DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamo (PGPub 2019/0221796).
Considering Claim 1, Kamo discloses an energy storage apparatus (power storage device [Abstract]) comprising:
an energy storage device unit including a plurality of energy storage devices (at least one power storage module [Abstract, 0062, Figures 3, 4, 6] comprising a plurality of storage cells [0063, Figures 3, 4, 6]);
an outer case accommodating the energy storage device unit (case body 12 with an outer body 13 accommodates battery cells [0055, Figures 3, 4, 6]); and
a plate-shaped reinforcing member fixed in a posture along a fixing surface which is an inner surface of the outer case (bottom plate 29 of reinforcing member 15 is fixed to bottom plate of case body 12 via a bolt 59 [0075, Figure 6]),
wherein an outer shape of the reinforcing member is larger than an outer shape of the energy storage device unit when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the fixing surface (shape of plate 29 is larger outer shape than outer shape of power storage module viewed in top direction perpendicular to surface [Figures 4 and 6]).
Considering Claim 2, Kamo discloses that an outer shape of the outer case is larger than the outer shape of the reinforcing member when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the fixing surface (viewed from top to perpendicular to fixing surface, outer case 12 is larger outer shape than inner disposed reinforcing member 15 [Figures 3 and 6]).
Considering Claim 3, Kamo discloses that the fixing surface is the inner surface of the outer case, and the reinforcing member is disposed inside the outer case (reinforcing member disposed inside and coupled to inner surface of outer case [0075, Figures 3 and 6]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 4, Kamo discloses a fixing bolt 59 [0075, Figure 6], so there is integrally formed convex part protruding from fixing surface with the inner surface of the outer case, while inserted into a reinforcing member opening as required by the claims. Prior art reference US PGPub 2023/0042717 discloses smaller, local reinforcing members with convex portions, but not in combination with a larger outer shape reinforcing member. The reference also does not use integrally formed convex portions and still utilizes holes and bolts for the tray.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE/Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1725