Detailed Action
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 9, line 2, the phrase “out” should be changed to “outer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
TRANSMISSION STRUCTURE WITH LIMITING RAIL AND AIR COMPRESSOR
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “transmission body”, “driving mechanism” and “device” in claims 1-2, 8 and “guide member” in claims 4-6 and “mechanism body” in claims 7-10 and “transmission connection mechanisms” in claim 8 and “driving member” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koh (KR20180120944A).
Claim 1: Koh discloses a transmission structure comprising a rotating shaft (210) and a transmission body (320), wherein an end of the rotating shaft is provided with a limiting rail (311), and another end of the rotating shaft is configured to be connected to a driving mechanism (200), and wherein an first end of the transmission body (320) movably cooperates with the limiting rail so that when the rotating shaft rotates, the transmission body reciprocates along an axis of the rotating shaft under limit of the limiting rail (see Figs. 2-3), and another second end of the transmission body is configured to be connected to a device (430) that requires linear reciprocation to do work.
Claim 2: Koh further discloses that the first end of the transmission body is symmetrically provided with transmission members (Fig. 3, note 322); the limiting rail extends in a circumferential direction of the rotating shaft (Figs. 2-3); the limiting rail extends reciprocally in an axial direction of the rotating shaft (Fig. 3); and the transmission members movably cooperate with the limiting rail (Examiner notes that as the shaft rotates, the transmission member will move up and down with respect to the rail).
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN107061243A).
Claim 1: Li discloses a transmission structure comprising a rotating shaft (Fig. 1, 31) and a transmission body (Fig. 1, 51), wherein an end of the rotating shaft is provided with a limiting rail (Fig. 3, note 41), and another end of the rotating shaft is configured to be connected to a driving mechanism (3), and wherein an first end of the transmission body (51) movably cooperates with the limiting rail so that when the rotating shaft rotates, the transmission body reciprocates along an axis of the rotating shaft under limit of the limiting rail (see Fig. 2), and another second end of the transmission body is configured to be connected to a device (Fig. 2, note piston membrane 21) that requires linear reciprocation to do work.
Claim 2: Li further discloses that the first end of the transmission body is symmetrically provided with transmission members (Fig. 2, note 52/53); the limiting rail extends in a circumferential direction of the rotating shaft (Fig. 3); the limiting rail extends reciprocally in an axial direction of the rotating shaft (Fig. 3); and the transmission members movably cooperate with the limiting rail (Examiner notes that as the shaft rotates, the transmission member will rotate and move up and down with respect to the rail).
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noble (US 1,367,827).
Claim 1: Noble discloses a transmission structure comprising a rotating shaft (m) and a transmission body (note cylindrical portion of f containing balls, k), wherein an end of the rotating shaft is provided with a limiting rail (Fig. 3; j’), and another end of the rotating shaft is configured to be connected to a driving mechanism (p), and wherein an first end of the transmission body movably cooperates with the limiting rail so that when the rotating shaft rotates, the transmission body reciprocates along an axis of the rotating shaft under limit of the limiting rail (Fig. 1), and another second end of the transmission body is configured to be connected to a device (note piston end portion of f) that requires linear reciprocation to do work.
Claim 2: Noble further discloses that the first end of the transmission body is symmetrically provided with transmission members (Fig. 1, note k); the limiting rail extends in a circumferential direction of the rotating shaft (Fig. 3); the limiting rail extends reciprocally in an axial direction of the rotating shaft (Figs. 1 and 3); and the transmission members movably cooperate with the limiting rail (Examiner notes that as the shaft rotates, the transmission members will roll and move with respect to the rail).
Claim 3: Noble further discloses that the transmission body comprises a cavity (note cavity within k) through which the rotating shaft extends and a passage (note passage for k inside f) in which the transmission member is placed, and wherein the passage is in communication with the cavity (Fig. 1), and wherein the transmission member is fit tightly into the passage (Fig. 1), a top of the passage is covered by a fastener (Fig. 1, Examiner viewing “fastener” broadly to encompass elements g and its top plate cover which is situated near o; see Figure below; as viewed from above, the pressure plate element will “cover” the top of the passage) comprising a hoop body and a pressure plate connected to the hoop body (see Figure below), and wherein the hoop body is fit over an outer surface of the transmission body (see Figure below), and the pressure plate covers the top of the passage (see Figure below).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 4, the prior art of record does not further disclose or reasonably teach in combination a guide assembly comprising a first guide member and a second guide member in sliding or rolling fit with the first guide member, wherein the first guide member is arranged parallel to the rotating shaft, the second guide member is arranged on the transmission body, and the hoop body comprises an engaging groove or an engaging hole cooperating with the second guide member.
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746