DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ring (Malaysian Journal of Microbiology (2019), vol. 15, no. 5, pp. 373-378) with Shibata (BMC Medicine (2011), vol. 9, no. 69, 18 pages) providing definitions.
Ring teaches a method for treating diabetic foot ulcers by topically applying an ethanolic extract from Garcinia mangostana pericarp (see abstract, “Extraction of G. mangostana pericarp” section on page 374, and page 376, last paragraph). G. mangostana pericarp is synonyms with the outer fruit shell of mangosteen (see Shibata, first column on page 2).
4. Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sanpinit (Journal of Herbal Medicine (2020), vol. 23, no. 100381, 8 pages) with Shibata (BMC Medicine (2011), vol. 9, no. 69, 18 pages) providing definitions.
Sanpinit teaches a method for treating diabetic foot ulcers by topically applying an aqueous ethanolic extract from Garcinia mangostana pericarp (see abstract, sections 2.1 and 2.4). G. mangostana pericarp is synonyms with the outer fruit shell of mangosteen (see Shibata, first column on page 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ring (Malaysian Journal of Microbiology (2019), vol. 15, no. 5, pp. 373-378).
The teachings of this reference are discussed above in paragraph 3. The reference does not specifically teach using the mangosteen extract in the concentrations claimed by applicant. However, as discussed in MPEP section 2144.05(II)(A), “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” The reference teaches the use of the extract in a pharmaceutical composition. Varying the concentration of an ingredient within a pharmaceutical composition is not considered to be inventive unless the concentration is demonstrated as critical. In this particular case, there is no evidence that the claimed concentration of the extract produces an unexpected result. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameter, this optimization of ingredient concentration would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention.
6. Claim(s) 1 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanpinit (Journal of Herbal Medicine (2020, vol. 23, no. 100381, 8 pages).
The teachings of this reference are discussed above in paragraph 4. The reference does not specifically teach using the mangosteen extract in the concentrations claimed by applicant. However, as discussed in MPEP section 2144.05(II)(A), “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’ In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” The reference teaches the use of the extract in a pharmaceutical composition. Varying the concentration of an ingredient within a pharmaceutical composition is not considered to be inventive unless the concentration is demonstrated as critical. In this particular case, there is no evidence that the claimed concentration of the extract produces an unexpected result. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameter, this optimization of ingredient concentration would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention.
7. Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ring (Malaysian Journal of Microbiology (2019), vol. 15, no. 5, pp. 373-378) in view of Chang (US 10,383,906).
The teachings of Ring are discussed above in paragraph 3. The reference teaches an alcoholic extract from the outer shell of the mangosteen. In addition, the reference teaches that the extract contains alpha-mangostin as an active ingredient (see page 376, last paragraph). However, the reference does not teach a water extract from the outer shell or a water or alcoholic extract from the inner shell. The reference also does not teach that the extract contains gamma-mangostin.
However, Chang teaches a water or alcoholic extract from the inner and outer rind (shell) of the mangosteen fruit. The reference teaches that each of these extracts contains both alpha and gamma mangostin. In addition, the reference teaches that the extracts have topical wound healing properties (see column 2, lines 36-59 and column 3, lines 13-35).
Thus, an artisan of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the method of treating diabetic foot ulcers with mangosteen extract taught by Ring could be performed with the water or alcoholic extracts from the inner and outer shell of the mangosteen fruit as taught by Chang because Chang teaches that the extracts contain the active ingredient alpha-mangostin and have wound healing properties. This reasonable expectation of success would have motivated the artisan to modify Ring to include the use of the mangosteen extracts taught by Chang. Thus, the stated claims are considered to be an obvious modification of what was known in the art at the time of the invention.
8. Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanpinit (Journal of Herbal Medicine (2020, vol. 23, no. 100381, 8 pages) in view of Chang (US 10,383,906).
The teachings of Sanpinit are discussed above in paragraph 4. The reference teaches an alcoholic extract from the outer shell of the mangosteen. In addition, the reference teaches that the extract contains alpha-mangostin as an active ingredient (see abstract). However, the reference does not teach a water extract from the outer shell or a water or alcoholic extract from the inner shell. The reference also does not teach that the extract contains gamma-mangostin.
However, Chang teaches a water or alcoholic extract from the inner and outer rind (shell) of the mangosteen fruit. The reference teaches that each of these extracts contains both alpha and gamma mangostin. In addition, the reference teaches that the extracts have topical wound healing properties (see column 2, lines 36-59 and column 3, lines 13-35).
Thus, an artisan of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the method of treating diabetic foot ulcers with mangosteen extract taught by Sanpinit could be performed with the water or alcoholic extracts from the inner and outer shell of the mangosteen fruit as taught by Chang because Chang teaches that the extracts contain the active ingredient alpha-mangostin and have wound healing properties. This reasonable expectation of success would have motivated the artisan to modify Sanpinit to include the use of the mangosteen extracts taught by Chang. Thus, the stated claims are considered to be an obvious modification of what was known in the art at the time of the invention.
9. No claims are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655