CTNF 18/685,825 CTNF 101544 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada et al. (US 2021/0018890 A1) in view of Kewitsch et al. (US 2021/0072483 A1) . Regarding Claim 1, Takada teaches an encoder ([0037] The encoder 100 according to the embodiment will be described. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the encoder 100 includes a disc 110, an optical module 120, and a signal processor 130.) comprising: a rotary plate including a pattern for detecting rotational displacement ([0040] While the disc 110 is rotated by driving the motor M into rotation, the optical module 120 is provided at a fixed position while facing a part of the disc 110. That is, while the motor M is being driven into rotation, the slit tracks SA1, SI1, SI2, and SA2 move relative to the optical module 120 along a measurement direction… [0045] A plurality of such slits are aligned along the measurement direction C to form a predetermined pattern, which is a slit track) ; a light source that emits light onto the pattern ([0057] the light source 121 is provided at a position facing the space between the slit track SI1 and the slit track SI2, and emits light toward portions of the disc 110 that face the optical module 120 and that the four slit tracks SA1, SI1, SI2, and SA2 pass.) ; a light receiving part including a light-receiving region that receives the light that is emitted from the light source and travels via the rotary plate ([0059] The plurality of light receiving arrays PA1, PI1, PI2, and PA2 are arranged around the light source 121, and each of the light receiving arrays PA1, PI1, PI2, and PA2 includes a plurality of light receiving elements (see portions shaded by dots in FIG. 5). Each of the plurality of light receiving elements corresponds to one reflection slit of one slit track, and receives light reflected from the reflection slit of the one reflection slit) ; a fixed body ([0040] the optical module 120 is provided at a fixed position while facing a part of the disc 110) in which the light-receiving part is provided ([0056] the optical module 120 includes the light source 121 and a plurality of light receiving arrays PA1, PI1, PI2, and PA2.) . Takada is not relied upon as teaching an opposing component that opposes the pattern, the opposing component being disposed between the rotary plate and the fixed body. However, Kewitsch teaches an opposing component that opposes the pattern, the opposing component being disposed between the rotary plate and the fixed body ([0418] A cover piece 4034 may be positioned to retain the power spring 4036 so that it does not expand unstably out of the plane… The cover piece 4034 is attached/bonded to disk surface 4022.) . Takada and Kewitsch are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of rotary optical encoders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the encoder assembly of Takada to include the opposing cover piece of Kewitsch with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to prevent out-of-plane component deformation and protect internal tracking elements. By integrating Kewitsch’s teaching of a cover piece attached to a disc surface into Takada’s optical encoder assembly, the system can retain internal components to ensure they do not expand unstably out of plane. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that adding the cover piece of Kewitsch to the assembly of Takada would yield the predictable result of a stable, protected encoder housing that maintains structural alignment between the rotary disc and the fixed body module. Regarding Claim 2, Takada is not relied upon as teaching that a distance between the rotary plate and the opposing component is less than or equal to a thickness of the light-receiving part. However, Kewitsch teaches that a distance between the rotary plate and the opposing component is less than or equal to a thickness of the light-receiving part ([0418] The cover piece 4034 is attached/bonded to disk surface 4022 Examiner Note: Since the cover is attached to the disk surface, the distance between the rotary plate and the opposing component is zero, and any light receiving part will have a thickness greater than zero ) . Takada and Kewitsch are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of rotary optical encoders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the encoder assembly of Takada to include the thickness and distance limitations of Kewitsch with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to minimize the axial footprint and achieve an ultra-compact encoder design. By integrating Kewitsch’s teaching of attaching/bonding the cover piece directly to the disk surface into Takada’s encoder assembly, the system can reduce the physical gap distance between the rotary plate and the opposing cover component to zero. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that configuring the components such that the distance is less than or equal to a thickness of the light-receiving part would yield the predictable result of eliminating dead space within the assembly housing to maximize spatial efficiency. Regarding Claim 3, Takada is not relied upon as teaching that a distance between the rotary plate and the opposing component is less than or equal to 1.5 millimeters. However, Kewitsch teaches that a distance between the rotary plate and the opposing component is less than or equal to 1.5 millimeters ([0418] The cover piece 4034 is attached/bonded to disk surface 4022 Examiner Note: Since the cover is attached to the disk surface, the distance between the rotary plate and the opposing component is zero, which is less than 1.5 mm ) . Takada and Kewitsch are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of rotary optical encoders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the encoder assembly of Takada to include the explicit dimensional tracking distance of Kewitsch with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to minimize clearance tolerances and optimize signal strength through close spatial proximity. By integrating Kewitsch’s teaching of attaching/bonding the cover piece directly to the disk surface into Takada’s encoder assembly, the system can maintain a structural gap distance of zero. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that ensuring the tracking distance is less than or equal to 1.5mm would yield the predictable result of a hyper-compact structural layout that minimizes axial play and profile height. Regarding Claim 4, Takada is not relied upon as teaching that the opposing component includes a protruding portion that protrudes toward the rotary plate, and the protruding portion is disposed outside of the pattern, and is annularly shaped. However, Kewitsch teaches that the opposing component includes a protruding portion that protrudes toward the rotary plate (Fig. 19 Examiner Note: The opposing component 4034 has a plurality of protruding portions that protrude toward the rotary plate 4022 ) , and the protruding portion is disposed outside of the pattern, and is annularly shaped (Fig. 19 & [0416] The cover disk 4032 outer perimeter is circular, with open sectors 4033 along its perimeter, and is molded using a plastic material having with a highly light reflecting surface. The open sectors 4033 enable an optical sensor 4040 on printed circuit board 4046 positioned in vicinity of the perimeter to detect the rotation of the reel, since as the disk rotates the open sectors 4033 will pass by the sensors and the lack of light reflecting from the open sectors 4033 is detected electronically Examiner Note: The protruding portions together form a ring or annularly shaped collection and are disposed outside of the pattern (the pattern is disposed on the “cover disk 4032” and the protruding portions are not inside the pattern track) ) . PNG media_image1.png 751 537 media_image1.png Greyscale Takada and Kewitsch are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of rotary optical encoders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the encoder assembly of Takada to include the annularly shaped protruding portion of Kewitsch with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to provide a robust peripheral enclosure that stabilizes the assembly without obstructing optical tracking pathways. By integrating Kewitsch’s teaching of a cover piece featuring a plurality of protruding portions arranged outside the active pattern into Takada’s encoder assembly, the system can securely clamp or align the peripheral edges of the mating parts. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that positioning an annularly shaped protruding configuration outside of the code pattern track would yield the predictable result of establishing an isolated structural support ring that firmly secures the components while leaving the light paths completely unblocked . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada et al. (US 2021/0018890 A1) in view of Noda et al. (US 11,478,940 B2) . Regarding Claim 1, Takada teaches an encoder ([0037] The encoder 100 according to the embodiment will be described. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the encoder 100 includes a disc 110, an optical module 120, and a signal processor 130.) comprising: a rotary plate including a pattern for detecting rotational displacement ([0040] While the disc 110 is rotated by driving the motor M into rotation, the optical module 120 is provided at a fixed position while facing a part of the disc 110. That is, while the motor M is being driven into rotation, the slit tracks SA1, SI1, SI2, and SA2 move relative to the optical module 120 along a measurement direction… [0045] A plurality of such slits are aligned along the measurement direction C to form a predetermined pattern, which is a slit track) ; a light source that emits light onto the pattern ([0057] the light source 121 is provided at a position facing the space between the slit track SI1 and the slit track SI2, and emits light toward portions of the disc 110 that face the optical module 120 and that the four slit tracks SA1, SI1, SI2, and SA2 pass.) ; a light receiving part including a light-receiving region that receives the light that is emitted from the light source and travels via the rotary plate ([0059] The plurality of light receiving arrays PA1, PI1, PI2, and PA2 are arranged around the light source 121, and each of the light receiving arrays PA1, PI1, PI2, and PA2 includes a plurality of light receiving elements (see portions shaded by dots in FIG. 5). Each of the plurality of light receiving elements corresponds to one reflection slit of one slit track, and receives light reflected from the reflection slit of the one reflection slit) ; a fixed body ([0040] the optical module 120 is provided at a fixed position while facing a part of the disc 110) in which the light-receiving part is provided ([0056] the optical module 120 includes the light source 121 and a plurality of light receiving arrays PA1, PI1, PI2, and PA2.) . Takada is not relied upon as teaching an opposing component that opposes the pattern, the opposing component being disposed between the rotary plate and the fixed body. However, Noda teaches an opposing component that opposes the pattern, the opposing component being disposed between the rotary plate and the fixed body ([Col 1, ll. 21-27] The optical sensor is inserted into a through hole formed in part of a support part of the first cover. This structure enables the optical sensor to overlap the first cover in the rotational shaft direction of the motor, and reduces the thickness of the encoder by a thickness corresponding to the thickness of the optical sensor) . Takada and Noda are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of rotary optical encoders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the encoder assembly of Takada to include the opposing component of Noda with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to reduce axial profile height and optimize space within the encoder configuration. By integrating Noda’s teaching of an optical sensor inserted into a through hole of a support part of a first cover to overlap the cover in the rotational shaft direction into Takada’s encoder assembly, the system can nest the active sensing elements directly within the cover structure. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that disposing the opposing cover component between the rotary plate and the fixed body would yield the predictable result of reducing the cumulative thickness of the encoder by an amount corresponding to the thickness of the sensor itself . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada et al. (US 2021/0018890 A1) and Noda et al. (US 11,478,940 B2) in view of Ikeno et al. (US 2007/0058353 A1) . Regarding Claim 5, Takada teaches that the light source is provided in the light-receiving part ([0059] The plurality of light receiving arrays PA1, PI1, PI2, and PA2 are arranged around the light source 121, and each of the light receiving arrays PA1, PI1, PI2, and PA2 includes a plurality of light receiving elements (see portions shaded by dots in FIG. 5)) . Takada is not relied upon as teaching that the encoder further comprises: a housing for providing an enclosed space that encloses the light-receiving part. However, Ikeno teaches that the encoder further comprises: a housing for providing an enclosed space that encloses the light-receiving part ([0033] the scanner 12 includes a document placing portion 13 functioning as an FBS (Flatbed Scanner), and a document cover 15 provided thereto. The document cover 15 includes an automatic document feeder 14 (hereinafter, referred to as ADF), and is mounted to a back surface 48 side of the document placing portion 13 so as to be openable and closable via a hinge… [0037] The CIS unit 21 is arranged so as to oppose to the rear surface 26 of the contact glass plate 20. The CIS unit 21 is provided with a housing 43 of an elongated parallelepiped shape, and the housing 43 is fitted to a carriage 24. The CIS unit 21 irradiates light on the document from the rear surface 26 side of the contact glass plate 20, receives reflected light from the document, and converts the received light into electrical signals. Examiner Note: The CIS unit 21 (light receiving part) is under the contact plate and enclosed inside the housing for the printer/scanner. Fig. 1, reproduced below, shows on element 13 where the lid of the printer pivotally opens to reveal contact glass plate 20. Fig. 7, reproduced below, shows the light receiving element disposed beneath contact glass plate. Common element 13 between Figs. 1 and 7 clarifies the positional relationship ) . PNG media_image2.png 476 733 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 525 707 media_image3.png Greyscale Takada (as previously modified by Noda) and Ikeno are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because, although they may not be in the same field of endeavor, Ikeno is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem confronting the inventor of protecting sensitive optical sensing components from environmental contamination while maintaining an unobstructed light path. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the encoder assembly of Takada (as previously modified by Noda) to include the housing structure of Ikeno with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to shield delicate light-emitting and light-receiving components from dust, debris, or ambient light interference. By integrating Ikeno’s teaching of an optical component housing into Takada’s encoder assembly, the system can protect the optical module within a secure, dedicated enclosure. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that enclosing the optical tracking components within a protective housing body would yield the predictable result of increasing device reliability and preventing debris from disrupting the signal reading. Regarding Claim 6, Takada is not relied upon as teaching that the housing and the opposing component are configured as a single component. However, Noda teaches that the housing and the opposing component are configured as a single component ([Col 1, ll. 21-27] The optical sensor is inserted into a through hole formed in part of a support part of the first cover. This structure enables the optical sensor to overlap the first cover in the rotational shaft direction of the motor, and reduces the thickness of the encoder by a thickness corresponding to the thickness of the optical sensor) . Takada and Noda are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of rotary optical encoders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the encoder assembly of Takada (as previously modified by Noda and Ikeno) to include the single-component configuration of Noda with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to reduce parts count, simplify manufacturing, and minimize structural thickness. By integrating Noda’s teaching of an optical sensor inserted directly into a through hole formed in a support part of the first cover into the encoder assembly, the system can unify the housing and opposing component functionalities into a single physical piece. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that configuring the housing and the opposing component as a single component would yield the predictable result of a more compact, rigid encoder structure with fewer separate pieces to align during assembly. Regarding Claim 7, Takada is not relied upon as teaching a glass cover that opposes the light-receiving part, wherein the housing is frame shaped, and the glass cover is provided to cover an opening of the housing. However, Ikeno teaches a glass cover that opposes the light-receiving part ([0037] The CIS unit 21 irradiates light on the document from the rear surface 26 side of the contact glass plate 20, receives reflected light from the document) , wherein the housing is frame shaped ([0035] The document placing portion 13 also serves as a frame of the scanner 12) , and the glass cover is provided to cover an opening of the housing ([0036 The contact glass plate 20 is exposed by opening the document cover 15 provided on the document placing portion 13. The document is placed on the contact glass plate 20, and then the document cover 15 is closed. Accordingly, the document is sandwiched and fixed between the document cover 15 and the contact glass plate 20. When the image scanning unit 18 moves along, and underneath, the contact glass plate 20 (along the direction perpendicular to the XY plane of FIG. 7), the image is read from the document Examiner Note: the glass cover 20 is used to cover an opening, without the glass cover 20, there would be a giant hole in the document scanner ) . Takada and Noda are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of rotary optical encoders. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the encoder assembly of Takada (as previously modified by Noda and Ikeno) to include the glass cover and frame-shaped housing configuration of Ikeno with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to span and enclose a necessary structural optical aperture while preventing physical contamination from invading the sensitive tracking elements beneath it. By integrating Ikeno’s teaching of a contact glass plate covering an opening of a frame-shaped housing into Takada’s encoder assembly, the system can provide a transparent physical barrier directly opposing the internal optical tracks. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that covering a frame opening with an opposing glass window layer would yield the predictable result of structurally sealing the internal sensing environment while cleanly preserving the required line-of-sight for the tracking signal pathways . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada et al. (US 2021/0018890 A1) and Noda et al. (US 11,478,940 B2) in view of Nakamura et al. (US 2012/0281939 A1) . Regarding Claim 8, Takada is not relied upon as teaching that a groove is provided in an opposing surface of the opposing component, the groove extending from an inner side of the opposing surface to an outer side of the opposing surface, the opposing surface opposing the rotary plate. However, Nakamura teaches that a groove is provided in an opposing surface of the opposing component, the groove extending from an inner side of the opposing surface to an outer side of the opposing surface, the opposing surface opposing the rotary plate ([0009] as the encoder 19 rotates together with the hub 3 as the wheel rotates [0029] In the hub unit of a second aspect of the present invention as well, the cover comprises a disk section, and a cylindrical section that is bent outward in the axial direction from the perimeter edge section of the disk section, and is fitted with and fastened to the outer ring member. In this second aspect, comprises a groove section that is recessed toward the inside or the outside in the radial direction along the axial direction, and a water drainage hole that passes through from the inside to the outside of the cover is formed in the portion between the groove section and the outer ring member.) . Takada and Nakamura are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of rotary encoder assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the encoder assembly of Takada (as previously modified by Noda) to include the drainage groove configuration of Nakamura with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to effectively route liquid and debris away from the active tracking components to ensure environmental protection. By integrating Nakamura’s teaching of a cover featuring a groove section and a water drainage hole that passes through from the inside to the outside of the cover into the encoder assembly, the system can safely channel moisture or foreign contaminants out of the internal housing area. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a radially extending groove in the opposing surface facing the rotary plate would yield the predictable result of preventing accumulation of debris between the stationary and rotating components. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to EVAN H HAUT whose telephone number is (571)272-7927. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 10am-3pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Helal Algahaim can be reached at (571) 272-9358. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /E.H.H./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645 /HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/685,825 Page 2 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/685,825 Page 3 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/685,825 Page 4 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/685,825 Page 5 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/685,825 Page 6 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/685,825 Page 7 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/685,825 Page 8 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/685,825 Page 9 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/685,825 Page 10 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/685,825 Page 11 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/685,825 Page 12 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/685,825 Page 13 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/685,825 Page 14 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/685,825 Page 15 Art Unit: 3645