DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/05/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (KR 20210096448A, a copy of translation is attached herein).
As per claim 1, Lee discloses a computer vision process for determining body weight measurements from a video source (abstract: a contactless mobile livestock weight measuring system using an asymmetrical stereo camera), the process comprising the steps of electronically: acquiring one or more sets of consecutive frames or images from the video source (abstract: a plurality of stereo cameras are used to capture a plurality of stereo images; ie. stereo video recording unit 110) of a plurality of broiler chickens (background art: livestock includes chickens) within a containment area (“livestock farm”); identifying one or more of the chickens in the consecutive frames or images; constructing a three-dimensional model of chicken volume for each of the identified chickens (page (: last two paragraphs and page 10: first two paragraphs: 3D point cloud generator 120 generate a 3D point cloud of the livestock based on identified corresponding pixel points from 2D stereo images, also see figure 4 for 3D livestock volume); and determining body weight measurements of the identified chickens based on the constructed chicken volume for each of the identified chickens (page 5: second paragraph: a weight calculator 130 is employed to measure the weight of the livestock from the 3D volume).
As per claim 2, Lee discloses optionally, segmenting and/or cropping the consecutive frames of images; annotating the consecutive frames or images of the chickens with landmarks; and identifying the chickens in the consecutive frames of images based on the annotated landmarks (as explained above, the images are video images by a stereo video recording unit 110, and the livestock are extracted from 2D images to construct a 3D volume as shown in figure 4, and the wall and floor in the images may be the claimed landmark in page 10, last two paragraphs).
As per claim 3, Lee discloses extracting at least texture, silhouette, and optical flow data from the consecutive frames or images of the video source, and computing foreground textures from the extracted data (see figures 4a-4e).
As per claim 4, Lee discloses computing chicken poses of the identified chickens and camera intrinsics of the video sources from the foreground textures using a deep learning neural network (page 4: first three paragraphs: a deep learning artificial intelligence is applied to 2D images to identify livestock based on intrinsic parameters of the stereo camera).
As per claim 5, see figure 4b for rest shape and figures 4a and 4c-4e for articulated shape.
As per claim 6, see figure 4g for physical specification measurement rendering of an optimized two-dimensional articulated shape from the 3D model.
As per claim 7, as shown in figure 4g, the shape may be photorealistic or non-photorealistic.
As per claim 8, the 2D articulated shape in figure 4g is optimized for weight measurement with effective length measuring unit 134 .
As per claim 9, see figure 4g for comparison between physical specification measurement and the 3D model.
As per claim 10, Lee in page 8 teaches using a regression analysis unit 135 for weight calculation based on the estimated 3D model for each livestock.
As per claim 11, see explanation in claim 1, and the examiner notes Lee’s contactless mobile livestock weight measuring system includes the claim features of video source, wireless interface and a processor.
As per claim 12, see page 8, last two paragraphs for server and a preset URL.
As per claim 13, see explanation in claim 5.
As per claim 14, see explanation in claim 4.
As per claim 15, see explanation in claim 9.
Conclusion
/TOM Y LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667