DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in responsive to Application 18/685977 filed on 2/23/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-15 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)s comply with 37 CFR 1.97 provisions. Accordingly, the Examiner has considered the IDS.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The cited art fails to disclose the elements of claim 13 as a whole including “…obtaining information related to a minimum number of resources for SL transmission, wherein N resources are selected by the first device within a current active time based on a result of the partial sensing, wherein M resources are selected by the first device within a future active time based on the IUC information, and wherein a sum of N and M is equal to the minimum number.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pan et al, WO 2022/240868 A1.
Regarding claims 1, 14 and 15, Pan discloses Methods and systems for performing wireless communication by a first device, the method comprising: obtaining a configuration for resource selection based on partial sensing, wherein the partial sensing includes periodic-based partial sensing (PBPS) or contiguous partial sensing (CPS) (p. [0111]-[0113], and [0119]-0120]: obtaining a configuration for resource selection based on contiguous partial sensing or periodic-based partial sensing); receiving, from a second device, inter-UE coordination (IUC) information including information related to a preferred resource set (p. [0010]: the second UE may determine coordination information and transmit the coordination information to the first UE); obtaining sidelink (SL) data (p.[0115]- [0116] selecting a transmission resource for the SL data from resources belonging to the preferred resource set based on skipping the partial sensing for power saving); and selecting a transmission resource for the SL data from resources belonging to the preferred resource set included in the IUC information, based on skipping the partial sensing for power saving (p.[0115]- [0116] selecting a transmission resource for the SL data from resources belonging to the preferred resource set based on skipping the partial sensing for power saving).
Regarding claim 2 Pan discloses wherein the first device does not have its own sensing result based on skipping the partial sensing for the power saving ([0010]-[0014] Pan discloses the first UE selects resources based on preferred resources for saving energy, e.g the first UE does not have its own sensing result).
Regarding claim 3 Pan discloses wherein the transmission resource for the SL data is randomly selected from the resources belonging to the preferred resource set based on a packet delay budget (PDB) of available SL data (p. [0111]: inter-UE coordination based random resource selection and partial sensing may be used to further reduce power consumption and enable power saving).
Regarding claim 4, Pan discloses further comprising: obtaining a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) based on the available SL data (p. [0132]: the UE transmits or receives a MAC PDU on a configured resource).
Regarding claim 5, Pan discloses wherein, based on that a number of available candidate resources selected based on the partial sensing is less than a threshold, the transmission resource for the SL data is selected based on the available candidate resources and the IUC information (p. [0111]-[0112] if measured CBR is below a CBR threshold, then random resource selection may be used).
Regarding claim 6, Pan discloses wherein, based on that a number of available candidate resources selected based on the partial sensing is less than a threshold, the transmission resource for the SL data is selected based on the IUC information (p. [0111]-[0112] if measured CBR is below a CBR threshold, then random resource selection may be used).
Regarding claim 7, Pan discloses wherein, based on the reception of the IUC information including the information related to the preferred resource set, the first device is not allowed to perform the partial sensing (p.[0115]- [0116] selecting a transmission resource for the SL data from resources belonging to the preferred resource set based on skipping the partial sensing for power saving).
Regarding claim 8, Pan discloses further comprising: performing CBR measurement for obtaining a channel busy ratio (CBR) value based on the IUC information (p. [0111]-[0112]: The indicated resource pool may be based on certain measurements and criteria, e.g., CBR measurement. For example, if measured CBR is below a CBR threshold, then random resource selection may be used. Otherwise, partial sensing may be used).
Regarding claim 9, Pan discloses wherein, based on that a number of measurement values for the CBR measurement is less than or equal to a threshold, the CBR value is obtained based on the IUC information and a CBR measurement value measured by the first device (p. [0111]-[0112]: The indicated resource pool may be based on certain measurements and criteria, e.g., CBR measurement. For example, if measured CBR is below a CBR threshold, then random resource selection may be used. Otherwise, partial sensing may be used).
Regarding claim 10, Pan discloses wherein, based on that a number of measurement values for the CBR measurement is less than or equal to a threshold, the CBR value is obtained based on the IUC information and a CBR value configured for the first device (p. [0111]-[0112]: The indicated resource pool may be based on certain measurements and criteria, e.g., CBR measurement. For example, if measured CBR is below a CBR threshold, then random resource selection may be used. Otherwise, partial sensing may be used).
Regarding claim 11, Pan discloses further comprising: obtaining a SL discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration including information related to a timer for an active time, wherein, outside of the active time, the transmission resource for the SL data is selected based on the IUC information (p.[0236]- [0238]: DRX active time, DRX partial active time).
Regarding claim 12, Pan discloses wherein, within the active time, the transmission resource for the SL data is selected based on the IUC information and a result of the partial sensing (p. [0239]-[0253]: sensing procedure during active time).
Conclusion
MAHRAN ABU ROUMI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2455
/MAHRAN Y ABU ROUMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455