DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The claims have been interpreted to the broadest reasonable interpretation. Claims containing term “and/or” has been interpreted as either or and only one of the limitation is considered. For example, the limitation claiming A and/or B has been interpreted as either A or B. Claims containing term “one of” has been interpreted as selecting only one of the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11-15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi et al (JP 2023021836 A; English machine translation is provided herein) in view of Hunter et al (US Patent No. 9,820,017 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Satoshi et al teaches a wireless communication method between a base station (2) for an underwater vehicle and an underwater vehicle (3) (Fig. 1, page 2, lines 7-10; “…. operating multiple AUVs (Autonomous Underwater Vehicles) … using acoustic technology and optical technology have been proposed as underwater wireless communication technology.”), comprising:
providing the base station (2) with at least a first acoustic element (11 located on 2) (page 3, lines 12-13; “…an acoustic wireless communication unit that performs wireless communication using sound,…”),
providing the underwater vehicle (3), configured to be operatively coupled with the base station, with at least a second acoustic element (11 located on 3),
adapting and/or configuring the first acoustic element and the second acoustic element in order to allow a transmission and reception of ultrasonic and/or acoustic signals (page 7, lines 11-12; “The acoustic wireless communication unit 11 is a communication unit that transmits and receives sound waves.”),
providing the base station (2) with at least a first optical communication device (12), and providing the underwater vehicle (3) with at least a second optical communication device (12), the first optical communication device and the second optical communication device comprising an optical transmitter and/or an optical receiver, the provision allowing setting up a signal transceiving between the base station and the underwater vehicle (page 7, lines 11-12; “The optical wireless communication unit 12 is a communication unit that transmits and receives light waves.”),
a step of transmission of at least one ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal by at least one of the first acoustic element and the second acoustic element (page 7, lines 12-14; “The acoustic wireless communication unit 11 and the optical wireless communication unit 12 realize wireless communication according to the transmission/reception time slot table TS generated by the transmission/reception time determination unit 13.”), and/or
a step of transmission of at least one optical signal by at least one of the first optical communication device and the second optical communication device (page 7, lines 12-14; “The acoustic wireless communication unit 11 and the optical wireless communication unit 12 realize wireless communication according to the transmission/reception time slot table TS generated by the transmission/reception time determination unit 13.”).
Satoshi et al teaches underwater acoustic communication between base station and underwater vehicle, as discussed above, and differs from the claimed invention in that Satoshi et al does not specifically teach the use of hydrophone. Hunter et al teaches underwater acoustic communication comprising hydrophone (col. 9, lines 21-23; “FIGS. 10 and 11 illustrate part of a modified connector unit 95 in which a transponder 82 such as an acoustic or optical transponder or hydrophone.”; col. 9, lines 35-40; “Transponder 82 may be used for wireless communication (acoustic or optical communication or the like) over a short distance to a nearby platform, ROV, or submarine for two-way communication of system operational data or commands. Inductive coupling or radio links may alternatively be used over very short distances.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide hydrophone as the acoustic element to the wireless communication system of Satoshi et al, as taught by Hunter et al, in order to detect acoustic wave used in underwater communication system.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Satoshi et al as modified by Hunter et al teaches the method comprising selecting an activation of the at least one between the first hydrophone and the second hydrophone and/or an activation of at least one between the first optical communication device and the second optical communication device (Satoshi et al: page 17, lines 10-17; “Even in the high-speed communication mode using the optical wireless communication unit 12, the communication status of the optical wireless communication has decreased by a predetermined value or more due to, for example, an increase in the communication distance between underwater devices or deterioration of underwater turbidity. If so, switch to acoustic wireless communication. At this time, referring to the information stored in the communication status storage unit 133, the transmission method (frequency, frequency bandwidth, modulation method, number of retransmissions, error correction coding rate, transmission pulse width) and transmission/reception time slot table TS are updated.”), wherein said selecting takes place in accordance to at least one predetermined criterion, the at least one predetermined criterion comprising available and/or required bandwidth, distance between the base station and the underwater vehicle (Satoshi et al: page 17, lines 10-17; “Even in the high-speed communication mode using the optical wireless communication unit 12, the communication status of the optical wireless communication has decreased by a predetermined value or more due to, for example, an increase in the communication distance between underwater devices or deterioration of underwater turbidity. If so, switch to acoustic wireless communication. At this time, referring to the information stored in the communication status storage unit 133, the transmission method (frequency, frequency bandwidth, modulation method, number of retransmissions, error correction coding rate, transmission pulse width) and transmission/reception time slot table TS are updated.”), respective position between the base station and the underwater vehicle, streaming requirement, control requirement; and wherein said predetermined criterion comprises at least identifying whether control and/or report command data or video and/or imaging and/or audio streaming data shall be transmitted and: if control and/or report command data shall be transmitted, performing the activation of at least one between the first hydrophone and the second hydrophone and/or the activation of at least one between the first optical communication device and the second optical communication device; and if video and/or imaging and/or audio streaming data shall be transmitted, performing the activation of at least one between the first optical communication device and the second optical communication device (Satoshi et al: page 16; lines 2-6; “The determination in step S16 may be based not only on the communication distance but also on changes in communication conditions including environmental noise. That is, the master device 10M can monitor changes in the communication status as well as changes in the communication distance with the slave device 10S. This makes it possible to determine the optimum transmission method according to changes in the communication environment, thereby realizing more stable wireless communication.”; page 14, lines 7-13; “The underwater radio communication device 10M determines a transmission method (S11). Details of the transmission method determination process will be described in FIG. Briefly, the underwater wireless communication device 10M transmits/receives the sound wave signal and the light wave signal of the test pattern to/from the underwater wireless communication device 10S of the other party, so that the communication status of each wireless communication unit 11 and 12 and the underwater devices 2 and 3 are displayed. Then, the transmission method is determined based on the transmission information (priority, data size) of the data to be transmitted.”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Satoshi et al as modified by Hunter et al teaches wherein the transmission of at least one ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal is a non-directive transmission and/or takes place when the base station and the underwater vehicle are at a first distance and/or wherein the transmission of at least one optical signal is a directive transmission and/or takes place when the base station and the underwater vehicle are at a second distance, the first distance is being greater or equal to the second distance, the second distance being lower than 100 m, or lower than 80 m, or lower than 60 m, the first distance being lower than 500 m, or lower than 300 m, or lower than 200 m (Satoshi et al: page 17, lines 10-17; “Even in the high-speed communication mode using the optical wireless communication unit 12, the communication status of the optical wireless communication has decreased by a predetermined value or more due to, for example, an increase in the communication distance between underwater devices or deterioration of underwater turbidity. If so, switch to acoustic wireless communication. At this time, referring to the information stored in the communication status storage unit 133, the transmission method (frequency, frequency bandwidth, modulation method, number of retransmissions, error correction coding rate, transmission pulse width) and transmission/reception time slot table TS are updated.”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Satoshi et al as modified by Hunter et al teaches wherein adapting and/or configuring the first hydrophone and second hydrophone in order to allow a transmission and reception of ultrasonic and/or acoustic signals comprises providing at least one between the first hydrophone and the second hydrophone with at least one between a vibrator and/or an amplifier, the vibrator and/or the amplifier being specifically configured to allow the transmission of an ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal (Satoshi et al: page 8, lines 26-31; “The wave transmitting unit 112 amplifies the power of the wave transmission signal based on the transmission time of the transmission/reception time slot table TS, and transmits (transmits) sound waves in all directions. For the wave transmitting unit 112, a piezoelectric type wave transmitter having a piezoelectric ceramic vibrator as a wave transmitting element can be used. Piezoelectric ceramic vibrators have the property of generating strain or stress when an electric field is applied.”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Satoshi et al as modified by Hunter et al teaches defining a plurality of frequency-spaced transmission channels of ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal transmission and wherein the step of transmission of at least one ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal takes place on said plurality of frequency-spaced transmission channels, and wherein the step of transmission of the at least one ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal takes place according to a FSK modulation, or an ASK modulation, or a PSK modulation (Satoshi et al: page 8, lines 9-12; “Modulation section 1112 can use any modulation scheme. Modulator 1112 may use digital modulation such as PSK (Phase Shift Keying) or QAM (Quadrature Amplitude Modulation). Modulation section 1112 modulates the signal into a transmission signal suitable for driving wave transmission section 112 and generating sound waves that can efficiently propagate in water.”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Satoshi et al as modified by Hunter et al teaches a synchronization of the control and/or of the motion of the underwater vehicle with respect to the base station, the synchronization taking place utilizing the ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal, the step of transmission of at least one ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal comprising transmitting control and/or motion data on at least one data channel of the plurality of frequency-spaced transmission channels and/or comprising transmitting synchronization data on at least one synchronization channel of the plurality of frequency-spaced transmission channels (Satoshi et al: page 8, lines 18-24; “The synchronization signal D11 is a signal for identifying the underwater devices (moving bodies) 2 and 3 and for measuring the relative positions of the underwater devices. The training signal D12 is a signal for estimating propagation path characteristics of sound waves. The control information D13 includes transmission time information indicating the time when the sound wave was generated, a transmission/reception time slot table TS for controlling the transmission/reception timing of each underwater device, and the transmission method determined by the transmission method determination section 132.”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Satoshi et al as modified by Hunter et al teaches the ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal comprises a noise portion and a payload portion (Satoshi et al: page 16, lines 2-6; “The determination in step S16 may be based not only on the communication distance but also on changes in communication conditions including environmental noise. That is, the master device 10M can monitor changes in the communication status as well as changes in the communication distance with the slave device 10S. This makes it possible to determine the optimum transmission method according to changes in the communication environment, thereby realizing more stable wireless communication.”; it is inherent that noise accumulate as signal travels through medium; in this instance the accumulated noise is considered as noise portion and signal containing data is considered as payload portion), and wherein the method comprises a step of underwater noise mitigation (Satoshi et al: page 9, lines 5-6; “Each wave receiving unit 113 amplifies the received wave signal (analog signal), removes noise, and then performs A/D conversion (analog/digital conversion).”), for reducing the noise portion and/or increasing a signal-to-noise ratio of the ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal (Satoshi et al: page 9, lines 11-13; “Demodulator 1113 performs error detection and error correction processing upon demodulation, and measures the bit error rate (BER) with respect to the SNR (Signal-Noise Ratio) of the received signal.”); the step of underwater noise mitigation comprising at least one among: selecting a frequency range for transmitting the ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal, the frequency range being far from underwater noise sources (Satoshi et al: page 13, lines 1-3; “…is acoustic communication, the frequency is 20 kHz, the frequency bandwidth is 2 kHz, the modulation method is BPSK, the number of retransmissions is 5, the error correction coding rate is 1/2, and the transmission pulse width is determined to be 100ms.”); providing the base station with at least a first plurality of hydrophones, and/or providing the underwater vehicle with a second plurality of hydrophones and simultaneously receiving the ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal with the first plurality of hydrophones and with the second plurality of hydrophones, the first plurality of hydrophones and/or the second plurality of hydrophones comprising hydrophones arranged at different positions and/or at different angles; and electronically processing a received ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal utilizing noise mitigation software and/or hardware, performing at least one of the signals processing techniques of the following list: a frequency-based noise mitigation processing (Satoshi et al: page 9, lines 10-13; “The demodulator 1113 shown in FIG. 3 demodulates a plurality of wave reception signals received by each wave receiver 113 into signals that can be processed. Demodulator 1113 performs error detection and error correction processing upon demodulation, and measures the bit error rate (BER) with respect to the SNR (Signal-Noise Ratio) of the received signal”); a matrix factorization noise mitigation processing; an adaptive and/or predictive filtering for noise mitigation.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Satoshi et al as modified by Hunter et al teaches wherein the step of transmission of at least one between said ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal and said optical signal is a step of transmission of a numeric signal, comprising a message having a structure comprising at least one of the fields of the following list: a command type field, containing data relating to the type of command provided to, or received by, the underwater vehicle; a payload field, containing data associated to said type of command provided to, or received by, the underwater vehicle; a message number identification field; and a checksum field; the method further comprising a step of configuration and/or motion and/or actuation of at least one between the base station or the underwater vehicle, said step of configuration and/or motion and/or actuation comprising an electronic processing of said message and adapting a configuration and/or a motion and/or an actuation of said at least one between the base station or the underwater vehicle in accordance to the electronic processing of said message (Satoshi et al: page 8, lines 14-16; “FIG. 4 is a schematic diagram showing a configuration example of the sound packet D10. The acoustic packet D10 includes, for example, a synchronization signal D11, a training signal D12, control information D13, and other information D15, in addition to the transmission data D14.”; page 8, lines 20-24; “The control information D13 includes transmission time information indicating the time when the sound wave was generated, a transmission/reception time slot table TS for controlling the transmission/reception timing of each underwater device, and the transmission method determined by the transmission method determination section 132.”; Satoshi et al: page 12, lines 25-27; “The transmission method determination unit 132 determines a data packet transmission method based on the transmission information (priority and data size) included in the data packet of the transmission-scheduled data, the positioning result, and the communication status.”).
Regarding claim 11, Satoshi et al teaches an underwater system (Fig. 1, page 2, lines 7-10; “…. operating multiple AUVs (Autonomous Underwater Vehicles) … using acoustic technology and optical technology have been proposed as underwater wireless communication technology.”,) comprising:
at least one base station (2) for an underwater vehicle comprising:
at least a first element (11 located on 2), adapted and/or configured for transmitting and receiving ultrasonic and/or acoustic signals (page 3, lines 12-13; “…an acoustic wireless communication unit that performs wireless communication using sound,…”),
at least a first optical communication device (12 located 2), comprising an optical transmitter and/or an optical receiver,
at least one underwater vehicle (3), configured to be operatively coupled with the base station, comprising:
at least a second element, adapted and/or configured for transmitting and receiving ultrasonic and/or acoustic signals (page 7, lines 11-12; “The acoustic wireless communication unit 11 is a communication unit that transmits and receives sound waves.”),
at least a second optical communication device, comprising an optical transmitter and/or an optical receiver (page 7, lines 11-12; “The optical wireless communication unit 12 is a communication unit that transmits and receives light waves.”),
wherein at least one between the first optical communication device and the second optical communication device is configured to transmit at least one optical signal and wherein at least one between the first optical communication device and the second optical communication device is configured to receive said optical signal (page 7, lines 12-14; “The acoustic wireless communication unit 11 and the optical wireless communication unit 12 realize wireless communication according to the transmission/reception time slot table TS generated by the transmission/reception time determination unit 13.”).
Satoshi et al teaches underwater acoustic communication between base station and underwater vehicle, as discussed above, and differs from the claimed invention in that Satoshi et al does not specifically teach the use of hydrophone. Hunter et al teaches underwater acoustic communication comprising hydrophone (col. 9, lines 21-23; “FIGS. 10 and 11 illustrate part of a modified connector unit 95 in which a transponder 82 such as an acoustic or optical transponder or hydrophone.”; col. 9, lines 35-40; “Transponder 82 may be used for wireless communication (acoustic or optical communication or the like) over a short distance to a nearby platform, ROV, or submarine for two-way communication of system operational data or commands. Inductive coupling or radio links may alternatively be used over very short distances.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide hydrophone as the acoustic element to the wireless communication system of Satoshi et al, as taught by Hunter et al, in order to detect acoustic wave used in underwater communication system.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Satoshi et al as modified by Hunter et al teaches an hardware and/or software selector configured for selecting an activation of at least one between the first hydrophone and the second hydrophone and/or an activation of at least one between the first optical communication device and the second optical communication device (Satoshi et al: page 17, lines 10-17; “Even in the high-speed communication mode using the optical wireless communication unit 12, the communication status of the optical wireless communication has decreased by a predetermined value or more due to, for example, an increase in the communication distance between underwater devices or deterioration of underwater turbidity. If so, switch to acoustic wireless communication. At this time, referring to the information stored in the communication status storage unit 133, the transmission method (frequency, frequency bandwidth, modulation method, number of retransmissions, error correction coding rate, transmission pulse width) and transmission/reception time slot table TS are updated.”), wherein said selector is configured to select said activation in accordance to at least one predetermined criterion comprising available and/or required bandwidth, distance between the base station and the underwater vehicle (Satoshi et al: page 17, lines 10-17; “Even in the high-speed communication mode using the optical wireless communication unit 12, the communication status of the optical wireless communication has decreased by a predetermined value or more due to, for example, an increase in the communication distance between underwater devices or deterioration of underwater turbidity. If so, switch to acoustic wireless communication. At this time, referring to the information stored in the communication status storage unit 133, the transmission method (frequency, frequency bandwidth, modulation method, number of retransmissions, error correction coding rate, transmission pulse width) and transmission/reception time slot table TS are updated.”), respective position between the base station and the underwater vehicle, streaming requirement, control requirement; and wherein the selector is configured to identify whether control and/or report command data or video and/or imaging and/or audio streaming data shall be transmitted and: if control and/or report command data shall be transmitted, said selector causes the activation of at least one between the first hydrophone and the second hydrophone and/or the activation of at least one between the first optical communication device and the second optical communication device; if video and/or imaging and/or audio streaming data shall be transmitted, said selector causes the activation of at least one between the first optical communication device and the second optical communication device (Satoshi et al: page 16; lines 2-6; “The determination in step S16 may be based not only on the communication distance but also on changes in communication conditions including environmental noise. That is, the master device 10M can monitor changes in the communication status as well as changes in the communication distance with the slave device 10S. This makes it possible to determine the optimum transmission method according to changes in the communication environment, thereby realizing more stable wireless communication.”; page 14, lines 7-13; “The underwater radio communication device 10M determines a transmission method (S11). Details of the transmission method determination process will be described in FIG. Briefly, the underwater wireless communication device 10M transmits/receives the sound wave signal and the light wave signal of the test pattern to/from the underwater wireless communication device 10S of the other party, so that the communication status of each wireless communication unit 11 and 12 and the underwater devices 2 and 3 are displayed. Then, the transmission method is determined based on the transmission information (priority, data size) of the data to be transmitted.”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Satoshi et al as modified by Hunter et al teaches wherein at least one between the first hydrophone and the second hydrophone comprises a vibrator and/or an amplifier, which are configured to allow the transmission of an ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal (Satoshi et al: page 8, lines 26-31; “The wave transmitting unit 112 amplifies the power of the wave transmission signal based on the transmission time of the transmission/reception time slot table TS, and transmits (transmits) sound waves in all directions. For the wave transmitting unit 112, a piezoelectric type wave transmitter having a piezoelectric ceramic vibrator as a wave transmitting element can be used. Piezoelectric ceramic vibrators have the property of generating strain or stress when an electric field is applied.”), and wherein said ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal is an ultrasonic signal lying in the [20-150] KHz frequency range (Satoshi et al: page 13, lines 1-3; “…is acoustic communication, the frequency is 20 kHz, the frequency bandwidth is 2 kHz, the modulation method is BPSK, the number of retransmissions is 5, the error correction coding rate is 1/2, and the transmission pulse width is It is determined to be 100ms.”), or in the [30-110] KHz frequency range.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Satoshi et al as modified by Hunter et al teaches wherein the base station and the underwater vehicle are configured to transmit the ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal simultaneously on a plurality of frequency-spaced transmission channels and being configured to modulate, and subsequently transmit, the at least one ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal according to a FSK modulation, or an ASK modulation, or a PSK modulation (Satoshi et al: page 8, lines 9-12; “Modulation section 1112 can use any modulation scheme. Modulator 1112 may use digital modulation such as PSK (Phase Shift Keying) or QAM (Quadrature Amplitude Modulation). Modulation section 1112 modulates the signal into a transmission signal suitable for driving wave transmission section 112 and generating sound waves that can efficiently propagate in water.”).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Satoshi et al as modified by Hunter et al teaches wherein said plurality of frequency-spaced transmission channels comprises at least one data channel and at least one synchronization channel, the base station and the underwater vehicle being configured to keep a synchronization of transmission of ultrasonic and/or acoustic signals on said at least one data channel utilizing data contained in an ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal transmitted on the synchronization channel (Satoshi et al: page 8, lines 18-24; “The synchronization signal D11 is a signal for identifying the underwater devices (moving bodies) 2 and 3 and for measuring the relative positions of the underwater devices. The training signal D12 is a signal for estimating propagation path characteristics of sound waves. The control information D13 includes transmission time information indicating the time when the sound wave was generated, a transmission/reception time slot table TS for controlling the transmission/reception timing of each underwater device, and the transmission method determined by the transmission method determination section 132.”).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Satoshi et al as modified by Hunter et al teaches base station comprises a first hydrophones and/or wherein the underwater vehicle comprises a second hydrophones wherein at least one between the base station and the underwater vehicle comprises a noise mitigation software and/or hardware stage, configured for performing at least one of the signals processing techniques of the following list: a frequency-based noise mitigation processing (Satoshi et al: page 9, lines 10-13; “The demodulator 1113 shown in FIG. 3 demodulates a plurality of wave reception signals received by each wave receiver 113 into signals that can be processed. Demodulator 1113 performs error detection and error correction processing upon demodulation, and measures the bit error rate (BER) with respect to the SNR (Signal-Noise Ratio) of the received signal”); a matrix factorization noise mitigation processing; and an adaptive and/or predictive filtering for noise mitigation. The combination differs from the claimed invention in that the combination does not specifically teach that the base station comprises a first plurality of hydrophones and/or wherein the underwater vehicle comprises a second plurality of hydrophones wherein said first plurality of hydrophones, and/or said second plurality of hydrophones, is arranged at different positions and/or at different angles. However, since the combination teaches hydrophone, therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless communication system of the combination by providing the base station with first plurality of hydrophones and/or in the underwater vehicle and the second plurality of hydrophones wherein said first plurality of hydrophones, and/or said second plurality of hydrophones, is arranged at different positions and/or at different angles in order to optimized acoustic wave detection coming from various locations.
Regarding claim 19, Satoshi et al teaches control unit, configured to be installed on at least one of a base station for an underwater vehicle, and an underwater vehicle, the control unit comprising: (Fig. 1, page 2, lines 7-10; “…. operating multiple AUVs (Autonomous Underwater Vehicles) … using acoustic technology and optical technology have been proposed as underwater wireless communication technology.”) comprising:
a first communication line, configured to be operatively connected with at least a first acoustic element (11 located on 2), the control unit being configured to:
receive a first signal from the at least a first acoustic element, wherein the first signal is a transduction signal of the ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal received with the at least a first acoustic element, and/or to transmit a second signal to the at least a first acoustic element, wherein the second signal is configured to cause a transmission of an ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal by the at least a first acoustic element (page 3, lines 12-13; “…an acoustic wireless communication unit that performs wireless communication using sound,…”),
a second communication line, configured to be operatively connected with at least an optical communication device (page 7, lines 11-12; “The optical wireless communication unit 12 is a communication unit that transmits and receives light waves.”), the control unit being configured to:
receive a third signal from the at least an optical communication device, wherein the third signal is a transduction signal of the optical signal received by the at least an optical communication device, and/or to transmit a fourth signal to the at least an optical communication device, wherein the fourth signal is configured to cause a transmission of an optical signal by the at least one optical communication device (page 7, lines 12-14; “The acoustic wireless communication unit 11 and the optical wireless communication unit 12 realize wireless communication according to the transmission/reception time slot table TS generated by the transmission/reception time determination unit 13.”).
Satoshi et al teaches underwater acoustic communication between base station and underwater vehicle, as discussed above, and differs from the claimed invention in that Satoshi et al does not specifically teach the use of hydrophone. Hunter et al teaches underwater acoustic communication comprising hydrophone (col. 9, lines 21-23; “FIGS. 10 and 11 illustrate part of a modified connector unit 95 in which a transponder 82 such as an acoustic or optical transponder or hydrophone.”; col. 9, lines 35-40; “Transponder 82 may be used for wireless communication (acoustic or optical communication or the like) over a short distance to a nearby platform, ROV, or submarine for two-way communication of system operational data or commands. Inductive coupling or radio links may alternatively be used over very short distances.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide hydrophone as the acoustic element to the wireless communication system of Satoshi et al, as taught by Hunter et al, in order to detect acoustic wave used in underwater communication system.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoshi et al (JP 2023021836 A; English machine translation is provided herein) in view of Hunter et al (US Patent No. 9,820,017 B2) and further in view of Daisuke et al (JP 2017165333 A; English machine translation is provided herein).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Satoshi et al as modified by Hunter et al teaches wireless communication comprising first underwater vehicle configured to be operatively coupled with the base station and differs from the claimed invention in that the combination does not specifically teach a second underwater vehicle configured to be operatively coupled with the base station, with at least a respective second hydrophone and controlling the first and the second underwater vehicle as slave units, controlled by the base station as a master unit utilizing the step of transmission of at least one ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal and/or utilizing the step of transmission of at least one optical signal, and/or providing a first base station with at least a first hydrophone and a second base station with at least a respective first hydrophone and controlling the first and the second base station as slave units, controlled by the underwater vehicle as a master unit utilizing the step of transmission of at least one ultrasonic and/or acoustic signal and/or utilizing the step of transmission of at least one optical signal. Daisuke et al teaches a plurality of underwater vehicles operatively coupled to base station (Daisuke et al: Fig. 1 and page 10, lines 17-21; “When a plurality of underwater cruising bodies 20 are in operation, the controller 18 17 (water navigational body 10) selects one of the plurality of underwater vehicles 20 from one underwater 18 vehicle 20 (See step S1). The condition of the underwater vehicle 20 to be selected may be, for example, 19 the closest to the watercraft 10 or may be the furthest from the watercraft 10, It may be that a 20 predetermined time has elapsed from the preceding navigation support by the running body 10.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide plurality of underwater vehicle to the wireless communication system of the combination, as taught by Daisuke et al, in order to optimize signal to noise ratio and increase coverage area.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Farr et al (US Pub. No. 2016/0121009 A1) is cited to show optical communication systems.
Sato (US Pub. No. 2009/0264081 A1) is cited to show communication network system and communication method.
DALZID E. SINGH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2635
/DALZID E SINGH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635