DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 & 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (KR 10-0854631).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a sliding device comprising: a first rail member (110) having one open side surface; a second rail member (130) configured to slidably move on the first rail member and having one open side surface; ball members (200) disposed between the first rail member and the second rail member and including one or more ball members on a cross section; and a retainer (160, 170) disposed between the first rail member and the second rail member and having a plurality of ball gripping portions formed to be spaced apart from each other (Fig. 2), wherein the first rail member and the second rail member are disposed to engage with each other through the open one side surfaces (Fig. 3), wherein the retainer is formed in an "S" shape (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses a sliding device wherein the first rail member has a first upper portion (see annotated Fig. 3), a first side portion (see annotated Fig. 3) connected to the first upper portion, and a first lower portion (see annotated Fig. 3)connected to the first side portion, and the second rail member has a second upper portion (see annotated Fig. 3), a second side portion (see annotated Fig. 3) connected to the second upper portion, and a second lower portion (see annotated Fig. 3) connected to the second side portion, wherein the first upper portion is located between the second upper portion and the second lower portion, and the second lower portion is located between the first upper portion and the first lower portion (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses a sliding device wherein a first ball (see annotated Fig. 3) is disposed between the first upper portion and the second upper portion (Fig. 3), a second ball (see annotated Fig. 3) is disposed between the first lower portion and the second lower portion (Fig. 3), and an angle (0) formed by a line (a) connecting centers of the first ball and the second ball and the first lower portion or the second upper portion is an acute angle (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses a sliding device wherein, at an end of the first upper portion, a first insertion portion (see annotated Fig. 3) on which the first ball is seated is formed to be inserted into and disposed within the second rail member (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses a sliding device wherein a third ball (see annotated Fig. 3) is disposed between an upper side of the second lower portion and a lower side of the first insertion portion.
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses a sliding device wherein at an end of the second lower portion, a second insertion portion (see annotated Fig. 3) on which the second ball is seated is formed to be inserted into and disposed within the first rail member (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses a sliding device wherein a fourth ball (see annotated Fig. 3) is disposed between a lower side of the first upper portion and an upper side of the second insertion portion.
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses a sliding device wherein a cross section of the retainer is structured to be 180 degrees rotationally symmetrical with respect to the center (G) (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses a sliding device wherein the first rail member and the second rail member are disposed complementary to each other through the open one side surfaces (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses a sliding device wherein an outline of a cross section of the first insertion portion is formed as a closed curve, the first insertion portion is provided as a solid piece, and a first track groove on which the first ball is seated is formed in an upper side of the first insertion portion (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses a sliding device wherein an outline of a cross section of the second insertion portion is formed as a closed curve, the second insertion portion is provided as a solid piece, and a second track groove on which the second ball is seated is formed in a lower side of the second insertion portion (Fig. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Park does not disclose a retainer as recited in claim 1 because the retainer of Park is two pieces consisting of an upper retainer 170 and lower retainer 160, the examiner disagrees. The retainer 160, 170 of Park is structurally equivalent to the retainer recited in claim 1. Claim 1 does not require the retainer to be a single continuous member as applicant argues. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIEL J ROHRHOFF whose telephone number is (571)270-7624. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-4:00.
/DANIEL J ROHRHOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637