DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12 are objected to (wherein claims 3, 5-9, and 11-12 inherit their objections due to their dependencies) because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 11, “return of auxiliary control” should be changed to --return of the auxiliary control--.
In claim 1, line 15, “enable transfer” should be changed to --enable the transfer--.
In claim 2, last line, “the auxiliary control fluid reservoir” should be changed to --the reservoir-- to maintain consistency in the naming of the structure.
In claim 4, line 3, “the auxiliary control fluid reservoir” should be changed to --the reservoir-- to maintain consistency in the naming of the structure.
In claim 10, line 2, “the separation member” should be changed to --the separation member of the first tank--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses “means” or a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and “means” or the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a “pressuring means” in claims 4-7 (understood as referring to pump 48 or equivalents thereof) and a “biasing means” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mosaic (WO 2013/056295 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mosaic discloses in Figs. 1-16 a fuel system for supplying gaseous fuel (CNG) to a power plant 12, the fuel system comprising:
a tank array comprising at least first and second tanks 14, 16, 18, each tank 14, 16, 18 being configured to receive pressurised gaseous fuel (CNG) for supply to the power plant 12; and
an auxiliary control fluid delivery system, wherein the auxiliary control fluid delivery system comprises:
a reservoir 36 for auxiliary control fluid;
an auxiliary control fluid pipeline configured to enable supply of the auxiliary control fluid to the tank array so as to cause discharge of the gaseous hydrogen fuel held in the tank array and to enable return of the auxiliary control fluid from the tank array (via valves 52, 54, 56, 59A, 59B, as shown in Figs. 4-7);
a valve arrangement which is operable to control the supply and return of auxiliary control fluid to and from the tank array (including via supply valves 44, 46, 48 and return valves 52, 54, 56), respectively, so as to control the discharge of the gaseous fuel to the power plant 12, the valve arrangement comprising a control valve arrangement (comprising return valves 64, 65 and/or return valves 59A, 59B) operable to close the reservoir 36 of auxiliary control fluid from the auxiliary control fluid pipeline to enable transfer of the auxiliary control fluid between the first and second tanks 14, 16 without re-entering the reservoir 36 (such as during a refueling of at least one of the tanks, as shown in Figs. 12-13 and discloses in pg. 17, line 22- pg. 18, line 1); and
wherein each of the first and second tanks 14, 16 includes a separation element to separate the auxiliary control fluid from the gaseous fuel within the respective tank (such as a bladder, as disclosed on pg. 16, lines 8-11).
Regarding claim 2, Mosaic discloses in Figs. 1-16 that the valve arrangement includes, for each of the first and second tanks 14, 16, an inlet one-way valve 44, 46 (because the valves only open for flow in one direction to supply the respective tanks 14, 16, like the applicant’s one-way valves 54, 58, which are understood by the specification and drawings to be selectively actuated rather than acting as conventional one-way valves, also known as check valves, nonreturn valves, or backflow preventers) for controlling the supply of auxiliary control fluid to the associated tank 14, 16 and an outlet one-way valve 52, 54 (which operate like the inlet one-way valves 44, 46, but for exhausting fluid from the tanks 14, 16, and like the applicant’s outlet one-way valves 56, 60) for controlling the supply of auxiliary control fluid from the associated tank 14, 16 to the auxiliary control fluid reservoir 36.
Regarding claim 3, Mosaic discloses in Figs. 1-16 that the separation element includes any one of a membrane, a bladder, a diaphragm, a piston or a bellows arrangement (specifically a bladder, as disclosed on pg. 16, lines 8-11).
Regarding claim 4, Mosaic discloses in Figs. 1-16 that the auxiliary control fluid pipeline comprises an auxiliary control fluid supply line between the auxiliary control fluid reservoir 36 and the tank array, and wherein the auxiliary control fluid supply line is provided with a pressurising means 60 to pressurise the supply of auxiliary control fluid to the tank array.
Regarding claim 5, Mosaic discloses in Figs. 1-16 that the pressurising means 60 is operable in a first state in which auxiliary control fluid flowing through the auxiliary control fluid supply line is pressurized (such as supplying fluid to the tanks 14, 16, as shown in Figs. 2 and 4) or is operable in a second state in which auxiliary control fluid flowing through the auxiliary control fluid supply line is not pressurised (such as when the tanks 14, 16, 18 are refueled, as shown in Figs. 12-13).
Regarding claim 6, Mosaic discloses in Figs. 1-16 that the control valve arrangement is operable in either a first state or a second state, and is configured such that in the first state (such as when the reservoir 36 supplies fluid to any of the tanks 14, 16, 18, such as in Figs. 2 and 4), the reservoir 36 is in fluid communication with the auxiliary control fluid pipeline and, in the second state (such as during refueling of the tanks 14, 16, 18, in which the tanks are in communication with each other to transfer auxiliary control fluid between each other, as shown in Figs. 12-13), the reservoir 36 is closed from the auxiliary control fluid pipeline and there is no fluid communication therebetween, and wherein the pressurising means 60 is selectively operable in either the first state or the second state in dependence on the state of the control valve arrangement.
Regarding claim 7, Mosaic discloses in Figs. 1-16 that the pressurising means 60 is configured to be in the second state (off) when the control valve arrangement is in the second state (such as during refueling of the tanks 14, 16, 18, as shown in Figs. 12-13).
Regarding claim 8, Mosaic discloses in Figs. 1-16 that the control valve arrangement (comprising return valves 64, 65) is located at an outlet of the reservoir 36 (because the return valves 64, 65 are downstream of the reservoir 36).
Regarding claim 9, Mosaic discloses in Figs. 1-16 that the control valve arrangement (comprising return valves 64, 65) is located intermediate the outlet of the reservoir 36 and a junction (indicated in the annotation of Fig. 12 below) between the auxiliary control fluid supply line and an auxiliary control fluid return line to the reservoir (because the control valve arrangement/valves 64, 65 are located on the line connecting the junction to the line downstream of the reservoir 36, and as shown in the refueling process in Fig. 12, fluid flows between/intermediate the junction and the line downstream of the reservoir 36).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Junction of supply and return lines)]
Regarding claim 11, Mosaic discloses in Figs. 1-16 that the power plant 12 is an internal combustion engine 12 of a vehicle (pg. 11, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 12, Mosaic discloses in Figs. 1-16 gaseous fuel in the form of compressed natural gas (CNG), but lacks teaching that the gaseous fuel is hydrogen. However, hydrogen isn’t seen as defining over the structure of the prior art (MPEP 2115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mosaic in view of Robson (US 2014/0290972).
Regarding claim 10, Mosaic discloses a first tank of a tank array in which the tank contains two different fluids separated from each other by a separation member, as previously discussed, but lacks teaching that the tank array is provided with a biasing means which acts on the separation member to oppose movement thereof during a filling phase of the fuel system so as to store energy within the biasing means for use during a discharge phase of gaseous fuel from the first tank.
Robson teaches in Fig. 8 and paragraph 244 a tank array 403 that is provided with a biasing means 450 which acts on the separation member 405 to oppose movement thereof during a filling phase of the system so as to store energy within the biasing means 450 for use during a discharge phase of output fluid/hydraulic fluid from the first tank 403.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tanks disclosed by Mosaic to include biasing means acting on the separation member to oppose movement thereof during filling of the tank with the gaseous fuel and in support of discharging the gaseous fuel, as Fulton similarly teaches hydraulic fluid, which reduces the amount of force that the auxiliary control fluid needs to apply to the separation member to discharge the output fluid/gaseous fuel, so the output of the pump and/or the amount of auxiliary control fluid can be minimized.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art fails to disclose or render obvious, in combination with the other limitations recited in claim 13, transferring at least some auxiliary control fluid from the first tank to the second tank via the auxiliary control fluid pipeline, without re-entering the reservoir, so as to control the discharge of gaseous fuel from the second tank.
Mosaic discloses in Figs. 1-16 transferring at least some of the auxiliary control fluid from the first tank 14 to the second tank 16 via the auxiliary control fluid pipeline (such as Fig. 13 shows), without re-entering the reservoir 36, but lacks teaching that the transfer controls the discharge of gaseous fuel from the second tank 16.
Conclusion
/J. W./
Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753