DETAILED ACTION
Claims 25-50 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 2/22/2024 and 9/10/2025 are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25, 27-35 and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tullberg et al (Tullberg), US 2022/0051139, in view of Kovacs et al (Kovacs), US 2022/0335337.
As per claim 25, Tullberg teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
One or more memories storing instructions (pp. 0152, 0164, 0167); and
One or more processors (pp. 0152, 0156, 0165, 0167), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
Receive assistance information indicating a second UE to provide assistance relating to training or utilizing a model (pp. 0085, 0112, 0116, 0119, 0233: receive a response for the request for training data);
Receive, from the second UE and based at least in part on the assistance information, information based at least in part on a measurement by the second UE (pp. 0088-0095, 0109-0112, 0116, 0119, 0155, 0233);
Train a model using the information based at least in part on the measurement (pp. 0143-0145, 0147-0149, 0156-0157, 0162-0163).
Tullberg does not teach the network node to be a first user equipment and perform a communication based at least in part on the model. Kovacs teaches the network node to be a user equipment (pp. 0153) and to perform a communication based at least in part on the model (pp. 0163, 0171). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Tullberg and Kovacs in order to periodically transmit the model functionalities and reports to the other UEs.
As per claim 27, Tullberg and Kovacs teach the invention as claimed in claim 25. Tullberg further teaches wherein the information based at least in part on measurement includes an inference based at least in part on the measurement by the second UE, and wherein the one or more processors, to train the model, are configured to cause the apparatus to train the model using the information based at least in part on the measurement as a ground truth (pp. 0143-0145, 0147-0149, 0156-0157).
As per claim 28, Tullberg and Kovacs teach the invention as claimed in claim 25. Tullberg further teaches wherein the first UE is associated with a reduced capability relative to the second UE (pp. 0008-0010).
As per claim 29, Tullberg and Kovacs teach the invention as claimed in claim 25. Kovacs further teaches wherein receiving the assistance information is based at least in part on a configuration of the first UE being incompatible with the model (pp. 0145-0149).
As per claim 30, Tullberg and Kovacs teach the invention as claimed in claim 29. Kovacs further teaches wherein the configuration of the first UE is incompatible with the model based at least in part on at least one of:
A number of antennas of the first UE,
A positioning capability of the first UE, or
A coverage range of the first UE (pp. 0002, 0174-0181: mobility state).
As per claim 31, Tullberg and Kovacs teach the invention as claimed in claim 25. Tullberg further teaches wherein the assistance information is from the second UE (pp. 0085, 0112, 0116, 0119, 0233: receive a response for the request for training data).
As per claim 32, Tullberg and Kovacs teach the invention as claimed in claim 25. Kovacs further teaches wherein the assistance information is from a base station (pp. 0204).
As per claim 33, Tullberg and Kovacs teach the invention as claimed in claim 25. Tullberg further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to:
Transmit a request for the assistance relating to training or utilizing the model, wherein receiving the assistance information is based at least in part on the request (pp. 0085, 0112, 0116, 0119, 0233: receive a request for training data).
As per claim 34, Tullberg and Kovacs teach the invention as claimed in claim 25. Tullberg further teaches wherein receiving the assistance information is based at least in part on establishing a connection with the second UE (pp. 0070, 0086). Kovacs also further teaches wherein receiving the assistance information is based at least in part on establishing a connection with the second UE (pp. 0129).
As per claim 35, Tullberg and Kovacs teach the invention as claimed in claim 25. Kovacs further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a base station prior to training the model, information indicating the model (pp. 0204).
As per claim 49, Tullberg teaches the invention including a method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising:
Receiving assistance information indicating a second UE to provide assistance relating to training or utilizing a model (pp. 0085, 0112, 0116, 0119, 0233: receive a response for the request for training data);
Receiving, from the second UE and based at least in part on the assistance information, information based at least in part on a measurement by the second UE (pp. 0088-0095, 0109-0112, 0116, 0119, 0155, 0233);
Training a model using the information based at least in part on the measurement (pp. 0143-0145, 0147-0149, 0156-0157, 0162-0163).
Tullberg does not teach the network node to be a first user equipment and performing a communication based at least in part on the model. Kovacs teaches the network node to be a user equipment (pp. 0153) and to perform a communication based at least in part on the model (pp. 0163, 0171). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Tullberg and Kovacs in order to periodically transmit the model functionalities and reports to the other UEs.
Claim(s) 26, 36-48 and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kovacs et al (Kovacs), US 2022/0335337, in view of Tullberg et al (Tullberg), US 2022/0051139.
As per claim 26, Kovacs teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (pp. 0153: producer node 200), comprising:
One or more memories storing instructions (pp. 0133, 0135); and
One or more processors (pp. 0133-0135), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
transmit assistance information indicating that the first UE to provide assistance relating to training or utilizing a model (pp. 0153-0154: expose its machine learning based assistance capability to the network node);
receive information indicating the model (pp. 0155-0157, 0159-0163: machine learning entities can be directly or indirectly provided);
provide one or more parameters of the model, to the second UE (pp. 0159-0163, 0171).
Kovacs does not teach to train the model based at least in part on a measurement value; and provide a result determined using the model, to a second UE. Tullberg teaches to train a model using at least in part on a measurement value (pp. 0143-0145, 0147-0149, 0156-0157); and provide a result determined using the model (pp. 0148-0149, 0162-0163). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Kovacs and Tullberg in order to train the learning model elsewhere in a network device that has high capabilities.
As per claim 36, Kovacs and Tullberg teach the invention as claimed in claim 26. Tullberg further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to:
Receive information indicating the measurement value form the second UE (pp. 0088-0095, 0109-0112, 0116, 0119, 0155, 0233).
As per claim 37, Kovacs and Tullberg teach the invention as claimed in claim 26. Tullberg further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to:
Receive, from the second UE, an indication to perform a measurement (pp. 0088-0095, 0109-0112, 0116, 0119, 0155, 0233); and
Determine the measurement value based at least in part on the measurement (pp. 0088-0095, 0109-0112, 0116, 0119, 0155, 0233).
As per claim 38, Kovacs and Tullberg teach the invention as claimed in claim 26. Tullberg further teaches wherein the indication identifies at least one of:
A type of the measurement, a target for the measurement value, or a feature for which the measurement is to be performed (pp. 0088-0095, 0109-0112, 0116, 0119, 0155, 0233).
As per claim 39, Kovacs and Tullberg teach the invention as claimed in claim 26. Tullberg further teaches wherein the measurement value is an input to the model and the result is an output of the model that is based at least in part on the measurement value (pp. 0143-0145, 0147-0149, 0156-0157).
As per claim 40, Kovacs and Tullberg teach the invention as claimed in claim 26. Kovacs further teaches wherein the assistance information is to the second UE (pp. 0153-0154, 0204).
As per claim 41, Kovacs and Tullberg teach the invention as claimed in claim 26. Kovacs further teaches wherein the assistance information is to a base station (pp. 0153-0154, 0204).
As per claim 42, Kovacs and Tullberg teach the invention as claimed in claim 41. Kovacs further teaches wherein the assistance information is via UE capability signaling (pp. 0153-0157).
As per claim 43, Kovacs and Tullberg teach the invention as claimed in claim 26. Kovacs further teaches wherein the assistance information is based at least in part on a condition associated with the first UE (pp. 0137-0138, 0153-0159, 0174-0181).
As per claim 44, Kovacs and Tullberg teach the invention as claimed in claim 26. Kovacs further teaches wherein the condition is based at least in part on a battery power associated with the first UE (pp. 0159, 0174-0175).
As per claim 45, Kovacs and Tullberg teach the invention as claimed in claim 26. Tullberg further teaches wherein transmitting the assistance information is based at least in part on a request, from the second UE, for assistance relating to training or utilizing the model (pp. 0085, 0112, 0116, 0119, 0233: receive a request for training data).
As per claim 46, Kovacs and Tullberg teach the invention as claimed in claim 26. Kovacs further teaches wherein transmitting the assistance information is based at least in part on establishing a connection with the second UE (pp. 0129). Tullberg also further teaches wherein transmitting the assistance information is based at least in part on establishing a connection with the second UE (pp. 0070, 0086).
As per claim 47, Kovacs and Tullberg teach the invention as claimed in claim 26. Tullberg further teaches wherein transmitting the assistance information is based at least in part on the first UE and the second UE being located in an environment for a threshold length of time (pp. 0231-0233: data collected for some time while the devices are connected in wireless communication).
As per claim 48, Kovacs and Tullberg teach the invention as claimed in claim 26. Tullberg further teaches wherein the second UE is associated with a reduced capability relative to the first UE (pp. 0008-0010).
As per claim 50, Kovacs teaches the invention including a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE) (pp. 0153: producer node 200), comprising:
transmitting assistance information indicating that the first UE to provide assistance relating to training or utilizing a model (pp. 0153-0154: expose its machine learning based assistance capability to the network node);
receiving information indicating the model (pp. 0155-0157, 0159-0163: machine learning entities can be directly or indirectly provided);
providing one or more parameters of the model, to the second UE (pp. 0159-0163, 0171).
Kovacs does not teach to train the model based at least in part on a measurement value; and provide a result determined using the model, to a second UE. Tullberg teaches to train a model using at least in part on a measurement value (pp. 0143-0145, 0147-0149, 0156-0157); and provide a result determined using the model (pp. 0148-0149, 0162-0163). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Kovacs and Tullberg in order to train the learning model elsewhere in a network device that has high capabilities.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Echigo et al, WO2023/026414A1
Hirzallah et al, US 2023/0037704
Alabbasi et al, US 2023/0019669
Dunne et al, US 2020/0272899
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
February 20, 2026