DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujimoto (JP2019062588, “Fujimoto” using machine translation).
Re claim 15, Fujimoto discloses a motor comprising:
a motor body including a rotor 22 rotatable about a center axis extending in an axial direction (figs 9-11, [0041], center axis is axis of rotor shaft) and a stator 21 opposing the rotor with a gap interposed between the rotor and the stator (fig 11, [0041]);
a housing 11 accommodating the motor body (fig 11, [0041]);
a cover 12 covering the housing 11 from a first side in the axial direction (fig 11, 1st side top in fig 11);
a controller including an electronic component (figs 3-9, [0044] & [0057], includes 16-18) and accommodated between the housing 11 and the cover 12 (fig 11); and
a weight 41 fixed to the cover 12 (figs 9-11 & 13, [0069-0070], 41 made of copper & adds additional weight to 12).
Re claim 26, Fujimoto discloses claim 15 as discussed above and further discloses the weight 41 is located on an inner surface of the cover 12 (figs 11 & 13).
Re claim 28, Fujimoto discloses claim 15 as discussed above and further discloses the weight 41 is made of metal ([0070]); and the weight includes a surface coated with a corrosion inhibitor ([0070], thermal grease will provide some protection against corrosion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-19, 21-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al. (US20190267862, “Hattori”) in view of Hirakawa et al. US20070256887, “Hirakawa”) and Matsuda et al. (US20170366062, “Matsuda”).
Re claim 15, Hattori discloses a motor comprising:
a motor body including a rotor 40 rotatable about a center axis A extending in an axial direction and a stator 50 opposing the rotor with a gap interposed between the rotor and the stator (fig 1, [0062]);
a housing accommodating the motor body (fig 1, [0062], housing includes 10 & 100);
a cover 30 covering the housing from a first side in the axial direction (fig 1, 1st top in fig 1);
a controller 70 including an electronic component and accommodated between the housing and the cover (fig 1, [0062]).
Hattori discloses claim 15 except for a weight fixed to the cover.
Hirakawa disclose attaching weights 50a-b on a motor housing in order to diminish noise from vibration (figs 1-5, [0081]).
Matsuda discloses the cover of a motor produces noise from vibration ([0003-0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the cover of Hattori so a weight is fixed to the cover, as disclosed by Hirakawa for a housing, to diminish noise from vibration of the cover (as disclosed by Matsuda), as taught by Hirakawa ([0081]).
Re claim 16, Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda disclose claim 15 as discussed above. Hattori further discloses a connector 200 located at a position protruding toward a first side in a first direction perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to the axial direction from the motor body (figs 1 & below, [0062]);
wherein the cover 30 includes:
a top plate portion located on a first side in the axial direction from the controller 70 (figs 1, 5 & below); and
a protruding tubular portion that protrudes from the top plate portion toward the first side in the axial direction and internally accommodates at least a portion of the electronic component (figs 1 & below);
the top plate portion includes a protruding plate portion 30b that protrudes from the protruding tubular portion toward the first side in the first direction (figs 5 & below, [0079]);
at least a portion of the protruding plate portion 30b overlaps the connector 90 when viewed in the axial direction (figs 1, 5 & below).
Hattori discloses claim 16 except for the weight is located on the protruding plate portion.
Matsuda discloses the flat parts of the cover vibrate ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the weight of Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda on the protruding plate portion, in order to position the weight on the part of the plate portion most likely to vibrate, as taught by Matsuda.
Re claim 17, Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda disclose claim 16 as discussed above and further discloses the weight is located on the protruding plate portion 30b on a side adjacent to the protruding tubular portion in the first direction (Hattori, figs 1 & above for claim 16, since 30b is located on the side adjacent the tubular port in the first direction).
Re claim 18, Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda disclose claim 16 as discussed above and further discloses at least a portion of the weight is located at a position protruding toward the first side in the first direction from the motor body (Hattori, figs 1 & above for claim 16, since 30b is located on the side adjacent the tubular port in the first direction & protrudes from the motor body towards the 1st side in the 1st dir).
Re claim 19, Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda disclose claim 16 as discussed above. Hattori further discloses the protruding plate portion 30b at least partially overlaps the connector 90 when viewed in the axial direction (figs 1 & 5).
Hattori is silent with respect to at least a portion of the weight overlaps the connector when viewed in the axial direction.
Matsuda discloses the flat parts of the cover vibrate ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to at least try to position the weight of Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda to so at least a portion of the weight overlaps the connector when viewed in the axial direction, since the position of the protruding plate portion 30b partially overlapping the connector is a flat part and is one of a limited number of places to locate the weight at.
Re claim 21, Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda disclose claim 16 as discussed above but are silent with respect to the protruding plate portion includes a recess recessed in the axial direction; and the weight is fitted in the recess.
Hirakawa discloses in another embodiment housing 21 includes a recess (fig 7); and the weight is fitted in the recess (fig 7, [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the protruding plate portion of Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda to include a recess; and the weight is fitted in the recess, as disclosed by Hirakawa for the housing, in order to absorb vibration, as taught by Hirakawa ([0084]).
It is pointed out that Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda disclose the recess recessed in the axial direction since: Hirakawa discloses the recess in recessed in the thickness direction of the housing 21 (fig 7, radial direction); and Hattori discloses the thickness direction of the protruding plate portion is in the axial direction (fig 1).
Re claim 22, Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda disclose claim 15 as discussed above and further discloses the weight is fixed to a surface of the protruding plate portion (as discussed above for claim 16), the surface being on the first side in the axial direction (Hattori, figs 1 & above for claim 16; Hirakawa, fig 1, discloses weight 50a-b on outside of housing).
Re claim 23, Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda disclose claim 22 as discussed above further discloses the weight has a dimension in the second direction perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to both the axial direction and the first direction, the dimension being smaller than a dimension of the protruding tubular portion in the second direction (Hattori, figs 5 & below, the weight will inherently have a dimension in the 2nd dir less than the dimension of the tubular port since the flat surface of 30b has a dimension in the 2nd dir is less than the width of tubular port; & Matsuda teaches the flat portions of the cover vibrate).
Re claim 24, Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda disclose claim 22 as discussed above. Hattori discloses a space above the protruding plate portion 30b is located on a second side in the axial direction from an end portion of the protruding tubular portion on the first side in the axial direction (figs 1 & below).
Hattori is silent with respect to an end portion of the weight on the first side in the axial direction is located on the second side in the axial direction from the end portion of the protruding tubular portion on the first side in the axial direction.
Hirakawa discloses the weight is thin with respect to the housing 21 thickness (figs 1-2) and within the radial space of the motor outline (figs 1-2, 50a-b do not extend radially outside the radial space of the motor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the weight of Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda to be within the space between the end of the protruding tubular portion and the protruding plate portion so the weight is within the axial outline of the motor, as demonstrated by Hirakawa for the radial outline of the motor, in order to not enlarge the space taken up by the motor. By doing so the end portion of the weight on the first side in the axial direction will be located on the second side in the axial direction from the end portion of the protruding tubular portion on the first side in the axial direction.
Re claim 25, Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda disclose claim 22 as discussed above. Hattori further discloses a space located between the cover 30 and an imaginary line when viewed in a second direction perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to both the axial direction and the first direction (figs 1 & below, into/out of pg of fig 1), the imaginary line connecting an edge of an end portion of the protruding tubular portion on the first side in the axial direction (figs 1 & below), the edge being on the first side in the first direction (figs 1 & below), and an end portion of the protruding plate portion on the first side in the first direction (figs 1 & below).
Hattori is silent with respect to an entirety of the weight is located between the cover and an imaginary line when viewed in a second direction perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to both the axial direction and the first direction, the imaginary line connecting an edge of an end portion of the protruding tubular portion on the first side in the axial direction, the edge being on the first side in the first direction, and an end portion of the protruding plate portion on the first side in the first direction.
Hirakawa discloses in another embodiment the weight 60a-b is located in a space formed by a corner of the housing (fig 10, [0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the weight of Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda in the space formed by a corner of the cover, as disclosed by Hirakawa for the corner of the housing, resulting in the entirety of the weight located between the cover and an imaginary line when viewed in a second direction perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to both the axial direction and the first direction, the imaginary line connecting an edge of an end portion of the protruding tubular portion on the first side in the axial direction, the edge being on the first side in the first direction, and an end portion of the protruding plate portion on the first side in the first direction, in order to diminish the amplitude of the vibration, as taught by Hirakawa ([0090]).
Re claim 27, Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda disclose claim 15 as discussed above. Hattori is silent with respect to the weight is fixed with an adhesive.
Hirakawa discloses in another embodiment the weight is fixed with an adhesive (fig 7, [0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the weight of Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda to be fixed with an adhesive, as disclosed by Hirakawa for the housing, in order to absorb vibration, as taught by Hirakawa ([0084]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda and in further view of Hunsberger et al. (US6129176, “Hunsberger”).
Re claim 20, Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda disclose claim 15 as discussed above. Hattori discloses a center position of the cover 30 in the second direction. (figs 5 & below), but is silent with respect to a position of the weight in a second direction, which is perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to both the axial direction and the first direction, includes a center position of the cover in the second direction.
Hunsberger discloses a position of the weight 40 in a second direction, which is perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to both the axial direction and the first direction, includes a center position of the cover 34 in the second direction (fig 1, col 3, lns 55-62, from fig 3 the cover 34 is round).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the weight of Hattori in view of Hirakawa and Matsuda to a position in a second direction, which is perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to both the axial direction and the first direction, to include a center position of the cover in the second direction, as disclosed by Hunsberger, in order to increase sound attenuation characteristics of the end shield, as taught by Hunsberger (col 3, lns 55-59).
Conclusion
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834