Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-6 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
In the instant case, the abstract recites “The disclosure for” (line 1) which is information that can be implied, and should be deleted. Additionally, the Examiner suggests separating the abstract into more than two sentences to be in narrative form.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following feature(s) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
“mounting holes are reserved in the rotary platform (2) and the pedal adjusting device (6) respectively for mounting/detaching the detachable branched chain” (claim 1) does not appear to be illustrated.
“when performing pedal adjustment for the pedal adjusting device, the detachable branched chain is mounted to participate in adjustment … the shaft sleeve is fixedly connected with the rotary platform and the sliding rod is fixedly connected with the foot pedal” (Claim 5) does not appear to be illustrated. The attachment of the “detachable branched chain” is not shown.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claims 2, are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, the last line recites “DOFs” and the Examiner suggests spelling out the abbreviation i.e., --degrees of freedom (DOF)--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because it includes reference character(s) which are not enclosed within parentheses. See “rotary platform 2” in line 4.
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 3 recites “a detachable branched chain” and it is unclear what part of the element is considered “branched” as the disclosure only appears to illustrate a slidable rod in a sleeve (Fig. 6), and it is unclear what the structural relationship is of the detachable branched chain to the rest of the apparatus.
Claim 1, line 5 recites “three drive branched chains” and it is unclear if this is referring to the previously recited “a detachable branched chain” (line 3). It is unclear if there are four branched chains, and whether they are each detachable. It is unclear if the “detachable branched chain” has the same topological structures as the “three drive branched chains.”
Claim 1, line 6 recites “slightly different” which is vague and indefinite. It is unclear what amount of difference(s) would be considered “slightly” different.
Claim 1, the last line recites “mounting/detaching” and it is unclear if this limitation is requiring both mounting and detaching, or just one of mounting or detaching.
Claim 2, line 4 recites “a revolute pair” which is confusing because claim 1, line 4 already recites “a revolute pair.” It appears this is referring to a separate revolute pair and thus the Examiner suggests numbering these revolute pairs (i.e., “a first revolute pair”, “a second revolute pair”, etc.).
Claim 2, lines 4-5 recite “the other end of the drive rod” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 2, line 6 recites “a revolute pair” which is confusing because claim 1, line 4 already recites “a revolute pair” and claim 2, line 4 already recites “a revolute pair.” It appears this is referring to a separate revolute pair and thus the Examiner suggests numbering these revolute pairs (i.e., “a first revolute pair”, “a second revolute pair”, etc.).
Claim 2, line 6 recites “the other end of the arc-shaped connecting rod” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 2, line 9 recites “a revolute pair” which is confusing because claim 1, line 4 already recites “a revolute pair”, claim 2, line 4, and claim 2, line 6 already recite “a revolute pair.” It appears this is referring to a separate revolute pair and thus the Examiner suggests numbering these revolute pairs (i.e., “a first revolute pair”, “a second revolute pair”, etc.).
Claim 2, the last line recites “the two ends of the Hooke hinge” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 3, lines 2-3 recite “pedal adjusting device includes a sliding platform and three sliding rails with the same structures” and it is unclear which features have “the same structures.” Does the sliding platform have the same structures as the three sliding rails, or the three sliding rails have the same structures as each other?
Claim 3, lines 6-7 recite “the three sliding blocks with the same structures” which is confusing because the three sliding blocks have not been previously recited to have “the same structures.”
Claim 5, line 5 recites “the detachable adjusting branched chain” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 5, lines 5-6 recite “is in a detached state when rehabilitation training is carried out” which is a method step of using the apparatus. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 97 USPQ2d 1737 (Fed. Cir. 2011). MPEP 2173.05(p)(II).
Claim 5, lines 6-7 recite “when performing pedal adjustment for the pedal adjusting device, the detachable branched chain is mounted to participate in adjustment, and during mounting …” which is a method step of using the apparatus. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 97 USPQ2d 1737 (Fed. Cir. 2011). MPEP 2173.05(p)(II).
Claim 6, line 1 recites “the rehabilitation robot for ankle joint fractures” which lacks antecedent basis. Note, as currently constructed, claim 6 does not incorporate the rehabilitation robot of claim 1.
Claim 6, line 2 recites “the detachable branched chain” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 6, line 3 recites “the foot of a patient” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 6, line 3 recites “the foot pedal” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 6, line 3 recites “the backing plate” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 6, line 4 recites “the ankle joint” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 6, line 4 recites “the rotary platform” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 6, line 5 recites “the sliding rails” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 6, line 5 recites “the pedal adjusting device” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 6, line 6 recites “the mechanism” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 6, line 9 recites “planning the robot to carry out dorsiflexion/plantarflexion rehabilitation” and it is unclear what is meant by “planning” in this context. Is this referring to a mental step taken by the operator?
Claim 6, line 9 recites “dorsiflexion/plantarflexion” and it is unclear whether this limitation is requiring both dorsiflexion and plantarflexion, or just one of dorsiflexion or plantarflexion.
Claim 6, lines 9-10 recite “an talocrural joint axis” which is confusing because line 6 already recites “a talocrural joint axis.” The Examiner suggests --the talocrural joint axis--.
Claim 6, line 15 recites “planning the robot to carry out inversion/eversion rehabilitation training” and it is unclear what is meant by “planning” in this context. Is this referring to a mental step taken by the operator?
Claim 6, line 15 recites “inversion/eversion” and it is unclear whether this limitation is requiring both inversion and eversion, or just one of inversion or eversion.
Due to the excessive amount of confusion regarding claim 6, no prior art has been applied. However, the Examiner reserves the right to apply prior art in a subsequent Office Action.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (CN 209154403) in view of Saglia et al. (2018/0110670) and Alexa (7,892,154).
Regarding claim 1, Fan discloses a four-degree-of-freedom parallel robot for postoperative rehabilitation of ankle joint fracture (Fig. 1, see title), includes a base (base 1, Fig. 1), a rotary platform (lower platform 3 is rotatable via servo motor 2, Fig. 1), a pedal adjusting device (movable platform 5, Fig. 2), a foot pedal (foot fixing device 7, Fig. 2); the base (1) and the rotary platform (3) are rotationally connected to form a revolute pair (rotary platform 3 is rotated via servo motor 2, to provide rotation relative to the base 1), and the rotary platform (4) is driven by a driver (servo motor 2, Fig. 1) fixed to the base (motor 2 is attached to base 1 as seen in Fig. 1); three drive branched chains (symmetrical actuating chains I, II, III, Figs. 1-2) with the same topological structures (common structures among I.1, I.2, I.3, I.4, I.5, II.1, II.2, II.3, II.4, II.5, III.1, III.2, III.3, III.4, III.5, see Figs. 1-2) and slightly different sizes (the size of each branched chain is adjustable via the push rods) are evenly distributed between the rotary platform (3) and the pedal adjusting device (5, see Figures 1-2); the pedal adjusting device (5) is fixedly connected with the foot pedal (6, Fig. 2).
Fan is silent regarding a detachable branched chain; the rotary platform connected to the base through bearings; and mounting holes are reserved in the rotary platform and the pedal adjusting device respectively for mounting/detaching the detachable branched chain.
With respect to the use of bearings, it is noted that it is well known to provide bearings to connect a rotational element. For example, Saglia teaches a related rehabilitation robot (Fig. 1) wherein a first output member (12) is supported by a stationary support structure (16) via bearings (22) for rotation about an axis (see the last sentence of [0028] and Fig. 3). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that bearings could similarly be provided between the rotary platform and the base of Fan to facilitate their rotatable connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotary platform and base of Fan to be connected through bearings as generally taught by Saglia because this provides an expected result of facilitating rotational connection between the parts.
The modified Fan/Saglia device is still silent regarding mounting holes are reserved in the rotary platform and the pedal adjusting device respectively for mounting/detaching a detachable branched chain.
Alexa teaches a related ankle rehabilitation device (Fig. 1) having a detachable branched chain (base center support 13 with hydraulic cylinder 14, Fig. 2. The post bracket 18 is “removably attachable” see col. 8, lines 23-26), with mounting holes reserved in the platform (base support 12 has holes to receive threaded fasteners 33, 33 in bracket 18, Fig. 2) and in a pedal adjusting device (hydraulic cylinder ball joint 16, Fig. 3, has apertures that receive unlabeled screws as seen in Fig. 2. Screws are removable). The detachable branched chain (13, 14) provides adjustable supporting resistance to the foot plate (see col. 6, lines 64 through col. 7, line 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Fan/Saglia device to include mounting holes in the rotary platform and the pedal adjusting device respectively for mounting/detaching a detachable branched chain as taught by Alexa so the user can provide additional, adjustable resistance in the central portion of the footplate.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Fan/Saglia/Alexa device discloses wherein the detachable branched chain (13, 14, Alexa) includes a shaft sleeve (cylinder 13, Fig .3 of Alexa) and a sliding rod (upper shaft 14, Fig. 3 of Alexa), the shaft sleeve (13) and the sliding rod (14) form a moving pair (they form a vertically compressible hydraulic cylinder, see col. 7, lines 27-32 of Alexa), and a locking mechanism is arranged on the shaft sleeve (resistance adjustment mechanism 44, Fig. 3), which is capable of locking the moving pair (“providing repeatable incremental adjustment of said dampening effect of the respective outer hydraulic cylinder 40” see col. 7, lines 50-53. The highest resistance would substantially lock the components. Alternatively, it is noted that locking a slidable sleeve is known in the art and merely provides expected results of setting the length, such as the lockable sliding sleeve 10 of Hoyle et al. 4,337,939); the detachable adjusting branched chain is in a detached state when rehabilitation training is carried out (this is a recitation of intended use, and the modified apparatus is capable of performing this function because the cylinder 13, 14, is capable of being removed by undoing threaded fasteners 33, 33, and by unscrewing the connection at ball joint 16 as seen in Fig. 3 of Alexa. Alternatively, it is noted that it has been held obvious to make components separable “if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to [the removable component]” MPEP 2144.04(V)(C)); when performing pedal adjustment for the pedal adjusting device, the detachable branched chain (13, 14) is mounted to participate in adjustment (this is a recitation of intended use, and in the modified apparatus, the detachable branched chain 13, 14, is ordinarily attached to allow an adjustable amount of resistance to be added), and during mounting, the shaft sleeve (13, Alexa) is fixedly connected with the rotary platform (rotary platform 3 of Fan), and the sliding rod (14, Alexa) is fixedly connected with the foot pedal (the sliding rod 14 of Alexa will be fixedly connected to the foot pedal 7 of Fan in the modified device).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As best understood, the closest prior art of record fails to teach, disclose, or fairly suggest the claimed invention recited in claim 2 and claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Agrawal et al. (2007/0049858) discloses a related ankle rehabilitation device with a plurality of degrees of freedom. Kim et al. (2020/00330822) discloses a related ankle rehabilitation device with a plurality of degrees of freedom. Hayden (6,277,057) discloses a related ankle rehabilitation device with a plurality of degrees of freedom. Troxel (4,605,220) discloses a related ankle rehabilitation device with a plurality of degrees of freedom. Li et al. (CN 105476819) discloses a related ankle rehabilitation device with a plurality of degrees of freedom. Dong et al. (CN 111345971) discloses a related ankle rehabilitation device with a plurality of degrees of freedom. Hoyle et al. (4,337,939) discloses a related ankle exercise device with a branched chain having a sliding rod and a shaft sleeve and a locking mechanism for selectively fixing the length. Li et al. (CN 105125380) discloses a related ankle rehabilitation device with a plurality of degrees of freedom. Zhang (CN 105105970) discloses a related ankle rehabilitation device with a plurality of degrees of freedom. Lu et al. (CN 113730879) discloses a related ankle rehabilitation device with a plurality of degrees of freedom.
/CHRISTOPHER E MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785