DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-3 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei et al., (Pub. No.: US 2015/0138982 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, (Currently Amended) Wei discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000)
one or more memories comprising executable instructions; (Wei, paragraph [0157] disclose one or more memories: RAM, ROM etc., the instruction are stored in a storage medium)and
one or more processors configured to execute the executable instructions and to cause the UE to: (Wei, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0144]-[0145] a processor 1001, paragraph [0157] the processor executes the executable instructions)
transmit a quality of entertainment (QoE) report (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, paragraph [0044] sending unit, configured to send the QoE report, Fig. 7, paragraph [0123] The sending unit 702 is configured to send the QoE report, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server), including one or more QoE measurements (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5. [0126], [0149] Fig. 9, [0136] QoE report includes a QoE metric (corresponding to QoE measurement)), to a network entity (Wei, paragraph [0062] discloses base station (BS), NodeB, eNB, e-NodeB which is being interpreted as network entity); and
transmit, to the network entity (Wei, paragraph [0062] discloses base station (BS), NodeB, eNB., e-NodeB which is being interpreted as network entity, Fig. 8, paragraph [0129] transmitter 802 transmits to the network entity, Fig. 10, paragraph [0146] The transmitter 1002 is configured to send the QoE report), connection identification information associated with the one or more QoE measurements. (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification corresponding to one or more QoE measurements (metric))
Regarding Claim 2, Wei discloses the UE of claim 1 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein the connection identification information comprises at least one of: (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification)
quality of service (QoS) flow identifier associated with the one or more QoE measurements,
protocol data unit (PDU) session identifier associated with the one or more QoE measurements,
a radio bearer information associated with the one or more QoE measurements,
a communication interface associated with the one or more QoE measurements,
an access type associated with the one or more QoE measurements, or
a cell identifier associated with the one or more QoE measurements. (Wei, paragraph [0146] discloses QoE report contains a cell identity, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement))
Regarding Claim 3, (Currently Amended) Wei discloses the UE of claim 1 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001) to perform the one or more QoE measurements (Wei, QoE measurements, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes QoE metric (corresponding to QoE measurement)) and generate the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, [0123] and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report) in an application layer of the UE (Wei, [0095] QoE management is performed at the application layer, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000).
Regarding Claim 28, (Currently Amended) Wei discloses a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising: (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000)
transmitting a quality of entertainment (QoE) report (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server), including one or more QoE measurements (Wei, QoE report includes a QoE metric (corresponding to QoE measurement)), to a network entity (Wei, paragraph [0062] discloses base station (BS), NodeB, eNB., e-NodeB which is being interpreted as network entity); and
transmitting, to the network entity (Wei, paragraph [0062] discloses base station (BS), NodeB, eNB., e-NodeB which is being interpreted as network entity), connection identification information associated with the one or more QoE measurements. (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification corresponding to one or more QoE measurements (metric))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 4-16, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al., (Pub. No.: US 2015/0138982 A1), in view of Turtinen et al., (Pub. No.: US 2018/0270697 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, (Currently Amended) Wei discloses the UE of claim 3 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein:
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001), at the application layer of the UE of the UE (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), and the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification)
Wei does not explicitly disclose following:
from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer, an indication of one or more protocol data unit (PDU) session IDs,
comprises the one or more PDU session IDs.
However, Wei in view of Turtinen disclose following:
from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023]-[0024] disclose NAS), an indication of one or more protocol data unit (PDU) session IDs, (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110)
comprises the one or more PDU session IDs. (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110 / PDU session 110 is established)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Wei before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Turtinen so that from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer, an indication of one or more protocol data unit (PDU) session IDs, comprises the one or more PDU session IDs be included in the UE. The motivation to combine the teachings of Turtinen would improve end-user experience. (Turtinen, Abstract, paragraphs [0001]-[0010])
Regarding Claim 5, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wei, and Turtinen disclose the UE of claim 4 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein, in order to transmit the connection identification information to the network entity (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification), the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000) to transmit the one or more PDU session IDs (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110) within the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report), indicating the one or more QoE measurements (Wei, QoE measurements, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes QoE metric (corresponding to QoE measurement)) in the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, [0123] and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report) are associated with one or more PDU sessions identified by the one or more PDU session IDs (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110).
Regarding Claim 6, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wei, and Turtinen disclose the UE of claim 5 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein:
the application layer of the UE (Wei, [0095] QoE management is performed at the application layer, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000) includes a plurality of PDU sessions (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110),
the one or more QoE measurements (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement) are associated with a subset of PDU sessions of the plurality of PDU session (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110), and
the one or more PDU session IDs include a set of PDU session IDs, (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110) and
each different PDU session ID within the set of PDU session IDs corresponds to a different PDU session in the subset of PDU sessions. (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110)
Regarding Claim 7, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wei, and Turtinen disclose the UE of claim 4 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein:
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001), at the application layer of the UE (Wei, [0095] QoE management is performed at the application layer, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000) from the NAS layer of the UE (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023]-[0024] disclose NAS), an indication of one or more a quality of service (QoS) flow identifiers (IDs) (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID),
the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) further comprises the one or more QoS flow IDs (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID), and
in order to transmit the connection identification (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) information to the network entity, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to transmit the one or more QoS flow IDs (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID) within the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report), indicating the one or more QoE measurements in the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report) are associated with one or more QoS flows identified by the one or more QoS flow IDs (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID).
Regarding Claim 8, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wei, and Turtinen disclose the UE of claim 7 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein:
the application layer of the UE (Wei, [0095] QoE management is performed at the application layer, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000) includes at least a first PDU session (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110),
the first PDU session includes a plurality of QoS flows, (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID)
the one or more QoE measurements (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement) are associated with a subset of QoS flows of the plurality of QoS flows, (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID)
the one or more QoS flow IDs include a set of QoS flow IDs (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID), and
each different QoS flow ID within the set of QoS flow IDs (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID) corresponds a different QoS flow in the subset of QoS flows).
Regarding Claim 9, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wei, and Turtinen disclose the UE of claim 4 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein:
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001)
receive, at the application layer of the UE (Wei, [0095] QoE management is performed at the application layer, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000) from the NAS layer of the UE (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023]-[0024] disclose NAS), an indication of one or more a quality of service (QoS) flow identifiers (IDs) (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID)
send the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report), the one or more PDU session IDs, and the one or more QoS flow IDs (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID) from the application layer (Wei, [0095] QoE management is performed at the application layer, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000) to an access stratum (AS) layer of the UE (Turtinen, paragraph [0034] discloses AS layer), wherein:
in order to transmit the QoE report to the network entity (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report), the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000) to transmit the QoE report to the network entity from the AS layer of the UE (Turtinen, paragraph [0034] discloses AS layer),
in order to transmit the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) to the network entity, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to transmit (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), from the AS layer of the UE (Turtinen, paragraph [0034] discloses AS layer), at least one of the one or more PDU session IDs or the one or more QoS flow IDs to the network entity separately from the QoE report, (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID) and
the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) indicates the one or more QoE measurements in the QoE report (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement) are associated with one or more PDU sessions identified by the one or more PDU session IDs. (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID)
Regarding Claim 10, (Currently Amended) Wei discloses the UE of claim 3 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001), at the application layer of the UE (Wei, [0095] QoE management is performed at the application layer, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000) from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer of the UE (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023]-[0024] disclose NAS), an indication of one or more protocol data unit (PDU) session IDs associated with the UE and one or more a quality of service (QoS) flow identifiers (IDs) associated with the UE (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID).
Regarding Claim 11, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wei, and Turtinen disclose the UE of claim 10 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein:
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001)
send one or more PDU session IDs and the one or more QoS flow IDs (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID) from the application layer of the UE (Wei, [0095] QoE management is performed at the application layer, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000) to an access stratum (AS) layer of the UE ((Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID); and
determine, by the AS layer of the UE (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID), radio bearer information (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], one or more Data Radio Bearers (DRBs) 111) associated with the UE based on at least one of the one or more PDU session IDs or the one or more QoS flow IDs (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID)), and
the radio bearer information comprises an indication of at least one of: (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0025], DRB 111 which is a radio bearer ID)
a secondary cell group,
a master cell group,
a split bearer, or
a radio bearer ID. (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0025], DRB 111 which is a radio bearer ID)
Regarding Claim 12, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wei, and Turtinen disclose the UE of claim 11 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001) to determine the radio bearer information (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], one or more Data Radio Bearers (DRBs) 111)
based on a mapping between radio bearers (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], one or more Data Radio Bearers (DRBs) 111) associated with the UE and at least one of the one or more PDU session IDs or the one or more QoS flow IDs (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID).
Regarding Claim 13, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wei, and Turtinen disclose the UE of claim 11 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein:
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to send (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001) the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report) from the application layer of the UE (Wei, [0095] QoE management is performed at the application layer, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000) to the AS layer of the UE (Turtinen, paragraph [0034] discloses AS layer),
the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) comprises the radio bearer information (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], one or more Data Radio Bearers (DRBs) 111),
in order to transmit the QoE report to the network entity (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report), the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to transmit the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report) to the network entity from the AS layer of the UE (Turtinen, paragraph [0034] discloses AS layer),
in order to transmit the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) to the network entity, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to transmit the radio bearer information to the network entity separately from the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report), and
the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) indicates the one or more QoE measurements in the QoE report are associated with one or more radio bearers identified by the radio bearer information (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], one or more Data Radio Bearers (DRBs) 111).
Regarding Claim 14, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wei, and Turtinen disclose the UE of claim 11 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein:
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to send (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001) the radio bearer information (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], one or more Data Radio Bearers (DRBs) 111) from the AS layer of the UE to the application layer of the UE (Wei, [0095] QoE management is performed at the application layer, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000),
in order to transmit the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) to the network entity, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to transmit (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001) the radio bearer information within the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report), and
the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) indicates the one or more QoE measurements in the QoE report are associated with one or more radio bearers identified by the radio bearer information (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], one or more Data Radio Bearers (DRBs) 111).
Regarding Claim 15, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wei, and Turtinen disclose the UE of claim 10 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001), from the network entity, an indication of at least one a PDU session to perform the one or more QoE measurements for (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement), a QoS flow to perform the one or more QoE measurements for (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QoE measurement), or a radio bearer (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], one or more Data Radio Bearers (DRBs) 111) to perform the one or more QoE measurements (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement) for, (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID) and
in order to perform the one or more QoE measurements (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QoE measurement), the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to perform the one or more QoE measurements (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement) for the at least one of the indicated PDU session, the indicated QoS flow, or the indicated radio bearer (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], one or more Data Radio Bearers (DRBs) 111). (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110, paragraphs [0025]-[0034] disclose QoS flow ID)
Regarding Claim 16, (Currently Amended) Wei discloses the UE of claim 3 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000)
receive, at the application layer of the UE (Wei, [0095] QoE management is performed at the application layer, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000) from a non-access stratum (NAS) layer of the UE (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023]-[0024] disclose NAS), an indication of one or more protocol data unit (PDU) session IDs (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110);
send the one or more PDU session IDs (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110) from the application layer of the UE to an access stratum (AS) layer of the UE (Turtinen, paragraph [0034] discloses AS layer); and
determine, by the AS layer of the UE (Turtinen, paragraph [0034] discloses AS layer), one or more communication interfaces (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025] discloses radio interface (Uu) which is a communication interface) associated with the UE based on the one or more PDU session IDs (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110).
Regarding Claim 18, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wei, and Turtinen disclose the UE of claim 16 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000),wherein:
one or more processors are configured to cause the UE (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001) to determine the one or more communication interfaces (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025] discloses radio interface (Uu) which is a communication interface) associated with the UE based on a mapping between communication interfaces (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025]-[0026] discloses radio interface (Uu) which is a communication interface, and can be mapped between radio / communication interfaces) and the one or more PDU session IDs (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], [0026], and paragraphs [0028]-[0029] PDU session 110), and
the mapping is received in at least one of: (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0027] RRC configured mapping)
radio resource control (RRC) signaling from the network entity, (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0027] RRC configured mapping) or
NAS signaling from a core network associated with the network entity. (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023]-[0024] disclose NAS)
Regarding Claim 19, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wei, and Turtinen disclose the UE of claim 16, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001) to determine the one or more communication interfaces (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025] discloses radio interface (Uu) which is a communication interface) associated with the UE based on a mapping between communication interfaces (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025]-[0026] discloses radio interface (Uu) which is a communication interface, and can be mapped between radio / communication interfaces) and one or more radio bearer IDs associated with the UE (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0023], one or more Data Radio Bearers (DRBs) 111).
Regarding Claim 20, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wei, and Turtinen disclose the UE of claim 16 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein:
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to send (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001) the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report) from the application layer of the UE (Wei, [0095] QoE management is performed at the application layer, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000) to the AS layer of the UE (Turtinen, paragraph [0034] discloses AS layer),
the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) comprises an indication of the one or more communication interfaces (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025] discloses radio interface (Uu) which is a communication interface),
in order to transmit the QoE report to the network entity (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report), the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to transmit the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report) to the network entity from the AS layer of the UE (Turtinen, paragraph [0034] discloses AS layer),
in order to transmit the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) to the network entity, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to transmit, from the AS layer of the UE (Turtinen, paragraph [0034] discloses AS layer), the indication of the one or more communication interfaces (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025] discloses radio interface (Uu) which is a communication interface) to the network entity separately from the QoE report, and
the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) indicates the one or more QoE measurements in the QoE report (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QoE measurement) are associated with one or more communication interfaces (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025] discloses radio interface (Uu) which is a communication interface) identified by indication of the one or more communication interfaces (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025] discloses radio interface (Uu) which is a communication interface).
Regarding Claim 21, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wei, and Turtinen disclose the UE of claim 16 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein:
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to send (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001) an indication of the one or more communication interfaces (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025] discloses radio interface (Uu) which is a communication interface) from the AS layer (Turtinen, paragraph [0034] discloses AS layer) of the UE to the application layer of the UE (Wei, [0095] QoE management is performed at the application layer, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000),
in order to transmit the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) to the network entity, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to transmit (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001), from the application layer of the UE (Wei, [0095] QoE management is performed at the application layer, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), the indication of the one or more communication interfaces (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025] discloses radio interface (Uu) which is a communication interface) within the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report), and
the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) indicates the one or more QoE measurements in the QoE report (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement) are associated with one or more communication interfaces (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025] discloses radio interface (Uu) which is a communication interface) identified by indication of the one or more communication interfaces (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025] discloses radio interface (Uu) which is a communication interface).
Regarding Claim 22, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wei, and Turtinen disclose the UE of claim 16 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein:
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to receive (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001), from the network entity, an indication of one or more communication interfaces (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025] discloses radio interface (Uu) which is a communication interface) to perform the one or more QoE measurements for (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement), and
in order to perform the one or more QoE measurements (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement), the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to perform the one or more QoE measurements (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement) for the indicated one or more communication interfaces (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025] discloses radio interface (Uu) which is a communication interface).
9. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al., (Pub. No.: US 2015/0138982 A1), and Turtinen et al., (Pub. No.: US 2018/0270697 A1), in view of Dao et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0145876 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wei and Turtinen disclose the UE of claim 16 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein the one or more communication interfaces (Turtinen, Fig. 1, paragraph [0025] discloses radio interface (Uu) which is a communication interface)
Wei and Turtinen do not explicitly disclose following:
comprise at least one of a master node (MN) interface of a dual connectivity configuration or a secondary node (SN) interface of the dual connectivity configuration.
However, Wei and Turtinen in view of Dao disclose following:
comprise at least one of a master node (MN) interface of a dual connectivity configuration or a secondary node (SN) interface of the dual connectivity configuration. (Dao, paragraph [0200], In case of dual connectivity, the Master RAN node (MN) may assign QFIs to be setup to a Master RAN node (MN) and assign others to the Secondary RAN node (SN), paragraph [0235] also discloses Dual Connectivity).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Wei and Turtinen before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Dao so that comprise at least one of a master node (MN) interface of a dual connectivity configuration or a secondary node (SN) interface of the dual connectivity configuration be included in the UE. The motivation to combine the teachings of Dao would enable to handle packets for a QoS flow of a PDU session. (Dao, Abstract, paragraphs [0002]-[0013])
10. Claims 23-25 are is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al., (Pub. No.: US 2015/0138982 A1), in view of Cheng et al., (Pub. No.: US 2020/0396636 A1)
Regarding Claim 23, (Currently Amended) Wei discloses the UE of claim 3 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein:
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to determine (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001)
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to send an indication, (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001) and
in order to transmit the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) to the network entity, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to transmit (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001), within the QoE report (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement), indicating the one or more QoE measurements in the QoE report (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement).
Wei does not explicitly disclose following:
by a non-access stratum (NAS layer of the UE, a sidelink interface is used for at least one of an application associated with the UE or a service flow associated with the UE based on one or more rules,
of the sidelink interface from the NAS layer of the UE to the application layer of the UE, and
from the application layer of the UE, the indication of the sidelink interface associated with the sidelink interface.
However, Wei in view of Cheng disclose following:
by a non-access stratum (NAS layer of the UE, a sidelink interface is used for at least one of an application associated with the UE or a service flow associated with the UE based on one or more rules, (Cheng, Fig. 5, paragraph [0047], [0049], [0050] disclose application layer/UE application layer, paragraph [0025] discloses NAS, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0021]-[0022] disclose PC5 which is sidelink interface, Fig. 2, paragraphs [0046]-[0049], and paragraph [0073] disclose PC5)
the one or more rules comprise a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) rule or a ProSe rule, (Cheng, Fig. 5, paragraph [0047] V2X layer based on QoS rules, Fig. 1, paragraph [0022] disclose ProSe)
of the sidelink interface from the NAS layer of the UE to the application layer of the UE, (Cheng, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0021]-[0022] disclose PC5 which is sidelink interface, Fig. 2, paragraphs [0046]-[0049], and paragraph [0073] disclose PC5, Fig. 5, paragraph [0047], [0049], [0050] disclose application layer/UE application layer) and
from the application layer of the UE, the indication of the sidelink interface associated with the sidelink interface. (Cheng, Fig. 5, paragraph [0047], [0049], [0050] disclose application layer/UE application layer, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0021]-[0022] disclose PC5 which is sidelink interface, Fig. 2, paragraphs [0046]-[0049], and paragraph [0073] disclose PC5)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Wei before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Cheng so that by a non-access stratum (NAS layer of the UE, a sidelink interface is used for at least one of an application associated with the UE or a service flow associated with the UE based on one or more rules, the one or more rules comprise a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) rule or a ProSe rule, of the sidelink interface from the NAS layer of the UE to the application layer of the UE, and from the application layer of the UE, the indication of the sidelink interface associated with the sidelink interface be included in the UE. The motivation to combine the teachings of Cheng would make further improvements in V2X technology. These improvements may also be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards which employ these technologies. (Cheng, Abstract, paragraphs [0002]-[0007])
Regarding Claim 24, (Currently Amended) Wei discloses the UE of claim 3 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein:
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to determine (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001), by a non-access stratum (NAS) layer of the UE, an access type used for at least one of an application associated with the UE or a service flow associated with the UE based on one or more rules, (Cheng, Abstract, application layer assigns Quality of Service (QoS) flow, paragraph [0002] discloses quality of service flow management, Fig. 5, paragraph [0047], [0049], [0050] disclose application layer/UE application layer, paragraph [0047] V2X layer based on QoS rules which is one of the rules)
the one or more rules comprise an access traffic steering, switching and splitting (ATSSS) rule, (Cheng, Fig. 5, paragraph [0047] V2X layer based on QoS rules, ATSSS rule is optional here)
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to send (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001) an indication of the access type from the NAS layer of the UE to the application layer of the UE (Cheng, Fig. 5, paragraph [0047], [0049], [0050] disclose application layer/UE application layer), and
in order to transmit the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) to the network entity, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to transmit (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001), from the application layer of the UE (Cheng, Fig. 5, paragraph [0047], [0049], [0050] disclose application layer/UE application layer), the indication of the access type within the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report), indicating the one or more QoE measurements in the QoE report are associated with the access type (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement).
Regarding Claim 25, (Currently Amended) Wei disclose the UE of claim 3 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein:
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to send (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001), from an access stratum (AS) layer of the UE to the application layer of the UE, cell information associated with the UE, (Cheng, Fig. 5, paragraph [0047], [0049], [0050] disclose application layer/UE application layer)
in order to send the cell information to the application layer (Cheng, Fig. 5, paragraph [0047], [0049], [0050] disclose application layer/UE application layer), the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to send the cell information to the application layer when at least one of: (Cheng, Fig. 5, paragraph [0047], [0049], [0050] disclose application layer/UE application layer)
the UE enters an idle state or an inactive state, (Cheng, UE idle or inactive state is well understood in the art) or
the cell information associated with the UE changes, (Cheng, the cell information associated with the UE changes is well understood in the art), and
in order to transmit the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) to the network entity, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to transmit the cell information within the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report), indicating the one or more QoE measurements in the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report) are associated with the cell information (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement).
11. Claims 26-27 are is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al., (Pub. No.: US 2015/0138982 A1), in view of Wang et al., (International Publication Number: WO 2004/062178 A2)
Regarding Claim 26, (Currently Amended) Wei discloses the UE of claim 3 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000)
send, from the application layer of the UE (Wei, [0095] QoE management is performed at the application layer, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000) to an access stratum (AS) layer of the UE (Wei, [0095] QoE management is performed at the application layer, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), the QoE report including the one or more QoE measurements (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement);
send, from the application layer of the UE (Wei, [0095] QoE management is performed at the application layer, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000) to the AS layer of the UE, for each QoE measurement of the one or more QoE measurements in the QoE report (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement);
maintain, by the AS layer of the UE, (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000)
determine cell information associated with the one or more QoE measurements in the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement) for each QoE measurement of the one or more QoE measurements (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement).
Wei, does not explicitly disclose following:
timestamp information, a cell history list including a plurality of cells and corresponding timestamps; and determine cell information based on the cell history list and the timestamp information.
However, Wei, in view of Wang disclose following:
timestamp information, a cell history list including a plurality of cells and corresponding timestamps; and determine cell information based on the cell history list and the timestamp information. (Wang, Abstract, page 1, line 10, historical indicia which is interpreted as history, page 5, line 14 to line 19, page 6, line 4 to line 11 disclose cell location identifiers and their corresponding time-stamps and time durations, Fig. 4, page 8, page 15, line 20 to line 25 illustrates and disclose historical indicia, and time-stamp, Fig. 5, page 15, line 31 discloses corresponding time-stamps and time durations)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to combine the teachings of Wei before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with that of Wang so that timestamp information, a cell history list including a plurality of cells and corresponding timestamps; and determine cell information based on the cell history list and the timestamp information be included in the UE. The motivation to combine the teachings of Wang would enable efficient utilization of resources at a desired quality of service (QoS) level. (Wang, Abstract, page 1 to page 7)
Regarding Claim 27, (Currently Amended) The combination of Wei, and Wang disclose the UE of claim 26 (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), wherein:
in order to transmit the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report) to the network entity, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to transmit (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001) the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report) to the network entity from the AS layer of the UE (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), and
in order to transmit the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) to the network entity, the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to at least one of: (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000, paragraph [0145] processor 1001)
transmit, from the AS layer of the UE (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), the cell information separately from the QoE report (Wei, paragraphs [0026], [0044], Fig. 7, paragraph [0123], and Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147] disclose QoE report), the connection identification information (Wei, paragraph [0026] sending the QoE report to the server, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0146]-[0147], and [0149] UE sends a QoE report to a QoE server including connection identification) indicating the one or more QoE measurements in the QoE report are associated with the cell information (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement), or
transmit, from the AS layer of the UE (Wei, Abstract UE, Fig. 10, paragraph [0144] a user equipment (UE) 1000), an indication of whether the cell information associated with a QoE measurement in the one or more QoE measurements (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement) is the same as a previous QoE measurement transmitted to the network entity (Wei, paragraph [0113], Fig. 5, paragraph [0126], paragraph [0149], Fig. 9, paragraph [0136] QoE report includes metric (corresponding to QOE measurement).
Conclusion
/S.K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/ANDREW W CHRISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472