DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wendling (DE 102016202628) in view of Posselius et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0013777).
In reference to claim 1, Wendling discloses a harvesting implement for an agricultural harvester, the harvesting implement comprising:
an implement frame 42 configured to be supported in front of a frame 22 of the agricultural harvester 10 for movement relative thereto, the implement frame 42 defining a plane extending in a longitudinal direction between a forward end of the implement frame 42 and an aft end of the implement frame 42 (Fig. 3), the plane further extending in a lateral direction between a first side of the implement frame and a second side of the implement frame (Figs. 2 and 3), the lateral direction extending perpendicular to the longitudinal direction;
a cutter bar 54 (Fig. 3) supported on the implement frame 42, the cutter bar 54 configured to sever crops present within a field across which the agricultural harvester 10 is traveling in a forward direction of travel (Fig. 3);
a support arm 78/80; and
a sensor 62 coupled to the support arm 78/80,
wherein the support arm 78/80 is configured to rotate relative to the implement frame 42 about an axis, intersecting the plane, between a first position at which the sensor has a field of view directed at a portion of the field forward of the harvesting implement relative to the forward direction of travel (Fig. 3) and a second position at which a distance between the sensor 62 and the aft end of the implement frame 22 in the longitudinal direction is less than when in the first position (Fig. 5).
Wendling fails to disclose that the support arm is coupled to and supported by the implement frame.
Posselius discloses that a support arm 88 that supports a sensor 82 can be either attached to the harvester frame or the implement frame 20 (Fig. 1, par. 0024). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to dispose the support arm on the implement frame rather than the harvester frame with a reasonable expectation of success as it amounts to a substitution of equivalents to perform the same function, which is in this case to support a sensor in front of a harvester.
In reference to claim 2, Wendling discloses that the support arm 78/80 is at the first position (Figs. 3 and 4), the sensor 62 is positioned forward of the cutter bar 42 relative to the forward direction of travel (Figs. 3 and 4).
In reference to claim 3, Wendling discloses that when the support arm 78/80 is at the second position, the sensor 62 is positioned aft of the cutter bar 42 relative to the forward direction of travel (Figs. 4 and 5).
In reference to claim 4, Wendling discloses that when the support arm 78/80 is at the second position, the sensor 62 is positioned forward of the aft end of the implement frame 22 relative to the forward direction of travel (Fig. 5).
In reference to claim 5, Wendling discloses a reel assembly 44 coupled to the implement frame 22 such that the reel assembly 44 is moveable relative to the implement frame 22 independently of the support arm 78/80 (Fig. 3).
In reference to claim 11, Wendling does not explicitly disclose that the sensor comprises a transceiver-based sensor. However, the sensor 62 is disclosed as a camera that receives optical data and then transmits that data (par. 0023, “the transmission of the image data of the camera 68 to a control arrangement 74”), so the sensor 62 constitutes a transceiver-based sensor.
In reference to claim 12, Wendling fails to disclose that the support arm is arcuate. Posselius discloses an arctuate support art 88 (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the support arm as arcuate with a reasonable expectation of success as it amounts to a substitution of known equivalents to perform the same function, which is in this case to support a sensor in a position to monitor a harvesting activity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-16 and 18-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in reference to claim 1 are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant’s other arguments are persuasive and those rejections have been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRAD HARCOURT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
7/01/26