DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 16, the claim recites “for receiving an underwater device”. It is unclear if this underwater device is part of the “one or more underwater devices” claimed before. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 24, the claim recites “a base portion” but there is a base portion already claimed in claim 16. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 25, the claim recites “the underwater device”. It is unclear if this underwater device is part of the “one or more underwater devices” of claim 16. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 33, the claim recites “an underwater vehicle”. It is unclear if this refers to the “one or more underwater devices” of claim 16. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 33 recites “the underwater device”. It is unclear if this underwater device is part of the “one or more underwater devices” of claim 16. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 34, the claim recites “for receiving an underwater device”. It is unclear if this underwater device is part of the “one or more underwater devices” claimed before. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 recites “hydrophone to manage communication with acoustic signals…” when it should be “the hydrophone to manage communication with the acoustic signals…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 recites “an underwater vehicle”. It is unclear if this refers to the “one or more underwater devices” claimed before. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 recites “the underwater device”. It is unclear if this underwater device is part of the “one or more underwater devices” of claim 16. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 19-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0086961) in view of Armistead (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0306979).
As to Claim 16, Wilson discloses an underwater docking station (10) for communication with one or more underwater devices, the underwater docking station comprising:
A support structure comprising a base portion (12), a top portion (16), and a mechanism (22) interposed between the base portion and the top portion to move the base portion away from the top portion and defining a housing space (14) for receiving an underwater device (26) between the base portion and the top portion and to reduce or remove the housing space defining a compact configuration of the underwater docking station (Paragraph 0057: “The open top of the body 12 can be closed by a lid 16 that is movable between the closed position shown in FIG. 1a and the open position shown in FIG. 1b. The lid 16 serves as a cover or roof that protects an AUV docked in the receptacle 14 against objects that may be dropped from above. When closed, the lid 16 also helps to retain the AUV inside the body 12 when the basket 10 is being relocated underwater, launched from the surface or recovered to the surface”. Paragraph 0058: “When the basket 10 is empty, the lid 16 can be driven from the closed position into the open position in response to the approach of an AUV. The AUV may be fitted with a transponder for this purpose”);
An optical communication module for communication with said one or more underwater devices (26) along an optical communication axis (Paragraph 0068: “FIG. 2a shows the basket 24 closed. FIGS. 2b and 2c show the basket 24 reacting to the proximity of an AUV 26, for example responding to a signal from a transponder carried by the AUV 26, firstly by opening the lid 16 and then by deploying a post 22 into an upright position over the receptacle 14”; Paragraph 0058: “When the basket 10 is empty, the lid 16 can be driven from the closed position into the open position in response to the approach of an AUV. The AUV may be fitted with a transponder for this purpose”);
A mechanical coupling mounting the optical communication module to the support structure (Paragraph 0056: “The body 12 surrounds a receptacle 14 into which an AUV (not shown) that enters the body 12 through the open top can dock for protection, recharging, data download and/or data upload for reprogramming”);
A control unit connected to the optical communication module to manage a communication with said one or more underwater devices (Paragraph 0068: “FIG. 2a shows the basket 24 closed. FIGS. 2b and 2c show the basket 24 reacting to the proximity of an AUV 26, for example responding to a signal from a transponder carried by the AUV 26, firstly by opening the lid 16 and then by deploying a post 22 into an upright position over the receptacle 14”; Paragraph 0058: “When the basket 10 is empty, the lid 16 can be driven from the closed position into the open position in response to the approach of an AUV. The AUV may be fitted with a transponder for this purpose”).
However, Wilson is silent about an actuator active on the optical communication module to move the optical communication axis between a first operative position and a second operative position, wherein, in the first operative position, the optical communication axis is directed along a first communication direction and, in the second operative position, the optical communication axis is directed along a second communication direction different from the first communication direction; and the control unit connected to the actuator to drive the optical communication axis to the first operative position and to the second operative position. Armistead discloses an actuator (20) active on an optical communication module (15) to move the optical communication axis between a first operative position and a second operative position, wherein, in the first operative position, the optical communication axis is directed along a first communication direction and, in the second operative position, the optical communication axis is directed along a second communication direction different from the first communication direction (Paragraph 0037: “The first connector part includes a first ferrule carrier to which a first fiber ferrule is mounted and which includes a first guiding structure. The second connector part includes a second ferrule carrier to which a second fiber ferrule is mounted and which includes a second guiding structure. The method comprises the steps of mating the first connector part with the second connector part; catching a guide pin forming part of the first or second guiding structure in a guide hole, guide channel or guide recess forming part of the other guiding structure; enabling rotational and/or lateral movement of the first ferrule carrier to allow the first ferrule carrier to align with the second ferrule carrier by interaction of the first guiding structure with the second guiding structure during engagement, and bringing one or more optical fibers of the first fiber ferrule into contact with respective optical fibers of the second fiber ferrule”); and the control unit connected to the actuator (20) to drive the optical communication axis to the first operative position and to the second operative position. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide an actuator active on the optical communication module to move the optical communication axis between a first operative position and a second operative position, wherein, in the first operative position, the optical communication axis is directed along a first communication direction and, in the second operative position, the optical communication axis is directed along a second communication direction different from the first communication direction; and the control unit connected to the actuator to drive the optical communication axis to the first operative position and to the second operative position. The motivation would have been to ensure alignment between the elements to enable connection.
As to Claim 19, Wilson as modified teaches the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). Wilson as modified also teaches wherein the optical communication axis is movable in a plurality of additional positions in addition to the first operative position and the second operative position, the optical communication module is configured to communicate along additional communication direction in one or more of said additional positions, wherein the additional communication direction lies in a vertical plane in use condition of the underwater docking station (Armistead - Paragraph 0037: “The first connector part includes a first ferrule carrier to which a first fiber ferrule is mounted and which includes a first guiding structure. The second connector part includes a second ferrule carrier to which a second fiber ferrule is mounted and which includes a second guiding structure. The method comprises the steps of mating the first connector part with the second connector part; catching a guide pin forming part of the first or second guiding structure in a guide hole, guide channel or guide recess forming part of the other guiding structure; enabling rotational and/or lateral movement of the first ferrule carrier to allow the first ferrule carrier to align with the second ferrule carrier by interaction of the first guiding structure with the second guiding structure during engagement, and bringing one or more optical fibers of the first fiber ferrule into contact with respective optical fibers of the second fiber ferrule”).
As to Claim 20, Wilson as modified teaches the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). Wilson as modified also teaches wherein the first communication direction is directed vertically in use condition of the underwater docking station (Wilson: 10).
As to Claim 21, Wilson as modified teaches the invention of Claim 20 (Refer to Claim 20 discussion). Wilson as modified also teaches wherein the second communication direction is directed vertically in use condition of the underwater docking station (Wilson: 10), the first communication direction is directed upwards and the second communication direction is directed downwards.
As to Claim 22, Wilson as modified teaches the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). Wilson as modified also teaches wherein the optical communication module is a bi-directional transceiver and comprises a wireless optical modem (Wilson - Paragraph 0068: “FIG. 2a shows the basket 24 closed. FIGS. 2b and 2c show the basket 24 reacting to the proximity of an AUV 26, for example responding to a signal from a transponder carried by the AUV 26, firstly by opening the lid 16 and then by deploying a post 22 into an upright position over the receptacle 14”; Paragraph 0058: “When the basket 10 is empty, the lid 16 can be driven from the closed position into the open position in response to the approach of an AUV. The AUV may be fitted with a transponder for this purpose”). However, Wilson as modified does not explicitly disclose having a data rate of at least 5Mbit/sec. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the data rate limitation, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
As to Claim 23, Wilson as modified teaches the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). However, Wilson as modified is silent wherein the optical communication module has a maximum communication range of about 60m and is configured for working at least up to a depth of 6000m. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the communication range and depth limitation, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
As to Claim 24, Wilson as modified teaches the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). Wilson as modified also teaches wherein the support structure comprises a base portion including a support plate configured for supporting the underwater docking station on a seabed, the underwater docking station being a seabed underwater docking station (Wilson: Figures 1a and 1b).
As to Claim 25, Wilson as modified teaches the invention of Claim 24 (Refer to Claim 24 discussion). Wilson as modified also teaches wherein the base portion of the support structure comprises a guide for guiding the underwater device when received by the underwater docking station; and/or a locking mechanism for allowing the underwater device to lock to the underwater docking station (Wilson - Paragraph 0057: “The open top of the body 12 can be closed by a lid 16 that is movable between the closed position shown in FIG. 1a and the open position shown in FIG. 1b. The lid 16 serves as a cover or roof that protects an AUV docked in the receptacle 14 against objects that may be dropped from above. When closed, the lid 16 also helps to retain the AUV inside the body 12 when the basket 10 is being relocated underwater, launched from the surface or recovered to the surface”. Paragraph 0058: “When the basket 10 is empty, the lid 16 can be driven from the closed position into the open position in response to the approach of an AUV. The AUV may be fitted with a transponder for this purpose”).
As to Claim 26, Wilson as modified teaches the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). Wilson as modified also teaches wherein the underwater docking station further comprises a reversible actuator active on the mechanism to increase or reduce the housing space by approaching or distancing the base portion and the top portion, wherein the mechanism comprises at least one scissor mechanism including a first bar (Wilson: 22) and a second bar (Wilson: 64) hinged to each other at a respective intermediate point (Wilson: Figures 11a and 11b).
Claims 30 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0086961) in view of Armistead (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0306979); and further in view of Walker (U.S. Patent No. 4,809,630).
As to Claim 30, Wilson as modified teaches the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). However, Wilson as modified is silent about further comprising a camera associated to the support structure to allow viewing and filming of images surrounding the underwater docking station in a field of view; and a camera actuator active on the camera to move an axis of the field of view between different operative positions having the axis of the field of view of the camera directed along different directions, the control unit being connected to the camera to manage viewing and filming, and the camera actuator to move the axis of the field of view of the camera between the operative positions; wherein the camera is configured to at least rotate along a rotation axis that is transversal to the axis of the field of view of the camera. Walker discloses a camera (10) associated to the support structure (4) to allow viewing and filming of images surrounding the underwater docking station in a field of view (Figures 1 and 2); and a camera actuator active on the camera to move an axis of the field of view between different operative positions having the axis of the field of view of the camera directed along different directions (Column 2, Lines 18-22: “In this embodiment a video camera 10 is mounted at the centre 8, and is pivoted so as to allow rotation of the camera to view through the port through a full 360 degrees. As the camera 10 is rotated about the centre 8, the field of view scans equatorially”), the control unit being connected to the camera (10) to manage viewing and filming, and the camera actuator to move the axis of the field of view of the camera between the operative positions; wherein the camera is configured to at least rotate along a rotation axis that is transversal to the axis of the field of view of the camera (Column 2, Lines 18-22: “In this embodiment a video camera 10 is mounted at the centre 8, and is pivoted so as to allow rotation of the camera to view through the port through a full 360 degrees.. As the camera 10 is rotated about the centre 8, the field of view scans equatorially”). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a camera associated to the support structure to allow viewing and filming of images surrounding the underwater docking station in a field of view; and a camera actuator active on the camera to move an axis of the field of view between different operative positions having the axis of the field of view of the camera directed along different directions, the control unit being connected to the camera to manage viewing and filming, and the camera actuator to move the axis of the field of view of the camera between the operative positions; wherein the camera is configured to at least rotate along a rotation axis that is transversal to the axis of the field of view of the camera. The motivation would have been to monitor the surroundings of the support structure.
As to Claim 31, Wilson as modified teaches the invention of Claim 30 (Refer to Claim 30 discussion). Wilson as modified also teaches wherein the control unit is configured to command the camera actuator exclusively to rotate the camera and move the axis of the field of view of the camera along a vertical plane in use condition of the underwater docking station, the control unit is configured to rotate over a rotation angle range of at least 90 (Walker - Column 2, Lines 18-22: “In this embodiment a video camera 10 is mounted at the centre 8, and is pivoted so as to allow rotation of the camera to view through the port through a full 360.degree.. As the camera 10 is rotated about the centre 8, the field of view scans equatorially”).
Claim 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0086961) in view of Armistead (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0306979); and further in view of Gautier et al (W.I.P.O. International Publication No. 2018/042140).
As to Claim 32, Wilson as modified teaches the invention of Claim 16 (Refer to Claim 16 discussion). However, Wilson as modified is silent about further comprising a hydrophone configured to allow a transmission and reception of ultrasonic and acoustic signals, the control unit being connected to said hydrophone to manage communication with ultrasonic and acoustic signals, the hydrophone being associated to a top portion of the support structure. Gautier discloses a hydrophone (Paragraph 0058: “According to one variant, the automated connector positioning module includes at least one of the following navigation tools: a camera, preferably a high-definition (HD) camera, a depth sounder, an instantaneous speed sensor, a gyroscope, an inertial measurement unit, and a compass. Optionally, the automated positioning module includes an acoustic module and a hydrophone”) configured to allow a transmission and reception of ultrasonic and acoustic signals, the control unit being connected to said hydrophone to manage communication with ultrasonic and acoustic signals, the hydrophone being associated to a top portion of the support structure. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a hydrophone configured to allow a transmission and reception of ultrasonic and acoustic signals, the control unit being connected to said hydrophone to manage communication with ultrasonic and acoustic signals, the hydrophone being associated to a top portion of the support structure. The motivation would have been to transmit signals between the underwater vehicle and docking station.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34 and 35 would be allowable if Claim 34 is rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 17, 18, 27-29 and 33 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base Claim 16. Claims 16-33 would be allowable if the limitations from Claim 17 are all added into Claim 16, in addition of amending to overcome the corresponding rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678