1-3 above, wherein claims 8-10 are the device claims for the process of claims 1-3.
Conclusion
RELEVANT ART CITED BY THE EXAMINER
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited to establish the
level of skill in the applicant’s art and those arts considered reasonably pertinent to
applicant’s disclosure. See MPEP 707.05(c).
References Considered Pertinent but not relied upon
Van Dijk (US Patent Application Pub. No: 20230269111 A1) teaches a controller area network, CAN, transceiver comprising a monitoring unit configured to execute either a first process for detecting an error at the CAN signal lines or a different second process for detecting an error at the transceiver or the CAN signal lines depending on a mode of the CAN transceiver detected by the monitoring unit.
VEDULA et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No: 20210351811 A1) teaches a radio frequency (RF) switch includes switch transistors coupled in series. VEDULA discloses the RF switch includes a distributed gate bias network coupled to gate electrodes of the switch transistors. VEDULA suggests the RF switch also includes a distributed body bias network coupled to body electrodes of the switch transistors.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GETENTE A YIMER whose telephone number is (571)270-7106. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 6:30-3:00.Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, IDRISS N ALROBAYE can be reached on 571-270-1023. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair my.uspto.gov/pair/ PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GETENTE A YIMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181